DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
In the response filed 8/10/26 Applicant continues to state that the restriction fails to establish there is a serious burden with respect to the species requirement but does not elaborate or distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement.
The requirement is still deemed proper and remains FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see the claim amendments filed 8/10/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made below.
Regarding claim 6, it is argued that official notice (MPEP 2144.03) is taken, and prior art is now requested to prove that it is well known.
Note that the rejection did not rely upon MPEP 2144.03, the rejection used MPEP 2144.07, and a showing of criticality is required to overcome this rejection.
With respect to claims 7 and 9, it is argued that the resistivity is not a measured value but a result when the stack has a thickness of 140 angstroms, after or not a thermal treatment.
Note that claim 1 states the metal stack is a combination of a W layer having a thickness range and a Mo layer having a thickness range, therefore optimization of the thickness of each layer is required to achieve the claimed resistivity.
Double Patenting
Double Rejection over U.S. Patent No. 12,022,650
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,650, hereafter referred to as the patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because these claims are broader.
Regarding claim 1, the patent claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (column 16, lines 61-64); and
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 17, lines 1-2), the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 4) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 10).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 2, the patent claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 4) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 10).
As to claim 3, though the patent fails to claim performed in situ in an integrated processing tool, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform it in situ in an integrated process tool in the invention of the patent because in situ integrated process tools are conventionally known and used in the art. In situ integrated process tools are used because they provide control over parameters and process conditions. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 4, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Concerning claim 5, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 6, the patent claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process (column 16, lines 61-62).
In claim 7, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Regarding claim 8, though the patent fails to claim performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform a thermal treatment in the invention of the patent because a thermal treatment can be used to harden the metal stack, for example. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 9, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,022,650, in view of Thombare et al., US 10,510,590, and Schloss et al., US 12,598,925.
As to claim 10, the patent claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (column 16, lines 61-64);
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 17, lines 1-2), depositing the tungsten (W) layer and the molybdenum (Mo) layer where the semiconductor substrate is maintained at a temperature in a range of from 200 °C to 400 °C (claims 3 & 11) the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 4) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 10).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
The patent fails to claim the process is performed in situ in an integrated processing tool.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform it in situ in an integrated process tool in the invention of the patent because in situ integrated process tools are conventionally known and used in the art. In situ integrated process tools are used because they provide control over parameters and process conditions. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
The patent fails to claim performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack.
Thombare (column 13, lines 1-19) teaches performing a thermal treatment (annealing) ex situ (column 13, lines 7 & 12-13 teaches using a furnace, and also teaches exposing to air, therefore being ex situ) after depositing the metal stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a thermal treatment in the invention of Thombare in the invention of the patent because Thombare teaches it improves grain growth and lowers resistivity (column 13, lines 1-5).
The patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
Schloss (column 8, lines 4-12) teaches the semiconductor substrate 102 comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the layer of Schloss in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a gate oxide, and/or electrical insulation, and/or passivation, and/or a diffusion barrier, and/or protection from contamination. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 11, the patent (claim 4) claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 10).
Concerning claim 12, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a diffusion barrier, and/or a contact, and/or protection from contaminants. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 13, the patent (column 16, lines 61-62) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
In claim 14, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 [p0-cm prior to the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Regarding claim 15, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 [p0-cm after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Double Rejection over US 11,587,936
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,587,936, hereafter referred to as the patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because these claims are broader.
Regarding claim 1, the patent claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (column 16, lines 57 & claim 2); and
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 16, lines 62-63), the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 7) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 14).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 2, the patent claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 7) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 14).
As to claim 3, though the patent fails to claim performed in situ in an integrated processing tool, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform it in situ in an integrated process tool in the invention of the patent because in situ integrated process tools are conventionally known and used in the art. In situ integrated process tools are used because they provide control over parameters and process conditions. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 4, though the patent, which claims a gate oxide layer (column 16, lines 58-61), fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of the patent because at least SiOx, SiN are conventionally known and used gate oxide layers. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Concerning claim 5, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 6, the patent (column 16, lines 57-58) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
In claim 7, the patent (claim 16) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Regarding claim 8, though the patent fails to claim performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform a thermal treatment in the invention of the patent because a thermal treatment can be used to harden the metal stack, for example. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 9, the patent (claim 16) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,587,936, in view of Thombare et al., US 10,510,590, and Schloss et al., US 12,598,925.
As to claim 10, the patent claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (column 16, lines 57-58 & claim 2);
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 16, lines 62-63), where the semiconductor substrate is maintained at a temperature in a range of from 200 °C to 400 °C (claims 6 & 15) the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 7) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 14).
The patent fails to claim depositing the tungsten (W) layer and the molybdenum (Mo) layer performed in situ in an integrated processing tool
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform it in situ in an integrated process tool in the invention of the patent because in situ integrated process tools are conventionally known and used in the art. In situ integrated process tools are used because they provide control over parameters and process conditions. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
The patent fails to claim performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack.
Thombare (column 13, lines 1-19) teaches performing a thermal treatment (annealing) ex situ (column 13, lines 7 & 12-13 teaches using a furnace, and also teaches exposing to air, therefore being ex situ) after depositing the metal stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a thermal treatment in the invention of Thombare in the invention of the patent because Thombare teaches it improves grain growth and lowers resistivity (column 13, lines 1-5).
The patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
Schloss (column 8, lines 4-12) teaches the semiconductor substrate 102 comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the layer of Schloss in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a gate oxide, and/or electrical insulation, and/or passivation, and/or a diffusion barrier, and/or protection from contamination. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
In re claim 11, the patent claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 7) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 14).
Concerning claim 12, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a diffusion barrier, and/or a contact, and/or protection from contaminants. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 13, the patent (column 16, lines 57-58) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
In claim 14, the patent (claim 16) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 [p0-cm prior to the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Regarding claim 15, the patent (claim 16) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 [p0-cm after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Double Patenting Rejection over US 12,453,086
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,086, hereafter referred to as the patent. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because these claims are broader.
With respect to claim 1, the patent claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (column 14, lines 8-10); and
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 14, lines 11-12), the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 3) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 10).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
As to claim 2, the patent claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 3) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 10).
In re claim 3, though the patent fails to claim the process is performed in situ in an integrated processing tool, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform it in situ in an integrated process tool in the invention of the patent because in situ integrated process tools are conventionally known and used in the art. In situ integrated process tools are used because they provide control over parameters and process conditions. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Concerning claim 4, though the patent, which claims a gate dielectric, fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of the patent because at least SiOx, SiN are conventionally known and used gate oxide layers. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 5, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 6, the patent (column 14, lines 8-10) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
Regarding claim 7, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
With respect to claim 8, further comprising performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform a thermal treatment in the invention of the patent because a thermal treatment can be used to harden the metal stack, for example. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
As to claim 9, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,086, in view of Thombare et al., US 10,510,590 and Schloss et al., US 12,598,925.
In re claim 10, the patent claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (column 14, liens 8-10);
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 14, lines 11-12), depositing the tungsten (W) layer and the molybdenum (Mo) where the semiconductor substrate is maintained at a temperature in a range of from 200 °C to 400 °C (claims 2 & 11) the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 3) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform it in situ in an integrated process tool in the invention of the patent because in situ integrated process tools are conventionally known and used in the art. In situ integrated process tools are used because they provide control over parameters and process conditions. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
The patent fails to claim performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack.
Thombare (column 13, lines 1-19) teaches performing a thermal treatment (annealing) ex situ (column 13, lines 7 & 12-13 teaches using a furnace, and also teaches exposing to air, therefore being ex situ) after depositing the metal stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a thermal treatment in the invention of Thombare in the invention of the patent because Thombare teaches it improves grain growth and lowers resistivity (column 13, lines 1-5).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
The patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
Schloss (column 8, lines 4-12) teaches the semiconductor substrate 102 comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the layer of Schloss in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a gate oxide, and/or electrical insulation, and/or passivation, and/or a diffusion barrier, and/or protection from contamination. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Concerning claim 11, the patent claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 3) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 10).
Pertaining to claim 12, though the patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a diffusion barrier, and/or a contact, and/or protection from contaminants. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 13, the patent (column 14, lines 8-10) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
Regarding claim 14, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 [p0-cm prior to the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
With respect to claim 15, the patent (claim 12) claims the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 [p0-cm after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A.
Double Rejection over US 2024/0145300
Claims 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 2024/0145300, hereafter referred to as the reference application. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because these claims are broader.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, the reference application claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (claim 1, line 2 & claim 4); and
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (claim 1, line 11 & claim 4), the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 5) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 6).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 2, the reference application claims the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 5) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 6).
As to claim 3, the reference application (claim 7) claims performed in situ in an integrated processing tool.
In re claim 4, the reference application, which claims a dielectric layer (claim 1, lines 2-3), fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use these materials because at least SiOx and SiN are conventionally known dielectric materials. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Concerning claim 5, though the reference application fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 6, the reference application (claim 1, lines 4 & 12) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
In claim 7, though the reference application fails to claim the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 8, though the reference application performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to perform a thermal treatment in the invention of the reference application because a thermal treatment can be used to harden the metal stack, for example. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 9, the reference application the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Claims 10-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 2024/0145300, in view of Thombare et al., 10,510,590, and Schloss et al., US 12,598,925.
As to claim 10, the reference application claims a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer on a semiconductor substrate (claim 1, line 2 & claim 4);
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (claim 1, line 11 & claim 4), depositing the tungsten (W) layer and the molybdenum (Mo) layer performed in situ in an integrated processing tool (claim 7) having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (claim 5) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (claim 6).
The reference application fails to claim the semiconductor substrate is maintained at a temperature in a range of from 200 °C to 400 °C the tungsten (W) layer
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the temperature through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
The reference application fails to claim forming a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack.
Thombare (column 13, lines 1-19) teaches performing a thermal treatment (annealing) ex situ (column 13, lines 7 & 12-13 teaches using a furnace, and also teaches exposing to air, therefore being ex situ) after depositing the metal stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a thermal treatment in the invention of Thombare in the invention of the reference application because Thombare teaches it improves grain growth and lowers resistivity (column 13, lines 1-5).
Though the patent, which claims a buried word line, fails to claim the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
The patent fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
Schloss (column 8, lines 4-12) teaches the semiconductor substrate 102 comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the layer of Schloss in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art to provide a gate oxide, and/or electrical insulation, and/or passivation, and/or a diffusion barrier, and/or protection from contamination. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In re claim 11, the reference application the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (claim 5) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (claim 6).
Concerning claim 12, though the reference application, fails to claim the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN) , it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 13, the reference application (claim 1, lines 4 & 12) claims one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process.
In claim 14, the reference application the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 [p0-cm prior to the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 15, the reference application the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 [p0-cm after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A. it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being clearly anticipated by Schloss et al., US 12,598,925.
Regarding claim 1, Schloss (figure 1A) teaches a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) layer 108 (column 9, lines 31-34 states tungsten oxynitride or WN) on a semiconductor substrate 102/104; and
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) (column 9, lines 17-21) layer 110 on the tungsten (W) layer 108 to form the metal stack), the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (column 9, lines 47-48) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (column 9, lines 49-50).
Though the Schloss, which recites a buried word line (column 1, lines 16-30), fails to recite the metal stack is for a DRAM bitline, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a word line metal stack as a DRAM bitline in the invention of the patent because the use of a known technique to improve a similar device (MPEP 2143 C). Bitlines and word lines are similar devices, the only difference is word lines are horizontally oriented and bitlines are vertically oriented. A skilled artisan would consider using an improvement to a wordline in order to similarly improve a bitline with a more than reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to claim 2, Schloss teaches the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (column 9, lines 47-48) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (column 9, lines 49-50).
As to claim 3, Schloss (figure 6) teaches performed in situ in an integrated processing tool.
In re claim 4, Schloss (column 8, lines 4-12) teaches the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi), or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN).
Concerning claim 5, though Schloss fails to teach the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art diffusion barriers or protection layers. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schloss et al., US 12,598,925, as applied to claim 1 above.
Pertaining to claim 6, though Schloss fails to teach one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use DC PVD or RF PVD in the invention of Schloss because they are conventionally known and used deposition methods. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 7, though Schloss, which teaches achieving low resistivities (abstract), fails to teach the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schloss et al., US 12,598,925, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Thombare et al., US 10,510,590.
Regarding claim 8, Schloss fails to teach performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack.
Thombare (column 13, lines 1-19) teaches performing a thermal treatment (annealing) ex situ (column 13, lines 7 & 12-13 teaches using a furnace, and also teaches exposing to air, therefore being ex situ) after depositing the metal stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a thermal treatment in the invention of Thombare in the invention of Schloss because Thombare teaches it improves grain growth and lowers resistivity (column 13, lines 1-5).
With respect to claim 9, though Schloss fails to teach the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schloss et al., US 12,598,925, in view of Thombare et al., US 10,510,590.
As to claim 10, Schloss (figure 1A) teaches a method of depositing a metal stack, the method comprising:
depositing a tungsten (W) (column 9, lines 31-34 states tungsten oxynitride or WN) layer 108 on a semiconductor substrate 102/104 comprising one or more of silicon oxide (SiOx), silicon nitride (SiN), tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN) (column 8, lines 4-12);
depositing a molybdenum (Mo) layer 110 on the tungsten (W) layer to form the metal stack (column 9, lines 17-21), depositing the tungsten (W) layer and the molybdenum (Mo) layer performed in situ in an integrated processing tool (figure 6) where the semiconductor substrate is maintained at a temperature in a range of from 200 °C to 400 °C (column 22, lines 22-34) the tungsten (W) layer having a thickness in a range of from 5 A to 30 A (column 9, lines 47-48) and the molybdenum (Mo) layer having a thickness in a range of from 80 A to 200 A (column 9, lines 49-50).
Schloss fails to teach performing a thermal treatment ex situ after depositing the metal stack.
Thombare (column 13, lines 1-19) teaches performing a thermal treatment (annealing) ex situ (column 13, lines 7 & 12-13 teaches using a furnace, and also teaches exposing to air, therefore being ex situ) after depositing the metal stack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a thermal treatment in the invention of Thombare in the invention of Schloss because Thombare teaches it improves grain growth and lowers resistivity (column 13, lines 1-5).
In re claim 11, wherein the thickness of the tungsten (W) layer is in a range of from 15 A to 25 A (column 9, lines 47-48) and the thickness of the molybdenum (Mo) layer is in a range of from 100 A to 150 A (column 9, lines 49-50).
Concerning claim 12, though Schloss fails to teach the semiconductor substrate comprises one or more of tungsten silicide (WSi) or tungsten silicon nitride (WSiN), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use one of these substrates in the invention of the patent because they are conventionally known and used in the art diffusion barriers or protection layers. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
Pertaining to claim 13, though Schloss fails to teach one or more of the tungsten (W) layer or the molybdenum (Mo) layer is deposited using a direct current (DC) PVD process or a radiofrequency (RF) PVD process, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use DC PVD or RF PVD in the invention of Schloss because they are conventionally known and used deposition methods. The use of conventional materials to perform their known functions is obvious (MPEP 2144.07).
In claim 14, though Schloss fails to teach the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 10 [p0-cm prior to the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 15, wherein the metal stack has a resistivity of less than or equal to 11 [p0-cm after the thermal treatment when the metal stack has a total thickness of 140 A, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the resistivity through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID A ZARNEKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891 8/27/26