DETAILED ACTION
Table of Contents
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 3
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 3
A. Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/075144, as evidenced by US 2023/0242787 (“Takanashi”). 3
B. Claims 9-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanashi in view of US 2021/0246555 (“Burgess”). 11
III. Response to Arguments 13
IV. Pertinent Prior Art 13
Conclusion 14
[The rest of this page is intentionally left blank.]
I. Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
II. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 14-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022/075144, as evidenced by US 2023/0242787 (“Takanashi”).
US 2023/0242787 in the patent family of WO 2022/075144 and is used as a translation. As such, all citations in the rejections are to the US publication, unless otherwise indicated.
With regard to claim 1, Takanashi discloses,
1. A wafer edge protection film forming method for forming a protection film on a peripheral edge of a substrate [¶¶ 112-113, 129], comprising the steps of:
(i) coating a peripheral edge of the substrate with a composition for forming a protection film [¶¶ 112-113, 122, 129] comprising an aromatic ring-containing resin (A) having at least one of the constituent units represented by the following general formulae (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (A-4), and (A-5) [¶¶ 147-152, 158], and a solvent [¶¶ 159-167] [also ¶¶ 171-177; Table 1 on p. 10 and Table 2 on p. 11]; and
(ii) curing the applied composition for forming a protection film by heat or optical irradiation to form the protection film on the peripheral edge of the substrate [¶¶ 131, 134],
wherein W1 and W2 each independently represent a benzene ring or a naphthalene ring, and hydrogen atoms in the benzene ring and the naphthalene ring are optionally substituted with a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms;
Ra represents a hydrogen atom or an organic group represented by the following general formula (2), and
satisfies a relationship e + f = 1 and 0.1 ≤ f ≤0.9, wherein "e" represents the proportion of the hydrogen atom and "f' represents the proportion of the organic group represented by the general formula (2) among the structures constituting Ra;
…
n1 is 0 or 1;
n2 is 1 or 2; and
V independently represents a hydrogen atom or a connection portion,
wherein
* represents a site bonded with the oxygen atom,
RB represents a divalent organic group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, and
RA represents a hydrogen atom or a monovalent organic group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, …
Taking claimed formula (A-1) above, with W1 and W2 being benzene rings, n1 being 0, n2 being 1, Ra represents a hydrogen atom, thereby producing hydroxy groups, claimed formula (A-1), above, reduces to formula (A-3) of Takanashi (on p. 9), reproduced below.
As for the portion f of claimed formula (A-1) having an organic group of claimed formula (2), claimed formula (2) is met by the propargyl group shown on page 9 of Takanashi, in association with formula (A—4) of Takanashi, i.e.,
The propargyl group is
Formula (A-3) of Takanashi does not show any of the phenolic hydroxy group includes some replaced with propargyl groups, but explains that this can be made so. In this regard, Takanashi states,
[0039] Examples of the novolac resin include a resin having structural units derived from dihydroxynaphthalene and formaldehyde [i.e. formula (A-2) shown on p. 9], a resin having structural units derived from fluorenebisphenol and formaldehyde [i.e. formula (A-3) on p. 9 (supra)], a resin having structural units derived from fluorenebisnaphthol and formaldehyde, a resin having structural units derived from hydroxypyrene and formaldehyde, a resin having structural units derived from a phenolic compound and formylpyrene, and a resin obtained by substituting some or all of hydrogen atoms in phenolic hydroxy groups of such a resin with propargyl groups or the like.
(Takanashi: ¶ 39; emphasis added)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute some of the phenolic hydroxyl hydrogens of formula (A-3) of Takanashi, above, with propargyl groups because Takanashi suggests this option (at ¶ 39, supra).
As for the claimed ratio required in claim 1, i.e.,
e + f=1 and 0.1 ≤ f ≤ 0.9, wherein “e” represents the proportion of the hydrogen atom and “f” represents the proportion of the organic group [i.e. propargyl in Takanashi] represented by the general formula (2) among the structures constituting Ra;
The claimed ranges “0.1 ≤ f ≤ 0.9” overlap the range of “some or all” of the hydroxyls replaced with propargyl groups. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); MPEP 2144.05(I)). In such a situation, Applicant must show that the particular ranges are critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A); emphasis added.)
This is all of the limitations of claim 1.
Claims 2 and 3 read,
2. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the resin (A) further comprises a hydroxyl group, and the ratio of the number of the hydroxyl groups to the number of the organic groups represented by the general formula (1) satisfies a relationship a + b = 1 and 0.1 ≤ b ≤ 0.9 wherein “a” represents the proportion of the hydroxyl group and “b” represents the proportion of the organic group represented by the general formula (1).
3. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the resin (A) is an aromatic ring-containing resin having a hydroxyl group and an organic group represented by the following general formula (1 Å), and the ratio of the number of the hydroxyl groups to the number of the organic groups represented by the general formula (1A) satisfies a relationship c + d = 1 and 0.1 ≤ c ≤ 0.9 wherein “c” represents the proportion of the hydroxyl group and “d” represents the proportion of the organic group represented by the general formula (1A).
wherein * represents a bonding site.
That portion of, i.e. “some”, the phenolic hydroxy hydrogens in Formula (A-1) of Takanashi (¶ 39, supra) replaced with propargyl groups, as explained under claim 1, above, reads on formula (1A) of claim 3 and includes both hydroxyl groups and propargyl groups, as required by claims 2 and 3. When some of the hydroxyl groups are replaced with propargyl groups, then both of the claimed “a” and “b” proportions (claim 2) and “c” and “d” proportions (claim 3) are present in formula (A-4). Therefore, the claimed ranges “0.1 ≤ b ≤ 0.9” and the claimed “0.1 ≤ c ≤ 0.9” overlap the range of “some or all” of the hydroxyls replaced with propargyl groups.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); MPEP 2144.05(I)). In such a situation, Applicant must show that the particular ranges are critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (See MPEP 2144.05(III)(A); emphasis added.)
This is all of the limitations of claims 2 and 3.
Claim 4 reads,
4. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the resin (A) is a compound having a ratio Mw/Mn (i.e., dispersity) in a range of 1.00 ≤ Mw/Mn ≤ 1.25, the Mw/Mn being a ratio of the weight average molecular weight Mw to the number average molecular weight Mn on polystyrene basis according to gel permeation chromatography.
Although Takanashi only gives the weight average molecular weight Mw and does not give number average molecular weight Mn, given the process of synthesis explained in paragraph [0158] (supra), it is held, absent evidence to the contrary that the ratio falls within the claimed dispersity range. As such, the burden of proof is shifted to Applicant to prove the contrary. (See MPEP 2112(I)-(V).)
With regard to claim 5, Takanashi further discloses,
5. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the resin (A) is a polymer having a weight average molecular weight on polystyrene basis according to gel permeation chromatography of 1,000 to 12,000.
Polymer (A-4) has a Mw of 3200 in one example (¶ 158).
With regard to claim 7, Takanashi further discloses,
7. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the content of the resin (A) in the composition for forming a protection film is 10% by mass or more.
An example of 10% by mass for formula A-4 is given in Table 1 on page 10 of Takanashi.
With regard to claim 8, Takanashi further discloses,
8. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the composition for forming a protection film further comprises one or more of a crosslinking agent, a high boiling point solvent, a surfactant [¶¶ 168-169], an acid generator, and a plasticizer.
With regard to claim 14, Takanashi further discloses,
14. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein, in the step (ii), the applied composition for forming a protection film is cured by heat treatment at a temperature of 100° C. or more and 800° C. or less for 10 seconds to 7,200 seconds [¶¶ 118-119, 174].
With regard to claim 15, Takanashi further discloses,
15. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 2, wherein, in the step (ii), the applied composition for forming a protection film is cured by heat treatment at a temperature of 100° C. or more and 800° C. or less for 10 seconds to 7,200 seconds [¶ 174].
With regard to claims 16 and 17, Takanashi further discloses,
16. (Currently Amended) A patterning process for forming a protection film on a peripheral edge of a substrate to be processed on which a film with a pattern is formed, and forming a pattern on the substrate to be processed [“Method for Producing Patterned Substrate” title heading before ¶ 121], the patterning process comprising the steps of:
(I-1) applying a composition for forming a protection film comprising an aromatic ring-containing resin (A) having at least one of the constituent units represented by the following general formulae (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (A-4), and (A-5), and a solvent to a peripheral edge of a substrate to be processed on which a film with a pattern is formed [¶ 122; see also the discussion under claims 1-3, above, as to the composition];
(I-2) curing the applied composition for forming a protection film by a heat treatment [¶¶ 118-119, 174] or optical irradiation to form a protection film on the peripheral edge of the substrate;
(I-3) forming a pattern on the substrate to be processed by dry etching while using the film with a pattern as a mask [¶¶ 123-124, 142-143]; and
(I-4) removing the protection film,
…[repeats limitations from claim 1 directed to formulae (A-1) through (A-5)].
17. (Currently Amended) A patterning process for forming a protection film on a peripheral edge of a substrate to be processed, and forming a pattern on the substrate to be processed [“Method for Producing Patterned Substrate” title heading before ¶ 121], the patterning process comprising the steps of:
(II-1) applying a composition for forming a protection film comprising an aromatic ring-containing resin (A) having at least one of the constituent units represented by the following general formulae (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (A-4), and (A-5), and a solvent to a peripheral edge of a substrate to be processed [¶ 122; see also the discussion under claims 1-3, above, as to the composition];
(II-2) curing the applied composition for forming a protection film by a heat treatment [¶¶ 118-119, 174] or optical irradiation to form a protection film on the peripheral edge of the substrate to be processed;
(II-3) forming a resist upper layer film pattern on the substrate to be processed and forming a pattern on the substrate to be processed by dry etching while using the resist upper layer film pattern as a mask [¶¶ 123-124, 142-143]; and
(II-4) removing the protection film, …
…[repeats limitations from claim 1 directed to formulae (A-1) through (A-5)].
For each of claims 16 and 17, see claim 1 as to the limitations of claimed formula (A-1).
Takanashi does not explicitly state that the protection film is removed, as required by each of claims 16 and 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to remove the protective coating because the process of using the protective film has served its purpose in the substrate patterning process and is subsequently no longer needed.
This is all of the limitations of claims 16 and 17.
With regard to claim 20, Takanashi discloses,
20. (Currently Amended) A composition for forming a protection film to be used for forming a protection film on a peripheral edge of a substrate, comprising:
an aromatic ring-containing resin (A) having at least one of the constituent units represented by the following general formulae (A-1), (A-2), (A-3), (A-4), and (A-5), and
a solvent, …
…[repeats limitations from claim 1 directed to formulae (A-1) through (A-5)].
See discussion under claim 1.
B. Claims 9-13, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takanashi in view of US 2021/0246555 (“Burgess”).
Claims 9-11 read,
9. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein, in the step (i), in addition to the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate, the composition for forming a protection film is applied also to the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate, thereby forming the protection film also on the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate in the step (ii).
10. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 2, wherein, in the step (i), in addition to the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate, the composition for forming a protection film is applied also to the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate, thereby forming the protection film also on the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate in the step (ii).
11. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 3, wherein, in the step (i), in addition to the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate, the composition for forming a protection film is applied also to the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate, thereby forming the protection film also on the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate in the step (ii).
12. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 1, wherein the coating in the step (i) is performed using a spin coating method, and the protection film is not formed on areas other than the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate and the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate.
13. (Original) The wafer edge protection film forming method according to claim 2, wherein the coating in the step (i) is performed using a spin coating method, and the protection film is not formed on areas other than the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate and the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate.
18. (Original) The patterning process according to claim 16, wherein, in the step (I-1) or (II-1), in addition to the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate, the composition for forming a protection film is applied also to a peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate, thereby forming the protection film also on the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate in the step (I-2) or (II-2).
19. (Original) The patterning process according to claim 17, wherein, in the step (I-1) or (II-1), in addition to the peripheral edge on the surface side of the substrate, the composition for forming a protection film is applied also to a peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate, thereby forming the protection film also on the peripheral edge on the backside of the substrate in the step (I-2) or (II-2).
The prior art of Takanashi, as explained above, teaches each of the features of claims 1-3, 16, and 17.
While Takanashi teaches that only the peripheral edge is coated with the protective coating (Takanashi: abstract, ¶¶ 5-7, 9, 14, 16, 24-25, 113, 117, 122, 129), Takanashi does not distinguish between the frontside and backside peripheral edges.
Burgess, like Takanashi, applies a protective coating 142 to the peripheral edge 140a of a wafer 140 for edge protection during etching (Burgess: ¶ 44; Fig. 4). Burgess further shows that the coated peripheral edge includes the frontside and backside peripheral edge 140a of the wafer 140.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to apply the protective coating in Takanashi to the frontside and backside peripheral edge of the wafer, as taught in Burgess because Takanashi is merely silent as to the metes and bounds of the peripheral edge such that one having ordinary skill in the art would use known extents of protective coatings suitable for the same purpose as in Takanashi of wafer edge protection during etching, such as the known extents in Burgess.
This is all of the limitations of claims 9-13, 18, and 19.
III. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner agrees that Applicant’s incorporation of dependent claim 6—minus the last two words directed to the composition of only claimed formula (A-5)—into each of claims 1, 16, 17, and 20, overcomes the rejection of claims 1, 16, 17, and 20 using only formula (A-4) of Takanashi. However, the Non-Final Rejection also relied on formula (A-3) of Takanashi as modified to include some of the phenolic hydroxy groups with propargyl groups (Takanashi: ¶ 39) for claimed formula (A-1), not claimed formula (A-5). While Applicant traversed the rejection of claim 6 (Remarks: p. 21), Applicant failed to provide any reason why formula (A-3) of Takanashi as modified to include some of the phenolic hydroxy groups with propargyl groups does not meet the requirements of claimed formula (A-1).
IV. Pertinent Prior Art
As repeated from the Non-Final Rejection mailed 11/05/2025, the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2017/0183531 (“Kori”) is cited for teaching a resin deposited over a wafer including at least one component meeting the requirements of formulas (1), (1A), and (2) of claims 1, 3, and 6, respectively. See pages 6-7.
US 2025/0172869 (“Moriya”) is cited for teaching a wafer end protective film meeting the requirements of at least claim 1. See ¶¶ 144-153 and examples on pages 17-18.
US 2025/0116936 (“Kishioka”) is cited for teaching a wafer end protective film meeting the requirements of at least claim 1. See ¶¶ 101-129 and examples on pages 16-17.
US 2025/0014901 (“Hattori”) is cited for teaching a wafer end protective film meeting the requirements of at least claim 1. See ¶¶ 133-141 and examples on pages 12-13.
Conclusion
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Signed,
/ERIK KIELIN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814