DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ichikawa et al (JP 2021-035936 and its machine translation).
Ichikawa et al disclose a resist composition comprising a PAG having a sulfonium cation and a sulfonate anion, wherein the cation and anion have structures meeting the limitations of the instant claims.
The cation has a structure meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1) (instant claim 1).
In the formula, the instant L is a single bond, s is 1, R4 is alkyl, and at least one of p, q, r is 1, with R1-R3 being halogen in most examples (F).
The polymer (instant claim 4) preferably comprises an additional unit having an acid-labile group, falling within the scope of the instant (a1), wherein RA is H or methyl, and R11 is a alkyl-cycloalkyl group as required by the instant claim 5.
The resist is preferably a positive resist (instant claim 6), and further includes a solvent (instant claim 9), a quencher (instant claim 10), as demonstrated in examples ([0223]).
The patterning process includes the steps as claimed, wherein the composition is applied, dried/pre-baked, exposed, and developed, with the light exposure performed by ArF, KrF, EUV, or electron beam ([0211], examples; instant claims 12 and 13).
The reference teaches a salt and resist composition as discussed above, but the reference further teaches that the composition may comprise a surfactant ([0208], [0209]; instant claim 11), and an acid-labile group-containing unit of the instant formula (a2), and have an anion meeting the limitations of the instant formulas.
First, the salt may further comprise halogen or perfluoralkyl groups on any of the rings (see R4 to R6, instant R1-R3), and is not limited to the preferred examples.
Therefore, the reference teaches one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of the reference, choosing for the instant R1 to R3 (and in turn p to r to be each 0 to 3) to be halogen or trifluoromethyl (abstract).
The anion of the reference has a structure similar to that of the instant formula (2)-1 and (2)-2 (instant claims 2 and 3).
In the formula z can be 1 and R1 and R2 fluorine atoms ([0012]), and wherein X1 and L1 (instant X1 and X2, and X3 and X4, respectively) are linking groups including -COO-, -OCO-, O-CO-O-, and a single bond, alkyl group ([0012]). Examples appear below, wherein the end group include an phenyl substituted by a halogen. While the halogen atom exemplified is F, one of ordinary skill in the art would have envisaged another from the finite group of halogens, including iodine ([0014]-[0018]).
When the compound is as described above, wherein z 1 1 and R1 and R2 are F, and the fluorine atom on phenyl ring is replaced by iodine, the anion meets the limitations of the instant claim 1. Regarding newly added claim 14, the aryl ring may have any of the five positions substituted, therefore one of ordinary skill in the art would have envisaged 1 to 5 substituents.
The acid-labile groups-containing unit may have the structure of the instant (a2), taught to be equivalent to that of (a1) above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of Ichikawa et al , choosing as the anion, that as taught by the reference wherein the end group is a phenyl group having an iodine substituent, wherein the acid-labile group-containing unit is that as that of instant formula (a2), or wherein material further comprises a surfactant as a known additive, each as taught to be known by the reference.
Claim(s) 1 and 4-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LaBeaume (10,274,825) in view of Ichikawa et al.
LaBeaume disclose a resist composition comprising an acid generator having a structure falling within the scope of the instant claims.
In the formula, D (instant L) is a single bond, carbonyl, CH2, ether, sulfide, sulfonyl, s is 1 and includes the instantly claimed -OR4 acid labile group, e-g (instant p-r) are 0-4, and A-B (instant R1 to R3) is hydrogen or a substituent such as halogen (fluorine), trifluoromethyl meeting the limitations of the instant formula (1) of claim 1 (preferred substituents, column 5, line 62 to column 6, line 64, nitro, methoxy, F, CF3, aryl, -OH used in examples).
The resist further comprises a polymer (instant claim 4; claim 25), wherein the polymer includes positive and negative-acting resists, wherein the resist includes an acid-labile groups, or a polar group (positive and negative [phenols], respectively; column 10, lines 29-59, column 17, lines 36-55, each equally preferred; instant claims 6-8).
The positive resist includes acid-labile group-containing units includes t-butyl (meth)acrylate (formula (a1); instant claim 5).
The resist further comprises a solvent, a surfactant, and a base/ quencher (see examples and column 17, line 61 to column 18, line 40 which describes the additives in the examples; instant claims 9-11).
The method of the reference includes the steps of applying, drying/ pre=baking, exposing to EUV or ebeam, then developing (column 19, lines42-67, examples; instant claims12 and 13).
LaBeamue teaches that suitable anions of their sulfonium cation include known anions, and preferred compounds include fluorinates sulfonic acids (column 4, line 51 to column 5, line 3), however, the reference fails to specifically teach the claimed anion.
However, as discussed above, Ichikawa et al disclose a similar sulfonium cation and fluorinated sulfonic acid anion, wherein the disclosed anions fall within the scope of the instant claims 1 and 14 (formulas (2)-1 and (2)-2).
Given the teachings of the references, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to prepare the material of LaBeaume, choosing as the fluorinate sulfonic acid anion, that taught to be known and useful with similar cations by Ichikawa et al. The resultant cation and anion would also meet the limitations of the instant claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has amended claim 1 to incorporate the limitations of claims 2 and 3, now cancelled.
The amendments overcomes the 102 rejections over Ichikawa and LeBeaume. Each reference rejected claims 2 and 3 under 103, and the 102 rejections have been withdrawn, and 103 rejections reformulated in response to the claim amendments.
Applicant has argued that the Ichikawa reference (which is relied upon is all art rejections as it is included in the 103 over LeBeaume) fails to fairly teach or suggest the claimed salt comprising an anion having an aryl ring with at least one iodine atom, and a cation having the structure as set forth by the instant formula (1).
Applicant has argued that the instant specification teaches that the inclusion of an iodine atom having a large absorption of EUV light on the anion increases the absorption of the photoacid generator and the degradation efficiency in exposure (response, paragraph spanning pages 9 to page 10), which applicant argues improves LWR and CDU.
Applicant specifically notes that the office relies on Ichikawa as teaching a cation falling within the scope of the instant claims, and an anion wherein the phenyl ring includes a halogen atom, which may be iodine. Specific examples of the anion have a basic structure meeting the limitations of the instant formulas (2)-1 and (2)-2, including specific examples of (2)-1, wherein the ring includes halogen substitution, wherein the halogen in those examples in fluorine. As set forth above, the ring may ben substituted by a halogen atom, wherein a finite group of possible halogen atoms includes fluorine and iodine. One of ordinary skill the art would have envisaged using any halogen, not only fluorine. While the reference more preferably includes fluorine, the reference is not limited to its most preferred teachings and only to its examples, therefore applicant’s arguments that the reference prefers fluorine is not persuasive (response, page 10 to page 11).
Additionally, applicant argues that the reference fails to recognize the benefit of iodine over fluorine, but again, halogens include F, Br, Cl, and I, which is a small group, and by the reference teaching the ring may have a halogen substituent, one of skill in the art would have envisaged using any halogen including iodine (response, page 11, last paragraph). Applicant has further argued in the paragraph that the reference fails to recognize the specific benefit for including iodine over other halogen atoms (increased absorption of EUV light that improves degradation efficiency, absorption contrast, and LWR and CDU improvement), however, the reference does not need to have the same motivation as applicant for adding a compound to a composition or modifying a compound, and the fact the reference does not aim to solve the same problem and achieve the same benefits as applicant does not overcome a rejection.
Applicant further argues that LaBeaume in view of Ichikawa also fails to fairly teach the claimed salt, and argues that Ichikawa fails to cure the deficiency of LaBeaume regarding the PAG anion structure (response, page 13, paragraph 2). Arguments to the combination of references are to the teachings of Ichikawa which have been discussed at length above to the rejection over Ichikawa alone, and the Labeaume in view of Ichikawa rejections are maintained as the arguments are unpersuasive as the were to Ichikawa alone.
The double patenting rejection is withdrawn in light of the amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AMANDA C. WALKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722