DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach “a width of the first contact plug adjacent to the CESL is less than a width of the first contact plug under a bottommost surface of the CESL”.
The examiner respectfully submits that the limitation “a bottommost surface of the CESL” is disclosed by the prior art because the CESL layer 296 covers the raised S/D 292, and contact 236 clearly has a width adjacent to the CESL that is less than a width below a bottommost surface. In the case where the S/D is planar instead of raised, the structure would additionally meet a more specific recitation of being wider below the bottommost surface of the CESL, as disclosed by Huang2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2019/0371898).
Regarding claim 9, Huang teaches (FIG. 7A, 7B):
A semiconductor device, comprising:
a metal gate (226) on a substrate;
a contact etch stop layer (296) (CESL) adjacent to the metal gate;
an interlayer dielectric (297) (ILD) layer around the CESL; and
a first contact plug (236) in the ILD layer, wherein a width of the first contact plug adjacent to the CESL is less than a width of the first contact plug under a bottommost surface of the CESL (FIG. 1A, 7B – the examiner notes that the amendment does not specify the bottommost surface, but rather a bottommost surface).
Regarding claim 10, Huang teaches (FIG. 7A, 7B):
The semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a width of the first contact plug adjacent to the CESL is less than a width of the first contact plug above the CESL.
Regarding claim 11, Huang teaches (FIG. 7A, 7B):
The semiconductor device of claim 9, wherein a sidewall of the first contact plug comprises a non-planar surface.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang (US 2019/0371898) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Huang2 (US 2020/0343135).
Regarding claim 12, Huang teaches undercut source/drain contact regions, but is silent regarding the gate contact:
The semiconductor device of claim 9, further comprising: a first hard mask on the metal gate, wherein top surfaces of the first hard mask and the ILD layer are coplanar; a second hard mask on the first hard mask; and a second contact plug on the metal gate.
However, Huang 2 (FIG. 13) teaches a metal gate structure having an undercut contact (96) along with undercut source/drain contacts (94), the gate having a hard mask (82) coplanar with ILD (60) and a second hard mask (90).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the undercut gate contact structure of Huang2 with the undercut source/drain structure of Huang for the predictable advantage of improving the uniformity of contact performance.
Regarding claim 13, Huang2 teaches (FIG. 13):
The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein the second contact plug between the first hard mask comprises: a first width closer to the metal gate; and a second width closer to the second hard mask.
Regarding claim 14, Huang2 teaches (FIG. 13):
The semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein the second width is less than the first width.
Regarding claim 15, Huang2 teaches (FIG. 13):
The semiconductor device of claim 12, wherein a sidewall of the second contact plug comprises a non-planar surface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898