DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 20, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 10, 11, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kim et al (US Pub 2022/0093878).
In re claim 1, Kim et al discloses a light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode (i.e. 11); a second electrode (i.e. 19) facing the first electrode; and an interlayer (i.e. 10A) between the first electrode and the second electrode and comprising an emission layer (i.e. 15), wherein the emission layer comprises a sensitizer and an emitter (i.e. seat least paragraph 0035), wherein a spectral overlap integral of an emission spectrum of the sensitizer and an absorption spectrum of the emitter is at least 1 x 1013 M-1cm4 (i.e. see at least paragraph 0045), a highest occupied molecular orbital (HOMO) energy level of the sensitizer is higher than a HOMO energy level of the emitter (i.e. in this case, Kim et al discloses the sensitizer is a transition metal-containing organometallic compound (i.e. see at least paragraph 0158), as in the instant application, and the emitter is a compound comprising at least one boron (B) (i.e. see at least paragraph 0205), as in the instant application; thus, it would have been inherent or obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the HOMO energy level of the sensitizer is higher than a HOMO energy level of the emitter), and the spectral overlap integral is evaluated by Equation 1 (i.e. paragraph 0045), and wherein, in Equation 1, J(λ) is the spectral overlap integral of the emission spectrum of the sensitizer and the absorption spectrum of the emitter, ε(λ) is a molar extinction coefficient of the emitter calculated from the absorption spectrum of the emitter, λ is a wavelength of the emission spectrum and the absorption spectrum, and FD(λ) is a normalized emission spectrum of the sensitizer (i.e. see at least paragraphs 0045-0048).
In re claim 3, Kim et al discloses wherein J(λ) is 1 x 1013, which is less than 4 x 1014 (i.e. paragraph 0045).
In re claim 7, Kim et al discloses the sensitizer is a transition metal-containing organometallic compound (i.e. see at least paragraph 0158).
In re claim 10, Kim et al discloses wherein the sensitizer does not comprise a ring comprising at least two nitrogen (N) atoms as ring-forming atoms (i.e. paragraph 0158).
In re claim 11, Kim et al discloses the emitter is a compound comprising at least one boron (B) (i.e. see at least paragraph 0205).
In re claim 18, the recitation “an electronic apparatus” in the claim specifies an intended use or field of use and is treated as nonlimiting since it has been held that in device claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claim invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claim invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
In re claim 20, the recitation “an electronic equipment” in the claim specifies an intended use or field of use and is treated as nonlimiting since it has been held that in device claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claim invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claim invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 12-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817