DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments necessitated the shift in grounds of rejection detailed below. The shift in grounds of rejection renders Applicant’s arguments moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US-20220285460-A1; Kim).
Regarding claim 21, Kim discloses an electronic device comprising: a display panel including: a display area including emission areas (Fig. 5, EA, ¶140) and a non-emission area (Fig. 5, RA, ¶140) adjacent to the emission areas; a pixel defining layer (Fig. 5, BK, ¶140) that includes first openings corresponding to the emission areas and a second opening corresponding to the non-emission area; light emitting elements (Fig. 5,PEL1/EML/PEL2, ¶137-143) each including a first electrode, a second electrode, and a light emitting layer disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein each of the light emitting elements is partially disposed in a corresponding one of the first openings (PEL2 outside of opening); and a photovoltaic element (Fig. 5,SEL1/LRL/SEL2, ¶137-143) including a first cell electrode, a second cell electrode, and an optical photovoltaic layer disposed between the first cell electrode and the second cell electrode, wherein the photovoltaic element is disposed partially in the second opening (SEL2 outside of opening), wherein the second electrode and the second cell electrode form an integral electrode (Fig. 5,CD, ¶137-143) that extends continuously across the emission areas and the non-emission area at a constant height above the pixel defining layer (the height of CD is the same above each PDL).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-13 and 15-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
The relevant art (US-20220165834-A1, US-20220285460-A1) discloses a display device where the sensing line provides a signal to a gate but is silent on supplying signal to a power supply. The claim language implies a configuration where the photovoltaic component is connected to a power supply. The art ( US-20190245155-A1) discloses devices comprising displays where solar energy supplies energy to a battery which powers the device. The art is silent on the claimed structural configuration where the photovoltaic element supplies energy to a power supply.
US-20210210557-A1 discloses a plurality of partition walls spaced apart on an encapsulant in the non-display area, where a photovoltaic element is beneath a wall opening. However the partitions and associated encapsulant do not overlap the PDL . CN 108229417 A discloses partitioning walls over a photo sensing region and on an encapsulant that covers a light emitting region. However the partitions do not overlap a PDL.
Regarding claim 1, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " and supplies the electrical energy to a power supply of the display device.”, as recited in Claim 1, with the remaining features.
Regarding claim 15, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " a partition wall layer including a first partition wall opening overlapping a portion of the pixel defining layer and second partition wall openings corresponding to respective openings, wherein the partition wall layer is disposed on the encapsulation layer; …wherein the photovoltaic element is disposed in the first partition wall opening.”, as recited in Claim 15, with the remaining features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899