DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 4/17/2025, which amended claims 41-42. Claims 21-24, 26, 27, and 29-42 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claim 21 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 in view of Anonymous (RD 639010, “Split exposure to reduce peak pellicle temperature,” Anonymous 639 hereinafter; included with 7/5/2024 Office Action) in view of Van De Kerkhof et al. (US PGPub 2008/0220345, Van De Kerkhof hereinafter).
Regarding claim 21, claim 6 of patent 907 recites an apparatus for determining a condition associated with a pellicle for use in a lithographic apparatus, the apparatus comprising a sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to measure a property associated with the pellicle, the property being indicative of the pellicle condition, wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle (claim 1, col. 36, lines 55-67, claim 6, col. 37, lines 14-21). Claim 6 of patent 907 does not recite a controller a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Anonymous 639 discloses active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature (Figure 1, page 2, third paragraph, page 3, split exposure operation controls the radiating beam power and is employed to limit the measured temperature increase of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature as taught by Anonymous 639 in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 since including active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature is commonly used to avoid pellicle damage due to heating during EUV exposure while maintaining the desired throughput (Anonymous 639, page 2, second paragraph, third paragraph, page 3).
Patent 907 as modified by Anonymous 639 does not appear to explicitly recite a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam.
Van De Kerkhof discloses a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0008], [0036]-[0040], [0047], the control unit CU controls the output of source SO or controls the width of the illumination slit or scan speed or setting of variable attenuator to control the dose based on heating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam as taught by Van De Kerkhof in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 as modified by Anonymous 639 since including a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam is commonly used to automatically control operations in an apparatus to reduce the effects of non-uniform heating (Van De Kerkhof, para. [0006]) with improved throughput.
Claims 21, 23, 24, 26, and 29-38 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 7, 11, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 in view of Takehisa et al. (US PGPub 2015/0293460, Takehisa hereinafter) in view of Anonymous (RD 639010, “Split exposure to reduce peak pellicle temperature,” Anonymous 639 hereinafter; included with 7/5/2024 Office Action) in view of Van De Kerkhof et al. (US PGPub 2008/0220345, Van De Kerkhof hereinafter).
Regarding claim 21, claim 1 of patent 907 recites an apparatus for determining a condition associated with a pellicle for use in a lithographic apparatus, the apparatus comprising a sensor, wherein the sensor is configured to measure a property associated with the pellicle, the property being indicative of the pellicle condition (claim 1, col. 36, lines 55-67). Claim 1 does not appear to recite the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle, and a controller a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Takehisa discloses the apparatus comprising a sensor (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], a detectors 24, 27, 84, 86), wherein the sensor is configured to measure a property associated with the pellicle, the property being indicative of the pellicle condition, wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], the pellicle inspection apparatus inspects the pellicle to determine the presence of contamination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle as taught by Takehisa as the condition associated with the pellicle in the apparatus as recited by 907 since including the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle is commonly used to detect the presence of foreign particles and contamination on a pellicle in an EUV system which absorb the EUV light, leading to exposure inaccuracy (Takehisa, paras. [0009]-[0015]).
Patent 907 as modified by Takehisa does not appear to recite a controller a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Anonymous 639 discloses active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature (Figure 1, page 2, third paragraph, page 3, split exposure operation controls the radiating beam power and is employed to limit the measured temperature increase of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature as taught by Anonymous 639 in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 as modified by Takehisa since including active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature is commonly used to avoid pellicle damage due to heating during EUV exposure while maintaining the desired throughput (Anonymous 639, page 2, second paragraph, third paragraph, page 3).
Patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 does not appear to explicitly recite a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam.
Van De Kerkhof discloses a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0008], [0036]-[0040], [0047], the control unit CU controls the output of source SO or controls the width of the illumination slit or scan speed or setting of variable attenuator to control the dose based on heating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam as taught by Van De Kerkhof in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 since including a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam is commonly used to automatically control operations in an apparatus to reduce the effects of non-uniform heating (Van De Kerkhof, para. [0006]) with improved throughput.
Regarding claim 23, see claim 3 of patent 907.
Regarding claim 24, see claim 11 of patent 907.
Regarding claim 26, claim 12 of patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to cause activation of a split exposure scheme based on a temperature measurement (claim 12, col. 38, lines 1-3 as modified by Van De Kerkhof, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0008], [0036]-[0040], [0047], the control unit CU).
Regarding claim 29, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the sensor is configured to be located at an angle of incidence with respect to the pellicle of at least 45° (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039], [0041], the sensor 27 is arranged at 60 with respect to the pellicle film 12b).
Regarding claim 30, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites configured such that the pellicle is illuminated with radiation over a predefined pellicle area and the sensor is configured to measure the radiation reflected from the pellicle (the limitation “configured such that the pellicle is illuminated with radiation over a predefined pellicle area” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the apparatus disclosed by Takehisa. See MPEP 2114. Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039]-[0043], [0059]-[0063], regions on the pellicle are illuminated by an illumination beam from light source 20 as the pellicle is scanned. The sensors 24, 27, 84, 86 receive light reflected from the pellicle).
Regarding claim 31, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites configured to successively illuminate predefined pellicle areas with radiation (the limitation “configured to successively illuminate predefined pellicle areas with radiation” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the apparatus disclosed by Takehisa. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039]-[0043], [0059]-[0063], the pellicle is scanned during inspection so that regions on the pellicle are illuminated by an illumination beam from light source 20).
Regarding claim 32, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the predefined pellicle areas are an illumination line (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0036], [0039]-[0043], [0057], [0059]-[0065], [0067], the pellicle is scanned two-dimensionally by the illumination beam using two-dimensional movement of the stage such that the pellicle areas form illumination lines).
Regarding claim 33, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the illumination line is formed from a plane of illumination intersecting with the pellicle (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0036], [0039]-[0043], [0057], [0059]-[0065], [0067], the pellicle is scanned two-dimensionally by the illumination beam using two-dimensional movement of the stage. The intersection of the beam with the pellicle during scanning forms a plane).
Regarding claim 34, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites configured to illuminate the pellicle at an angle of incidence with respect to the pellicle of at least 45° (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, para. [0039], [0041], the light source 20 emits the illuminating beam with an incident angle arranged at 60° with respect to the pellicle film 12b).
Regarding claim 35, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the sensor is orientated so as to not be in the path of specular reflection from the pellicle (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039]-[0040], [0048], [0058]-[0059], [0063]-[0064], detector 24, 84, 97 is arranged to detect scattered light from the pellicle rather than regular reflection light).
Regarding claim 36, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the sensor is orientated perpendicularly to an illuminating plane (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 2-9, paras. [0039]-[0040], [0048], [0058]-[0059], [0063]-[0064], the detector 24, 84 are oriented perpendicular to a plane including the optical axis of the object lens 22, and sensor 97 is oriented perpendicularly from a plane including the illumination supplied by light source 90).
Regarding claim 37, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the sensor is not in direct line of sight of the pellicle (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 8-9, paras. [0064]-[0065], detector 99 is not in direct line of sight of the pellicle 95a since the illumination beam reflected by the pellicle is reflected by polygon mirror 93 and quarter wave plate 92 to light detector 99).
Regarding claim 38, claim 7 of patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites an assembly comprising the apparatus according to claim 21 (see claim 21 rejection above) and a lithographic apparatus (claim 7, col. 37, lines 22-31), the lithographic apparatus comprising: an illumination system configured to condition a radiation beam (claim 7, col. 37, lines 23-31, the lithographic apparatus necessarily includes an illumination system to condition the beam that illuminates the patterning device. Takehisa, Fig. 7, para. [0060]); a support structure constructed to support a patterning device, the patterning device being capable of imparting the radiation beam with a pattern in its cross-section to form a patterned radiation beam (claim 7, col. 37, lines 25-28); a substrate table constructed to hold a substrate (claim 7, col. 37, line 29); and a projection system configured to project the patterned radiation beam onto the substrate (claim 7, col. 37, lines 30-31).
Claim 22 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof and further in view of Prejean et al. (US PGPub 2010/0012828, Prejean hereinafter).
Regarding claim 22, although patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof recites wherein the sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission (claim 1, col. 36, lines 57-59), patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the wavelength band is 2-8 µm.
Prejean discloses a sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm (para. [0022], the CCD senses infrared radiation in the 1.0 to 5.0 micron range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm as taught by Prejean as the wavelength band of infrared emission detected by the sensor in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof since including a sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm is commonly used to provide the desired infrared spectrum detection for thermal imaging to determine failure analysis (Prejean, para. [0004]).
Claim 27 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof and further in view of Ookawa (US Patent No. 6,353,223).
Regarding claim 27, patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof does not appear to recite comprising at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass.
Ookawa discloses at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass (Figs. 1, 3, 5, 8, col. 1, lines 34-37, col. 2, lines 40-49, col. 4, lines 56-62, infrared window 21 permits the passage of infrared radiation to an infrared detector 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass as taught by Ookawa in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and Van De Kerkhof since including at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass is commonly used to protect the sensor while permitting infrared detection.
Claim 39 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 in view of Anonymous (RD 639010, “Split exposure to reduce peak pellicle temperature,” Anonymous 639 hereinafter; included with 7/5/2024 Office Action).
Regarding claim 39, claim 16 of patent 907 recites a method of determining a condition associated with a pellicle for use in a lithographic apparatus, the method comprising measuring a property associated with the pellicle using a sensor, the property being indicative of the pellicle condition, wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle (claim 13, col. 38, lines 4-17, claim 16, col. 38, lines 24-31). Claim 16 of patent 907 does not appear to recite actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Anonymous 639 discloses actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature (Figure 1, page 2, third paragraph, page 3, split exposure operation controls the radiating beam power and is employed to limit the measured temperature increase of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature as taught by Anonymous 639 in the method as recited by patent 907 since including actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature is commonly used to avoid pellicle damage due to heating during EUV exposure while maintaining the desired throughput (Anonymous 639, page 2, second paragraph, third paragraph, page 3).
Claim 39 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 in view of Takehisa et al. (US PGPub 2015/0293460, Takehisa hereinafter) in view of Anonymous (RD 639010, “Split exposure to reduce peak pellicle temperature,” Anonymous 639 hereinafter; included with 7/5/2024 Office Action).
Regarding claim 39, claim 13 of patent 907 recites a method of determining a condition associated with a pellicle for use in a lithographic apparatus, the method comprising measuring a property associated with the pellicle using a sensor, the property being indicative of the pellicle condition (claim 13, col. 38, lines 4-16). Claim 13 of patent 907 does not appear to recite wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle, and actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Takehisa discloses measuring a property associated with the pellicle using a sensor (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], the pellicle inspection apparatus with the detectors 24, 27, 84, 86 inspects the pellicle to determine foreign substances and contamination on the pellicle), the property being indicative of the pellicle condition, wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], the pellicle inspection apparatus inspects the pellicle to determine the presence of contamination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle as taught by Takehisa as the condition associated with the pellicle in the method as recited by 907 since including wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle is commonly used to detect the presence of foreign particles and contamination on a pellicle in an EUV system which absorb the EUV light, leading to exposure inaccuracy (Takehisa, paras. [0009]-[0015]).
Patent 907 as modified by Takehisa does not appear to recite actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Anonymous 639 discloses actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature (Figure 1, page 2, third paragraph, page 3, split exposure operation controls the radiating beam power and is employed to limit the measured temperature increase of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature as taught by Anonymous 639 in the method as recited by patent 907 as modified by Takehisa since including actively controlling power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature is commonly used to avoid pellicle damage due to heating during EUV exposure while maintaining the desired throughput (Anonymous 639, page 2, second paragraph, third paragraph, page 3).
Claim 40 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,906,907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 and further in view of Prejean et al. (US PGPub 2010/0012828, Prejean hereinafter).
Regarding claim 40, although patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 recites wherein the sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission (claim 13, col. 38, lines 6-10), Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the wavelength band is 2-8 µm.
Prejean discloses a sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm (para. [0022], the CCD senses infrared radiation in the 1.0 to 5.0 micron range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm as taught by Prejean as the wavelength band of infrared emission detected by the sensor in the apparatus as recited by patent 907 as modified by Takehisa in view of Anonymous 639 since including a sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm is commonly used to provide the desired infrared spectrum detection for thermal imaging to determine failure analysis (Prejean, para. [0004]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 26, and 29-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa et al. (US PGPub 2015/0293460, Takehisa hereinafter) in view of Anonymous (RD 639010, “Split exposure to reduce peak pellicle temperature,” Anonymous 639 hereinafter; included with 7/5/2024 Office Action) in view of Van De Kerkhof et al. (US PGPub 2008/0220345, Van De Kerkhof hereinafter).
Regarding claim 21, Takehisa discloses an apparatus for determining a condition associated with a pellicle for use in a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036]-[0041], [0059]-[0065], pellicle inspection apparatus inspects a pellicle 12b, 12, 71a, 95a for an EUV mask 10, 11, 71), the apparatus comprising:
a sensor (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0065], a detectors 24, 27, 84, 86, 97, 99), wherein the sensor is configured to measure a property associated with the pellicle, the property being indicative of the pellicle condition (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036]-[0041], [0059]-[0065], the pellicle inspection apparatus with the detectors inspects the pellicle to determine foreign substances and contamination on the pellicle), wherein the condition associated with the pellicle is one or more selected from: lifetime of the pellicle, integrity of the pellicle, a defect in the pellicle, a local transmission change of the pellicle, a particle located on the pellicle, a stain on the pellicle, a deformation of the pellicle, an impending rupture of the pellicle, a rupture of the pellicle, and/or the presence of the pellicle (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0065], the pellicle inspection apparatus inspects the pellicle to determine the presence of contamination and foreign particles). Takehisa does not appear to explicitly describe a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature.
Anonymous 639 discloses active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature (Figure 1, page 2, third paragraph-page 3, split exposure operation controls the radiating beam power and is employed to limit the measured temperature increase of the pellicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature as taught by Anonymous 639 in the apparatus as taught by Takehisa since including active control of power of a radiation beam to maintain the pellicle at a predetermined temperature is commonly used to avoid pellicle damage due to heating during EUV exposure while maintaining the desired throughput (Anonymous 639, page 2, second paragraph, third paragraph, page 3).
Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 does not appear to explicitly describe a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors, to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam.
Van De Kerkhof discloses a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam (Figs. 1-5, paras. [0008], [0036]-[0040], [0047], the control unit CU controls the output of source SO, or controls the width of the illumination slit, or scan speed or setting of variable attenuator to control the dose based on heating).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam as taught by Van De Kerkhof in the apparatus as taught by Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 since including a controller or a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions, when executed by one or more processors, configured to cause the one or more processors to cause the active control of power of the radiation beam is commonly used to automatically control operations in an apparatus to reduce the effects of non-uniform heating (Van De Kerkhof, para. [0006]) with improved throughput.
Regarding claim 26, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the instructions are further configured to cause the one or more processors to cause activation of a split exposure scheme based on a temperature measurement (Anonymous 639, Figure 1, page 2, third paragraph, page 3, split exposure operation is employed to limit the measured temperature increase of the pellicle, and as modified by Van De Kerkhof, Figs. 1-5, paras. [0008], [0036]-[0040], [0047], the control unit CU).
Regarding claim 29, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the sensor is configured to be located at an angle of incidence with respect to the pellicle of at least 45° (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039], [0041], the sensor 27 is arranged at 60° with respect to the pellicle film 12b).
Regarding claim 30, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses configured such that the pellicle is illuminated with radiation over a predefined pellicle area and the sensor is configured to measure the radiation reflected from the pellicle (the limitation “configured such that the pellicle is illuminated with radiation over a predefined pellicle area” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the apparatus disclosed by Takehisa. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039]-[0043], [0059]-[0065], regions on the pellicle are illuminated by an illumination beam from light source 20 as the pellicle is scanned. The sensors 24, 27, 84, 86, 97, 99 receive light reflected from the pellicle).
Regarding claim 31, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous by 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses configured to successively illuminate predefined pellicle areas with radiation (the limitation “configured to successively illuminate predefined pellicle areas with radiation” is functional language that recites the manner of operating the device that does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from the apparatus disclosed by Takehisa. See MPEP 2114. Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0036], [0039]-[0043], [0057], [0059]-[0065], [0067], the pellicle is scanned during inspection so that regions on the pellicle are illuminated by an illumination beam from light source 20).
Regarding claim 32, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the predefined pellicle areas are an illumination line (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0036], [0039]-[0043], [0057], [0059]-[0065], [0067], the pellicle is scanned two-dimensionally by the illumination beam using two-dimensional movement of the stage such that the pellicle areas form illumination lines).
Regarding claim 33, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the illumination line is formed from a plane of illumination intersecting with the pellicle (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0036], [0039]-[0043], [0057], [0059]-[0065], [0067], the pellicle is scanned two-dimensionally by the illumination beam using two-dimensional movement of the stage. The intersection of the beam with the pellicle during scanning forms a plane).
Regarding claim 34, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses configured to illuminate the pellicle at an angle of incidence with respect to the pellicle of at least 45° (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, para. [0039], the light source 20 emits the illuminating beam with an incident angle arranged at 60° with respect to the pellicle film 12b).
Regarding claim 35, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the sensor is orientated so as to not be in the path of specular reflection from the pellicle (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0039]-[0040], [0048], [0058]-[0059], [0063]-[0064], detector 24, 84, 97 is arranged to detect scattered light from the pellicle rather than regular reflection light).
Regarding claim 36, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the sensor is orientated perpendicularly to an illuminating plane (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 2-9, paras. [0039]-[0040], [0048], [0058]-[0059], [0063]-[0064], the detector 24, 84 are oriented perpendicular to a plane including the optical axis of the object lens 22, and sensor 97 is oriented perpendicularly from a plane including the illumination supplied by light source 90).
Regarding claim 37, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the sensor is not in direct line of sight of the pellicle (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 8-9, paras. [0064]-[0065], detector 99 is not in direct line of sight of the pellicle 95a since the illumination beam reflected by the pellicle is reflected by polygon mirror 93 and quarter wave plate 92 to light detector 99).
Regarding claim 38, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view of Van De Kerkhof discloses an assembly comprising an apparatus according to claim 21 (see claim 21 rejection above, Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036]-[0041], [0059]-[0065]) and a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 7-8, paras. [0060]-[0063], exposure apparatus), the lithographic apparatus comprising:
an illumination system configured to condition a radiation beam (Takehisa, Fig. 7, paras. [0060]-[0063], the exposure apparatus necessarily includes an illumination system to produce the EUV light incident on mask 71);
a support structure constructed to support a patterning device, the patterning device being capable of imparting the radiation beam with a pattern in its cross-section to form a patterned radiation beam (Fig. 7, paras. [0060]-[0063], EUV mask 71 is held on electrostatic chuck 74 on reticle stage 75. The EUV light 70 illuminates the mask 71, which patterns the beam);
a substrate table constructed to hold a substrate (Fig. 7, paras. [0060]-[0063], wafer 73 is supported on wafer table 76 on wafer stage 77); and
a projection system configured to project the patterned radiation beam onto the substrate (Fig. 7, paras. [0060]-[0063], projection optical system 72 projects the patterned beam onto the wafer 73).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Prejean et al. (US PGPub 2010/0012828, Prejean hereinafter).
Regarding claim 22, although Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof discloses wherein the sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission (Takehisa, Figs. 1, 3-9, para. [0059], infrared radiation is used for detection), Takehisa as modified Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the wavelength band is 2-8 µm.
Prejean discloses a sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm (para. [0022], the CCD senses infrared radiation in the 1.0 to 5.0 micron range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm as taught by Prejean as the wavelength band of infrared emission detected by the sensor in the apparatus as taught by Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof since including a sensor is configured to measure an intensity of infrared (IR) emission in a wavelength band of 2-8 µm is commonly used to provide the desired infrared spectrum detection for thermal imaging to determine failure analysis (Prejean, para. [0004]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Anonymous (RD 618001, “Reticle-pellicle cooling, conditioning and monitoring for high-power absorption,” published October 2015; copy included with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 23, Takehisa as by modified Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the sensor is configured to measure an infrared (IR) emission differential.
Anonymous discloses wherein the sensor is configured to measure an infrared (IR) emission differential (Fig. 3, page 4, the infrared camera measures the infrared emission by the pellicle, and the illuminated regions of the pellicle increase in temperature while the non-illuminated regions adapt to the temperature of the reticle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the sensor is configured to measure an infrared (IR) emission differential as taught by Anonymous in the apparatus as taught by Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof since including wherein the sensor is configured to measure an infrared (IR) emission differential is used to control the temperature variation of the pellicle and to infer the temperature of the reticle and control reticle temperature over the surface area of the reticle to reduce errors (Anonymous, page 2, paragraphs 1-2, page 4).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Jimenez et al. (US Patent No. 6,211,560, Jimenez hereinafter).
Regarding claim 24, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the sensor comprises a photodiode configured to provide a bias voltage that is scannable to establish an infrared emission spectrum.
Jimenez discloses wherein the sensor comprises a photodiode configured to provide a bias voltage that is scannable to establish an infrared emission spectrum (Fig. 3, 7, abstract, col. 2, lines 1-22, 59-67, col. 3, lines 1-9, col. 4, line 65-col. 5, line 22, col. 7, lines 25-51, col. 9, lines 54-64, the voltage is tunable in the Schottky diode infrared detector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the sensor comprises a photodiode configured to provide a bias voltage that is scannable to establish an infrared emission spectrum as taught by Jimenez as the sensor in the apparatus as taught by Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof since including wherein the sensor comprises a photodiode configured to provide a bias voltage that is scannable to establish an infrared emission spectrum is commonly used to provide a tunable detector responsive to different wavelength bands without additional external connections (Jimenez, col. 1, lines 54-67, col. 2, lines 1-27), thereby simplifying the apparatus.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ookawa (US Patent No. 6,353,223).
Regarding claim 27, Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof does not appear to explicitly describe comprising at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass.
Ookawa discloses at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass (Figs. 1, 3, 5, 8, col. 1, lines 34-37, col. 2, lines 40-49, col. 4, lines 56-62, infrared window 21 permits the passage of infrared radiation to an infrared detector 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass as taught by Ookawa in the apparatus as taught by Takehisa as modified by Anonymous 639 in view Van De Kerkhof since including at least one transparent layer that allows infrared (IR) radiation to pass is commonly used to protect the sensor while permitting infrared detection.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takehisa et al. (US PGPub 2015/0293460, Takehisa hereinafter) in view of Anonymous (RD 639010, “Split exposure to reduce peak pellicle temperature,” Anonymous 639 hereinafter; included with 7/5/2024 Office Action).
Regarding claim 39, Takehisa discloses a method of determining a condition associated with a pellicle for use in a lithographic apparatus (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], pellicle inspection apparatus inspects a pellicle 12b, 12, 71a for an EUV mask 10, 11, 71), the method comprising measuring a property associated with the pellicle using a sensor (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015], [0036], [0039]-[0041], [0059]-[0063], a detectors 24, 27, 84, 86), the property being indicative of the pellicle condition (Figs. 1, 3-9, paras. [0013]-[0015],