DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application received October 5, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (2) as being clearly anticipated by any one of NEMOTO et al (2025/20004375) or BEKKI ET AL (2024/0427242).
The claimed invention recites the following:
NEMOTO et al discloses the claimed onium salt on page 37-38, compounds (C-8) and (C-13), see below:
wherein each of those components are disclosed in Examples 10 and 15 of Table 4 on page 42, below:
BEKKI et al discloses the claimed base resin A-5 meeting claim 11 for units (a1) and/or (a2) with onium salt disclosed on page 71, compound D-5, see below:
Claims 1-10 are met by the components for the acid diffusion controller, an acid generator, an organic solvent, a base polymer and the repeating units (a1) and/or (a2) as seen in
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HATAKEYMA et al (2021/0080828) in view of NEMOTO et al (2025/0004375) or BEKKI et al (2024/0427242).
The claimed invention has been recited above and is included by reference.
HATAKEYAMA report a positive photosensitive resin composition comprising a base polymer meeting the units recited in claims 11 and 15, see Polymer 3 below, a photoacid generator and an onium salt “Additive” quenchers 1, 2 and 3 below. Each of the components are in a working example, see Examples 11-13 in Table 1, page 90 wherein the polymer contains an acid generator unit meeting claim 15 in a formulation with a carboxylate salt quencher as seen below:
HATAKEYAMA lacks the claimed carboxylate onium salt of claim 1, but teaches similar carboxylate salt quenchers.
NEMOTO et al as reported above disclose carboxylate onium salt of claim 1, wherein the skilled artisan would be motivated to use any of the known carboxylate salts from NEMOTO et al as a quencher for chemically amplified resist compositions in HATAKEYAMA.
BEKKI et al likewise disclose known carboxylate salt quencher for chemically amplified resist compositions as seen above.
The polymer discloses the repeating units from claims 11 and 15, see below:
and any of the skilled artisans could substitute known quenchers of BEKKI et al in those of HATAKEYAMA and expect excellent pattern improvement.
Claims 1-14 are met by the compositions in Examples Table 1
Claim 16 for the surfactant is found in para. [0031] of HATAKEYAMA.
Claims 17-18 for the pattern forming process is found in para. [0188] of HATAKEYAMA.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to use any of the known carboxylate salts from NEMOTO et al such as C-8, C-13 from BEKKI et al such as D-5 as a quencher and formulate them with the chemically amplified resist compositions in HATAKEYAMA et al. and reasonably expect of same or similar results for improved sensitivity, CDU and pattern circularity.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Each of the references below are assigned to Fujifilm Corp and have a similar disclosure for the quencher being a carboxylate salt of a sulfonium onium, see below:
BEKKI et al (2024/0427242) discloses the same compound above as BEKKI et al ‘331 on page 78, compound D-5 below:
HATAKEYAMA et al discloses the claimed onium salt on page 81, compounds (D-5), see below:
OKUAKI et al (likewise discloses the claimed onium salt on page 79, compounds C-5.
KOJIMA et al also to Fujifilm Corp. discloses the claimed onium salt on page 87, compounds C-5.
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J.Chu
February 27, 2021