DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2 and 13 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons. Claims 2 and 13 are not drawn to elected Species 1a which is drawn to Figure 11. Claims 2 and 13 are instead drawn to non-elected Figure 14.
Additionally, in light of the amendments made to the claims from which they depend, claims 1 and 11, respectively, Applicant has inserted a search burden. A search for a dielectric dam physically contacting a thermal interface material as claimed in claims 1 and 11 would not necessarily yield prior art applicable to a rib portion of a lid physically contacting the thermal interface material as claimed in claims 2 and 13.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 2 and 13 and claims 3 and 14 as being dependent on claims 2 and 13 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9-12, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo et al. (“Loo” US 2011/0018125) and Liang et al. (Liang” US 2019/0045666).
Regarding claim 1, Loo discloses a package structure (Figure 6), comprising:
A circuit substrate (10),
a package unit (12), disposed on the circuit substrate (10) and electrically connected to the circuit substrate (10, through solder bumps 42, see para. [0023]), wherein the package unit (12) includes a first surface (bottom surface) facing the circuit substrate (10) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first surface (bottom surface) and away from the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6);
an underfill (14), disposed between the package unit (12) and the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6), surrounding the package unit (12) and partially covering sidewalls of the package unit (12, Figure 6 shows the underfill 14 covering lateral sidewalls of the package unit 12);
a cover (44), disposed over the package unit (12) and over the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6);
a first adhesive (46), disposed on the circuit substate (10) and between the cover (44) and the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6);
a [dielectric] dam (60) disposed between the cover (44) and the package unit (12, see Figure 6); and
a thermal interface material (20) disposed between the cover (40) and the package unit (12, see Figure 6), wherein the thermal interface material (20) physically contacts the second surface (top surface) of the package unit (12) and physically contacts the cover (44, see Figure 6) that are in physical contact with the thermal interface material (20) are physically isolated from the underfill (14, the cover and the dam are isolated from the underfill 14, see Figure 6), and the thermal interface material includes metal.
Loo does not disclose that the dam is a dielectric dam, that the thermal interface material contacts sidewalls of the package unit, the underfill, and the dielectric dam, or that the thermal interface material includes metal.
Liang discloses, however, a dam (150) which is made of a dielectric material (see para. [0033] which discloses many insulating, dielectric materials used for the dielectric dam 150), and a thermal interface material (140) that includes a metal (para. [0028]) contacting sidewalls of a package unit (120) and the dielectric dam (150, see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Liang into the teachings of Loo to include the dielectric material and the metal material for the dam and thermal interface material, respectively, and the physical contact between various parts of the package structure in order to improve heat transfer performance (para. [0027]) and utilizing a flexible material for the dam to form a seal (para. [0033]). Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
The combination would also result in the configuration where the thermal interface material, incorporated by Laing into the teachings of Loo, contacts the underfill material because the thermal interface material of Liang extends to the circuit substrate, the dielectric dam, and sidewalls of the package unit to eliminate air gaps which reduce heat transfer performance. Thus, the thermal interface material would also contact the underfill.
Regarding claim 9, Loo discloses wherein the dielectric dam (60) surrounds the package unit (12, see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Loo further discloses passive components (40) bonded to the circuit substrate (10), wherein the thermal interface material (20) is spaced apart from the passive components (40, see Figure 6, the combination of teachings also teaches this configuration because the metal thermal interface material would be contained within the dam 60, thus still separated from the passive components).
Regarding claim 11, Loo discloses a package structure (Figure 6), comprising:
A circuit substrate (10),
a package unit (12), disposed on the circuit substrate (10) and electrically connected to the circuit substrate (10, through solder bumps 42, see para. [0023]), wherein the package unit (12) includes a first surface (bottom surface) facing the circuit substrate (10) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first surface (bottom surface) and away from the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6);
at least one passive component (40), disposed on the circuit substrate (10) and electrically connected to the circuit substrate (10);
a cover (44), disposed over the package unit (12) and over the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6), wherein the cover (44) is connected to the circuit substrate 10, through adhesive 46);
a first adhesive (46), disposed on the circuit substate (10) and between the cover (44) and the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6);
a thermal interface material (20), disposed between the cover (44) and the package unit (12) and on the second surface (top surface, see Figure 6); and
a [dielectric] dam (60) disposed between the cover (44) and the package unit (12), wherein the [dielectric] dam (60) covers the at least one passive component (40, see Figure 6 which shows the dam 60 covering a portion of the top surface of the passive components 40) and physically separates the at least one passive component (40) from the thermal interface material (20, see Figure 6), and the thermal interface material physically contacts the cover (44) and the second surface (top surface) of the package unit (12, see Figure 6).
Loo does not disclose that the dam is a dielectric dam, or that the thermal interface material physically contacts the dam.
Laing discloses, however, a dam (150) which is made of a dielectric material (see para. [0033] which discloses many insulating, dielectric materials used for the dielectric dam 150), and a thermal interface material (140) that physical contacts the dielectric dam (150, see Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Liang into the teachings of Loo to include the dielectric material for the dam and the physical contact between the dam and the thermal interface material in order to improve heat transfer performance (para. [0027]) and minimize air gaps which reduce heat transfer, and utilize a flexible material for the dam to form a seal (para. [0033]). Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 12, Loo further discloses an underfill (14), disposed between the package unit (12) and the circuit substrate (10), surrounding the package unit (12) and partially covering sidewalls of the package unit (12, see Figure 6 which shows the underfill covering lateral sidewalls of the package unit 12).
Regarding claim 21, Loo discloses a package structure (Figure 6), comprising:
a circuit substrate (10) having a first surface (top surface) and a second surface (bottom surface) opposite to the first surface (see Figure 6);
a package unit (12), disposed on the first surface of circuit substrate (top surface, see Figure 6), wherein the package unit (12) includes a semiconductor die (para. [0023]) electrically connected to the circuit substrate (10, see para. [0023]);
at least one passive component (40), disposed on the first surface of the circuit substrate (top surface, see Figure 6), beside the package unit (12, see Figure 6), and electrically connected to the circuit substrate (10);
a cover (44), disposed over the package unit (12) and over the circuit substrate (10), wherein the cover is connected to the first surface of the circuit substrate (top surface, see Figure 6);
an adhesive (46), disposed on the first surface of the circuit substate (top surface, see Figure 6) and between the cover (44) and the circuit substrate (10, see Figure 6);
a thermal interface material (20), disposed between the cover (44) and the package unit (12, see Figure 6); and
a [dielectric] dam (60) disposed between the cover (44) and the package unit (12, see Figure 6), the [dielectric] dam (60) covers the at least one passive component (40, see Figure 6 which shows the dam 60 covering portions of the top surfaces of the passive components 40) and physically separates the at least one passive component (40) from the thermal interface material (20, see Figure 6), and the thermal interface material (20) physically contacts the cover (44) and the package unit (12, see Figure 6).
Loo does not disclose that the dam is a dielectric dam and is made of a different material from a material of the adhesive and the thermal interface material physically contacts the dielectric dam.
Laing discloses, however, a dam (150) which is made of a dielectric material (see para. [0033] which discloses many insulating, dielectric materials used for the dielectric dam 150), and a thermal interface material (140) that physical contacts the dielectric dam (150, see Figure 1). Liang also discloses that the dielectric dam (150) may be attached to the circuit substrate (110) with an adhesive, therefore it is understood that the dielectric dam itself is not used as an adhesive material. Thus, the combination of teachings would also teach that the dielectric dam is made of a different material than the adhesive because the dielectric dam itself is not considered an adhesive material.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Liang into the teachings of Loo to include the dielectric material for the dam and the physical contact between the dam and the thermal interface material in order to improve heat transfer performance (para. [0027]) and minimize air gaps which reduce heat transfer, and utilize a flexible material for the dam to form a seal (para. [0033]). Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 22, Loo discloses wherein the dielectric dam (60) is in a ring-shape (see Figures 6 and 7) and surrounds and encloses the thermal interface material (20) and the package unit (12, see Figure 6).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Loo and Liang as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2014/0284764).
Regarding claim 23, Laing discloses wherein the dielectric dam includes an epoxy resin (para. [0028] discloses polymers, and epoxy resin is a polymeric material) and the thermal interface material is a solid type metal thermal interface material (see para. [0028] which discloses metals such as copper and silver).
Loo and Liang do not disclose wherein the adhesive includes a thermally conductive adhesive.
Lee discloses, however, an adhesive layer (140, Figure 1) between a cover (130) and a circuit substrate (100, see Figure 1) that includes a thermally conductive adhesive (see para. [0029] which discloses the adhesive layer as comprising a metal or solder material, which are thermally conductive).
It would have bene obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Lee into the teachings of Loo and Liang to include a thermally conductive adhesive material for the adhesive for the purpose of utilizing thermal conductivity properties in order to improve thermal performance. Additionally, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.07.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed April 8 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 9 have been fully considered and overcome the objection to claim 9. The objection to claim 9 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The Examiner would like to note that although claims 2-3 and 13-14 are withdrawn by Election by Original Presentation, the claims would be subject to 112(a) and 112(b) rejections if reinstated and examined. Claims 1 and 11 require that the dielectric dam physically contacts the thermal interface material as shown in Figure 11 of the present disclosure, while claims 2 and 13 require that the rib portion of the lid physically contacts/abuts the thermal interface material as shown in Figure 14 of the present disclosure. These features are mutually exclusive based on the present disclosure thus it is unclear how these features can exist together in the same embodiment, and Applicant has not disclosed an embodiment in which both features are present. Thus, the claims 2 and 13 are indefinite and introduce new matter if they are no longer withdrawn from consideration.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Genevieve G Bullard-Connor/Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899