DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “preferably” in claims 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if the second range is optional or required in the claim. Examiner will interpret as optional.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "together with a substrate support" in the claim. It is unclear if there is another substrate support, or is it the same substrate already introduced earlier in the claim. Examiner interprets as the same. Appropriate clarification is requested.
The term “preferably” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “preferably” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if the second range is optional or required in the claim. Examiner will interpret as optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20020179248 to Kabansky in view of US 20060137608 to Choi and further in view of US 20090032612 to Kunstmann, US 6449873 to Yoon.
Claims 1, 5, 4, 9: Kabansky discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a reaction chamber (132 [process chamber], Fig. 2) for processing a substrate (136 [wafer]), comprising a substrate support (154 [wafer chuck]); a first inlet (146/168 [plasma tube]/[gas duct]) and a second inlet (170 [another gas duct]) configured to insert a first process gas and a second process gas into the reaction chamber (132) respectively (para. [0029]);
a gas inlet tube (158 [gas mixing chamber], Fig. 2) configured to mix the first process gas from the first inlet (146/168) and the second process gas from the second inlet (170), the gas inlet tube being (158) in fluid communication with the reaction chamber (132, Fig. 2),
a showerhead assembly (162 [shower head]) defining a reaction space (166/140) together with a substrate support (154), the showerhead assembly (162) comprising a plurality of holes (164 [distribution nozzles]) connected to the gas inlet tube (158) to supply the mixed process gas to the reaction space (para. [0029]),
wherein the first inlet (146/168) and the second inlet (170) are placed in the gas inlet tube (158) and face with each other directly opposite (Fig. 2).
However Kabansky does not disclose (claims 1, 5) the gas inlet tube comprising upper and lower segments; and wherein the first inlet and the second inlet are placed in the upper segment of the gas inlet tube; and the upper segment of the gas inlet tube is converging cone shape, the lower segment of the gas inlet tube is diverging cone shape, the ratio of the length of the upper segment (H1) to the length of the gas inlet tube (H) can be 0.1 ~ 0.9, preferably 0.15 ~ 0.25 (claims 4, 9) wherein the ratio of the width of upper segment bottom (W1) to the width of the lower segment bottom (W) can be 0.1 ~ 0.9, preferably about 0.4 ~ 0.6.
Choi discloses a gas inlet tube (330 [volume adjusting horn of showerhead assembly], Fig. 4-5) comprising upper (331) and lower segments (333); and wherein the first inlet (any of 311/312/313) and the second inlet (any of 311/312/313) are placed in the upper segment of the gas inlet tube (331 of 330); and the upper segment of the gas inlet tube (331 of 330) is converging cone shape (Fig. 4-5), the lower segment of the gas inlet tube (333 of 330) is diverging cone shape (Fig. 4-5), for the purpose of allowing the process gas to distribute uniformly, evenly, and smoothly over the wafer substrate and minimizes the volume of the inner part of the showerhead assembly (330, para. [0073]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the gas inlet tube configuration as taught by Choi with motivation to allow the process gas to distribute uniformly, evenly, and smoothly over the wafer substrate and minimizes the volume of the inner part of the showerhead assembly.
Kunstmann teaches (claims 1, 5, 4, 9) that a funnel segment can be varied in width, length, and angle (para. [0030]) for the purpose of allowing the spray jet characteristics to be further influenced (para. [0030]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization teachings of Kunstmann to each of the funnel segments with motivation to allow the spray jet characteristics to be further influenced.
Regarding Yoon teaches (claims 1, 5, 4, 9) a gas inlet tube having an upper (l1, Fig, 3) and lower segment (l2) where the ratio of length to the length of gas tube overlaps the claimed relative range (c. 5, l. 26-30) for the purpose of transforming a gas into a cluster efficiently (c. 5, l. 26-30).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Yoon with motivation to transform a gas into a cluster efficiently.
Claim 6: The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann discloses comprising: a gas exhaust hole (176 [gas exhaust vent], Fig. 2, Kabansky) for exhausting gas from the reaction chamber (132, para. [0031]).
Claim(s) 2, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 9 above, and further in view of US 5286523 to Matsuda.
Claims 2, 7: The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann does not disclose the first inlet and the second inlet have different diameters from each other.
Matsuda teaches diameters of gas supplying tubes being different from each other, for the purpose of changing the states of decomposition or reaction to satisfy optimal deposition conditions (c. 6, l. 2-15).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Matsuda with motivation to change the states of decomposition or reaction to satisfy optimal deposition conditions.
Claim(s) 3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 9 above, and further in view of US 20100062614 to Ma.
Claims 3, 8: The apparatus of Kabansky in view of Choi and further in view of Kunstmann does not disclose wherein the first inlet and the second inlet being diverging cone shape or converging cone shape in the connection area to the gas inlet tube.
Yet the diameters appear to be shown as different in Fig. 2 of Kabansky.
Ma teaches the first inlet (1150a [gas conduit], Fig. 3B/3C) and the second inlet (1150b [gas conduit]) being diverging cone shape or converging cone shape in the connection area to the gas inlet tube (para. [0094]) for the purpose of reducing the likelihood of blowing off reactants adsorbed on the surface of the substrate (para. [0094]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Ma with motivation to reduce the likelihood of blowing off reactants adsorbed on the surface of the substrate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20100062614 discloses a gas delivery system with a gas inlet tube (1128 [gas dispersing channel], Fig. 3B/3C) with opposite gas inlets (1150a and 1150b [gas conduits]) attached to the upper segment of the gas inlet tube (1128, para. [0087]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718