Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, line 7, filed 23 July 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, and 15-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2017/0351177 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama; Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 12-14 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2017/0351177 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama; have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant makes the sole argument that the Quencher-28 of Hatakeyama teaches that none of the embodiments and examples of the present application comprise an iodine atom substituting the benzoic acid anion of the onium salt with an iodine atom. Frankly, that’s besides the point. What limits Claim 1 of the present application is the claim language of Claim 1 of the present application. And Claim 1 of the present application states: “R1a represents a halogen atom or a hydrocarbyl group having 1 to 20 carbon atoms and optionally containing a heteroatom.” Iodine is a halogen. Furthermore, Paragraph [0057] of the present application states, in the context of “R1a,” “Examples of the halogen atom include a fluorine atom, a chlorine atom, a bromine atom, and an iodine atom. In particular, a fluorine atom and an iodine atom are preferable.” Thus, the halogen of the present application is not only includes an iodine atom, but is preferably an iodine atom. As such, the rejection of record is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2017/0351177 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama.
6. Regarding Claims 1, 4-6, 9-11, and 15-18, Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4) an onium salt represented by the following general formula (1) of the present application, therein Quencher 28. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4) wherein the Z+ in the general formula (1) of the present application further represents an onium cation represented by general formula (Cation-1) of the present application, therein Quencher 28. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4) an acid diffusion controller comprising the onium salt, therein Quencher 28. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4) a resist composition comprising the acid diffusion controller, therein Example 3-8. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4) an organic solvent. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0144], Table 4) a base polymer, therein Polymer 6. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0144], Table 4) the base polymer contains a repeating unit represented by the general formula (a1) of the present application, therein Polymer 6. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [Paragraph [0144], Table 4) the base polymer further contains at least one repeating unit represented by the general formula (f2), therein Polymer 6. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0145], Table 4) a surfactant, therein FC-4430. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0158], Table 4) forming a resist film on a substrate by using the resist composition. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0158], Table 4) exposing the resist film to a high-energy beam. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0158], Table 4) developing the exposed resist film by using a developer. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0158], Table 4) wherein the high-energy beam is an extreme ultraviolet ray having a wavelength of 3 to 15 nm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication no. US 2017/0351177 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama.
10. Regarding Claims 2-3, 7-8, and 12-14, Hatakeyama teaches all limitations of Claims 1, 6, 10, and 11 above. However, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach wherein the general formula (1) is represented by the formula (1-A) of the present application. Furthermore, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach wherein the general formula (1) is represented by the formula (1-B) of the present application. Furthermore, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach further comprising an acid generator to generate an acid. Furthermore, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach wherein the acid generator generates a sulfonic acid, imide acid, or methide acid. Furthermore, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach the resist composition being a chemically amplified positive resist composition. Furthermore, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach the base polymer contains no acid-labile group. Furthermore, Hatakeyama fails to explicitly teach the resist composition being a chemically amplified negative resist composition.
11. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4) an onium salt represented by the following general formula (1) of the present application, therein Quencher 28. Quencher 28 is outside the scope of the onium salts of formulae (1-A) and (1-B) of the present application only with respect to the hydroxyl group at an ortho position relative to the carboxylate anion. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0021]) the base formula (A) for the onium salt taught therein, wherein there are as many as 3 R1 substituents, wherein R1 includes a hydroxyl group.
12. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Hatakeyama would have found it obvious to conduct a simple substitution of, at minimum, the Quencher 28 of Hatakeyama with a further hydroxyl group substituent for the Quencher 28 of Hatakeyama which does not have a further hydroxyl group substituent. Both are taught by Hatakeyama has been functional quenchers therein. And thus, to a person having ordinary skill in the art said simple substitution would have produced predictable results.
13. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0143], Table 4, principally Example 3-8) teach a composition which does not further comprise an acid generator. That said, Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0091-0115]) the further addition of an acid generator to the resist composition. Also, Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0091-0115], Table 1) Experimental Examples 1-1 to 1-11 and 1-13 to 1-23 the experimental resist composition further comprising an acid generator, therein PAG 1. The acid generator, PAG 1, used in all these experimental resist compositions generate a sulfonic acid. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0092]) the further inclusion of an acid generator results in the resist composition functioning as a chemically amplified resist composition. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0026-0027]) the resist composition therein functioning as either a positive or negative type resist compostion.
14. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Hatakeyama would have found it obvious to combine the prior art element of an acid generator, such as PAG 1 of Hatakeyama, to, at minimum, the Experimental Example resist composition 3-8 of Hatakeyama. This acid generator, PAG 1, would generate a sulfonic acid. Also, the addition of an acid generator would result in the resist composition of Hatakeyama in functioning as a chemically amplified resist composition, which Hatakeyama teaches can function as both a positive- or negative-type chemically amplified resist composition. This addition of an acid generator simply involves the combination of known prior art elements all taught by Hatakeyama and said combination would have predictable results.
15. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0144], Table 4) a base polymer, therein Polymer 6 in Experimental Example resist composition 3-8. This base polymer comprises an acid-labile group. That said, Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0085]) that for negative-type resist compositions, no acid-labile group is required. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0026]) the resist compositions may be a negative-type resist composition.
16. Thus, a person of ordinary skill in the art in view of Hatakeyama would have found it obvious to combine the prior art element of a base polymer which does not comprise an acid-labile group. Hatakeyama teaches that an acid-labile group is not required for a negative-type resist composition and also teaches that the resist compositions of Hatakeyama may be used as a negative-type resist composition. A base polymer comprising no acid-labile group in combination with the experimental examples of Hatakeyama involves the combination of known prior art elements all taught by Hatakeyama and said combination would have predictable results.
Conclusion
17. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Keith D. Hendricks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737