Detailed Action
Specification Objection Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of the title of the invention is acknowledged. Thus, the objection to specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cai (CN 115581100, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Cai discloses a display device comprising: a first pixel including a first emission area which emits light having a first color in a third direction; a second pixel including a second emission area which emits light having a second color different from the first color; a pixel defining layer (50); a first partition wall (212) which is disposed on the pixel defining layer and in which a first opening (211) overlapping the first emission area in a plan view is defined; a second partition wall (222) in which a second opening (221) overlapping the second emission area in the plan view is defined (FIG. 4); and a first layer (20) covering the first partition wall and the second partition wall, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises: a light-emitting element (10), the pixel defining layer is disposed between the light-emitting element of the first pixel and the light-emitting element of the second pixel, each of the first partition wall and the second partition wall includes: a first portion (left) and a second portion (right) spaced apart from the first portion, the first opening is defined between the first portion and the second portion of the first partition wall, the second opening is defined between the first portion and the second portion of the second partition wall, the second portion of the first partition wall is spaced apart from the first portion of the second partition wall, and a lowest upper surface of the first portion and the second portion of the first partition wall is provided with a first height in the third direction, and a lowest upper surface of the first portion and the second portion of the second partition wall is provided with a second height different from the first height.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 5 of Cai discloses a third pixel including a third emission area which emits, in the third direction, light having a third color different from the first color or the second color; and a third partition wall (2122) in which a third opening overlapping the third emission area in the plan view is defined, wherein the light of the first color includes red light, the light of the second color includes green light, and the light of the third color includes blue light, and wherein the third partition wall is provided with a third height different from the first height.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu (CN 114156323, machine-translation provided), in view of Liu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0227486).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 of Zhu discloses a display device comprising: a first pixel including a first emission area which emits light having a first color (red) in a third direction; a second pixel including a second emission area which emits light having a second color (green) different from the first color; a pixel defining layer (between 21 and 22); a first partition wall (31) which is disposed on the pixel defining layer and in which a first recess overlapping the first emission area in a plan view is defined (FIG. 3); a second partition wall (32) in which a second recess overlapping the second emission area in the plan view is defined (FIG. 3); and a first layer (3) covering the first partition wall and the second partition wall, wherein each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises: a light-emitting element, the pixel defining layer is disposed between the light-emitting element of the first pixel and the light-emitting element of the second pixel, each of the first partition wall and the second partition wall includes: a first portion (left protrusion) and a second portion (left protrusion) spaced apart from the first portion, the first recess is defined between the first portion and the second portion of the first partition wall, the second recess is defined between the first portion and the second portion of the second partition wall, the second portion of the first partition wall is spaced apart from the first portion of the second partition wall, and a lowest upper surface of the first portion and the second portion of the first partition wall is provided with a first height in the third direction, and a lowest upper surface of the first portion and the second portion of the second partition wall is provided with a second height different from the first height.
Zhu is silent with respect to “a first opening” and “a second opening”.
FIG. 7 of Liu discloses a similar display device, comprising a first opening (152) overlapping the first emission area in the plan view is defined (FIG. 4); and a second opening (153) overlapping the second emission area in the plan view is defined.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhu, as taught by Liu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhu in the above manner for purpose of color improvement ([0005] of Liu).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 5 of Zhu discloses the light of the first color includes red light, wherein the light of the second color includes green light or blue light, and wherein the first height of the first partition wall is greater than the second height of the second partition wall.
Regarding Claim 3
The recitation “a ratio of the first height of the first partition wall and the second height of the second partition wall is about 1:0.3” is related to the visual effect, as evidenced by [0048] of Xiao (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0082085). Therefore, said ratio is considered to be a result effective variable. The claim to a specific ratio therefore constitutes an optimization of ranges. In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1688 (Fed. Cir. 1996). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the parameters as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 7 of Liu discloses a light-blocking component (17) which defines a non-emission area between the first emission area and the second emission area, wherein the first partition wall and the second partition wall are disposed in a same layer as the light-blocking component.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 5 of Zhu discloses each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprises: a light-emitting element (21-23); a transistor (52) configured to control current of the light-emitting element; and a first inorganic layer (6) covering the light-emitting element, wherein the light-emitting element comprises: a first electrode (212); an emission layer (210) disposed on the first electrode; and a second electrode (213) disposed on the emission layer; the first partition wall and the second partition wall are disposed on the first inorganic layer.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 5 of Zhu discloses a third pixel (B) including a third emission area which emits, in the third direction, light having a third color (blue) different from the first color (red) or the second color (green); and a third partition wall in which a third opening overlapping the third emission area in the plan view is defined, wherein the light of the first color includes red light, the light of the second color includes green light, and the light of the third color includes blue light, and wherein the third partition wall is provided with a third height different from the first height.
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 5 of Zhu discloses the first height, the second height, and the third height are different from each other.
Claim 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Liu, in view of Jinta (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0115251) of record.
Regarding Claim 4
Zhu as modified by Liu discloses Claim 1.
Zhu as modified by Liu is silent with respect to “each of the first partition wall and the second partition wall includes a first refractive index, and wherein the first layer includes a second refractive index higher than the first refractive index”.
FIG. 27 of Jinta discloses a similar display device, wherein each of the first partition wall and the second partition wall (15) includes a first refractive index (n2), and wherein the first layer (18) includes a second refractive index (n1) higher than the first refractive index [0182].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhu, as taught by Jinta. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhu in the above manner for purpose of improving light extraction efficiency (Para. 182 of Jinta).
Claims 5-7 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai, in view of Gao (WO 2024065284) of record.
Regarding Claim 5
Cai discloses Claim 1.
Cai is silent with respect to “a light-blocking component which defines a non-emission area between the first emission area and the second emission area, wherein the first partition wall and the second partition wall are disposed in a same layer as the light-blocking component”.
FIG. 5 of Gao discloses a similar display device, comprising a light-blocking component (212) which defines a non-emission area between the first emission area and the second emission area, wherein the first partition wall and the second partition wall (211) are disposed in a same layer as the light-blocking component.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cai, as taught by Gao. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Cai in the above manner for purpose of improving display quality (Abstract of Gao).
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 2 of Gao discloses in the plan view, a portion of the first partition wall (211) directly contacts a first side of the light-blocking component, and a portion of the second partition wall directly contacts a second side of the light-blocking component (212).
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 2 of Gao discloses the light-blocking component, the first partition wall, and the second partition wall are integral. The limitation “integrally disposed” is considered to be a process or functional limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113. Since Takahashi discloses an identical or substantially identical device, Claim 7 is unpatentable even though the Takahashi product was made by a different process.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 5 of Gao discloses in the plan view the pixel defining layer overlaps the light-blocking component (FIG. 2).
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Liu, in view of Takahashi (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0363146) of record.
Regarding Claim 10
Zhu as modified by Liu discloses Claim 8.
Zhu as modified by Liu is silent with respect to “each of the first partition wall and the second partition wall includes a first refractive index, and wherein the first layer includes a second refractive index higher than the first refractive index”.
FIG. 1 of Takahashi discloses a similar display device, comprising an organic layer (32) directly disposed on the first inorganic layer (31); and a second inorganic layer (33) directly disposed on the organic layer. FIG. 5 of Gao discloses the first partition wall and the second partition wall (211) are disposed on the first inorganic layer (14). the first partition wall and the second partition wall are directly disposed on the second inorganic layer (50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhu, as taught by Takahashi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhu in the above manner for purpose of preventing moisture/oxygen from entering the LED (Para. 5 of Takahashi).
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu and Liu, in view of Shin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2024/0040850) of record, in view of Ju (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0243802) of record.
Regarding Claim 11
Zhu as modified by Liu discloses Claim 8.
Zhu as modified by Liu is silent with respect to “an organic layer directly disposed on the first inorganic layer; a second inorganic layer and a third inorganic layer successively disposed on the organic layer; and a sensing electrode disposed on the second inorganic layer and overlapping the non-emission area in the plan view, wherein the first partition wall and the second partition wall are directly disposed on the third inorganic layer”.
FIG. 6 of Shin discloses a similar display device, comprising an organic layer (520) directly disposed on the first inorganic layer (510); a second inorganic layer (530) directly disposed on the organic layer; a sensing electrode (620) disposed on the second inorganic layer (530) and overlapping the non-emission area in the plan view (FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zhu, as taught by Shin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Zhu in the above manner for purpose of improving image quality and resolution ([0011] of Shin).
Zhu as modified by Liu and Shin is silent with respect to “the first partition wall and the second partition wall are directly disposed on the third inorganic layer”.
FIG. 20 of Ju discloses a similar display device, wherein the first partition wall and the second partition wall are directly disposed on the third inorganic layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Takahashi, as taught by Ju. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Takahashi in the above manner for purpose of reducing reflected light that is visible to the eyes of a user and improving emission efficiency ([0008] of Ju).
Claim 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai, in view of Kim3 (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0349793) of record.
Regarding Claim 14
Cai discloses Claim 12.
Cai is silent with respect to “the third partition wall includes dye capable of absorbing light in a wavelength band ranging from about 380 nanometers to about 430 nanometers”.
FIG. 1 of Kim3 discloses a similar display device, comprising a dye capable of absorbing light in a wavelength band ranging from about 380 nanometers to about 430 nanometers [0006].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cai, as taught by Kim3. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Cai in the above manner for purpose of avoiding intensity deteriorate and improving performance ([0005] of Kim3).
Claims 15 and 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai, in view of Akata (JP 2002304128) of record
Regarding Claim 15
Cai discloses Claim 1.
Cai is silent with respect to “the first layer includes at least one dye, and wherein a maximum absorption wavelength of the first layer ranges from about 530 nanometers to about 600 nanometers”.
Akata discloses a similar display device, wherein the first layer includes at least one dye, and wherein a maximum absorption wavelength of the first layer ranges from about 530 nanometers to about 600 nanometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kamiyama, as taught by Akata. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kamiyama in the above manner for purpose of enhancing contrast and color reproducibility (Advantage of Akata).
Regarding Claim 16
Akata discloses the at least one dye includes at least one of tetraazaporphyrin, porphyrin, oxazine, squarylium, polymethine, triarylmethane, anthraquinone, phtalocyanine, azo, perylene, xanthene, diimmonium, and dipyrromethene (Abstract).
Pertinent Art
Guo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2015/0029453) discloses a dye capable of absorbing light in a wavelength band ranging from about 380 nanometers to about 430 nanometers. Kamiyama (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0221623), Kondo (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0189713), Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0237524), Baek (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0104586), Xiao (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2023/0082085), Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0033847), 20220302216, Cai (EP 3282310), Chae (KR 102291493), CN 111969032.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897