DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species I, claims 1, and 7 – 12 in the reply filed on 06/11/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 7 – 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yuan et al. (US 2017/0338203).
Regarding claim 1, Yuan teaches (FIG. 15):
A semiconductor device, comprising:
at least one dielectric layer, comprising a stacked structure comprising a low-k dielectric layer (110a) and an etching stop layer (106a);
a conductive structure (148), disposed in the at least one dielectric layer;
a conductive layer (122), disposed in the stacked structure, between the low-k dielectric layer and the etching stop layer; and
a first insulator (140) disposed between the conductive layer and the conductive structure.
Regarding claim 7, Yuan teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a dielectric constant of the low-k dielectric layer (low-k) is smaller than a dielectric constant of the etching stop layer (Silicon dioxide).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the first insulator is between 50 angstroms and 300 angstroms ([0040]).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive layer comprises a semiconductor material or a metal material ([0025]).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan teaches:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a substrate (104a);
a gate structure, disposed on the substrate ([0015]); and
a plug surrounded by an interlayer dielectric layer on the substrate, below the at least one dielectric layer, wherein the plug directly contacts the conductive structure (FIG. 15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al. (US 2017/0338203) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Babich et al. (US 2002/0158337).
Regarding claim 10, Yuan fails to expressly disclose multiple similar stacked dielectric layers:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of the dielectric layers stacked on one over another; and
a plurality of the conductive structures, respectively disposed in the plurality of the dielectric layers, wherein each of the plurality of the dielectric layers comprises the conductive layer disposed in a middle thereof, and
the first insulator is disposed between the conductive layer and each of the conductive structures.
However, Babich teaches a conventional device having multiple metal wiring layers of similar structure.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form additional dielectric and metal layers of similar structure to that disclosed by Yuan to enable any desired circuit design and electrical connectivity as disclosed in a conventional design taught by Babich.
Additionally, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 11, Yuan fails to expressly disclose multiple similar stacked dielectric layers:
The semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a plurality of the dielectric layers stacked on one over another; and
a plurality of the conductive structures, respectively disposed in the plurality of the dielectric layers, wherein one of the plurality of the dielectric layers comprises the conductive layer disposed in a middle thereof, and
the first insulator disposed between the conductive layer and the conductive structure disposed in the one of the plurality of dielectric layers.
However, Babich teaches a conventional device having multiple metal wiring layers of similar structure, with air gaps only is some layers.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form additional dielectric and metal layers of similar structure to that disclosed by Yuan to enable any desired circuit design and electrical connectivity as disclosed in a conventional design taught by Babich.
Additionally, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2006/0160353 – teaches modifying portions of a semiconductive SiC layer to form a dielectric at the interface with a conductive plug structure
US 2015/0104938 – teaches modifying a portion of a metal layer to form a dielectric at the interface with a conductive plug structure
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624