DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2018/0122701) (hereafter Li).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a device comprising:
a gate stack (330, 340, 350, 360, 370, and 380 in Fig. 12) over an active region of a substrate 110 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0031), wherein the gate stack (330, 340, 350, 360, 370, and 380 in Fig. 12) comprises:
a gate dielectric layer 330 (Fig. 12, paragraph 0066); and
a first work function layer (340, 350, 360, and 370 in Fig. 12) over the gate dielectric layer 330 (Fig. 12), the first work function layer (340, 350, 360, and 370 in Fig. 12) comprising a plurality of first layers (340 and 370 in Fig. 12) and a plurality of second layers (350 and 360 in Fig. 12) arranged in an alternating manner over the gate dielectric layer 330 (Fig. 12), the plurality of first layers (340 and 370 in Fig. 12) comprising a first material (see paragraph 0080, wherein “TaN”), the plurality of second layers (350 and 360 in Fig. 12) comprising a second material (see paragraph 0082, wherein “Tin”) different from the first material (see paragraph 0080, wherein “TaN”).
Regarding claim 2, Li further discloses the device of claim 1, wherein the first material (see paragraph 0080, wherein “TaN”) is a first metal nitride material.
Regarding claim 3, Li further discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0080, wherein “TaN”) comprises TaN or TiN.
Regarding claim 4, Li further discloses the device of claim 2, wherein the second material (see paragraph 0082, wherein “Tin”) is a second metal nitride material.
Regarding claim 5, Li further discloses the device of claim 4, wherein the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0082, wherein “Tin”) comprises TaN or TiN.
Claims 8-10, 13-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2019/0378907) (hereafter Wang).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses a device comprising:
a gate stack (111, 112, 113, 121, 122, 131, 132, 142, and 140 in Fig. 9B) over an active region of a substrate 100 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0054), wherein the gate stack (111, 112, 113, 121, 122, 131, 132, 142, and 140 in Fig. 9B) comprises:
a gate dielectric layer 112 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0060);
a p-type work function layer (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) over the gate dielectric layer 112 (Fig. 9B), the p-type work function layer (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) comprising a pair of layers (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) repeated two of more times, the pair of layers (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) comprising a first layer 121 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) and a second layer 122 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) different from the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”); and
an n-type work function layer 131 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0063) over the p-type work function layer (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 9, Wang further discloses the device of claim 8, wherein the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) comprises TaN or TiN.
Regarding claim 10, Wang further discloses the device of claim 9, wherein the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) comprises TaN or TiN.
Regarding claim 13, Wang further discloses the device of claim 8, wherein a first thickness (vertical length of bottom 121 in Fig. 9B) of the first layer 121 (Fig. 9B) is different from a second thickness (vertical length of top 121 in Fig. 9B) of the second layer 122 (Fig. 9B).
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses a device comprising:
a first active region 100 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0054, wherein “semiconductor substrate”) of a semiconductor material;
a first transistor (see “P-type transistors” in paragraph 0059) on the first active region 100 (Fig. 9B), the first transistor being p-type, the first transistor (see “P-type transistors” in paragraph 0059) comprising a first gate stack (region from 111 to 140 in Fig. 9B), the first gate stack comprising:
a gate dielectric layer 112 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0060);
a first layer (bottom 121 in Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) of a first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) over the gate dielectric layer 112 (Fig. 9B);
a first layer (bottom 122 in Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) of a second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) over the first layer (bottom 121 in Fig. 9B) of the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”), the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) being a different material than the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”);
a second layer (top 121 in Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) of the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) over the first layer (bottom 122 in Fig. 9B) of a second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”);
a second layer (top 122 in Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) of the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) over the second layer (top 121 in Fig. 9B) of the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”); and
a conductive fill layer 140 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0095) over the second layer (top 122 in Fig. 9B) of the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”).
Regarding claim 15, Wang further discloses the device of claim 14, wherein the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) comprises TaN or TiN.
Regarding claim 16, Wang further discloses the device of claim 15, wherein the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) comprises TaN or TiN.
Regarding claim 19, Wang further discloses the device of claim 14 further comprising a work function metal 131 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0063) between the second layer (top 122 in Fig. 9B) of the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) and the conductive fill layer 140 (Fig. 9B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2015/0243564) (hereafter Zhao).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the device of claim 1, however Li does not disclose the gate stack further comprises a second work function layer over the first work function layer, the second work function layer comprising a third material different from the first material and the second material.
Zhao discloses the gate stack (201A, 202A, 203A, 204A, 205A, and 206A in Fig. 2K) further comprises a second work function layer 205A (Fig. 11, paragraph 0098) over the first work function layer 204A (Fig. 11, paragraph 0093, wherein “one or more of Ti.sub.xN.sub.(1-x), TaC, MoN, TaN, etc.”), the second work function layer 205A (Fig. 11) comprising a third material (see paragraph 0098, wherein “one or more of TiAl, Al, etc.”) different from the first material (see paragraph 0027, wherein “TaN”) and the second material (see paragraph 0027, wherein “Ti.sub.xN.sub.(1-x)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to form the gate stack further comprises a second work function layer over the first work function layer, the second work function layer comprising a third material different from the first material and the second material, as taught by Zhao, in order to satisfy work function requirements associated with the device.
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Zhao discloses the device of claim 6, however Li does not disclose the first work function layer is a p-type work function layer, and wherein the second work function layer is an n-type work function layer.
Zhao discloses the first work function layer 204A (Fig. 2K, paragraph 0093) is a p-type work function layer, and wherein the second work function layer 205A (Fig. 2K, paragraph 0098) is an n-type work function layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Li to form a glue layer between the work function metal and the conductive fill layer, as taught by Zhao, in order to satisfy work function requirements associated with the device.
Claims 11, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 10 and 16 above.
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the device of claim 10, however Wang does not explicitly disclose a ratio of a fraction of Ta to a fraction of Ti in the p-type work function layer is from 0.5 to 0.95.
Regarding the limitation, “a ratio of a fraction of Ta to a fraction of Ti in the p-type work function layer is from 0.5 to 0.95”, Wang discloses the pair of layers (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) comprising a first layer 121 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) and a second layer 122 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”). Ratio of Ta in a portion of second layer 122 (Wang, Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) to Ti in portion of the first layer 121 (Wang, Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) having twice the size of the portion of second layer 122 (Wang, Fig. 9B) is 0.5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to form a ratio of a fraction of Ta to a fraction of Ti in the p-type work function layer is from 0.5 to 0.95, since such a modification would have involved discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 17, Wang further discloses the device of claim 16, wherein the first layer (bottom 121 in Fig. 9B) of the first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”), the first layer (bottom 122 in Fig. 9B) of the second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”), the second layer (top 121 in Fig. 9B) the first metal nitride material, and the second layer (top 122 in Fig. 9B) of the second metal nitride material are collectively comprised by a p-type work function metal layer.
Wang does not explicitly disclose a ratio of a fraction of Ta to a fraction of Ti in the p-type work function metal layer is 0.5 to 0.95.
Regarding the limitation, “a ratio of a fraction of Ta to a fraction of Ti in the p-type work function layer is from 0.5 to 0.95”, Wang discloses the pair of layers (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) comprising a first layer 121 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) and a second layer 122 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”). Ratio of Ta in a portion of second layer 122 (Wang, Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) to Ti in portion of the first layer 121 (Wang, Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) having twice the size of the portion of second layer 122 (Wang, Fig. 9B) is 0.5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to form a ratio of a fraction of Ta to a fraction of Ti in the p-type work function layer is from 0.5 to 0.95, since such a modification would have involved discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses the device of claim 17, however Wang does not explicitly disclose the fraction of Ta in the p-type work function metal layer is 7 at% to 40 at%, and the fraction of Ti in the p-type work function metal layer is 7 at% to 40 at%.
Regarding the limitation, “the fraction of Ta in the p-type work function metal layer is 7 at% to 40 at%, and the fraction of Ti in the p-type work function metal layer is 7 at% to 40 at%”, Wang discloses the pair of layers (121 and 122 in Fig. 9B) comprising a first layer 121 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a first metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) and a second layer 122 (Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056) comprising a second metal nitride material (see paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”). A portion of first layer 121 (Wang, Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056, wherein “TiN”) has Ti:N = 1:1 and a portion of second layer 122 (Wang, Fig. 9B, paragraph 0056, wherein “TaN”) has Ta:N = 1:1 such that the fraction of Ta in the sum of the portion of first layer 121 (Wang, Fig. 9B) and the portion of first layer 121 (Wang, Fig. 9B) is 25 at% (Ta:TiN/TaN = 1:4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to form the fraction of Ta in the p-type work function metal layer is 7 at% to 40 at%, and the fraction of Ti in the p-type work function metal layer is 7 at% to 40 at%, since such a modification would have involved discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454,456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Note that the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed ranges or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. In re Woodruff, 919 f.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claims 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 8 and 19 above, and further in view of Chan et al. (US 2011/0241130) (hereafter Chan).
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses the device of claim 8, however Wang does not disclose the gate stack further comprises: a glue layer over the n-type work function layer; and a conductive layer over the glue layer.
Chan discloses the gate stack further comprises: a glue layer 116 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) over the n-type work function layer 112 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0021); and a conductive layer 118 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) over the glue layer 116 (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to form the gate stack further comprises: a glue layer over the n-type work function layer; and a conductive layer over the glue layer, as taught by Chan, since a wetting layer/glue layer 116 (Chan, Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) is formed immediately below the cap layer/conductive fill layer 118 (Chan, Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) to enhance adhesion of the cap layer/conductive fill layer 118 (Chan, Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) to the underlying layer.
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses the device of claim 19, however Wang does not disclose a glue layer between the work function metal and the conductive fill layer.
Chan discloses a glue layer 116 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) between the work function metal 112 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0015) and the conductive fill layer 118 (Fig. 1, paragraph 0025).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wang to form a glue layer between the work function metal and the conductive fill layer, as taught by Chan, since a wetting layer/glue layer 116 (Chan, Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) is formed immediately below the cap layer/conductive fill layer 118 (Chan, Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) to enhance adhesion of the cap layer/conductive fill layer 118 (Chan, Fig. 1, paragraph 0025) to the underlying layer.
Conclusion
/L.B.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813