Response to Arguments
Applicant’s addition of claims 12-19 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 15 July 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 and 10-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of WO 2018179704 A1 (hereby referred to as WO ‘704).
Applicant has amended independent claims 1 and 11 to recite that the composition for forming the resist underlayer film comprises an organic chain polymer. Applicant argues that the previously cited prior art (Smith and Nakasugi) fails to disclose or suggest the invention according to instant claims 1 and 11, as amended. Particularly, Applicant argues that Smith fails to describe an underlayer film (conceded by the previous office action) and that Nakasugi does not disclose an underlayer film comprising an organic chain polymer. Upon review of Nakasugi, the Examiner agrees with the Applicant that an organic chain polymer is not taught by Nakasugi to be present in the resist underlayer film forming composition. Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments are found to be persuasive and the previous rejection is withdrawn. However, a new rejection is presented in view of WO 2018179704 A1 (hereby referred to as WO ‘704), as explained below.
Applicant further argues that it would not be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Nakasugi to include an organic chain polymer in the resist underlayer film forming composition, as Nakasugi suggests that organic chain polymers would not provide success in improving line width roughness (LWR) and it is difficult to form a uniform underlayer film. In Nakasugi’s disclosure, Nakasugi states that particular prior art employs polymers having low thermal expansion coefficients are employed to improve pattern collapse and LWR, but these particular prior art references fail to fully improve LWR (Nakasugi, paragraph 0004). The Examiner notes that in response to the Applicant’s amendments, Nakasugi is no longer relied upon for the newly presented rejection. Therefore, these points are not considered to be relevant to the new rejection presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-8, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2018179704 A1 (hereby referred to as WO ‘704).
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 12-15, WO ‘704 discloses a pattern forming method. The pattern forming method comprises coating a substrate with a base film forming composition (i.e. forming an underlayer film on a substrate); directly or indirectly coating a radiation sensitive composition for resist film formation on the base film formed by the base film forming composition coating step (i.e. forming a resist film on the underlayer film); exposing the resist film formed by the radiation sensitive composition for resist film formation coating step; and developing the exposed resist film (WO ‘704, paragraph 0010 of the English translation). Development may produce a positive or negative pattern (WO ‘704, paragraph 0143 of the English translation), indicating that the developer may dissolve the exposed portion of the exposed resist film. The radiation sensitive composition for resist film formation contains a metal-containing compound (WO ‘704, paragraph 0011 of the English translation). The composition for forming the underlayer film contains at least one of a thermal acid generating component and an acid group containing component (WO ‘704, paragraph 0013 of the English translation). The thermal acid generating component and the acid group containing component may both be organic polymers (WO ‘704, paragraph 0013 of the English translation). Table 1 (see paragraph 0169 on page 42 of WO ‘704) shows various underlayer film forming compositions (WO ‘704, paragraph 0167-0168 of the English translation). Example 23 (which employs underlayer film forming composition U-21) contains thermal acid generating component A-4 and solvent E-1. The structure of resin A-4 is reproduced below (refer to paragraph 0158 on page 36 of WO ‘704).
Resin A-4 has a molecular weight of 3,000 (WO ‘704, paragraph 0157 of the English translation) and is a thermal acid generator polymer equivalent to resin A-4 as described by paragraph 0178 of the instant application’s specification. Solvent E-1 is propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) (WO ‘704, paragraph 0166 of the English translation). WO ‘704 further discloses, as shown in Table 1, an underlayer film forming composition such as Examples 3 and 9-13 (which utilize compositions U-1 and U-7 through U-11, respectively). These examples all contain thermal acid generator A-1, solvent E-1, and differing organic resins (C-1 to C-6, respectively). The structures of resins C-1 to C-6 are shown on page 38 of WO ‘704. The resins include acenaphthylene resin and pyrene resin, amongst others. The resins C-1 to C-6 disclosed by WO ‘704 match those of resins c-1 to c-6 of the instant application (refer to page 59 of the instant application’s specification). Furthermore, WO ‘704 states that resin A-4 is a thermoacid-generating polymer (WO ‘704, paragraph 0163 of the English translation). Thus, WO ‘704 discloses the method according to instant claims 1, 10, 12-15, and 17-19.
Regarding Claim 6, WO ‘704 discloses that the metal-containing compound in the resist film forming composition is an organotin oxide (WO ‘704, paragraph 0153 of the English translation; refer to formula P-1 on page 35 of WO ‘704).
Regarding Claim 7, WO ‘704 discloses that the resist film is irradiated with radiation, which is preferably from EUV light having a wavelength of 13.5 nm (WO ‘704, paragraph 0142 of the English translation).
Regarding Claim 8, WO ‘704 discloses that the developer may be an aqueous alkaline solution (WO ‘704, paragraph 0143 of the English translation), and thus may comprise water.
Regarding Claims 11 and 16-19, WO ‘704 discloses Examples 3 and 9-13 (which utilize compositions U-1 and U-7 through U-11, respectively). These examples all represent underlayer forming compositions and contain thermal acid generator A-1, solvent E-1, and differing organic resins (C-1 to C-6, respectively). Thermal acid generator A-1 is an iodonium salt (refer to page 36 of WO ‘704) and solvent E-1 is propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) (WO ‘704, paragraph 0166 of the English translation). The structures of resins C-1 to C-6 are shown on page 38 of WO ‘704. The resins include acenaphthylene resin and pyrene resin, amongst others. The resins C-1 to C-6 disclosed by WO ‘704 match those of resins c-1 to c-6 of the instant application (refer to page 59 of the instant application’s specification). As noted above, WO ‘704 further discloses a pattern formation method comprising forming a resist underlayer film on a substrate and forming a resist layer containing a metal-containing compound on the resist underlayer; patterning the resist layer by radiation exposure; and developing the patterned resist layer. WO ‘704 further discloses thermoacid-generating polymers (WO ‘704, paragraph 0163 of the English translation) and specifically discloses such a polymer having a molecular weight within the ranges recited by claims 18-19 (WO ‘704, paragraph 0157 of the English translation). Given that the resist underlayer formation is suitable for the method recited by instant claim 11, WO ‘704 thus discloses a composition according to instant claims 11 and 16-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018179704 A1 (hereby referred to as WO ‘704) in view of US 20170102612 A1 (hereby referred to as Meyers).
Regarding Claim 9, WO ‘704 discloses the invention according to instant claim 1, as discussed above. WO ‘704 discloses that development is performed using alkaline aqueous solutions and/or organic solvent-containing solutions (WO ‘704, paragraph 0143-0144 of the English translation). However, WO ‘704 is silent in regards to the temperature during development.
Meyers teaches organotin oxide patterning compositions, precursors, and patterning methods. The composition taught by Meyers comprises an organometallic compound, such as an organotin compound (Meyers, paragraph 0006). The composition is used to form resist coatings (Meyers, paragraph 0045). The composition is deposited onto a substrate to form a film (Meyers, paragraph 0076-0082), and then patterned using radiation (Meyers, paragraph 0083-0089). Once patterned following the radiation exposure, the exposed resist layer is developed via negative tone imaging or positive tone imaging (Meyers, paragraph 0090). The positive tone development method (which is used by WO ‘704 and the instant application) utilizes an aqueous solution (Meyers, paragraph 0094-0095). Meyers teaches that when the developer is a lower concentration aqueous developer or in compositions where the coating has a lower development rate, a high temperature development process can be used to increase the development rate (Meyers, paragraph 0096). With strong developers, the temperature may be lower to control the kinetics of the development (Meyers, paragraph 0096). Meyers further teaches that the temperature of the development can be adjust between appropriate values consistent with the volatility of the solvents (Meyers, paragraph 0096).
WO ‘704 and Meyers are analogous art because each reference pertains to patterning of resists disposed on substrates. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to use developing solution having a temperature of 40 °C or more during development, as taught by Meyers, during the patterning method disclosed by WO ‘704 because Meyers teaches that the temperature of the developing solution can be adjusted to adjust the development rate of the exposed regions of the resist layer (Meyers, paragraph 0096). Whilst Meyers does not teach an explicit temperature (due to the temperatures being dependent on the solvents used, per Meyers paragraph 0096), WO ‘704 utilizes the same types of developing solutions as Meyers. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to routinely optimize the temperature of the developer solution disclosed by WO ‘704 to achieve a desirable development rate of the organotin resist layer during development (per Meyers, paragraph 0096). Refer to MPEP 2144.05 II.
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170146909 A1 (hereby referred to as Smith) in view of WO 2018179704 A1 (hereby referred to as WO ‘704).
Regarding Claims 1, 10, and 12-15, Smith teaches EUV photopatterning of metal oxide-containing hardmasks. Smith teaches a method of forming a pattern, wherein the metal oxide-containing film is deposited on a semiconductor substrate, patterned directly by EUV exposure, and developed to form a pattern (Smith, paragraph 0026). During the development process, exposed or unexposed regions may be removed (Smith, paragraph 0010). For instance, when a organotin oxide film is exposed to produce (Sn2((SnO)3)2, the exposed portion may be removed by a developer comprising hot ethanol and water (Smith, paragraph 0033-0034).
However, Smith fails to teach a resist underlayer between the resist layer and the substrate. WO ‘704 teaches a pattern forming method. The pattern forming method comprises coating a substrate with a base film forming composition (i.e. forming an underlayer film on a substrate); directly or indirectly coating a radiation sensitive composition for resist film formation on the base film formed by the base film forming composition coating step (i.e. forming a resist film on the underlayer film); exposing the resist film formed by the radiation sensitive composition for resist film formation coating step; and developing the exposed resist film (WO ‘704, paragraph 0010 of the English translation). Development may produce a positive or negative pattern (WO ‘704, paragraph 0143 of the English translation), indicating that the developer may dissolve the exposed portion of the exposed resist film. The radiation sensitive composition for resist film formation contains a metal-containing compound (WO ‘704, paragraph 0011 of the English translation). The composition for forming the underlayer film contains at least one of a thermal acid generating component and an acid group containing component (WO ‘704, paragraph 0013 of the English translation). The thermal acid generating component and the acid group containing component may both be organic polymers (WO ‘704, paragraph 0013 of the English translation). Table 1 (see paragraph 0169 on page 42 of WO ‘704) shows various underlayer film forming compositions (WO ‘704, paragraph 0167-0168 of the English translation). Example 23 (which employs underlayer film forming composition U-21) contains thermal acid generating component A-4 and solvent E-1. The structure of resin A-4 is reproduced below (refer to paragraph 0158 on page 36 of WO ‘704).
Resin A-4 has a molecular weight of 3,000 (WO ‘704, paragraph 0157 of the English translation) and is a thermal acid generator polymer equivalent to resin A-4 as described by paragraph 0178 of the instant application’s specification. Solvent E-1 is propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate (PGMEA) (WO ‘704, paragraph 0166 of the English translation). WO ‘704 further teaches, as shown in Table 1, an underlayer film forming composition such as Examples 3 and 9-13 (which utilize compositions U-1 and U-7 through U-11, respectively). These examples all contain thermal acid generator A-1, solvent E-1, and differing organic resins (C-1 to C-6, respectively). The structures of resins C-1 to C-6 are shown on page 38 of WO ‘704. The resins include acenaphthylene resin and pyrene resin, amongst others. The resins C-1 to C-6 disclosed by WO ‘704 match those of resins c-1 to c-6 of the instant application (refer to page 59 of the instant application’s specification). Furthermore, WO ‘704 states that resin A-4 is a thermoacid-generating polymer (WO ‘704, paragraph 0163 of the English translation). Thus, WO ‘704 teaches organic chain polymers used to form a resist underlayer film.
Smith and WO ‘704 are analogous art because both references pertain to patterning resists disposed on semiconductor substrates. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to form a resist underlayer film between the resist layer and the semiconductor substrate using a composition comprising an organic chain polymer, as taught by WO ‘704, in the patterning method taught by Smith because the inclusion of the resist underlayer suppresses contamination of the resist film (WO ‘704, paragraph 0011 of the English translation). As a result, pattern integrity is improved (WO ‘704, paragraph 0181-0182 of the English translation).
Regarding Claims 2-3, Smith teaches that the metal oxide-containing resist film is deposited on the substrate by a vapor deposition technique (Smith, paragraph 0029). Exemplary vapor deposition techniques include chemical vapor deposition (CVD) or atomic layer deposition (ALD) (Smith, paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claims 4-6, Smith teaches that the metal oxide-containing resist film may be a photosensitive metalorganic oxide film, such as an organotin oxide, a haloalkyl Sn, alkoxy alkyl Sn, or amidoalkyl Sn (Smith, paragraph 0029). Specific example of suitable precursors include trimethyltin chloride, dimethyltin dichloride, methyltin trichloride, tris(dimethylamino)methyl tin(IV), and (dimethylamino)trimethyl tin(IV) (Smith, paragraph 0029).
Regarding Claim 7, Smith teaches that the metal oxide-containing resist film is patterned using an EUV (extreme ultraviolet) patterning tool and is patterned via direct exposure (Smith, paragraph 0031).
Regarding Claim 8, Smith teaches that the developer comprises hot ethanol and water and is used to remove exposed portions of the metal-oxide resist film (Smith, paragraph 0034).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20170146909 A1 (hereby referred to as Smith) in view of WO 2018179704 A1 (hereby referred to as WO ‘704) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20170102612 A1 (hereby referred to as Meyers).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Smith and WO ‘704 renders obvious the invention according to instant claim 1, as discussed above. Smith further teaches that the metal oxide-containing resist film is developed using hot ethanol and water (Smith, paragraph 0034). However, Smith does not define “hot” to mean a certain temperature. WO ‘704 is further silent in regards to the temperature during development.
Meyers teaches organotin oxide patterning compositions, precursors, and patterning methods. The composition taught by Meyers comprises an organometallic compound, such as an organotin compound (Meyers, paragraph 0006). The composition is used to form resist coatings (Meyers, paragraph 0045). The composition is deposited onto a substrate to form a film (Meyers, paragraph 0076-0082), and then patterned using radiation (Meyers, paragraph 0083-0089). Once patterned following the radiation exposure, the exposed resist layer is developed via negative tone imaging or positive tone imaging (Meyers, paragraph 0090). The positive tone development method (which is used by Smith, WO ‘704, and the instant application) utilizes an aqueous solution (Meyers, paragraph 0094-0095). Meyers teaches that when the developer is a lower concentration aqueous developer or in compositions where the coating has a lower development rate, a high temperature development process can be used to increase the development rate (Meyers, paragraph 0096). With strong developers, the temperature may be lower to control the kinetics of the development (Meyers, paragraph 0096). Meyers further teaches that the temperature of the development can be adjust between appropriate values consistent with the volatility of the solvents (Meyers, paragraph 0096).
Smith, WO ‘704, and Meyers are analogous art because each reference pertains to patterning of resists disposed on substrates. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to use developing solution having a temperature of 40 °C or more during development, as taught by Meyers, during the patterning method obtained by combining the teachings of Smith and WO ‘704 because Meyers teaches that the temperature of the developing solution can be adjusted to adjust the development rate of the exposed regions of the resist layer (Meyers, paragraph 0096). Whilst Meyers does not teach an explicit temperature (due to the temperatures being dependent on the solvents used, per Meyers paragraph 0096), Smith teaches a developer comprising hot ethanol and water. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to routinely optimize the temperature of the hot ethanol and water mixtures to achieve a desirable development rate of the organotin resist layer during development with an ethanol/water mixture (per Meyers, paragraph 0096). Refer to MPEP 2144.05 II.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYSON D COSGROVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734