DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 10/13/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the KR 10-2022-0131653 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 2022/0223673 A1; hereinafter, “Xu”, prior art of record).
Regarding claims 1-12 and 15-19:
re claim 1, Xu discloses (see labels in Fig. 7 above) a display apparatus comprising:
a first display element 21b configured to emit light of a first color (blue [0045], see “Blue (1)” in Fig. 7 above) and comprising a first pixel electrode (e.g., 221 in Fig. 6 and [0035]);
a second display element 21a (see “Red (2)” in Fig. 7 above) configured to emit light of a second color that is different from the first color and comprising a second pixel electrode;
a third display element 21c (see “Green (3)” in Fig. 7 above) configured to emit light of a third color that is different from the first color and the second color and comprising a third pixel electrode;
a fourth display element 21b (see “Blue (4)” in Fig. 7 above) configured to emit light of the first color and comprising a fourth pixel electrode; and
a first connection wiring 30 [0053] under (see “First connection wiring” in Fig. 7 above) the first to fourth pixel electrodes, configured to connect the first pixel electrode (“Blue (1)” in Fig. 7 above) to the fourth pixel electrode (“Blue (4)”), at least partially overlapping the first to fourth pixel electrodes, and comprising an oxide semiconductor material (in [0054], wiring 30 is made of transparent material, and in [0065], the pixel electrodes 211 are made of transparent oxide semiconductor such as ITO; accordingly, Xu anticipates a transparent oxide semiconductor material)
re claim 2, the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a fifth display element (“Red (5)” in Fig. 7 above) configured to emit light of the second color (red) and comprising a fifth pixel electrode; and
a second connection wiring (“Second connecting wiring” in Fig. 7 above) configured to connect the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”) to the fifth pixel electrode (“Red (5)”), wherein the first display element (“Blue (1)”), the second display element (“Red (2)”), the fourth display element (“Blue (4)”), and the fifth display element (“Red (5)”) are sequentially arranged in a first direction (e.g., a sideways direction as viewed in Fig. 7, e.g., see “First direction” in Fig. 7 above);
re claim 3, the display apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second connection wiring at least partially overlaps the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”), the fourth pixel electrode (“Blue (4)”), and the fifth pixel electrode (“Red (5)”, note, the pixel electrode for each color is within element 21a, 21b, 21c in Fig. 7);
re claim 4, the display apparatus of claim 2, further comprising:
a sixth display element (“Green (6)” in Fig. 7 above) configured to emit light of the third color (green) and comprising a sixth pixel electrode; and
a third connection wiring (see “Third connection wiring” in Fig. 7 above) configured to connect the third pixel electrode (“Green (3)”) to the sixth pixel electrode (“Green (6)”), wherein the third display element (“Green (3)”), the second display element (“Red (2)”), and the sixth display element (“Green (3)”) are sequentially arranged in a second direction (e.g., an “up-down” direction, e.g., see “Second direction” in Fig. 7 above) that intersects the first direction;
re claim 5, the display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the third connection wiring (see “Third connection wiring” in Fig. 7 above) at least partially overlaps the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”), the third pixel electrode (“Green (3)”), and the sixth pixel electrode (“Green (6)”);
re claim 6, the display apparatus of claim 4 (see Fig. 7 below), wherein
the second connection wiring at least partially overlaps the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”), the fourth pixel electrode (“Blue (4)”), and the fifth pixel electrode (“Red (5)”), and
the third connection wiring at least partially overlaps the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”), the third pixel electrode (“Green (3)”), and the sixth pixel electrode (“Green (6)”),
wherein a first portion edge (see “First portion edge” in Fig. 7 below) of a first portion of the first connection wiring overlapping the second pixel electrode is at a first edge (see “First edge”) of the second pixel electrode,
a second portion edge (see “Second portion edge”) of a second portion of the first connection wiring overlapping the third pixel electrode is at a second edge (see “Second edge”) of the third pixel electrode,
a third portion edge (see “Third portion edge”) of a third portion of the second connection wiring overlapping the fourth pixel electrode is at a third edge (see “Third edge”) of the fourth pixel electrode, and
a fourth portion edge (see “Fourth portion edge”) of a fourth portion of the third connection wiring overlapping the second pixel electrode is at the first edge (see “First edge”) of the second pixel electrode;
re claim 7, the display apparatus of claim 4, wherein the first connection wiring comprises a first connection portion extending in the first direction (i.e., any portion of the “First connection wiring” that is in a sideways direction as viewed in Fig. 7) and connected to the first pixel electrode (“Blue (1)”), a second connection portion extending from the first connection portion in the second direction (i.e., any portion of the “First connection wiring” that is in an up-down direction as viewed in Fig. 7), a third connection portion direction (i.e., another portion of the “First connection wiring” that is in a sideways direction as viewed in Fig. 7) extending in the first direction and connected to the fourth pixel electrode (“Blue (4)”), and a fourth connection portion extending from the third connection portion in the second direction (i.e., another portion of the “First connection wiring” that is in an up-down direction as viewed in Fig. 7) , and the third connection wiring comprises a fifth connection portion extending in the second direction (any portion of the “Third connection wiring” that is in an up-down direction in Fig. 7), connected to the third pixel electrode (“Green (3)”), and located between the second connection portion and the fourth connection portion of the first connection wiring (e.g., in Fig. 7, the vertical portion of the “Third connecting wiring” that directly connects to “Green (3)” is located between two “up-down” portions of the “First connection wiring”);
re claim 8, the display apparatus of claim 7, wherein the second connection wiring comprises a sixth connection portion extending in the first direction (i.e., any portion of the “Second connection wiring” that is in a sideways direction as viewed in Fig. 7), connected to the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”), and adjacent to the third connection wiring (Note that the “Third connection wiring” extends beyond the right side of “Red (4)” in Fig. 7 above);
re claim 9, the display apparatus of claim 4, further comprising:
a first contact portion configured to connect the first connection wiring to the fourth pixel electrode (i.e., “The first connection wiring” is connected to “Blue (4)”, see Fig. 7 above);
a second contact portion configured to connect the second connection wiring to the second pixel electrode (i.e., “The second connection wiring” is connected to “Red (2)”); and
a third contact portion configured to connect the third connection wiring to the third pixel electrode (i.e., “The third connection wiring” is connected to “Green (3)”),
wherein the first connection wiring surrounds at least a part of the third contact portion (e.g., the “First connection wiring” at least partially surrounds “Green (3)”),
the second connection wiring surrounds at least a part of the first contact portion (e.g., the “Second connection wiring” at least partially surrounds “Blue (4)”), and
the third connection wiring surrounds at least a part of the second contact portion (e.g., the “Third connection wiring” at least partially surrounds “Red (2)”);
re claim 10, the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first connection wiring (“First connecting wiring” in Fig. 7 above) comprises a first portion overlapping the first pixel electrode (Blue (1)), a second portion overlapping a part of the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”) a third portion overlapping the third pixel electrode (“Green (6)” Note: with respect to this claim, the third pixel electrode is considered to be “Green (6)” instead of “Green (3)”; and this change does not affect claim 1 because either “Green (1)” or “Green (6)” maps to the third pixel electrode in claim 1), a fourth portion overlapping another part of the second pixel electrode (“Red (2)”), and a fifth portion overlapping the fourth pixel electrode (Blue (4)),
wherein the first to fifth portions of the first connection wiring are sequentially arranged in the first connection wiring (i.e., “Blue (1)”, “Red (2)”, “Green (6)”, and “Blue (4)” are sequentially arranged in Fig. 7 above);
re claim 11, the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a first insulating layer (e.g., pixel defining layer 23, Fig. 6 and [0062]) under the first to fourth display elements and comprising a plurality of trenches surrounding at least parts of the first to fourth pixel electrodes in a plan view;
re claim 12, the display apparatus of claim 11, wherein a planar shape of each of the plurality of trenches is a cross shape (i.e., a combination of the first to fourth display elements are arranged in a cross shape; accordingly, a combination of each four display elements comprises pixel defining layers with a cross shape);
re claim 15, the display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising:
a substrate 10 (Fig. 6 and [0031]) comprising a first area and a second area that are adjacent to each other (e.g., any two areas chosen in Fig. 1);
a pixel circuit 12 [0031] in the second area and configured to drive the first display element and the fourth display element (i.e., driving transistors 12 drive the display elements); and
a circuit connection wiring (e.g., a wiring connecting a source/drain to a pixel electrode, e.g.., pixel electrode 221 in Fig. 6) configured to connect the pixel circuit to at least one of the first display element or the fourth display element, wherein the first to fourth display elements are in the first area (any area in which the display elements are located is considered to be the first area);
re claim 16, the display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the pixel circuit comprises a semiconductor layer (for the source/drain active layer of driving transistor 12 in Fig. 6) and a gate electrode 121 [0035] on the semiconductor layer, wherein the first connection wiring and the semiconductor layer are on a same layer (e.g., in Fig. 6, they are both on a same substrate/layer);
re claims 17 and 18, the display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the circuit connection wiring comprises a transparent conductive material, which is a metal material (e.g., ITO comprises metal material, [0065], wherein the circuit wiring includes a pixel electrode, or first electrode 211/221, Figs. 4 and 6); and
re claim 19, the display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first color is blue 21b (“Blue (1)” in Fig. 7 above and [0045]).
Therefore, Xu anticipates claims 1-12 and 15-19.
Regarding claim 20:
Initially, this claim contains limitations similar to that in claim 1; accordingly, limitations that are essentially the same as those in claim 1 will not be specifically addressed in this section.
Xu discloses a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (inherent to the display shown in Fig. 1) comprising a first area AA1 (Fig. 1 and [0027]) and a second area AA2 (Fig. 1 and [0027]), wherein the first area comprises a transmissive area AA1a (Fig. 1 and [0027]) and the second area surrounds at least a part of the first area (Note: the arrangement of display elements in the first and second areas are essentially the same, e.g., see Figs. 2-3, except that the first area has a few dummy pixels [0041]; accordingly, the element-to-element matching for the first to fifth display elements in claim 1 applies to this claim);
a first display element in the first area, configured to emit light of a first color, and comprising a first pixel electrode (in claim 1 above);
a second display element in the first area, configured to emit light of a second color that is different from the first color, and comprising a second pixel electrode (in claim 1 above);
a third display element in the first area, configured to emit light of a third color that is different from the first color and the second color, and comprising a third pixel electrode (in claim 1 above);
a fourth display element in the first area, configured to emit light of the first color, and comprising a fourth pixel electrode (in claim 1 above);
a connection wiring between the substrate and the first to fourth pixel electrodes, configured to connect the first pixel electrode to the fourth pixel electrode, at least partially overlapping the first to fourth pixel electrodes, and comprising an oxide semiconductor material (in claim 1 above);
a pixel circuit 12 (Fig. 6 and [0031]) in the second area; and
a fifth display element in the second area, electrically connected to the pixel circuit, and at least partially overlapping the pixel circuit (i.e., any of the display elements in the second area is electrically connected to a pixel circuit 12).
Therefore, Xu anticipates claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Choi et al. (US 2017/0331073 A1; hereinafter, “Choi”, prior art of record).
Regarding claims 13 and 14:
Xu anticipates claim 11 but does not disclose a second insulating layer as currently claims. However, Choi teaches, in a display apparatus, a second insulating layer 300 (Fig. 4 and [0073]) between a display element OLED and a first insulating layer 180 [0063], at least partially located in the plurality of trenches of the first insulating layer 180, and comprising a material (e.g., in organic layer 310, [0046]) different from a material of the first insulating layer 180 (organic material, [0063]). Choi discloses the second insulating layer 300 prevents moisture and oxygen from penetrating the display unit [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu by incorporating a second insulating layer, a taught by Choi, because the modification would prevent moisture and oxygen from penetrating the display unit.
Remarks
The objection to the title is withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s remarks/arguments have been carefully reviewed and considered; however, they are not persuasive primarily because terms such as “under” and “between” are relative terms dependent on some chosen point of reference. Therefore, as viewed in Fig. 7 (of Xu), a connecting wiring 30 is under the first to fourth pixel electrodes; and in Fig. 6, a connection wiring is between the substrate and the first to fourth (pixel) electrodes 221. The examiner suggests defining reference points for “under” and “between” in order to distinguish over the prior art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEX H MALSAWMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892