CTNF 18/366,820 CTNF 83642 Detailed Correspondence Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A, Figs. 5-6 , in the reply filed on 05/07/2026 is acknowledged. Applicants designated claims 1-14 and 25 read into elected species A. 08-06 AIA Claim s 15-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species B and C , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/07/2026 . 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation The “at least one first hole formed in a slot hole” of claims 1 and 25, Applicants’ drawing did not label where is “a slot hole”. The examiner considered the hole H1 shows a slot shape being the claimed “slot hole” (or the claim should be considered as “at least one first hole formed in a shape of a slot”). Alternatively, the slot shown between the two plates 342 in Fig. 2, but then the hole H1 is really well below the slot hole. This portion of the claim will be examined inclusive either interpretation. The “a crucible” of claims 1 and 25, unlikely commonly used in the art of vaporization where crucible is where the vaporization occurs, Applicants’ Specification describes “The crucible 310 may have an empty space therein (see FIG. 5)” ([0079]). On the other hand, “a vaporizing member” being “the vaporizing member 500 to provide a space in which the deposition material stored in the vaporizing member 500 moves to the nozzle member 300” ([0063]), which is where material vapor is generated. The “a crucible” of claim 1 is merely a passage for the material vapor passing through and will be examined accordingly. The ”adjacent to” in various claims, it is considered adjacent relative to any other components of the apparatus. 07-30-06 This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: The “a vaporizing member” of claims 1 and 25, this is considered a body and a cover ([0107]) that store deposition materials ([0062]). The “a connecting member” of claims 1 and 25, this is considered a pipe as shown in various figures. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. On the other hand, the “a fastening member” of claims 1 and 25 is not considered under 112(f) as it is further structurally modified by “the fastening member including a bolt, a nut, and a washer”. The “wherein the deposition material includes a metal or an inorganic insulating material” is considered an intended use of the apparatus. It has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim ( Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim ( In re Casey , 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2111.02). When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent ( In re Best , 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2112.01). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-4, 8-9, 11, 13-14, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over La et al. (WO 2021085685, from IDS, hereafter ‘685), in view of MIYAYA et al. (US 20220081774, hereafter ‘774) . ‘685 teaches some limitations of: Claim 1: one or more material deposition arrangements 100 for evaporating a source material 50 (Fig. 1, English translation [32], includes the claimed “A deposition source comprising”): The second wall 170 comprises a second top wall 171 for defining the top of the distribution assembly 160, a second side wall 172 extending downward from the second top wall 171, a second bottleneck wall 173 extending radially inward and downward from the second side wall 172, and a second flange 174 extending radially outward from the lower end of the second bottleneck wall 173 ([38]), The first flange 124 and the second flange 174 may be clamped by a fastener, for example by a bolt 156 and a nut 157 ([69], 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, together, is the claimed “a body portion”, a the bolt hole 156 is in the body portion, includes the claimed “a nozzle member including: a body portion including at least one first hole”); the evaporated material is distributed to a plurality of nozzles 184 formed on the second side wall 172 ([39], includes the claimed “a plurality of nozzles coupled to a first surface of the body portion and that eject a deposition material to an outside”); The first wall 120 comprises a first bottom wall 121 for defining the bottom of the crucible 120, a first side wall 122 extending upward from the first bottom wall 121, a first bottleneck wall 123 extending radially inward and upward from the first side wall 122, and a first flange 124 extending radially outward from the upper end of the first bottleneck wall 123 ([36]), The first flange 124 and the second flange 174 may be clamped by a fastener, for example by a bolt 156 and a nut 157 ([69]), a fastener, for example by a bolt 156 and a nut 157 ([67], the bottleneck wall 123 is a passage for the material vapor to pass through, is the same as Applicants’ crucible, see claim interpretation above, includes the claimed “and a crucible including at least one second hole overlapping the first hole and coupled to a second surface of the body portion by a fastening member inserted into the first hole and the second hole, the fastening member including a bolt, a nut”); The material deposition arrangement 100 comprises a crucible 110 configured to evaporate the source material 50 to be deposited and a distribution assembly 160 configured to provide the evaporated material to the substrate 20 ([32], last sentence, includes the claimed “a vaporizing member spaced apart from the nozzle member and storing the deposition material” and the first bottleneck wall 123 reads into the claimed “ and a connecting member connecting the nozzle member and the vaporizing member, the connecting member through which the deposition material moves”). Claim 25: one or more material deposition arrangements 100 for evaporating a source material 50 (Fig. 1, English translation [32], includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus comprising”): a substrate support 30 configured to support the substrate 20, and one or more material deposition arrangements 100 for evaporating a source material 50 ([0032], includes the claimed “a substrate holder disposed in a process chamber and fixing a substrate; and a deposition source facing the substrate holder), The second wall 170 comprises a second top wall 171 for defining the top of the distribution assembly 160, a second side wall 172 extending downward from the second top wall 171, a second bottleneck wall 173 extending radially inward and downward from the second side wall 172, and a second flange 174 extending radially outward from the lower end of the second bottleneck wall 173 ([38]), The first flange 124 and the second flange 174 may be clamped by a fastener, for example by a bolt 156 and a nut 157 ([69], 170, 171, 172, 173, 174, together, is the claimed “a body portion”, a the bolt hole 156 is in the body portion, includes the claimed “wherein the deposition source including: a nozzle member including: a body portion including at least one first hole”); the evaporated material is distributed to a plurality of nozzles 184 formed on the second side wall 172 ([39], includes the claimed “a plurality of nozzles coupled to a first surface of the body portion and that eject a deposition material to an outside”); The first wall 120 comprises a first bottom wall 121 for defining the bottom of the crucible 120, a first side wall 122 extending upward from the first bottom wall 121, a first bottleneck wall 123 extending radially inward and upward from the first side wall 122, and a first flange 124 extending radially outward from the upper end of the first bottleneck wall 123 ([36]), The first flange 124 and the second flange 174 may be clamped by a fastener, for example by a bolt 156 and a nut 157 ([69]), a fastener, for example by a bolt 156 and a nut 157 ([67], the bottleneck wall 123 is a passage for the material vapor to pass through, is the same as Applicants’ crucible, see claim interpretation above, includes the claimed “and a crucible including at least one second hole overlapping the first hole and coupled to a second surface of the body portion by a fastening member inserted into the first hole and the second hole, the fastening member including a bolt, a nut”); The material deposition arrangement 100 comprises a crucible 110 configured to evaporate the source material 50 to be deposited and a distribution assembly 160 configured to provide the evaporated material to the substrate 20 ([32], last sentence, includes the claimed “a vaporizing member spaced apart from the nozzle member and storing the deposition material” and the first bottleneck wall 123 reads into the claimed “ and a connecting member connecting the nozzle member and the vaporizing member, the connecting member through which the deposition material moves”). ‘685 further teaches that The spacer 150 is configured to prevent deformation and breakage of portions of the crucible 110 and the distribution assembly 160, in particular deformation and breakage of the first flange 124 and the second flange 174 due to thermal expansion thereof at a temperature for evaporating the source material 50 ([51]). Fig. 5 of ‘685 shows the bolt hole is rounded. ‘685 does not teach the other limitations of: Claims 1 and 25: (a body portion including at least one first hole) formed in a slot hole; (a crucible including at least one second hole overlapping the first hole and coupled to a second surface of the body portion by a fastening member inserted into the first hole and the second hole, the fastening member including a bolt, a nut), and a washer. ‘774 is an analogous art in the field of VACUUM PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), in manufacturing flat panel displays ([0012], same as ‘625, [2]), the member supporting the shower plate may be rubbed according to the thermal expansion and thermal contraction of the shower plate, and particles or the like may be generated due to scratching of the member([0014]). ‘774 teaches that As shown in FIGS. 3, 4, and 5, the slide plate 120 includes a recessed groove 125 formed at a portion in contact with the shower plate 105, that is, on a lower surface of the slide plate 120 ([0159]), The stepped bolt 121 penetrates through each of the through holes 125a. A diameter of the through hole 125a is set to be larger than a diameter of the stepped bolt 121. An outline shape of the through hole 125a corresponds to an elongated hole 131 (Fig. 3, [0167]), a long slide member (long washer) 132 is disposed in an opening of the elongated hole 131 on the suspending groove 130 side. The shaft portion 121b of the stepped bolt (support member) 121 penetrates through the long slide member 132 ([0180]). Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the deformation prevention spacer 150 of ‘685 with elongated hole 131 along with through hole 125a in slide plate 120 along with through hole 125 and to have added a washer, for the purpose of preventing particle generation, as taught by ‘774 ([0014]) and/or for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. The combination of ‘685 and ‘774 further teaches the limitation of: Claims 2 and 4: Fig. 1 of ‘685 shows the claimed “wherein each of the plurality of nozzles extends in a first direction, and the plurality of nozzles are spaced apart from each other along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction” of claim 2 and “wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is configured to spray the deposition material in the first direction, and each of the body portion and the crucible extends in the second direction” of claim 4. Claims 3-4: a re-arrangement of bottleneck wall 173 to the second side wall in Fig. 1 of ‘685, the imported elongated hole 131 and through hole 125a reads into the claimed “ wherein a diameter of the first hole in the second direction is greater than a diameter of the second hole in the second direction” of claim 3, note the “a diameter” is considered as effective diameter as Applicants’ Fig. 4 shows DM1 being an slot diameter, see also [0080]. And “wherein each of the plurality of nozzles is configured to spray the deposition material in the first direction, and each of the body portion and the crucible extends in the second direction” of claim 4 again, depending on what parts of the body portion and the crucible extend in the second direction. Claims 8-9: a heating coil 112 disposed outside the first wall 120 of the crucible 110 (‘685, [35], includes the claimed “further comprising: a heating member adjacent to the vaporizing member and heating the vaporizing member” of claim 8 and “wherein the heating member surrounds at least a portion of the vaporizing member” of claim 9). Claim 11: Fig. 1 of ‘685 shows the claimed “wherein the body portion and the plurality of nozzles are integral with each other”. Claim 13: The crucible 110 and the distribution assembly 160 may be formed, for example, of materials comprising a material selected from a group consisting of tantalum (Ta), molybdenum (Mo), and tungsten (W) ([34], same as Applicants’ definition of heat-resistant material, [0063], includes the claimed “wherein each of the nozzle member and the vaporizing member includes a heat-resistant material”). Claim 14: The source material 50 may be metallic materials for use as electrode materials or electron transport layer (ETL) materials in OLED manufacturing ([33], includes the clamed “wherein the deposition material includes a metal or an inorganic insulating material”, note this is an intended use of the apparatus) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 10, and alternatively claim 3, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘685 and ‘774, as being applied to claims 9 and 1 rejection above, further in view of Lee et al. (US 20120024232, hereafter ‘232) . In case Applicants argue that re-arrangement of the bottleneck wall 173 to the side wall 172 is not obvious. ‘685 teaches some limitations of: Claim 10: a heating coil 112 disposed outside the first wall 120 of the crucible 110 (‘685, [35], includes the claimed “wherein the heating member includes: a first heating member adjacent to a side surface of the vaporizing member”.) The combination of ‘685 and ‘774 does not teach the limitations of: Claim 10. and a second heating member adjacent to an upper surface of the vaporizing member. ‘232 is an analogous art in the field of EVAPORATION SOURCE FOR ORGANIC MATERIAL AND VAPOR DEPOSITING APPARATUS INCLUDING THE SAME (title), An organic light emitting diode (OLED) display is a flat display device ([0005]), to suppress deformation of internal parts of the organic material evaporation source due to thermal expansion differences therebetween ([0012]). ‘232 teaches that The heater 20 is disposed at the outside of the crucible 10. In the present exemplary embodiment, the heater 20 may be provided at upper and lower portions of the crucible 10 with reference to the z-axis, but it may be formed at only one side or formed to surround the entire sides of the crucible 10, excluding the side where the nozzle 11 is formed ([0050]) and Figs. 1-2 of ‘232 shows the nozzle 11 and crucible arrangement in the same direction facing left. Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added heaters to surround the entire sides of the crucible, for the purpose of efficient heating. Furthermore, to have re-arranged the bottleneck wall 173 and the crucible 110 at the same direction as the nozzle 184 in Fig. 1 of ‘685, as taught by ‘232. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘685 and ‘774, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of JEONG (US 20160215384, hereafter ‘384) . The combination of ‘685 and ‘774 does not teach the limitations of: Claim 5: further comprising: an insulating member adjacent to the plurality of nozzles and coupled to a plurality of plates. Claim 6: wherein the plurality of plates are coupled by a first fastening member penetrating the plurality of plates and a second fastening member disposed between the plurality of plates and surrounding the first fastening member. ‘384 is an analogous art in the field of DEPOSITION SOURCE INCLUDING REFLECTOR (title), vapor of a deposition material (for example, an organic material) ([0005], same as ‘625, [2]). ‘384 teaches that As shown in FIGS. 3 to 7, a reflector for a deposition source according to an exemplary embodiment may be disposed at an upper end of a frame 10 of the deposition source that receives predetermined organic particles. The reflector may be fin the form of a reflection plate 20 in which nozzle apertures are punched ([0038]), The double installation port 30 may be used to connect and arrange the reflection plate 20 and to include multiple plates 20a, 20b, and 20c. The double installation port 30 may be implemented in various forms, such as a structure having a plurality of engaging grooves 31 formed on an external portion of a body thereof ([0049]), By using the reflection plate 20 having the multi-plate structure, it may be possible to minimize influence due to external air upon vapor heating for a deposition process and at the same time and to achieve heat loss of the deposition source ([0052], clearly avoiding heat loss of the deposition source). Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added multiple reflection plates with double installation port including engaging grooves of ‘384, near the nozzles 184 of ‘685, for the purpose of heat loss management, as taught by ‘384 ([0052]). The combination of ‘685, ‘744, and ‘384 further teaches the limitations of: Claim 7: Figs. 4-7 of ‘384 shows the installation port 30 is a pin (includes the claimed “wherein the first fastening member has a pin shape”), it would have been obvious to have added nuts of ‘685 or washer of ‘744 for attachment between installation port 30 and reflection plates 20 (includes the claimed “and the second fastening member has a ring shape”) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘685 and ‘774, as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of An et al. (US 20180037982, hereafter ‘982) . The combination of ‘685 and ‘774 does not teach the limitations of: Claim 12: wherein the body portion and the plurality of nozzles are formed independently of each other. ‘982 is an analogous art in the field of LINEAR EVAPORATION SOURCE AND DEPOSITION APPARATUS INCLUDING THE SAME (title). ‘982 teaches that The nozzle unit 340 includes a nozzle plate 341 above the exposed upper portion of the crucible 320 and at least one nozzle 342 protruding from the nozzle plate 341 ([0086], Fig. 2 shows the nozzle plate is independently formed than other parts). Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have separated the nozzles 184 into an independent nozzle plate of ‘982. It has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman , 168 USPQ 177,179. Note ‘982 also teaches a slot hole between two plates and nozzles are formed in the slot hole (Fig. 6) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicants submitted IDS, CN 108004508 teaches self-expansion between crucible body and cover from thermal expansion (abstract). Applicants submitted IDS, KR 20150000327 teaches bolts between crucible and connection portion (various figures). US 20110165320 is cited for the crucible and connection portion direction relative to nozzles (various figures) . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEATH T CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-1870. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30am-5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh can be reached at 571-272-1435. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 2 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 3 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 4 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 5 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 6 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 7 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 8 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 9 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 10 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 11 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 12 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 13 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 14 Art Unit: 1716 Application/Control Number: 18/366,820 Page 15 Art Unit: 1716