Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4,15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al (US Pub No. 20200058684), in view of Zang et al (US Pub No. 20220052085).
With respect to claim 1, Wu et al discloses forming, in a substrate (104,Fig.25) of a pixel sensor (018), a first deep trench isolation (DTI) structure at least partially surrounding a photodiode in the substrate (116); forming, in the substrate, a plurality of second DTI structures over the photodiode (top portion of 1702,Fig.22) and within a perimeter of the first DTI structure (Fig.25); forming, in the substrate, a high absorption region over the photodiode and in between
the plurality of second DTI structures (1602); and filling the first DTI structure (314a), the plurality of second DTI structures (102), and the high absorption region with an oxide material (para94,35,Silicon oxide). However, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose filling, after forming the first DTI structure, the plurality of second DTI structures, and the high absorption region, the first DTI structure, the plurality of second DTI structures, and the high absorption region with an oxide material. On the other hand, Zang et al discloses after forming the first DTI (W3,Fig.3A) and the second DTI (W2) and high absorption region (W1) then they are filled with oxide material (Para 110). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al according to the teachings of Zang et al such that first all of the trenches are formed then they are filled simultaneously in order to speed up the process time and increase the yield.
With respect to claim 4, Wu et al discloses forming the plurality of second DTI structures to a depth (Fig.25), relative to a top surface of the Substrate (1702,Fig.22), such that the plurality of second DTI structures do not touch the photodiode (Fg.25).
With respect to claim 15, Wu et al discloses forming, in a substrate (106,Fig.1A), a deep trench isolation (DTI) structure (110), a plurality of refraction structures (114), and an absorption region (112), wherein the DTI structure is formed to at least partially surround a photodiode (108,Fig.1A) in the substrate, the plurality of refraction structures and absorption region are formed within the DTI structure (Fig.1A), and the absorption region increases an absorption of an incident light for the photodiode (abstract); filling the DTI structure, the plurality of refraction structures, and the absorption region with an oxide material (Para 31); and forming a micro-lens layer (122) over the DTI structure, the plurality of refraction structures, and the absorption region (Fig.1A). However, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose filling, after forming the first DTI structure, the plurality of second DTI structures, and the high absorption region, the first DTI structure, the plurality of second DTI structures, and the high absorption region with an oxide material, and forming the microlenses after the filling process. On the other hand, Zang et al discloses after forming the first DTI (W3,Fig.3A) and the second DTI (W2) and high absorption region (W1) then they are filled with oxide material (Para 110), and forming microlenses after the filling process (Fig.4A). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al according to the teachings of Zang et al such that first all of the trenches are formed then they are filled simultaneously in order to speed up the process time and increase the yield, and then the microlenses are formed in order to protect the lenses from the deposition.
With respect to claim 16, Wu et al discloses wherein the absorption region comprises a structure having angled walls (Fig.1A) such that the structure is approximately triangular shaped (Fig.1A).
With respect to claim 17, Wu et al discloses wherein the absorption region is formed between the plurality of refraction structures (Fig.1A).
With respect to claim 19, Wu et al discloses forming an antireflective coating layer (112 is made silicon nitride and it is great for ARC, para 31) over the DTI structure (Fig.1A), the plurality of refraction structures (Fig.1A), and the absorption region (Fig.1A), wherein the micro-lens layer is formed over the antireflecting coating layer (Fig.1A).
With respect to claim 20, Wu et al discloses forming a color filter layer (120) over the DTI structure, the plurality of refraction structures, and the absorption region, wherein the micro-lens layer is formed over the color filter layer (Fig.1A).
Claim(s) 2-3,14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al . (US Pub No. 20200058684), in view of Lo et al (US Patent No. 9330956), Zang et al (US Pub No. 20220052085).
With respect to claim 2, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose wherein forming the first DTI structure and forming the plurality of second DTI structures comprise: forming the first DTI structure and forming the plurality of second DTI structures using a same photomask. On the other hand, Lo et al discloses wherein forming the first DTI structure (left 192,Fig.1E) and forming the plurality of second DTI structures (191) comprise: forming the first DTI structure and forming the plurality of second DTI structures using a same photomask (180,Fig.1D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al according to the teachings of the Lo et al such that the second DTI and the first DTI are formed with the same mask, in order to shorten the process time, thereby increasing the manufacturing yield.
With respect to claim 3, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose wherein filling the first DTI structure, the plurality of second DTI structures, and the high absorption region with the oxide material comprises: filling at least the first DTI structure and the plurality of second DTI structures with the oxide material in a same deposition operation. On the other hand, Lo et al discloses filling at least the first DTI structure and the plurality of second DTI structures with the oxide material in a same deposition operation (col 4, Fig.1F). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al according to the teachings of the Lo et al such that the first DTI structure and the plurality of second DTI structures with the oxide material in a same deposition operation, in order to shorten the fabrication process, and increase the manufacturing yield.
With respect to claim 14, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose the one or more refraction structures, and the absorption region are formed in the substrate in a single etching operation. On the other hand, Lo et al discloses multiple different shape trenches (191,192, Fig.1E, which DTI and refraction and absorption regions are) are formed in the substrate (100, Fg.1D-1E). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al according to the teachings of the Lo et al such that the one or more refraction structures, and the absorption region are formed in the substrate in a single etching operation, in order to reduce the manufacturing time, thereby cut the labor cost.
Claim(s) 5-6,13,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al . (US Pub No. 20200058684), Zang et al (US Pub No. 20220052085).
, With respect to claim 5, Wu et al discloses wherein the depth of the plurality of second DTI structures is less than a depth of the first DTI structure (Fig.25). However, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose wherein the depth of the plurality of second DTI structures is in a range of approximately 300 nanometers to approximately 2000 nanometers. However, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furhermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al such that the depth of the plurality of second DTI structures is in a range of approximately 300 nanometers to approximately 2000 nanometers, as a design choice.
With respect to claim 6, Wu et al discloses forming the plurality of second DTI structures to a particular width (Fg.22); however, it does not explicitly disclose such that an etch rate of the first DTI structure and the plurality of second DTI structures results in the first DTI structure being deeper relative to the plurality of second DTI structures. On the other hand, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the tie of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al such that the second DTIs are wider than the first the first DTI, thereby by using a simple mask one can make the first DTI deeper than the second DTI, since the etch rate is proportional to the surface area.
With respect to claim 13, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose, wherein the one or more refraction structures are not in contact with the absorption region. On the other hand, Wu et al in Fig.10 discloses that refraction structures (114,Fig.10) are not in contact with the absorption region (112). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al in Fig.1A according to the teachings of the Wu et al in Fig.10 as a design choice.
With respect to claim 18, Wu et al discloses that (112) is the absorption region (Abstract); however, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the absorption region is capable of directing the incident light toward a center of the photodiode. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al such that the absorption region is capable of directing the incident light toward a center of the photodiode, in order to increase the efficiency of the device.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al . (US Pub No. 20200058684), in view of Zang et al (US Pub No. 20220052085).
With resect to claim 7, the arts cited above do not explicitly disclose forming a third DTI structure, of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a first side of the high absorption region;
forming a fourth DTI structure, of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a second
side of the high absorption region; forming a fifth DTI structure, of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a first third of the high absorption region; and forming a sixth DTI structure, of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a fourth side of the high absorption region. On the other hand, Zang et al discloses forming a third DTI structure (24FI,Fig.2F), of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a first side of the high absorption region (left side of 214FA);
forming a fourth DTI structure (214FB), of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a second
side of the high absorption region (top side of 214F); forming a fifth DTI structure (214FC), of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a first third of the high absorption region (right side of 214FA); and forming a sixth DTI structure (214FE), of the plurality of second DTI structures, near a fourth side of the high absorption region (bottom side of 214FA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al according to the teachings of the Zang et al such that multiple DTI structures are formed over the photodiode region, in order to increase the pixel efficiency.
Claim(s) 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al . (US Pub No. 20200058684), in view of Kuo et al (US Pub No. 20190165026)
With respect to claim 8, Wu et al discloses forming, in a substrate (106,Fig.1A) a photodiode (108); forming, in the substrate, a deep trench isolation (DTI) structure (116), one or more refraction Structures (114, para 31), and an absorption region (112), wherein the DTI structure is formed to at least partially surround the photodiode (Fig.1A), the one or more refraction structures are formed within the DTI structure (Fig.1A), and the
absorption region increases an absorption of an incident light for the photodiode (abstract); and
filling the DTI structure (para 31), the one or more refraction structures, and the absorption region with an oxide material (Para 31). However, the arts cited above do not disclose wherein, in a cross section of the pixel sensor, the absorption region is spaced apart and physically separate from the photodiode. On the other hand Kuo discloses wherein, in a cross section of the pixel sensor (Fig.1), the absorption region (124) is spaced apart and physically separate from the photodiode (106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Wu et al such that the photodiode is separate from the high absorption region, in order to prolong the life time of the device, by not harming the photosensor region during formation of the high absorption region.
With respect to claim 9, Wu et al discloses wherein the DTI structure is formed such that a depth of the DTI structure in the substrate is less than a thickness of the substrate (Fig.1A).
With respect to claim 10, Wu et al discloses wherein the one or more refraction structures are formed such that a depth of the one or more refraction structures in the substrate is less than a depth of the DTI structure in the substrate (Fig.1A).
With respect to claim 11, Wu et al does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more refraction structures are formed in the substrate such that a width of the one or more refraction structures in the substrate is less than a width of the DTI structure in the substrate (Fig.1A).
With respect to claim 12, wherein at least one refraction structure of the one or more
refraction structures is formed in the substrate such that the at least one refraction structure is in
contact with the DTI structure ( with top portion of the DTI structure since the material inside DTI structure covers the top surface of the device).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALI NARAGHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817