DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 1 - 3 and 5- 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (2018/0335696) . Hatakeyama et al disclose a resist composition comprising a polymer and solvent (instant claims 9 and 10) , wherein the polymer comprises a unit having a acid-generating structure. The unit comprises a sulfonic acid anion bond to the polymer backbone with a sulfonium or iodonium cation. The general structure of the reference overlaps the scope of the instant formula (a1) and (a2), wherein RA is H or methyl, X1 is a single bond, m is 1-4 (instant n2), instant n1 is 0 or1 when X2 is a C1-C12 arylene group (instant aryl and n1), X3 is C1-C12 alkylene group with an ester group (instant LA-XL-LB, wherein one of LA and LB is a single bond, from examples LB is the single bond) , Rf1 to Rf4 are H, F, trifluoromethyl (instant Q1 to Q4, with n4 being 1). The structures also meet the limitations of the instant claims 1- 3 , wherein the formulas of instant claim 2 required n1 to be 0, instant claim 3 wherein Q3 and Q4 are each F. The monomer of the reference material would meet the limitations of the instant claims 1- 3 and 5. The polymer further comprises units having acid-labile groups ((instant(b1)), and hydroxyphenyl groups (instant (c1)), and lactone-containing units (instant (d1)), wherein the exemplified polymers comprise units as set forth by the instant claims 6-8. In the non-limit ing examples, the methylcyclopentyl group (instant AL1)-containing monomer meets the limitations of instant (b1) (instant claim 6) , wherein RA is H or methyl, the instant (c1), wherein RA is H or methyl, Y1 is an ester group (or single bond, [0056]) , d is 0, and c is 1 (or 2; [0056]; instant claim 7) , and (d1), wherein RA is H or methyl, and R31 is lactone (instant claim 8) . Additionally, the ALG-containing monomer may be that of the instant (b2), wherein X2 is an ester group or single bond, RA is H or methyl, and R2 is an ALG group such as (AL-2) , and may comprises a being 1 or 2, with substituents including halogen atoms, alkyl , acyl, alkoxycarbonyl, acyloxy [0048]-[0052]; instant claim 6) . With respect to the broader teachings for the additional units, in additional to those having lactones, the reference further teaches that sultone-containing monomers, cyclic ethers, hydroxy-containing units (other than phenolic), carbonyl-containing, cyclic anhydride [0057]; instant claim 8). The composition further comprises an acid generator ([0101], Table 1; instant claim 12), a quencher (base, [0112], table 1; instant claim 11), a surfactant ([0105]), a dissolution inhibitor ([0102]; instant claim 14). The composition is used in a pattern forming process including the steps as instantly claimed, wherein the resist is applied, dried/ pre-baked to form a film, exposed to UV, DUV, EUV, ebeam, and developed ([0122]-[0124], claims9-11; instant claims 15 and 16). Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Hatakeyama et al, choosing as the acid generator-comprising monomer, that as discussed above as taught by the reference, wherein the resultant monomer, polymer, composition, and method also meet the limitations of the instant claims 1- 3 and 5- 16. Claim (s) 1 -6 and 8-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utsumi et al (2012/0328993) . Utsumi et al disclose a re sist composition comprises a polymer, a solvent, and an acid generator, wherein the polymer comprises a unit which decomposes to generator an acid, wherein the unit has a structure falling within the scope of the instantly claimed formulas. In the above formula, R (instant RA) is H, alkyl, or fluorinated alkyl, n1 is 0 or 1 (exemplified units include naphthyl groups, pages 15 and 16), R 65 (instant R) is H, halogen, alkyl, alkoxy, aryl ([0184]), instant LA is ether or ester, Xl is preferably alkyl, LB can be ester, Q1 and Q2 H, and Q3 and A4 are F (see example above), which meets the limitations of claims 1-4. The reference teaches that R65 is halogen, therefore one of skill in the art would have been motivated to include one from the finite list of halogen atoms, which includes iodine as required by the instant claims. The reference demonstrates sulfonium cations of structure meeting the instant claims (see exemplified polymers). Therefore, the polymers of the reference include a u n it as instantly claimed (instant claims 1-5). The reference polymer s further preferably include a group having the well-known structures below falling within the instant (b1) and (b2), with exemplified polymer including such groups as required by the instant claim 6. claim 8, the reference teacvhes groups of structure of (d1), where R31 is sultone, lactone Regarding claim 8, the reference teaches and includes groups within the scope of (d1), wherein R31 is sultone, lactone, hydroxy other than phenolic hydroxy, cyclic ethers, cyano , and carboxyl ((a3-1) (a3-3), [0485], [0522], [0531], [0541], [0562], [0564], [0567] , [ 0572] ) . Examples appear below. The composition further comprises an acid generator (component (B) [0671]), a nitrogen-containing compound (base, quencher, component (D), [0790]), a solvent, surfactant,and dissolution inhibitor ([0824]; instant claims 10-14). The method of patterning includes the steps as set forth by the instant claims 15 and 15, wherein the resist is coated onto a substrate, pre-baked/ dreid to remove solvent and form a film, exposed (preferably to DUV (ArF), EUV, ebeam), and developed ( [0833]-[0837], claim 7 ; instant claims 15 and 16). Given the teachings of the reference, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Utsumi et al, choosing as the unit comprising an acid generating compound, that as disclosed above, wherein when R65 is I, and the cation is a sulfonium cation, the monomer and polymer of the reference also meet the limitations of the instant claims. Claim (s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Utsumi et al in view of Hatakeyama et al . Both references have been discussed above. Utsumi et al teach that known monomers useful in resist polymers may be included, but fails to specifically disclose a phenolic hydroxy-containing unit ([0652]). Hatekeyama et al has been discussed above and includes monomer including those of the instant claims 1-3 and 6-8 used in combination. Therefore, the reference teaches that all such monomers are known and suitable for use in resist materials, including those having sulfonic acid-containing acid generating units. These monomers, as discussed above, include those of the instant formula (c1). Therefore, given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention, to prepare the polymer of Utsumi et al, choosing as an additional known monomer, that having a structure falling within the scope of the instant formula (c1) as taught to be known by Hatakeyama et al, wherein the resultant polymer would also meet the limitations of the instant claim 7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT AMANDA C WALKE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-1337 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday to Thursday 5:30am to 4pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Niki Bakhtiari can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-3433 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AMANDA C. WALKE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722