DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention II in the reply filed on 03/04/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/04/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2019/0371898).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches (FIG. 7A, 7B):
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a metal gate (226) on a substrate;
a contact etch stop layer (296) (CESL) adjacent to the metal gate;
an interlayer dielectric (297) (ILD) layer around the CESL; and
a first contact plug (236) in the ILD layer, wherein a width of the first contact plug adjacent to the CESL is less than a width of the first contact plug under the CESL (FIG. 1A, 7B).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches (FIG. 7A, 7B):
The semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a width of the first contact plug adjacent to the CESL is less than a width of the first contact plug above the CESL.
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches (FIG. 7A, 7B):
The semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a sidewall of the first contact plug comprises a non-planar surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2019/0371898) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Huang2 (US 2020/0343135).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches undercut source/drain contact regions, but is silent regarding the gate contact:
The semiconductor device of claim 9, further comprising: a first hard mask on the metal gate, wherein top surfaces of the first hard mask and the ILD layer are coplanar; a second hard mask on the first hard mask; and a second contact plug on the metal gate.
However, Huang 2 (FIG. 13) teaches a metal gate structure having an undercut contact (96) along with undercut source/drain contacts (94), the gate having a hard mask (82) coplanar with ILD (60) and a second hard mask (90).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the undercut gate contact structure of Huang2 with the undercut source/drain structure of Huang for the predictable advantage of improving the uniformity of contact performance.
Regarding claim 13, Huang2 teaches (FIG. 13):
The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the second contact plug between the first hard mask comprises: a first width closer to the metal gate; and a second width closer to the second hard mask.
Regarding claim 14, Huang2 teaches (FIG. 13):
The semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the second width is less than the first width.
Regarding claim 15, Huang2 teaches (FIG. 13):
The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein a sidewall of the second contact plug comprises a non-planar surface.
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624