DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160056032 to Baldasseroni in view of US 20180171472 to Yamada.
Claim 1: Baldasseroni discloses a showerhead assembly for a semiconductor manufacturing processing chamber, the showerhead assembly comprising: a backing plate (406 [back plate], Fig. 4A-4C) having a front surface and a back surface (Fig. 4B) defining a thickness of the backing plate (Fig. 4B), an inlet opening (opening in center of 406, Fig. 4B)in a center of the backing plate extending through the thickness thereof, the backing plate having an outer portion and an inner portion (Fig. 4B),
a heater (414 [heater], Fig. 4A-4C) embedded within the thickness of the backing plate (406), the heater (414) having a circular shape (Fig. 1A) with a radius measured from a center axis of the backing plate (Fig. 4A), the heater (414) having a radius greater than a radius of the inner portion of the backing plate so that the heater is within the outer portion of the backing plate (Fig. 4A); and
a faceplate (410 [face plate]) having a front surface and a back surface defining a thickness of the faceplate (Fig. 4B), the faceplate (410) having an inner portion and an outer portion (Fig. 4B), a plurality of apertures (434 [perforations or holes]) extending through the thickness of the faceplate in the inner portion (para. [0102]).
However Baldasseroni does not disclose the front surface of the inner portion having a concave shape; a plurality of angled openings extending through the thickness of the outer portion of the faceplate, the plurality of angled openings having a front surface opening centered at a radius from a center axis of the faceplate than a back surface opening centered radius.
Yamada discloses the front surface of the inner portion of the backing plate (bottom of 13 [shield plate], Fig. 2) having a concave shape (Fig. 2-3) for the purpose of achieving more uniform film on a patterned surface (para. [0006]); a plurality of angled openings (22 [apertures]) extending through the thickness of the outer portion of the faceplate (12 [shower plate structure]), the plurality of angled openings (22) having a front surface (top surface) opening centered at a radius from a center axis of the faceplate (12) than a back surface opening centered radius (Fig. 2) for the purpose of passing by-product gas therethrough in this direction to the exhaust duct to increase film uniformity (para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concave shape of the backing plate and the angled openings of the face plate as taught by Yamada with motivation to achieve more uniform film on a patterned surface and/or pass by-product gas therethrough in this direction to the exhaust duct to increase film uniformity.
Claim 3: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada discloses wherein the heater (414, Fig. 4A-4C, Baldasseroni) is positioned in a heater recess (para. [0105]) formed in the back surface of the backing plate (406), and the heater (414) is covered in the heater recess (para. [0105]) by a heater cover plate (top surface of 406).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada discloses wherein the backing plate (406, Fig. 4B, Baldasseroni) is connected to the faceplate (410) with a plurality of fasteners (438/432, para. [0101]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldasseroni in view of Yamada as applied to claims 1, 3-4 above, and further in view of US 20180355480 to Kondo.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada does not disclose wherein the heater has a radius in the range of 175 mm to 235 mm.
Kondo discloses a heater dimension has a diameter in the range of 295 mm to 475 mm for the purpose of being adapted to be used in a plasma deposition or etching apparatus (para. [0001], [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the dimension range which overlaps the claimed range as taught by Kondo with motivation to be adapted to be used in a plasma deposition or etching apparatus.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldasseroni in view of Yamada as applied to claims 1, 3-4 above, and further in view of US 20200279721 to White.
Claim 5: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada does not disclose further comprising an inner backing plate O-ring between the backing plate and the faceplate, the inner backing plate O-ring having a radius greater than or equal to a radius of the inner portion of the front surface of the backing plate.
White discloses further comprising an inner plate O-ring (160 [inner o-ring], Fig. 14) between a plate (148 [adjacent cap]) and the faceplate (36 [base plate]), the inner plate O-ring (160) having a radius greater than or equal to a radius of the inner portion (portion greater than circumference of 32) of the front surface of the plate (148) for the purpose of sealing the two plates together (para. [0047]) to prevent gas from leaking into other areas (para. [0031]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the inner plate o-ring as taught by White with motivation to seal the two plates together to prevent gas from leaking into other areas.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, White as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of US 20160068955 to Brillhart.
Claims 6-7: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada does not disclose (claim 6) further comprising a pumping ring having a back surface and a front surface defining a thickness of the pumping ring, the back surface of the pumping ring adjacent to the front surface of the faceplate; (claim 7) wherein the backing plate is bolted to the pumping ring with the faceplate sandwiched between the backing plate and the pumping ring.
Brillhart discloses (claim 6) further comprising a pumping ring (170 [pumping ring], Fig. 1A) having a back surface and a front surface defining a thickness of the pumping ring (Fig. 1A), the back surface of the pumping ring (170) adjacent to the front surface of the faceplate (128 [gas distribution plate]); (claim 7) wherein the backing plate (138 [upper wall]) is bolted to the pumping ring (170) with the faceplate (128) sandwiched between the backing plate (138) and the pumping ring (170, para. [0022]), for the purpose of improving gas distribution in a semiconductor process chamber (para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pumping ring and bolts configuration as taught by Brillhart with motivation to improve gas distribution in a semiconductor process chamber.
Claim(s) 16, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160056032 to Baldasseroni in view of US 20180171472 to Yamada, US 20160068955 to Brillhart, US 20050241765 to Dhindsa.
Claims 16, 19: Baldasseroni discloses showerhead assembly for a semiconductor manufacturing processing chamber, the showerhead assembly comprising: a backing plate (406 [back plate], Fig. 4A-4C) with a heater (414 [heater]) embedded within a thickness thereof (Fig. 4A), an inlet opening (opening of 406) in a center of the backing plate extending through the thickness thereof (Fig. 4A), the heater (414) having a radius greater than a radius of the inner portion of the front surface (Fig. 4A);
a faceplate (410 [face plate]) having a plurality of apertures (434 [perforations or holes) extending through a thickness of the faceplate at an inner portion of the faceplate (410).
Baldasseroni does not disclose (claim 16) an inner portion of a front surface of the backing plate having a concave shape, and a plurality of angled openings extending through the thickness of the faceplate at an outer portion of the faceplate; and a pumping ring connected to the backing plate with a plurality of fasteners that extend through the faceplate; (claim 19) further comprising a plurality of O-rings positioned between the backing plate and the faceplate and a plurality of O-rings positioned between the faceplate and the pumping ring.
Yamada discloses an inner portion of a front surface of the backing plate (bottom of 13 [shield plate], Fig. 2) having a concave shape (Fig. 2-3) for the purpose of achieving more uniform film on a patterned surface (para. [0006]); a plurality of angled openings (22 [apertures]) extending through the thickness of the faceplate at an outer portion of the faceplate (12 [shower plate structure]) for the purpose of passing by-product gas therethrough in this direction to the exhaust duct to increase film uniformity (para. [0029]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concave shape of the backing plate and the angled openings of the face plate as taught by Yamada with motivation to achieve more uniform film on a patterned surface and/or pass by-product gas therethrough in this direction to the exhaust duct to increase film uniformity.
Brillhart discloses a pumping ring (170 [pumping ring], Fig. 1A) connected to the backing plate (138 [upper wall]) with a plurality of fasteners (para. [0022]) for the purpose of improving gas distribution in a semiconductor process chamber (para. [0003]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the pumping ring and bolts configuration as taught by Brillhart with motivation to improve gas distribution in a semiconductor process chamber.
Dhindsa discloses fasteners that that extend through the faceplate (para. [0043], [0089-0090]) for the purpose of securing the components together; (claim 19) further comprising a plurality of O-rings (95 [o-rings], Fig. 5) positioned between the backing plate (800 [top plate]) and another plate (600) and a plurality of O-rings positioned between the another plate (600) and a plate ring (270) for the purpose of creating vacuum sealed areas to prevent gas leaking (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the fasteners and o-rings as taught by Dhindsa with motivation to secure the components together and/or create vacuum sealed areas to prevent gas leaking.
Claim 18: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, Brillhart, Dhindsa discloses wherein the heater (414, Fig. 4A-4C, Baldasseroni) is positioned in a heater recess (para. [0105]) formed in the back surface of the backing plate (406), and the heater (414) is covered in the heater recess (para. [0105]) by a heater cover plate (top surface of 406).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, Brillhart, Dhindsa as applied to claims 16, 18-19 and further in view of US 20180355480 to Kondo.
Claim 17: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, Brillhart, Dhindsa does not disclose wherein the heater has a radius greater than 175 mm.
Kondo discloses a heater dimension has a diameter in the range of 295 mm to 475 mm for the purpose of being adapted to be used in a plasma deposition or etching apparatus (para. [0001], [0007]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the dimension range which overlaps the claimed range as taught by Kondo with motivation to be adapted to be used in a plasma deposition or etching apparatus.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, Brillhart, Dhindsa as applied to claims 16, 18-19 and further in view of US 20220228264 to Shero.
Claim 20: The apparatus of Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, Brillhart, Dhindsa discloses semiconductor manufacturing processing chamber comprising: a chamber (102 [processing chamber], Fig. 1) sidewall and chamber bottom (Fig. 1); the showerhead assembly of claim 19 (see above).
However Baldasseroni in view of Yamada, Brillhart, Dhindsa does not explicitly disclose the showerhead assembly positioned on the chamber sidewall to enclose an interior of the processing chamber, the heater positioned over the chamber sidewall.
Shero discloses the showerhead assembly (106 [showerhead], Fig. 2) positioned on the chamber sidewall (104 [chamber wall]) to enclose an interior of the processing chamber (200), the heater (204 [heater], para. [0030], [0043-0044]) positioned over the chamber sidewall (104, Fig. 2, and the heater is positioned within 106 which necessarily means it is also disposed over the chamber wall) for the purpose of providing temperature control of the showerhead and/or chamber wall(s) (para. [0042-0043]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the limitations above as taught by Shero with motivation to provide temperature control of the showerhead and/or chamber wall(s).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected independent claim, but would be allowable if rewritten into the independent claim including all of the limitations of the independent claim and any intervening claims. It is noted that claim 10 needs all limitations of claim 9 positively claimed, including intervening claims, as properly objected to.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220119948 discloses a pumping liner (250, Fig. 5) adjacent a faceplate (280 [showerhead]) and a connected to a gas funnel (300, para. [0065]) with seals (not referenced but shown in Fig. 5 in a slightly different configuration as the claimed invention). US 20050241765 discloses that vacuum sealed areas (o-rings) may be provided around various components to create vacuum sealed areas such as between the top plate (800) and the heater (700), or the gas distribution plate (500, para. [0050]).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718