CTNF 18/373,098 CTNF 82750 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II (encompassing claims 9-20) in the reply filed on 5/12/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 12/22/23, 12/22/23, 1/23/24, and 11/25/24. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2021/0375819 A1; “Chen”) in view of Pang et al. (U.S. 2012/0319269 A1; “Pang”) and Gao et al. (U.S. 2019/0385935 A1; “Gao”) . Regarding claim 9, Chen discloses a system comprising: A first substrate (70, Fig. 23) comprising a plurality of first contacts (92, Fig. 23) of a first contact array structure ([0049]); and A second substrate (22, Fig. 23) comprising a plurality of second contacts (96, Fig. 23) of a second contact array structure ([0050]), and The second contact array structure (96, Fig. 23) configured to interface with the first contact array structure (92, Fig. 23) ([0050]). Yet, Chen does not disclose the following: At least one of the plurality of first contacts is offset from a corresponding one of the plurality of second contacts; The plurality of first contacts is coupled to a first net of the first substrate; The plurality of second contacts is coupled to a second net of the second substrate. Regarding (a), Pang discloses at least one of a plurality of first contacts is offset from a corresponding one of a plurality of second contacts ([0028]-[0032]). This has the advantage of reducing stress. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen with at least one of the plurality of first contacts offset from a corresponding one of the plurality of second contacts, as taught by Pang, so as to reduce stresses to the system. Regarding (b)-(c), Gao discloses first contacts being coupled to a first net of a first substrate and a second contacts being coupled to a second net of a second substrate ([0039]; Fig. 2). This has the advantage of electrically connecting all of the first contacts to each other and electrically connecting all of the second contacts to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen with the plurality of first contacts coupled to a first net of the first substrate and the plurality of second contacts coupled to a second net of the second substrate, as taught by Gao, so as to electrically connect all of the first contacts to each other and electrically connect all of the second contacts to each other. Regarding claim 10, Chen, Pang, and Gao disclose at least one of the plurality of first contacts is offset from a corresponding one of the plurality of second contacts (see claim 9 rejection above). Furthermore, Pang discloses a [first] contact which is configured to connect to a corresponding contact and is not offset from the corresponding contact ([0029]-[0035]; Fig. 5). Regarding claim 11, Chen, Pang, and Gao disclose Regarding claim 12, Chen, Pang, and Gao disclose Regarding claim 13, Chen discloses a quantity of the plurality of first contacts (92, Fig. 23) is equal to a quantity of the plurality of second contacts (96, Fig. 23). Regarding claim 14, Chen discloses each of the plurality of first contacts (92, Fig. 23) have a same footprint; and each of the plurality of second contacts (96, Fig. 23) have the same footprint. Regarding claim 15, Chen discloses a plurality of first contacts (92, Fig. 23) ([0049]) but do not disclose they have a common pitch. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a pitch between the plurality of first contacts to be equal, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 16 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S. 2021/0375819 A1; “Chen”) in view of Pang et al. (U.S. 2012/0319269 A1; “Pang”) . Regarding claim 16, Chen discloses a structure comprising: A first substrate (22, Fig. 23) ([0050]); and A second substrate (70, Fig. 23) bonded to the first substrate along a bonding plane ([0049]); Wherein the first substrate (22, Fig. 23) comprises a first contact array structure (96, Fig. 23) having: A first contact (leftmost 96, Fig. 23) configured to interface with a second contact (leftmost 92, Fig. 23) of the second substrate ([0050]); and A third contact (second from leftmost 96, Fig. 23) configured to interface with a fourth contact (second from leftmost 92, Fig. 23) of the second substrate, the first contact and the second contact spaced a first distance along a first axis of the bonding plane ([0050]); and Wherein the second substrate (70, Fig. 23) comprises a second contact array structure (92, Fig. 23) having: The second contact (leftmost 92, Fig. 23) ([0049]); and The fourth contact (second from leftmost 92, Fig. 23) ([0049]), Wherein the second contact and the fourth contact are spaced a second distance along the first axis of the bonding plane. Yet, Chen does not disclose the second distance is different from the first distance. However, Pang discloses a first contact and third contact are offset from a corresponding second contact and fourth contact, respectively ([0028]-[0032]). This has the advantage of reducing stress. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Chen with the second distance is different from the first distance, as taught by Pang, so as to reduce stresses to the structure. Regarding claim 20, Chen and Pang disclose the first contact array structure comprises multi-via connections (Chen: 26, Fig. 23). Pang discloses pattern shifts to form regular or disaggregated offsets between corresponding contacts along a bonding interface ([0028]-[0032]) Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to REEMA PATEL whose telephone number is (571)270-1436. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 8am-5pm EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christine Kim can be reached at (571)272-8458. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 6/11/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/373,098 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812