DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0096465 (hereinafter referred to as Fukushima).
Fukushima, in abstract, [0005], [0012]-[0017], [0021]-[0026], discloses a chemically amplified resist composition that comprises a polymer that has acid labile groups i.e., the groups, under the action of acid, increases its solubility in an alkaline developer, wherein the polymer has the following recurring unit (a), see below,
wherein AL1, includes (a2), see below,
And R8 is a hydrocarbyl, and Fukushima in [0051], discloses that the polymer with the (a2) recurring unit can include the following,
,
,
,
, and is the same structure recited as (A1). Fukushima, in [0017], discloses that the polymer includes recurring units, see below,
and is the same as the claimed (B1). Fukushima, in [0056], and [0097]-[0098], discloses that the recurring unit adapted to generate acid upon exposure can be in an amount of 0.01 fractional unit and is approximately zero i.e., the polymer can be easily adapted to lack repeat units that generate acid upon exposure. Fukushima, in [0116], discloses that the chemically amplified resist composition includes a photoacid generator, and in [0117]-[0122], and [0124], discloses the following as the photoacid generator in the composition, see below,
and is the same cation as the Xa+ recited as (Xa-1) in claim 2, wherein the anion X-, includes, see below,
wherein R104 can be CF3, and R105 can be a hydrocarbyl, and is the same as the formula recited as (PAG-a), and discloses the following structures as the anion of the photoacid generator, see below,
,
,
,
etc.
Fukushima, in [0131]-[0138], discloses that the resist composition can include photoacid generator of the following formula, see below,
and is the same as the structure recited as (PAG-b) (claim 1). Fukushima, in [0021],[0081]-[0091], discloses that the polymer in the chemically amplified resist composition, includes recurring units, see below,
,
and is the same as the claimed (a1) and (a2) recited in claim 3, wherein AL2 and AL3 are acid labile groups that are free of multiple bonds (do not have triple bond). Fukushima, in [0022], [0092]-[0094], discloses that the polymer in the resist composition further includes a recurring unit, see below,
wherein Ap includes a phenolic hydroxy moiety or a lactone ring or carbonate bond or ester bond or ether bond or carboxylic anhydride and is the same as the structure recited as (C1) in claim 4. Fukushima, in [0024], discloses that the resist composition includes an organic solvent, a quencher and a surfactant (claims 5-7). Fukushima, in [0025]-[0026], discloses forming a pattern using the resist composition by applying the resist composition to a substrate to form a resist film and exposing the resist film to high energy radiation such as the claimed EUV or EB or KrF excimer laser or ArF excimer laser, followed by developing the exposed resist film in a developer (claim 8).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Daborah Chacko-Davis whose telephone number is (571) 272-1380. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:30AM-6:00PM EST Mon-Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sally A. Merkling can be reached on (571) 272-6297. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-272-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/DABORAH CHACKO-DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 June 10, 2026.