DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. US 2021/0028145 A1 (Yu).
In re claim 1, Yu discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1A-1F) a method for manufacturing a fan-out packaging unit 10 (¶ 33), comprising:
forming a first rewiring layer 140 on a supporting substrate C, wherein the first rewiring layer 140 has a first surface (bottom surface) and a second surface (top surface) opposite to the first (bottom) surface, wherein the first rewiring layer 140 comprises at least one inorganic dielectric layer 142 (e.g. silicon oxide, ¶ 19) and at least one first metal wiring layer 144;
forming a hybrid bonding structure (¶ 17) between the first (bottom) surface of the first rewiring layer 140 and semiconductor chips 110,120 to electrically couple the semiconductor chips 110,120 to the first surface of the first rewiring layer 140, wherein the hybrid bonding structure comprises a first bonding layer (bottommost layer of 142 including vias 144b on the side of 140 closest to chips 110,120) formed on the first (bottom) surface of the first rewiring layer 140;
forming a plastic layer 130 (¶ 18) on the first (bottom) surface of the first rewiring layer 140 to form a packaging layer on the semiconductor chips 110,120; and
forming a second rewiring layer 150+160 or 190 or 200 over the second (top) surface of the first rewiring layer 140, wherein the second rewiring layer has a first (bottom) surface and a second (top) surface opposite to the first (bottom) surface, wherein the second rewiring layer 150+160 or 190 or 200 comprises a second metal wiring layer 160 or 194 or 204 exposed from the first (bottom) surface of the second rewiring layer, and wherein the second metal wiring layer 160 or 194 or 204 is electrically connected to the second (top) surface of the first rewiring layer 140.
In re claim 2, Yu discloses (e.g. FIG. 1A) wherein the first rewiring layer 140 comprises two or more inorganic first dielectric layers 142 (including plural layers above/below each metal lines 144a) and two or more first metal wiring layers 144a, wherein the two or more metal wiring layers 144a are arranged alternately with the two or more inorganic first dielectric layers 142 (plural layers above/below each metal lines 144a).
In re claim 5, Yu discloses (e.g. FIG. 1A) wherein a material of the at least one inorganic dielectric layer 142 comprises one of silicon nitride and silicon oxynitride (silicon oxide, ¶ 19), and wherein a material of the at least one first metal wiring layer 144 comprises one or more of copper, aluminum, nickel, gold, silver, and titanium (¶ 19).
In re claim 6, Yu discloses (e.g. FIG. 1F) wherein forming the second rewiring layer 200 comprises:
forming openings (openings in which UBM 208 are provided) on the second (top) surface of the second rewiring layer 200 to expose the second metal wiring layer 204;
forming a sub-bump metal layer 208 over the openings; and
forming solder balls 210 inside the openings by a ball planting reflow process (¶ 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen US 2013/0252383 A1.
In re claim 3, Yu discloses the supporting substrate C may be a glass carrier (¶ 15), where glass silica teaches silicon-based substrate. Yu further discloses removing the carrier C from the final package (FIGs. 1E-1F). Yu does not explicitly disclose the removal of the supporting substrate comprising: thinning the supporting substrate by applying a mechanical grinding process, and then removing the thinned supporting substrate by applying a chemical-mechanical polishing process.
Chen discloses a method for manufacturing a package comprises forming rewiring layer 2a on a supporting substrate 20 that is subsequently removed, wherein the removal of the supporting substrate 20 comprising: thinning the supporting substrate 20 by applying a mechanical grinding process (grinding process to reduce the thickness, ¶ 64), and then removing the thinned supporting substrate 20 by applying a chemical-mechanical polishing process (CMP process to remove the remaining portion, ¶ 64), wherein the supporting substrate is a silicon-based substrate (¶ 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the supporting substrate C from Yu’s package by mechanical grinding and CMP as taught by Chen to provide a lost cost process to remove the supporting substrate quickly as is well-known in the art.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bao et al. US 2022/0310480 A2 (Bao).
In re claim 4, Yu discloses the first bonding layer corresponding to the bottommost dielectric layer 142 and vias 144b of the rewiring layer 140 formed on the first (bottom) surface of the first rewiring layer 140 closest to chips 110,120. Yu does not explicitly disclose wherein the first bonding layer is formed on the first surface of the first rewiring layer by:
forming a first passivation layer on the first surface of the first rewiring layer;
forming via-holes in the first passivation layer by a photolithography process and an etching process; and
filling the via-holes with metal to form first pads.
However, Bao discloses (e.g. FIGs. 1-13) a method for manufacturing a package comprising forming a first rewiring layer 124 on a supporting substrate 102, forming a hybrid bonding structure (¶ 67) between the first rewiring layer 124 and semiconductor chips 50 comprising a bonding layer 118+120, wherein the first bonding layer is formed on the first surface of the first rewiring layer by:
forming a first passivation layer 118 on the first surface of the first rewiring layer 124;
forming via-holes in the first passivation layer 118 (¶ 27) by a photolithography process and an etching process (¶ 21,22, openings formed by etching through patterned mask); and
filling the via-holes with metal to form first pads 120B (¶ 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Yu’s bonding layer composed vias 144b in dielectric 142 by forming via holes in the passivation layer 142 by a photolithography process and an etching process and filling the via-holes with metal to form the first pads 144b as taught by Bao to form fine metal patterns to facilitate hybrid bonding between the chips and the first rewiring layer as taught Bao (¶ 67-68).
Conclusion
/YU CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
YU CHEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2896