DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 03/05/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments "Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment" with the
"Amendment/Req. Reconsideration-After Non-Final Reject" filed on 03/05/2026, have been fully considered, the Applicant’s amendment related to “wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer, such that the seed layer is not in contact with the bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer”, however the Applicant’s amendment does not overcome the new ground of rejections with some references of the record, US 20090102032 A1 to Schneegans and US 20140061920 A1 to Hirano.
Schneegans discloses a conductive member 50-52-26-28, a protective layer 28 having sides and bottom surfaces, a seed layer 52, as showed in Fig. 1, but does not disclose a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the conductive member and wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer, such that the seed layer is not in contact with the bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer. However, Hirano discloses a dielectric layer 9 over the substrate 20, surrounding the conductive member 30 and a seed layer 5 having a width less than a width of a core layer 6, as showed in Fig. 1. It would be obvious to include the Hirano’s dielectric layer and a seed layer 5 having a width less than a width of a core layer 6 to Schneegans’s device to obtain “wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer, such that the seed layer is not in contact with the bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer” to provide protection to the device ([0067, 0070], Hirano), being used in the current rejection, see detail below.
Double Patenting
created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the claims at issue are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); and In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over (reference patent(s)):
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 10-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 12482768 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as shown in the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. US 12482768 B2
1. A semiconductor structure, comprising: a substrate; a conductive member disposed over the substrate, wherein the conductive member comprises a seed layer disposed over the substrate, a core disposed over the seed layer, and a protective layer having a first portion disposed on a top surface of the core and a second portion surrounding a sidewall of the core; a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the conductive member; and a capping layer disposed over the protective layer and the core; wherein a width of the capping layer is substantially greater than a width of the seed layer; wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer, such that the seed layer is not in contact with the bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer.
1. A semiconductor structure, comprising: a substrate; and a conductive member disposed over the substrate, wherein the conductive member includes a seed layer disposed over the substrate, a core disposed over the seed layer, and a protective layer disposed on a top surface of the core and surrounding a sidewall of the core; wherein the protective layer has a first portion disposed over the core and a second portion surrounding the core; wherein a thickness of the first portion of the protective layer is equal to a thickness of the second portion of the protective layer, wherein a width of the core is greater than a width of the seed layer, such that the seed layer is contactless with the protective layer.
6. The semiconductor structure of Claim 1, further comprising a capping layer disposed over the protective layer and the core; wherein the capping layer includes gold.
10. The semiconductor structure of Claim 6, wherein a width of the capping layer is substantially greater than a width of the seed layer.
11. The semiconductor structure of Claim 1, further comprising: a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the conductive member, wherein a sidewall and a bottom wall of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer.
Claim(s) 2
Claim(s) 2
Claim(s) 3
Claim(s) 1
Claim(s) 4
Claim(s) 4
Claim(s) 5
Claim(s) 5
Claim(s) 6
Claim(s) 7
Claim(s) 7
Claim(s) 11,12,13
Claim(s) 8
Claim(s) 13
Claim(s) 9
Claim(s) 14
Claim(s) 10
Claim(s) 14
Claim(s) 11
Claim(s) 11,15
Claim(s) 12
Claim(s) 15
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneegans et al. (US 20090102032 A1, hereinafter Schneegans, of the record), in view of Hirano et al. (US 20140061920 A1, hereinafter Hirano, of the record).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Schneegans discloses a semiconductor structure (20 an electronic device in [0020], Fig. 1), comprising:
Schneegans’s Figure 1-Annotated.
a substrate (22 a semiconductor wafer substrate in [0022], Fig. 1);
a conductive member (50,52,26,28 a conductive member including 50,52,26,28 in [0005, 0022], Fig. 1) disposed over the substrate (22), wherein the conductive member (50,52,26,28) comprises a seed layer (52 a seed layer in [0023], Fig. 1) disposed over the substrate (22), a core (26 a conducting line including a metal such as copper in [0025], Fig. 1) disposed over the seed layer (52), and a protective layer (28 a second layer including a conducting material such as nickel in [0027, 0028], Fig. 1) having a first portion (28-top Fig. 1-Annotated) disposed on a top surface (Fig. 1) of the core (26) and a second portion (28-side Fig. 1-Annotated) surrounding a sidewall (Fig. 1) of the core (26).
Schneegans does not expressly disclose a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the conductive member; and a capping layer disposed over the protective layer and the core; wherein a width of the capping layer is substantially greater than a width of the seed layer, wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer, such that the seed layer is not in contact with the bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer.
Hirano’s Figure 1-Annotated.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Hirano discloses
a dielectric layer (9 a protective film made of silicon nitride in [0070], Fig. 1) over the substrate (20 a semiconductor substrate in [0066], Fig. 1) and surrounding (Fig. 1-Annotated) the conductive member (30 an interconnect in [0069], Fig. 1); and a capping layer (8 a gold layer in [0067], Fig. 1) disposed over the protective layer (7 a nickel layer such as protection layer to prevent the diffusion of the copper in [0067], Fig. 1) and the core (6 a layer made of Cu in [0067], Fig. 1); wherein a width of the capping layer (8, Hirano) is substantially greater than (Fig. 1) a width of the seed layer (5 a seed layer made of Cu having a width less than a width of core 6 in [0067], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Hirano’s feature of a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the conductive member; and a capping layer disposed over the protective layer and the core; wherein a width of the capping layer is substantially greater than a width of the seed layer and a seed layer having a width less than a width of the core layer to Schneegans’s device to have a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer, such that the seed layer is not in contact with the bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer for improving of the electrical and mechanical connectivity between the interconnect and a wire bonded to the interconnect, as providing protection to the device ([0067, 0070], Hirano).
Re: Claim 2, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein a width of the first portion of the protective layer (28-top width Schneegans) is greater than (Fig. 1, Schneegans) a width of the seed layer (52 Schneegans).
Re: Claim 4, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the core (26, Schneegans) includes copper (metal such as copper in [0025], Schneegans), and the protective layer (28, Schneegans) includes nickel (made of nickel in [0027, 0028], Schneegans).
Re: Claim 6, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1, wherein the first portion (28-top, Schneegans) of the protective layer (28, Schneegans) is disposed between the capping layer (8, Hirano) and the core (26, Schneegans), and the second portion (28-side, Schneegans) of the protective layer (28, Schneegans) is disposed under the capping layer (8 from Hirano applied to Schneegans).
Re: Independent Claim 7, Schneegans discloses a semiconductor structure (20 an electronic device in [0020], Fig. 1), comprising:
a substrate (22 a semiconductor wafer substrate in [0022], Fig. 1);
a first conductive member (50-L,52-L,26-L,28-L a first conductive member on left side, including 50,52,26,28 in [0005, 0022], Fig. 1) disposed over the substrate (22); and
a second conductive member (50-R,52-R,26-R,28-R a second conductive member on right side, including 50,52,26,28 in [0005, 0022], Fig. 1, Schneegans) disposed over the substrate (22, Schneegans) and adjacent to the first conductive member (50-L,52-L,26-L,28-L, Schneegans);
wherein the first conductive member (50-L,52-L,26-L,28-L) includes a first seed layer (52-L a seed layer in [0023], Fig. 1) disposed over the substrate (22), a first core (26-L a conducting line including a metal such as copper in [0025], Fig. 1) disposed over the seed layer (52), a first protective layer (28-L a layer including a conducting material such as nickel in [0027, 0028], Fig. 1) having a first portion (28-L-top Fig. 1-Annotated) disposed on a top surface (Fig. 1) of the first core (26) and having a second portion (28-L-side Fig. 1-Annotated) on a sidewall (Fig. 1) of the first core (26), and
wherein a height of the first conductive member (50-L,52-L,26-L,28-L, Schneegans) is equal (Fig. 1, Schneegans) to a height of the second conductive member (50-R,52-R,26-R,28-R, Schneegans).
Schneegans does not expressly a first capping layer disposed over the first protective layer; wherein a width of the second capping layer is substantially greater than a width of the second seed layer; wherein the first seed layer is not in contact with a bottom surface of the second portion of the first protective layer.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Hirano discloses a first capping layer (8 a gold layer in [0067], Fig. 1) disposed over the first protective layer (7 a nickel layer such as protection layer to prevent the diffusion of the copper in [0067], Fig. 1); wherein a width of the second capping layer (8 Fig. 1) is substantially greater than (Fig. 1) a width of the second seed layer (5 a seed layer made of Cu having a width less than a width of the core 6 in [0067], Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Hirano’s feature of a first capping layer disposed over the first protective layer; wherein a width of the second capping layer is substantially greater than a width of the second seed layer to Schneegans’s device to obtain wherein the first seed layer is not in contact with a bottom surface of the second portion of the first protective layer for improving of the electrical and mechanical connectivity between the interconnect and a wire bonded to the interconnect ([0067], Hirano).
Re: Claim 8, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 7, wherein the second conductive member (50-R,52-R,26-R,28-R, Schneegans) includes a second seed layer (52-R a seed layer in [0023], Fig. 1, Schneegans) disposed over the substrate (22, Schneegans), a second core (26-R a conducting line including a metal such as copper in [0025], Fig. 1, Schneegans) disposed over the second seed layer (52-R, Schneegans), a second protective layer (28-R a layer including a conducting material such as nickel in [0027, 0028], Fig. 1, Schneegans) disposed on a top surface (Fig. 1, Schneegans) of the second core (26-R, Schneegans) and on a sidewall of the second core (26-R, Schneegans).
Schneegans modified by Hirano does not expressly disclose a second capping layer disposed over the second protective layer.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Hirano discloses a second capping layer (8 a gold layer in [0067], Fig. 1) disposed over the second protective layer (7 a nickel layer such as protection layer to prevent the diffusion of the copper in [0067], Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Hirano’s feature of a second capping layer disposed over the second protective layer to Schneegans’s device for improving of the electrical and mechanical connectivity between the interconnect and a wire bonded to the interconnect ([0067], Hirano).
Re: Claim 9, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 8,
Schneegans modified by Hirano does not disclose wherein a width of the first conductive member is greater than or less than a width of the second conductive member.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“width of the first conductive member is greater than or less than a width of the second conductive member” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed range of the width of the first conductive member is greater than or less than a width of the second conductive member). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of width of the first conductive member is greater than or less than a width of the second conductive member” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. At meantime, Schneegans discloses “a width of the first conductive member that is the same of width of the second conductive member”, therefore, the width is a result effective variable. It has been held that is not inventive to discover the optimum width of the first conductive member and a width of the second conductive member by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the width of the first conductive member is greater than or less than a width of the second conductive member to increase or decrease the connector density in the device.
Re: Claim 10, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 8, wherein the first protective layer (28-L, Schneegans) and the second protective layer (28-R, Schneegans) include a same material (a conducting material such as nickel in [0028], Fig. 1, Schneegans)
Re: Claim 11, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 8,
Schneegans modified by Hirano does not expressly disclose further comprising: a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the first conductive member and the second conductive member; wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Hirano discloses
a dielectric layer (9 a protective film made of silicon nitride in [0070], Fig. 1) over the substrate (20 a semiconductor substrate in [0066], Fig. 1) and surrounding a conductive member (5,6,7 a seed layer 5, a core layer 6 and a protective layer 7 in [0067], Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Hirano’s feature of a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding a conductive member to the Schneegans’s device to obtain a dielectric layer over the substrate and surrounding the first conductive member and the second conductive member; wherein a side surface and a bottom surface of the second portion of the protective layer are in contact with the dielectric layer for protecting the device ([0070], Hirano).
Re: Claim 12, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 11,
Schneegans modified by Hirano does not expressly disclose wherein the dielectric layer is at least partially in contact with a bottom wall of the first core.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Hirano discloses
wherein the dielectric layer (9, Hirano, Fig. 1) is at least partially in contact with a bottom wall (Hirano, Fig. 1) of the first core (6 made of Cu in [0067], Fig. 1, Hirano).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Hirano’s feature wherein the dielectric layer is at least partially in contact with a bottom wall of the first core to the Schneegans’s device for protecting the device ([0070], Hirano).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneegans, in view of Hirano and further in view of Gambee (US 20190189507 A1, hereinafter Gambee, of the record).
Re: Claim 3, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1,
Schneegans modified by Hirano does not expressly disclose wherein a width of the core is greater than a width of the seed layer.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Gambee discloses a width of the core (208 a conductive trace in [0028], Fig. 3D) is greater than (a horizontal distance of 208 is greater than a horizontal distance of 202, Fig. 3D) a width of the seed layer (202 a seed material in [0030], Fig. 3D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Gambee’s feature of a width of the core is greater than a width of the seed layer to the combination of Schneegans and Hirano to electrically isolate conductive traces from one another ([0036], Gambee).
Re: Claim 5, Schneegans modified by Hirano discloses the semiconductor structure of Claim 1,
Schneegans modified by Hirano does not expressly disclose wherein the seed layer includes titanium and copper.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Gambee discloses the seed layer (202 a seed material in [0030], Fig. 3D) includes titanium and copper (202 having a bi-layer comprise titanium and copper in [0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Gambee’s feature of the seed layer includes titanium and copper to the combination of Schneegans and Hirano to enhance adherence of the to-be-formed conductive traces, as well as a barrier with respect to substrate ([0026], Gambee).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898