Election/Restrictions
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/14/2026. Applicant has elected Invention Group I, corresponding to claims 1-6. Invention Group II, corresponding to claims 7-10, is withdrawn from further consideration.
Specification
The specification submitted 10/19/2023 has been accepted by the examiner.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the current drawings appear to be missing lines that clearly convey the shapes of the features, especially see examples of this issue in Figs. 6-18. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 1: attaching the pads of the one or more of the thermally conductive dies to an electrical interconnecting component
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu (US # 20180158749).
Regarding Claim 1, Yu (US # 20180158749) teaches a method for preparing a thermally conductive semiconductor packaging structure ([0018] describes “heat dissipation through the use of a dummy thermal chip”; also describing trenches “formed in the backside of the package and filled with a thermal interface material (TIM) to provide heat dissipation”; [0021] describes “Dummy vias can be formed, for example, for heat dissipation of the substrate.”), comprising:
providing a wafer (115), which comprises multiple sub-regions (sub-regions 150 demarcated by “non-die areas” 160), wherein pads (125) are provided on front sides (top side of 115, as shown in Fig. 1) of the sub-regions,
patterning back sides of the sub-regions to form grooves (via holes corresponding to vias 120; see [0023] about process techniques),
filling the grooves with a thermally conductive material (see [0022] describing a primary purpose of conducting heat; [0026] teaches copper as material) to form thermally conductive members;
cutting the wafer along borders of the sub-regions to obtain thermally conductive dies ([0027] the processed wafer 110 will be stacked and singulated form stacked die structures; see also Figs. 10-11);
forming a die packaging structure (see Figs. 14, 36, and 59) by packaging one or more of the thermally conductive dies (in Fig. 40, dies 655 and 659 comprise thermal dies) together (analogous dies 212 are formed as a layer, for example, see 231 of Fig. 19; see [0072]), wherein each of the thermally conductive dies comprises a first surface (top, as shown in Fig. 14) and a second surface (bottom) opposite to the first surface, with the first surface exposing the thermally conductive members (shown in Fig. 14), wherein the second surface is provided with electrically conductive connectors (985 connected to pads of 111, see Fig. 22) which are electrically connected to the pads (after carrier 205 is removed, contacts are attached, see also [0055]),
attaching the pads of the one or more of the thermally conductive dies to an electrical interconnecting component (processed wafer 511, see Figs. 45, 48 showing analogous dies formed on top of feature 511 and interconnected at least by pads 711),
providing a substrate (package component 691; see [0128] and Figs. 43 and 57), and electrically connecting the electrical interconnecting component to the substrate (features 685 are used to interconnect with features 693), and
forming a heat dissipating cover (a heat spreader 695) over the substrate, wherein the heat dissipating cover is in contact with the thermally conductive members (thermal contact through a thermal interface material (TIM) 690).
Regarding Claim 4, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein techniques for filling the grooves with the thermally conductive material to form the thermally conductive members comprises one of deposition, coating, curing and grinding (see a few of these techniques described at [0023, 26, 37]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein techniques for forming the grooves comprises one or more of mechanical grooving, laser grooving, chemical etching, and plasma etching ([0023]).
Regarding Claim 6, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein there are N thermally conductive members formed in each of the thermally conductive dies, wherein N ≥ 2 (more than two thermal vias 120 are shown).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US # 20180158749) in view of Meade (US # 20240170387).
Regarding Claim 2, Yu teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the die packaging structure constitutes a part of a flip-chip packaging structure (see Fig. 27 showing flipped chip).
Although Yu discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the die packaging structure constitutes a part of a fan-out packaging structure, a part of a 2.5D packaging structure.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Meade is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches die package configurations, including flip-chip ([0002, 49]), 2.5D IC packaging ([0050]) and fan-out packaging structure ([0048]).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the method of package configuration of Yu with one of the configurations suggested by Meade would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Meade would be to employ a method according to claim 1, wherein the die packaging structure constitutes a part of a fan-out packaging structure, a part of a 2.5D packaging structure. The rationale for this obvious modification is that fan-out, 2.5D, and flip-chip each provides advantages, depending on the application and thermal management needs. This would have been apparent to a person having ordinary skill in the art in reading both references because the existence and benefits of these common configurations are well known in the art (see MPEP 2144.01).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu (US # 20180158749) in view of Meade (US # 20240170387) and Noguchi (US # 20060197181).
Regarding Claim 3, although Yu discloses much of the claimed invention, it does not explicitly teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the thermally conductive material comprises one or more of graphene, aluminum trioxide, ceramics, and indium.
Nonetheless the prior art at the time the application was filed renders such non-explicit feature differences obvious, as explained below.
For example, Noguchi is in the same or analogous field, and it teaches using ceramic material to fill a hole (11b) in a wafer (1) in order to dissipate heat ([0069] and Figs. 7-8).
A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that modifying the heat dissipation material of Yu with the material suggested by Noguchi would be obvious. Specifically, the modification suggested by Noguchi would be to employ a method according to claim 1, wherein the thermally conductive material comprises one or more of graphene, aluminum trioxide, ceramics, and indium. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to use ceramic since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER A JOHNSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899