DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by new prior art reference Hill in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20020179248 to Kabansky in view of US 20060137608 to Choi and further in view of US 20090032612 to Kunstmann, US 20090242514 to Hill.
Claims 1, 5, 4, 9: Kabansky discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a reaction chamber (132 [process chamber], Fig. 2) for processing a substrate (136 [wafer]), comprising a substrate support (154 [wafer chuck]); a first inlet (146/168 [plasma tube]/[gas duct]) and a second inlet (170 [another gas duct]) configured to insert a first process gas and a second process gas into the reaction chamber (132) respectively (para. [0029]);
a gas inlet tube (158 [gas mixing chamber], Fig. 2) configured to mix the first process gas from the first inlet (146/168) and the second process gas from the second inlet (170), the gas inlet tube being (158) in fluid communication with the reaction chamber (132, Fig. 2),
a showerhead assembly (162 [shower head]) defining a reaction space (166/140) together with a substrate support (154), the showerhead assembly (162) comprising a plurality of holes (164 [distribution nozzles]) connected to the gas inlet tube (158) to supply the mixed process gas to the reaction space (para. [0029]),
wherein the first inlet (146/168) and the second inlet (170) are placed in the gas inlet tube (158) and face with each other directly opposite (Fig. 2).
However Kabansky does not disclose (claims 1, 5) the gas inlet tube comprising upper and lower segments; and wherein the first inlet and the second inlet are placed in the upper segment of the gas inlet tube; and the upper segment of the gas inlet tube is converging cone shape, the lower segment of the gas inlet tube is diverging cone shape, the ratio of the length of the upper segment (H1) to the length of the gas inlet tube (H) can be 0.1 ~ 0.9, preferably 0.15 ~ 0.25 (claims 4, 9) wherein the ratio of the width of upper segment bottom (W1) to the width of the lower segment bottom (W) can be 0.1 ~ 0.9, preferably about 0.4 ~ 0.6.
Choi discloses a gas inlet tube (330 [volume adjusting horn of showerhead assembly], Fig. 4-5) comprising upper (331) and lower segments (333); and wherein the first inlet (any of 311/312/313) and the second inlet (any of 311/312/313) are placed in the upper segment of the gas inlet tube (331 of 330); and the upper segment of the gas inlet tube (331 of 330) is converging cone shape (Fig. 4-5), the lower segment of the gas inlet tube (333 of 330) is diverging cone shape (Fig. 4-5), for the purpose of allowing the process gas to distribute uniformly, evenly, and smoothly over the wafer substrate and minimizes the volume of the inner part of the showerhead assembly (330, para. [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gas inlet tube configuration as taught by Choi with motivation to allow the process gas to distribute uniformly, evenly, and smoothly over the wafer substrate and minimizes the volume of the inner part of the showerhead assembly.
Kunstmann teaches (claims 1, 5, 4, 9) that a funnel segment can be varied in width, length, and angle (para. [0030]) for the purpose of allowing the spray jet characteristics to be further influenced (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization teachings of Kunstmann to each of the funnel segments with motivation to allow the spray jet characteristics to be further influenced.
Regarding length ratios, Hill teaches (claims 1, 5, 4, 9) a gas inlet tube having an upper and lower segment (5/7, Fig. 4) where the height ratio of gas tube (5/7) can be adjusted (para. [0017]) for the purpose of adjusting the desired processing profile to fine tune the system efficiency for any desired processing profile (para. [0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the variation or optimization of height ratio as taught by Hill with motivation to adjust the desired processing profile to fine tune the system efficiency for any desired processing profile.
The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann, Hill does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper segment and the lower segment of the gas inlet tube are configured to induce turbulence and a vortex within a cavity of the gas inlet tube to mix the first process gas and the second process gas.
Yet Choi teaches that the helical flow inducing plate (332) with the volume adjusting horn (330) which both make up the upper segment of the gas inlet tube, provide swirling action (para. [0095-0099]) for the purpose of distributing the process gas symmetrically with respect to the downstream gas dispersion structure and facing substrate even though the reactive gas may be asymmetrically introduced through one of the gas inlets (para. [0097]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Choi with motivation to distribute the process gas symmetrically with respect to the downstream gas dispersion structure and facing substrate even though the reactive gas may be asymmetrically introduced through one of the gas inlets.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann discloses comprising: a gas exhaust hole (176 [gas exhaust vent], Fig. 2, Kabansky) for exhausting gas from the reaction chamber (132, para. [0031]).
Claim(s) 2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 9 above, and further in view of US 5286523 to Matsuda.
Claims 2, 7: The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann does not disclose the first inlet and the second inlet have different diameters from each other.
Matsuda teaches diameters of gas supplying tubes being different from each other, for the purpose of changing the states of decomposition or reaction to satisfy optimal deposition conditions (c. 6, l. 2-15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matsuda with motivation to change the states of decomposition or reaction to satisfy optimal deposition conditions.
Claim(s) 3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 9 above, and further in view of US 20100062614 to Ma.
Claims 3, 8: The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann does not disclose wherein the first inlet and the second inlet being diverging cone shape or converging cone shape in the connection area to the gas inlet tube.
Yet the diameters appear to be shown as different in Fig. 2 of Kabansky.
Ma teaches the first inlet (1150a [gas conduit], Fig. 3B/3C) and the second inlet (1150b [gas conduit]) being diverging cone shape or converging cone shape in the connection area to the gas inlet tube (para. [0094]) for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of blowing off reactants adsorbed on the surface of the substrate (para. [0094]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ma with motivation to reduce the likelihood of blowing off reactants adsorbed on the surface of the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20100062614 discloses a gas delivery system with a gas inlet tube (1128 [gas dispersing channel], Fig. 3B/3C) with opposite gas inlets (1150a and 1150b [gas conduits]) attached to the upper segment of the gas inlet tube (1128, para. [0087]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718