DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 1/8/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-10 are pending.
Drawings
The objection to the drawings are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 1/8/2026.
Specification
The objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of 1/8/22026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2023/0138918 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a carrier structure(Fig. 6), comprising:
a dielectric body(42, ¶0026) with a surface defined with at least one die placement area(122, 126, ¶0030) and a peripheral area adjacent to the die placement area(122, 126, ¶0030); and
a circuit layer(120, ¶0030, ¶0016) bonded to the dielectric body(42, ¶0026) and comprising a plurality of conductive traces(121, ¶0030), wherein a winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) arranged around a boundary line(die boundary, ¶0030) between the die placement area(122, 126, ¶0030) and the peripheral area(124, ¶0030) is a continuous bending shape with notches(serpentine, ¶0030).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a serpentine shape(serpentine, ¶0030).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a zigzag shape(serpentine, ¶0030, ¶0013).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches he carrier structure of claim 1, wherein the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a curved shape or a wavy shape(wavelike serpentine, ¶0030-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2023/0138918 A1) both of record.
Regarding claim 6, Wang teaches an electronic package(Fig. 3), comprising:
the carrier structure(Fig. 6) of claim 1(please see claim 1 above); and
an electronic element(56, 58, ¶0025) disposed on the carrier structure(Fig. 6).
Wang does not explicitly state an electronic element(56, 58, ¶0025) is electrically connected to the circuit layer(120, ¶0030, ¶0016). However, Wang does teach the electronic element(56, 58, ¶0025) is electrically connected(¶0024) to the dielectric body(42, ¶0026) and that fine copper traces act as the transmission highway between electronic elements(56, 58, ¶0025). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang, so that an electronic element is electrically connected to the circuit layer, so that the circuit layer can provide an transmission highway between electronic elements(¶0028).
Regarding claim 7, Wang teaches the electronic package of claim 6, wherein the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a serpentine shape(serpentine, ¶0030).
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches the electronic package of claim 6, wherein the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a zigzag shape(serpentine, ¶0030, ¶0013).
Regarding claim 10, Wang teaches the electronic package of claim 6, wherein the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a curved shape or a wavy shape(wavelike serpentine, ¶0030).
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2023/0138918 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2017/0200678 A1) both of record.
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches the carrier structure of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a shape of an English letter R.
Zhang teaches a carrier structure(Fig. 4) wherein the winding shape(4, ¶0038) of the conductive traces(2, Fig. 1, ¶0030) is a shape of an English letter R(Fig. 4, ¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang, so that the winding shape of the conductive traces is a shape of an English letter R as taught by Zhang, in order have a better effect of releasing a stress, and the conductive traces have a higher stability(¶0036).
Regarding claim 8, Wang teaches the electronic package of claim 6, but is not relied on to teach the winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) is a shape of an English letter R.
Zhang teaches a carrier structure(Fig. 4) wherein the winding shape(4, ¶0038) of the conductive traces(2, Fig. 1, ¶0030) is a shape of an English letter R(Fig. 4, ¶0036). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Wang, so that the winding shape of the conductive traces is a shape of an English letter R as taught by Zhang, in order have a better effect of releasing a stress, and the conductive traces have a higher stability(¶0036).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Regarding claim 1, Applicants argue Independent claim 1, as amended, recite, inter alia, "a winding shape of the conductive traces arranged around a boundary line between the die placement area and the peripheral area is a continuous bending shape with notches". Referring to FIG. 3A of the present application, a conductive trace 31 arranged at a boundary between a die placement area A and a peripheral area B (i.e., around a boundary line 20a) has a plurality of line segments 31a and a continuous bending shape with notches 30, as shown by the corner of the die placement area A. That is, the continuous bending shape of the conductive trace 31 is simultaneously arranged in the die placement area A and the peripheral area B.
However, Wang disposes the serpentine portion 124 only between the die boundaries of the IC die 56 and the IC die 58, while below the IC die 56 and the IC die 58 are only the straight portions 122/126 respectively.
Therefore, Wang does not disclose the feature "a winding shape of the conductive traces arranged around a boundary line between the die placement area and the peripheral area is a continuous bending shape with notches" as claimed in the present application.. Therefore, amended independent claim 1 and dependent claims 2, 4 and 5 thereof are not anticipated by Wang.
The examiner recognizes that the placement the winding shape of the conductive traces of Wang around the boundary line of the die placement area 122, 126 and the peripheral area 124 is different than that of continuous bending shape of the conductive trace 31 is simultaneously arranged in the die placement area A and the peripheral area B as depicted in the drawing of the instant application. However, it is well settled that, during examination proceedings, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and a claim must be read in accordance with the percepts of English grammar and words should be given their plain, ordinary meaning. In re Hyatt, 708 F2d 712, 218 USPQ 195 (Fed. Cir. 1983). In this case, the winding shape of the conductive traces of Wang are around but do not cross the boundary line and would read on “a winding shape of the conductive traces(121, ¶0030) arranged around a boundary line(die boundary, ¶0030) between the die placement area(122, 126, ¶0030) and the peripheral area(124, ¶0030)” as claim as explained above. The examiner also notes that the specific structure of the winding shape of the conductive traces to be simultaneously arranged in the die placement area A and the peripheral area of the instant application is not being recited in the claim language. It is the claims, not specification that are anticipated or unpatentable. In Constant v. Advanced Micro Device Inc. 7 USPQ2d 1064. Therefore, Applicant cannot read limitation only set forth in the description into the claim for the purpose of avoiding the prior art. In re. Sporck, 386 F. 2d 924,155 USPQ 687 (CCPA 1967). Furthermore, it is proper to use the specification to interpret what the applicant meant by a word or phrase recited in the claim. However, it is not proper to read the limitations appearing in the specification into the claim when these limitations are not recited in the claim; Intervet America Inc. v. Kee-Vet Lab. Inc, 887 F.2d 1050, 1053, 12 USPQ2d 1474, 1476 (Fed. Cir. 1989)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892
/NORMAN D RICHARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2892