DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 is currently indicated as “Currently Amended”. The claim is withdrawn per the Restriction Requirement / election and should be indicated as such regardless of amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. All of the requirements of claim 24 are required by claim 8. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 and 17-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 requires that a cleaning gas is supplied at a temperature lower than a temperature during which the substrate is processed. There is no basis to understood what the “processing step” is or at what temperature it occurs and no other reference to the substrate or what processing entails.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 17-20, 24 and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata (2022/0262632).
Yahata teaches a method of cleaning, comprising:
- in a process chamber including a substrate mounting table with a heater, see 212 including heater 213 (see Fig. 1 and [0148]) – because the substate mounting table is able to be raised and lowered, the limitations of the regions are met (and further Yahata teaches the same as noted),
- providing cooling gas to the substrate in a position where the substrate mount is lowered, see [0140-48], since when the substrate holder is lowered the chamber is not divided by any structure, it is understood that the cooling gas
- and supplying a cleaning gas into the process chamber – see [0194] wherein a cleaning gas is provided.
In this case, there is no active recitation of a substrate being processed, therefore the limitation of the relative temperature is met wherein the chamber is at some temperature (and wherein not actively claim, the process step is performed at a temperature higher than the cleaning step). In regard to the cleaning gas being supplied after (a), the claim is comprising – the system is understood to be continuously employed, therefore even the step (h) is performed, then another substrate is processed and therefore such a step is “after (a)”.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, the cooling step pressure is preferably 100 – 10,000 Pa [0144] as there is no defined processing step, this is higher than the claimed pressure. However, in the interest of compact prosecution, the processing step as in step c includes a preferred pressure of 20 – 100 Pa [0111], meeting the requirements of claim 17. Further to claim 18, wherein the teachings do not specifically include atmospheric pressure, however, because it is well settled that "where the principal difference between the claimed process and that taught by the reference is a temperature difference, it is incumbent upon applicant to establish criticality of that temperature difference", see Ex Parte Khusid 174 USPQ 59. This principle clearly is analogous to other process parameters such as process pressure. Absent evidence showing criticality use of the claimed pressure would have been prima facie obvious.
Regarding claim 19, the transfer region includes an exhaust 261 that is understood as used when the substrate holder is in a transfer position [0051].
Regarding claim 20, as per the Fig., when the cooling gas is supplied it would be supplied into both regions as they are connected.
Regarding claim 24, the limitations are taught as per above.
Regarding claim 27, as per above, the substrate mount is lowered for the cooling gas application and this is below the process region as described.
Regarding claims 28-30, the process and transfer regions are definitions of the system and the claim definitions are met by the system of Yahata in the method above and the substrate mounting table as in the described step (d) is in the transfer position which is below the processing position.
Claims 9, 10, 22, 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata (2022/0262632) in view of Lee (2002/0045966) and Ebata (2021/0087678).
The teachings of Yahata are described above, but do not teach a chamber coating process or specifically changing the temperature as claimed.
Lee teaches that it is useful to coat a film deposition chamber after a cleaning process, see [0010-19, 37]. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to apply the chamber precoating process of Lee in the film forming method of Yahata as it is beneficial for purity of the chamber. Lee teaches that the conditions are the same as depositing the on-film process except for the amount of time – therefore the temperature of the pre-coat would be that of the deposition and the substrate holder, as it is desirably coated per Lee (upper portion of the heater) would be in the processing position. The combined teachings do not include heating a temperature to the processing temperature, or wherein the cleaning gas temperature is lower than the substrate processing temperature.
Ebata teaches that in a chamber wherein a clean is carried out after a deposition process, it is beneficial for the clean efficiency to set the cleaning temperature generally lower than the deposition temperature [0089-93]. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to keep the cleaning temperature lower than the deposition temperature in the process of Yahata and Lee as Ebata teaches that such temperature is useful for the effectiveness of the etch rate.
Per the combined teachings of Yahata, Lee and Ebata, the pre-coating step is taught after the cleaning step – because the pre-coating depends necessarily on an on-substrate deposition, the requirement for the change of temperature between the cleaning and the deposition step is required and taught per Ebata.
Regarding claim 10, the combined art further teaches the deposition of a layer, see film forming step c [0107-0115]. The processing is the deposition step c of Yahata and the cleaning step temperature is lower than the deposition as per Ebata.
Regarding claim 22, as per the combined art, specifically of Yahata and Lee, the temperature of the process chamber is raised after the cleaning gas and a chamber coating performed as noted.
Regarding claim 23, since the substrate mounting table is in a down position for the cooling gas and an up position for the film deposition – the distance between the gas introduction and the mounting table would be understood to be large for the cooling step as per the location of the inputs per Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 25, since as noted the substrate holder is in the down position, per Fig. 1 there is more volume for supplying the cleaning gas than when the substrate holder is elevated for a film on the inner wall of the chamber.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata (2022/0262632) in view of Hirochi (2019/0393056).
The teachings of Yahata are described above, but not teach cooling gas flowing into the chamber from a transfer chamber. Hirochi teaches that to load a system it is useful to include a transfer chamber in order to transfer a substrate into a process chamber [0089]. During the transfer, the flow of cooling gas from the transfer chamber prevents heat from transfer to the transfer chamber. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to include the transfer chamber of Hirochi with the system of Yahata. One would also apply the transfer step as taught by Hirochi as Yahata is silent on how a substrate is transferred into the chamber and follow the use of flowing the cooling flow as taught by Hirochi for the reason stated.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yahata (2022/0262632) in view of Okayama (2001/0035124).
The teachings of Yahata are described above, the teachings include cooling the substrate [0071], but does not teach turning of the substate heater. Okayama teaches, however, that in a process including cooling down a wafer, it is useful to turn of the substrate heater [0046]. It would have been obvious at the effective date of the invention to turn off the substrate heater in the method of Yahata when cooling down the system and substrate as Okayama teaches that such a step is useful in additional to providing a cooling gas.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Initially, the Office notes the generic request for interview on page 9 of the response. Applicants are directed to MPEP 713.01. IV.:
An interview should be had only when the nature of the case is such that the interview could serve to develop and clarify specific issues and lead to a mutual understanding between the examiner and the applicant, and thereby advance the prosecution of the application.
There is no distinction of a specific issue, and, as Examiner has already reviewed the prior art and claim amendments, any issues that may have been argued could now be distinct than those envisioned.
Applicants have overcome the 112 issues except in regard to the temperature. Applicants argue that “processing temperature” is defined in the specification, but the Office notes that the term is not used in claim 1. As per MPEP 2111.01. IV. Applicant may be their own lexicographer, but applicants must “clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification”. In the instant case, the exact term is not applied in the claim as defined in the specification. The 112 is withdrawn but the term is interpreted broadly as a temperature at any point. The claim is still indefinite because it is not clear what process is required – while a specific process may not be required, at least one of ordinary skill requires some indication of what the metes and bounds of such temperature would be. If applicants, for example, amended to specifically point to the ”processing temperature”, then the claim would be interpreted as per the definition. As the claim currently reads – it is specifically linked to a substrate processing step that is completely undefined.
In regard to the arguments over the prior art, the claims are “comprising”. As such, the prior art envisions repeating the process within the system any number of times. The claim envisions the steps in an order, but based on a repetition is not so limiting. Applicants may wish to further the define the steps to recite where the processes are further carried out in view of a deposition process, for example.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A MILLER, JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712