DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Moon et al (US 2022/0149132).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With respect to Claim 1, Moon et al discloses a display apparatus (Figures 1 and 11) comprising: a substrate (Figure 1, 100) including a display area (Figure 1, DA) and a peripheral area (Figure 1, PA) outside the display area; a pixel circuit (Figure 3 and Figure 11, paragraph 108) disposed in the display area (Figure 1, DA) and including a driving thin-film transistor (Figure 11, T1) and a switching thin-film transistor (Figure 11, T2) , wherein the driving thin-film transistor includes a driving semiconductor layer (Figure 11, A1), and the switching thin-film transistor includes a switching semiconductor layer (Figure 11, A2); a display element (Figure 11, OLED) connected to the pixel circuit (Figure 3 and Figure 11, paragraph 108)); and a built-in driving circuit portion (Figure 1A, 40) disposed in the peripheral area (Figure 1A, PA) and including a first peripheral thin-film transistor (Figure 11,Tp) including a first peripheral semiconductor layer (Figure 11, A3), where the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer include a same material (paragraph 9) and each have a mobility less than a mobility of the first peripheral semiconductor layer (paragraph 174). See Figures 1A, 3 and 11 and corresponding text, especially paragraphs 51-75 and 158-179.
With respect to Claim 2, Moon et al discloses wherein the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer are each thicker than the first peripheral semiconductor layer. See paragraph 10.
With respect to Claim 3, Moon et al discloses wherein a thickness of the driving semiconductor layer and a thickness of the switching semiconductor layer are the same. See Figure 11, A1 and A2, and paragraph 97.
With respect to Claim 8, Moon et al discloses wherein each of the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer includes indium-gallium-zinc-oxide (InGaZnO). See Figure 91 and 161.
With respect to Claim 9, Moon et al discloses wherein the first peripheral semiconductor layer includes indium-tin-gallium-zinc-oxide (InSnGaZnO). See paragraph 172.
With respect to Claim 10, Moon et al further discloses comprising a bias electrode disposed on the substrate to correspond to the driving thin-film transistor. See paragraph 75.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al (US 2022/0149132).
Moon et al is relied upon as discussed above.
Moreover, with respect to Claims 4-5, Moon et al discloses a gate insulating layer over the semiconductor layers in the transistors. See Figure 11, 113 and corresponding text.
However, with respect to Claims 4-5, Moon et al does not disclose the claimed first and second insulating layers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to use first and second gate insulating layers in the device of Moon et al, as the configuration of first and second gate insulating layers is well known in the art. The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the first and second gate insulating layers is notoriously well known in the art.
With respect to Claim 4, Moon et al makes obvious the limitation “ further comprising a first gate insulating layer disposed under the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer and disposed on the first peripheral semiconductor layer”, as the configuration of first and second insulating layers is well known in the art. The Examiner takes Official Notice that the use of the first and second gate insulating layers is notoriously well known in the art.
With respect to Claim 5, Moon et al discloses further comprising a second gate insulating layer disposed on the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer in the display area and disposed on the first gate insulating layer in the peripheral area. See Figure 11, 113 and corresponding text.
With respect to Claims 6-7, Moon et al differs from the Claims at hand in that Moon et al does not disclose “wherein the built-in driving circuit portion includes a second peripheral thin-film transistor including a second peripheral semiconductor layer, and the second peripheral semiconductor layer includes a same material as a material of the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer” and “wherein a thickness of the second peripheral semiconductor layer is the same as a thickness of the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to form a second peripheral thin-film transistor having a semiconductor layer of the same thickness, as duplication of parts for their known benefit, would have been prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 6, Moon et al makes obvious the limitation “wherein the built-in driving circuit portion includes a second peripheral thin-film transistor including a second peripheral semiconductor layer, and the second peripheral semiconductor layer includes a same material as a material of the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer”, as duplication of parts for their known benefit, would have been prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
With respect to Claim 7, Moon et al makes obvious the limitation “wherein a thickness of the second peripheral semiconductor layer is the same as a thickness of the driving semiconductor layer and the switching semiconductor layer”, as duplication of parts for their known benefit, would have been prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
AGG
February 24, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812