DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohguro (Pub. No. US 2012/0205751 A1) in view of Lojek et al. (Pub. No. US 2002/0063278 A1, herein Lojek).
Regarding claim 1, Ohguro discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a gate structure 301-302-303/201-202 on a substrate 111 (Ohguro: paragraphs [0018]-[0019]); forming a first spacer 304 on the gate structure (Ohguro: paragraphs [0052]-[0053]); forming a patterned mask 311/312 on the gate structure and one side of the gate structure; removing the first spacer on another side of the gate structure (Ohguro: paragraphs [0054]-[0058]); and forming a source/drain region 121/122/124 adjacent to two sides of the gate structure (Ohguro: Figs. 3A-19B and paragraphs [0018]-[0024]).
Ohguro does not specifically show while part of the first spacer remains on a sidewall of the gate structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Lojek teaches a method of fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a gate structure 212-263 on a substrate 204 (Lojek: paragraphs [0014], [0021]); forming a first spacer 236-239-242 on the gate structure (Lojek: paragraph [0021]); forming a patterned mask 245 on the gate structure and one side of the gate structure (Lojek: Fig. 2F and paragraph [0018]); removing part of the first spacer on another side of the gate structure while part of the first spacer remains on a sidewall of the gate structure (Lojek: Fig. 2G and paragraph [0018]) that has a high capacitive coupling ratio and has a thin and small tunneling oxide region (Lojek: paragraph [0002]).
Therefore, given the teachings of Lojek, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Ohguro in view of Lojek by employing part of the first spacer.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohguro in view of Lojek, as applied above, and further in view of Wan et al. (Pub. No. US 2015/0214330 A1, herein Wan).
Regarding claim 8, Ohguro discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: forming an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer 211 around the gate structure (Ohguro: Figs. 3A-19B and paragraphs [0018]-[0024], [0032]), but does not specifically state performing a replacement metal gate (RMVG) process to transform the gate structure into a metal gate.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Wan discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: forming a gate structure 103 on a substrate 102; forming a first spacer 110 on the gate structure, further comprising: forming an interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer around the gate structure; and performing a replacement metal gate (RMVG) process to transform the gate structure into a metal gate to reduce undesirable parasitic capacitance since such high capacitance can reduce a circuit speed and may cause slower ring oscillator (RO) speed and eventually lower circuit working frequency (Wan: paragraphs [0025], [0025]-[0026]).
Therefore, given the teachings of Wan, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the previous combination in view of Wan by employing the replacement metal gate process.
Claims 9-11, 13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (Pub. No. US 2022/0367451 A1, herein Lin) in view of Chang et al. (Pub. No. US 2006/0199337 A1, herein Chang).
Regarding claim 9, Lin discloses a semiconductor device TR, comprising: a gate structure on a substrate, wherein the gate structure SKT comprises: a gate electrode MGT on the substrate; and a gate dielectric layer GOXT-HKT between the substrate and the gate electrode (Lin: Fig. 3M and paragraphs [0013]-[0015]), wherein the gate dielectric layer adjacent to one side of the gate electrode and the gate dielectric layer adjacent to another side of the gate electrode are asymmetrical; a first spacer ST adjacent to the gate structure; and a second spacer SPT adjacent to the first spacer (Lin: Figs. 2, 3M and paragraphs [0015]-[0017]).
Lin does not specifically show wherein the gate dielectric layer adjacent to one side of the gate electrode and not directly under the gate electrode and the gate dielectric layer adjacent to another side of the gate electrode and not directly under the gate electrode are asymmetrical.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Chang teaches a semiconductor device, comprising: a gate structure on a substrate 200 (Chang: Figs. 4B, 8B, 12 and paragraph: [0054]), wherein the gate structure comprises: a gate electrode 226/506 on the substrate; and a gate dielectric layer 206a/504 between the substrate and the gate electrode (Chang: Figs. 4B, 8B, 12 and paragraph: [0037]), wherein the gate dielectric layer adjacent to one side of the gate electrode and not directly under the gate electrode and the gate dielectric layer adjacent to another side of the gate electrode and not directly under the gate electrode are asymmetrical (Chang: Figs. 4B, 8B, 12 and paragraphs: [0055]-[0056]) to provide improved leakage current and hot carrier effect (Chang: paragraphs [0008]-[0009]).
Therefore, given the teachings of Chang, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Lin in view of Chang by employing the asymmetrical gate dielectric layer.
Regarding claim 10, Lin in view of Chang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a width of the gate dielectric layer GOXT-HKT adjacent to one side of the gate structure and a width of the gate dielectric layer adjacent to another side of the gate structure are different (Lin: Figs. 2, 3M and paragraphs [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 11, Lin in view of Chang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the first spacer ST adjacent to one side of the gate structure and the first spacer adjacent to another side of the gate structure are asymmetrical (Lin: Figs. 2, 3M and paragraphs [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 13, Lin in view of Chang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the second spacer SPT adjacent to one side of the gate structure and the second spacer adjacent to another side of the gate structure are asymmetrical (Lin: Figs. 2, 3M and paragraphs [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 15, Lin in view of Chang teaches the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the gate electrode comprises a metal gate (Lin: Figs. 2, 3M and paragraphs [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding claim 16, Lin in view of Chang teaches s the semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein the gate electrode comprises: a high-k dielectric layer on the gate dielectric layer; a work function metal layer on the high-k dielectric layer; and a low resistance metal layer on the work function metal layer (Lin: Figs. 2, 3M and paragraphs [0050]-[0051).
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin in view of Chang, as applied above, and further in view of Kurjanowicz (Pub. No. US 2014/0209989 A1).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, the previous combination does not specifically show a width of the first spacer adjacent to one side of the gate structure and a width of the first spacer adjacent to another side of the gate structure are different, and a width of the second spacer adjacent to one side of the gate structure and a width of the second spacer adjacent to another side of the gate structure are different.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kurjanowicz discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a gate structure on a substrate, wherein the gate structure comprises: a gate electrode 106 on the substrate; and a gate dielectric layer 102 between the substrate and the gate electrode, wherein the gate dielectric layer adjacent to one side of the gate electrode and the gate dielectric layer adjacent to another side of the gate electrode are asymmetrical; a spacer 108 adjacent to the gate structure, wherein a width of the spacer adjacent to one side of the gate structure and a width of the first spacer adjacent to another side of the gate structure are different (Kurjanowicz: Fig. 4 and paragraphs [0065]-[0066]) providing high reliability, zero standby power, high temperature stability and no need for complex read schemes.
Therefore, given the teachings of Kurjanowicz, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the previous combnation in view of Kurjanowicz by employing the width difference for the first and second spacers adjacent to the gate structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With respect to claim 2, the prior art of record alone or in combination do not teach or fairly suggest, in combination with other elements of the claims, further comprising: forming a gate dielectric layer on the substrate; forming a gate material layer on the gate dielectric layer; patterning the gate material layer to form the gate structure; forming the first spacer on the gate structure; forming a second spacer on the first spacer; forming a sacrificial layer on the second spacer; removing the sacrificial layer, the second spacer, and the first spacer on another side of the gate structure; forming a third spacer on the second spacer; and forming the source/drain region. Claims 3-7 are included likewise as they depend from claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 8-16 have been fully considered, but are found to be moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
July 21, 2026
/MALIHEH MALEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813