DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/15/26.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 21, lines 12-13, it is unclear how during the repeated step of step (b) would occur since in lines 4-5, “(b) the epitaxially growing of the doped layer is formed directly on the substrate in the recess by interacting materials of a precursor fluid with the material of the substrate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 33-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US PGPub 2015/0255606, hereinafter referred to as “Cheng”).
Cheng discloses the semiconductor method as claimed. See figures 1-9 and corresponding text, where Cheng teaches, in claim 33, a method comprising:
forming a recess (S1) in a substrate (3), the recess having a bottom and sidewalls extending to the top of the recess (S1); (figures 5-9; [0037-0060])
forming a lined recess by lining the bottom and the entire sidewalls of the recess with a bottommost layer (10) in direct contact with the substrate (3), the bottommost layer (10) comprising semiconductor material doped with a first dopant species to a predetermined dopant concentration;
at least partially filling the lined recess with semiconductor material by repeating a pattern of alternately epitaxially growing respective boosting layers (11), substantially free of the first dopant species, and respective first layers doped with the first dopant species, followed by epitaxially growing respective boosting layers, substantially free of the first dopant species, until a desired portion of the recess is filled, wherein the respective boosting layers have a high concentration of unbound first dopant bonding sites relative to respective doped first layers, and wherein each of the respective boosting layers is sandwiched between respective first layers or between one of the respective first layers (12) and the bottommost layer (10); (figure 8; [0053-0060]) and
activating the first dopant species to diffuse from respective first layers to respective unbound first dopant bonding sites in the respective boosting layers.
Cheng teaches, in claim 34, wherein epitaxially growing respective first layers doped with a first dopant species is performed in a first process chamber while a first dopant based vapor is being introduced into the first process chamber, and further wherein epitaxially growing respective boosting layers is performed in the first process chamber while the first dopant based vapor is being withheld from the first process chamber (figures 5-9; [0037-0060]).
Cheng teaches, in claim 36, wherein respective first layers are lattice mismatched to respective boosting layers (figures 5-9; [0037-0060]).
Cheng teaches, in claim 36, wherein a ratio of thicknesses of respective first layers to respective boosting layers is in a range of from 10:1 to 2:1 (figures 5-9; [0037-0060]).
Cheng teaches, in claim 37, wherein respective first layers are epitaxially grown conformally on a bottom and sidewalls of the recess (figures 5-9; [0037-0060]).
Cheng teaches, in claim 38, a method comprising: (figures 5-9; [0037-0060])
forming a recess (S1) in a semiconductor substrate (3), the recess having a bottom surface and having sidewalls extending to a topmost surface of the substrate;
epitaxially growing a first layer (100 of doped material in contact with the substrate in the recess, the doped material comprising a semiconductor material and a first dopant, the doped material lining the bottom of the recess and the sidewalls of the recess and extending along the sidewalls to the topmost surface of the substrate;
epitaxially growing a boosting layer (11) on the first layer of doped material in the recess, wherein the boosting layer has a high concentration of unbound dopant bonding sites relative to the first layer of doped material;
growing a second layer (12) of the doped material on the boosting layer (figure 8; [0053-0060]); and
activating dopants in the first layer of doped material and the second layer of the doped material to bond with unbound dopant bonding sites in the boosting layer.
Cheng teaches, in claim 39, wherein prior to the step of activating, the boosting layer is substantially free of the first dopant (figures 5-9; [0037-0060]).
Cheng teaches, in claim 40, further comprising removing portions of the boosting layer during the process of epitaxially growing the boosting layer (figures 5-9; [0037-0060]).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 August 8, 2026