DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by You et al.; US 2022/0216097 A1; 10/2021
Regarding claim 1, You teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate ( Fig. 3A #100 ) having an array area ( Fig. 3A #101) and a periphery area ( Fig. 3A #102 ); forming an etch stop layer on a top surface of the substrate in the array area and the periphery area ( [0045] At step S22, the upper surface of the substrate #100 is etched by adopting a dry etching process or a wet etching process based on the first graphical mask layer, so as to obtain the trench structure #12 ); forming a patterned mask layer on a top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area and the periphery area ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ), wherein the patterned mask layer has a plurality of hollowed portions ( a mask used for the formation of trenches in a semiconductor device would inherently be patterned and contain physical openings which can be considered hollow ), and wherein the patterned mask layer includes oxide ( [0052] the formed first graphical mask layer can include a hard mask layer, the hard mask layer can be a single-layer structure or a multi-layer stacking structure, and the material of the hard mask layer can be silicon oxide ); forming a plurality of trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101 ) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0037] At step S2, a substrate is provided, and a trench structure is formed in the substrate ), wherein the trenches run through the etch stop layer and are recessed from the top surface of the substrate ( as shown in Fig. 3B ); removing the patterned mask layer ( [0052] the graphical photoetching glue layer is removed after etching the substrate #100 ) and retaining the etch stop layer ( [0070] The upper surface of the substrate 100 can be set in order to perform the chemical mechanical polishing process for a stopping layer ); and depositing an oxide layer on the etch stop layer ( as shown in Fig. 2C ) to fill the trenches by a deposition process ( [0054] a first dielectric material layer #131 is formed, and the first dielectric layer #131 covers the side wall and bottom of the trench structure #12 as well as the upper surface of the substrate #100; [0077] The first dielectric material layer #131 can include, but not limited to, a silicon oxide layer ).
Regarding claim 2, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein depositing the oxide layer is performed such that the oxide layer fully fills the trenches ( Fig. 2H ).
Regarding claim 3, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein removing the patterned mask layer ( Fig. 1: S2 ) is performed before depositing the oxide layer ( Fig. 1: S4 ).
Regarding claim 5, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the patterned mask layer ( [0044] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate ) is performed before depositing the oxide layer ( [0054] At step S42, a first dielectric material layer #131 is formed ).
Regarding claim 6, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein depositing the oxide layer is performed such that the oxide layer is formed on the top surface of the etch stop layer ( as shown in Fig. 2C ).
Regarding claim 7, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), further comprising removing a portion of the oxide layer by a planarization process ( [0070] The upper surface of the substrate #100 can be set in order to perform the chemical mechanical polishing process for a stopping layer, and then the protective material layer #141 and the second dielectric material layer #151 that are located on the surface of the substrate #100 and the trench structure #12 are removed ).
Regarding claim 8, You teaches the method of claim 7 ( as discussed above), wherein removing the portion of the oxide layer is performed such that a top surface of the oxide layer and the top surface of the etch stop layer are coplanar ( [0070] the upper surface of the substrate #100 is flattened ).
Regarding claim 9, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ) is performed such that an aspect ratio of the trenches in the array area and an aspect ratio of the trenches in the periphery area are different ( as shown in Fig. 3B ).
Regarding claim 10, You teaches the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101 ) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ) is performed such that an aspect ratio of a depth to a width of the trenches in the array area is greater ( [0073] the depth of the first trench structure #121 is less than the depth of the second trench structure #122 and the width of the third trench structure #123 is less than the width of the fourth trench structure #124 ) than an aspect ratio of a depth to a width of the trenches in the periphery area ( [0073] both are identical to the width of the second trench structure #122 ).
Regarding claim 13, You teaches a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate ( Fig. 3A #100 ) having an array area ( Fig. 3A #101) and a periphery area ( Fig. 3A #102 );
forming an etch stop layer on a top surface of the substrate in the array area and the periphery area ( [0045] At step S22, the upper surface of the substrate #100 is etched by adopting a dry etching process or a wet etching process based on the first graphical mask layer, so as to obtain the trench structure #12 ); forming a patterned mask layer on a top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area and the periphery area ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ), wherein the patterned mask layer has a plurality of hollowed portions ( a mask used for the formation of trenches in a semiconductor device would inherently be patterned and contain physical openings which can be considered hollow ), and wherein the patterned mask layer includes oxide ( [0052] the formed first graphical mask layer can include a hard mask layer, the hard mask layer can be a single-layer structure or a multi-layer stacking structure, and the material of the hard mask layer can be silicon oxide ); forming a plurality of trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101 ) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0037] At step S2, a substrate is provided, and a trench structure is formed in the substrate ), wherein the trenches run through the etch stop layer and are recessed from the top surface of the substrate ( as shown in Fig. 3B ); removing the patterned mask layer ( [0052] the graphical photoetching glue layer is removed after etching the substrate #100 ) and retaining the etch stop layer ( ( [0070] The upper surface of the substrate 100 can be set in order to perform the chemical mechanical polishing process for a stopping layer ); overfilling the trenches by depositing an oxide layer ( Fig. 2G ), wherein the oxide layer is formed on the etch stop layer ( as shown in Fig. 2C #131 is formed on #100 ) ; and removing a portion of the oxide layer, such that a top surface of the oxide layer and the top surface of the etch stop layer are coplanar ( as shown in Fig. 2H ).
Regarding claim 14, You teaches the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above), wherein removing the patterned mask layer ( Fig. 1: S2 ) is performed before depositing the oxide layer ( Fig. 1: S4 ).
Regarding claim 16, You teaches the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the patterned mask layer ( [0044] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate ) is performed before depositing the oxide layer ( [0054] At step S42, a first dielectric material layer #131 is formed ).
Regarding claim 17, You teaches the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ) is performed such that an aspect ratio of the trenches in the array area and an aspect ratio of the trenches in the periphery area are different ( as shown in Fig. 3B ).
Regarding claim 18, You teaches the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101 ) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ) is performed such that an aspect ratio of a depth to a width of the trenches in the array area is greater ( [0073] the depth of the first trench structure #121 is less than the depth of the second trench structure #122 and the width of the third trench structure #123 is less than the width of the fourth trench structure #124 ) than an aspect ratio of a depth to a width of the trenches in the periphery area ( [0073] both are identical to the width of the second trench structure #122 ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al.; US 2022/0216097 A1; 10/2021 in view of Sun et al.; US 7,364,832 B2; 06/2004
Claim 4: You discloses the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above).
You does not appear to disclose the patterned mask layer has a thickness in a range between 30 nm and 150 nm.
However, Sun teaches the patterned mask layer has a thickness in a range between 30 nm and 150 nm ( Col. 3 Lines 58 – 63 Referring to Fig. 1a, a photosensitive and anti-reflective hard mask or protective layer #10 is spin coated onto the substrate #12 at a thickness from about 20-150 nm ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Sun with You to implement the patterned mask layer has a thickness in a range between 30 nm and 150 nm because this balances high-resolution imaging with sufficient physical protection during etching.
Claim 15: You discloses the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above).
You does not appear to disclose the patterned mask layer has a thickness in a range between 30 nm and 150 nm.
However, Sun teaches the patterned mask layer has a thickness in a range between 30 nm and 150 nm ( Col. 3 Lines 58 – 63 Referring to Fig. 1a, a photosensitive and anti-reflective hard mask or protective layer #10 is spin coated onto the substrate #12 at a thickness from about 20-150 nm ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Sun with You to implement the patterned mask layer has a thickness in a range between 30 nm and 150 nm because this balances high-resolution imaging with sufficient physical protection during etching.
Claims 11, 12, and 19 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al.; US 2022/0216097 A1; 10/2021 in view of Lee et al.; US 8,614,126 B1; 08/2012
Claim 11: You discloses the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above).
You does not appear to disclose the etch stop layer has a thickness in a range between 15 nm and 50 nm.
However, Lee (126) teaches the etch stop layer has a thickness in a range between 15 nm and 50 nm ( Col. 4 lines 58 – 59 The etch stop is typically thin, such as 10-70 nm, such as 20 – 50 nm ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Lee with You to implement the etch stop layer has a thickness in a range between 15 nm and 50 nm because this layer must be thick enough to resist the “over-etch” phase of the primary etching process.
Claim 12: You discloses the method of claim 1 ( as discussed above).
You does not appear to disclose the etch stop layer comprises nitride.
However, Lee (126) teaches the etch stop layer comprises nitride ( Col. 4 line 66 – Col. 5 Etching with the first non-selective etch is then stopped and the slit trenches #110 are filled with a sacrificial etch stop material #110A. The slit trenches 110 may be filled with any suitable material 110A such as stoichiometric or non-stoichiometric, AlO.sub.x, AlN, AlON, SiC, SiCN, TiN and/or TiO.sub.x ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Lee with You to implement the etch stop layer comprises nitride because of the unique chemical and physical properties that ensure process reliability.
Claim 19: You discloses the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above).
You does not appear to disclose the etch stop layer has a thickness in a range between 15 nm and 50 nm.
However, Lee (126) teaches the etch stop layer has a thickness in a range between 15 nm and 50 nm ( Col. 4 lines 58 – 59 The etch stop is typically thin, such as 10-70 nm, such as 20 – 50 nm ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Lee (126) with You to implement the etch stop layer has a thickness in a range between 15 nm and 50 nm because this layer must be thick enough to resist the “over-etch” phase of the primary etching process.
Claim 20 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al.; US 2022/0216097 A1; 10/2021 in view of Lee et al.; US 8,252,192 B2; 03/2009
Claim 20: You discloses the method of claim 13 ( as discussed above), wherein forming the trenches on the top surface of the etch stop layer in the array area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #121 and #122 are in the array area #101 ) and the periphery area ( Fig. 3B trench structures #123 and #124 are in the peripheral area #102 ) through the hollowed portions of the patterned mask layer ( [0048] At step S211, a first mask layer is formed on the upper surface of the substrate #100 ).
You does not appear to disclose the pattern mask layer is removed simultaneously.
However, Lee (192) teaches the pattern mask layer is removed simultaneously ( Col. 7 lines 50 – 55 By removing the third mask layer #122 while completing the transfer of pattern #130 to the underlying thin film #110 ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the teachings of Lee (192) with You to implement the pattern mask layer is removed simultaneously because this reduces over-etching damage and simplifies the process.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to the amendments to claims 1, 6, and 13 the amendment “retaining the etch stop layer” is described in paragraph [0070] of You and “depositing an oxide layer on the etch stop layer” is shown as layer #131 deposited on the substrate #100 in Fig. 2C. Applicant argues that the steps are not in the same order in You as in the claim, however, step S214 is where the first graphical photoetching glue layer is removed and step S42 is where the first dielectric material layer 131 is formed.
Conclusion
/K.N.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817