DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant's Communication received on October 19, 2023 for application number 18/381,743. This Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Specification, Drawings, Abstract, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on {04/05/2024}, {07/09/2024}, {08/02/2024} and {08/29/2024} were submitted in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 1, 4-6 and 8-10 are flow charts that don’t have any steps/instructions. Figures 1, 4-6 and 8-10 are just empty boxes connected to each other. No steps and/or instructions are included. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Disposition of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Claims 4, 6, 10-12 and 20 are objected as allowable subject matter.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 13-19 are rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 10-12 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting enough structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
“Preemptive planar coordinator module”, “direct yaw feedback control module”, “wheel stability control module” and “core arbitration clutch response module” in claims 1-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-9 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Piyabongkarn – US 20070184929 A1), in view of (WESTON – CN 114940209 A).
Regarding claim 1, Piyabongkarn discloses:
An electronic limited slip differential (eLSD) control system (Driveline 20 includes an electronically controlled limited-slip differential (ELSD) 22a, 22b installed in at least one of a front axle 24 and a rear axle 26. The ELSD 22 may be used to bias torque between left and right wheels 28, 30. In an embodiment, the amount of torque distributed between the left and right wheels 28, 30 by the ELSD 22 is determined by engagement of a clutch: Figs. 1 and 6) comprising:
an eLSD (electronically controlled limited-slip differential (ELSD): Fig. 6) configured to adjust torque to a plurality of shafts (front axle 24 and a rear axle 26: Fig. 1) of an axle of a vehicle (Vehicle shown in Fig. 1);
a preemptive planar coordinator module (supervisory controller 56 may be used to select the control actions in accordance with one or more vehicle operating parameters, such as vehicle speed, as determined by vehicle sensor information received from one or more vehicle sensors 58: Fig. 6) configured to determine a plurality of targets for an eLSD clutch torque and generate a first clutch torque request based on the plurality of targets (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0024, 0026-0039, 0041, 0043-0044, 0046, 0048]: “An ELSD generally has the same components as an open differential, except for a clutch that provides an additional path for torque transfer. Referring to FIG. 4, T.sub.in is the torque transferred to the rear prop-shaft, T.sub.diff is the torque transferred through the differential gears, and T.sub.CT is the torque transferred through the clutch. T.sub.CT is not necessary the same as the applied clutch torque level controlled by the vehicle electronic control unit (ECU) or other controller, depending on locked, unlock, or slipping states” and “The clutch may be further modeled in the locking state. T.sub.CT.sub.--.sub.max represents the clutch torque applied to the clutch plates and controlled by the vehicle controller. However, depending on the locking state, the actual transferred clutch torque is not necessary the same as the applied clutch torque level” and “FIG. 8 illustrates the comparison of a vehicle with and without yaw damping control. The vehicle with yaw damping control has superior performance and stability compared to the vehicle without yaw damping control, which eventually became unstable. FIG. 9 indicates the corresponding clutch torque levels that were used to control the torque-biasing devices. The ELSD clutch was activated only when the vehicle was oversteering. Finally, FIG. 10 shows a snap shot of an animation run in CarSim”);
a direct yaw feedback control module (yaw damping controller 54: Fig. 6) configured to track a target yaw rate for the vehicle, ;
a wheel stability control module (stability-enhanced traction controller 52: Fig. 6) configured to generate a third clutch torque request to minimize at least one of
i) slip between wheels of the axle, and
ii) slip on one of the wheels experiencing higher traction ([0044]: “When the stability enhanced traction control function is complete, the ELSD may still be used to bias the prop-shaft torque between the left and right vehicle wheels. If the differential clutch torque is applied while the vehicle is turning, the device only transfers driving torque from the outside wheel to the inside wheel, thus generating a yaw moment in opposite direction of the turn and increasing the understeer tendency of the vehicle. This phenomenon may be explained by considering equations (19) and (20). The speed of the outside wheel is normally larger than the speed of the inside wheel while turning. application of the differential clutch will attempt to bring the speeds of both outside wheel and inside wheel to the same value. The outside wheel speed and acceleration will be reduced, along with the driving torque, and vice versa, while the driving torque at the inner wheel will be increased. Hence, the control strategy is based on the principle that locking the ELSD induces more understeering behavior”).
But Piyabongkarn does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) determine a yaw rate error, and generates a second clutch torque request to reduce the yaw rate error; a core arbitration clutch response module configured to control the eLSD clutch torque of the eLSD based on the first clutch torque request, the second clutch torque request, and the third clutch torque request.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, WESTON (Abstract, 0025-0059) discloses/teaches the following:
A method for mitigating torque steering in a vehicle having a steering axle, the steering axle having a limited slip differential and a pair of output members. The limited slip differential comprises a pair of differential outputs and a clutch The method comprises: operating the limited slip differential when the clutch is in a first condition; determining that the vehicle is in a state where a torque steering condition is occurring or may occur; and operating the clutch to reduce a torque difference between the differential outputs to mitigate the torque steering condition. The invention further claims a vehicle with a steering axle and a controller, the controller is configured to operate the clutch in the steering axle to attenuate torque steering. The method comprises: operating the limited slip differential when the clutch is in the first condition; determining that the vehicle is in a state where a torque steering condition is occurring or may occur; and operating the clutch to reduce a torque difference between the differential outputs to mitigate the torque steering condition. The second ball ramp ring 122 is moved to its furthest away from the first ball ramp ring 120 in the (second) condition operating clutch 64, which allows the speed difference between the differential outputs 62 to reach a predetermined minimum and prohibits the speed difference between the differential outputs 62 to reach a predetermined maximum. In this respect, the limited slip differential 50 will allow differential output 62 between the speed difference before the differential output 62 output torque between the second higher value of the predetermined torque difference. Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the controller 16 may be configured to operate limited slip differential 50 of the clutch 64 to relieve torque steering and/or auxiliary vehicle operator operating vehicle 10 to perform drift manipulation.
Returning to decision block 506, if control determines that the yaw (or yaw error) does not exceed the yaw (or yaw error) threshold, control may advance to block 510 to operate the clutch 64 of the slip-limiting differential 50 to laterally transfer torque between the first wheels 40 to reduce the wheel slip and the obtain force. It should be understood that, the clutch 64 can be actually or effectively operated under the condition of the first condition and the second condition, The magnitude of the torque when the slip occurs between the first friction plate 90 and the second friction plate 92 is thereby changed to the level of the middle of those torques generated when the clutch 64 operates in the first and second conditions. Control may be recycled back to decision block 502.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the control system of Piyabongkarn incorporating additional controller communications/calculation-unit modules as taught by WESTON to for mitigating torque steering in a vehicle with a steering axle.
Regarding claim 13, Piyabongkarn discloses:
A method of controlling an electronic limited slip differential (eLSD) of a vehicle (Vehicle shown in Fig. 1), the method comprising:
determining a plurality of targets for an eLSD (electronically controlled limited-slip differential (ELSD): Fig. 6) clutch torque and generating a first clutch torque request based on the plurality of targets (Figs. 4 and 8-9 and [0024, 0026-0039, 0041, 0043-0044, 0046, 0048]: “An ELSD generally has the same components as an open differential, except for a clutch that provides an additional path for torque transfer. Referring to FIG. 4, T.sub.in is the torque transferred to the rear prop-shaft, T.sub.diff is the torque transferred through the differential gears, and T.sub.CT is the torque transferred through the clutch. T.sub.CT is not necessary the same as the applied clutch torque level controlled by the vehicle electronic control unit (ECU) or other controller, depending on locked, unlock, or slipping states” and “The clutch may be further modeled in the locking state. T.sub.CT.sub.--.sub.max represents the clutch torque applied to the clutch plates and controlled by the vehicle controller. However, depending on the locking state, the actual transferred clutch torque is not necessary the same as the applied clutch torque level” and “FIG. 8 illustrates the comparison of a vehicle with and without yaw damping control. The vehicle with yaw damping control has superior performance and stability compared to the vehicle without yaw damping control, which eventually became unstable. FIG. 9 indicates the corresponding clutch torque levels that were used to control the torque-biasing devices. The ELSD clutch was activated only when the vehicle was oversteering. Finally, FIG. 10 shows a snap shot of an animation run in CarSim”);
tracking a target yaw rate (Using yaw damping controller 54: Fig. 6) for the vehicle; ;
;
generating a third clutch torque request to minimize at least one of
i) slip between wheels of an axle of the vehicle, and
ii) slip on a first one of the wheels experiencing higher traction ([0044]: “When the stability enhanced traction control function is complete, the ELSD may still be used to bias the prop-shaft torque between the left and right vehicle wheels. If the differential clutch torque is applied while the vehicle is turning, the device only transfers driving torque from the outside wheel to the inside wheel, thus generating a yaw moment in opposite direction of the turn and increasing the understeer tendency of the vehicle. This phenomenon may be explained by considering equations (19) and (20). The speed of the outside wheel is normally larger than the speed of the inside wheel while turning. application of the differential clutch will attempt to bring the speeds of both outside wheel and inside wheel to the same value. The outside wheel speed and acceleration will be reduced, along with the driving torque, and vice versa, while the driving torque at the inner wheel will be increased. Hence, the control strategy is based on the principle that locking the ELSD induces more understeering behavior”).
But Piyabongkarn does not explicitly and/or specifically meet the following limitations:
(A) generates a second clutch torque request to reduce the yaw rate error; control the eLSD clutch torque of the eLSD based on the first clutch torque request, the second clutch torque request, and the third clutch torque request.
However, regarding limitation (A) above, WESTON (Abstract, 0025-0059) discloses/teaches the following:
A method for mitigating torque steering in a vehicle having a steering axle, the steering axle having a limited slip differential and a pair of output members. The limited slip differential comprises a pair of differential outputs and a clutch The method comprises: operating the limited slip differential when the clutch is in a first condition; determining that the vehicle is in a state where a torque steering condition is occurring or may occur; and operating the clutch to reduce a torque difference between the differential outputs to mitigate the torque steering condition. The invention further claims a vehicle with a steering axle and a controller, the controller is configured to operate the clutch in the steering axle to attenuate torque steering. The method comprises: operating the limited slip differential when the clutch is in the first condition; determining that the vehicle is in a state where a torque steering condition is occurring or may occur; and operating the clutch to reduce a torque difference between the differential outputs to mitigate the torque steering condition. The second ball ramp ring 122 is moved to its furthest away from the first ball ramp ring 120 in the (second) condition operating clutch 64, which allows the speed difference between the differential outputs 62 to reach a predetermined minimum and prohibits the speed difference between the differential outputs 62 to reach a predetermined maximum. In this respect, the limited slip differential 50 will allow differential output 62 between the speed difference before the differential output 62 output torque between the second higher value of the predetermined torque difference. Referring to FIG. 1 and FIG. 3, the controller 16 may be configured to operate limited slip differential 50 of the clutch 64 to relieve torque steering and/or auxiliary vehicle operator operating vehicle 10 to perform drift manipulation.
Returning to decision block 506, if control determines that the yaw (or yaw error) does not exceed the yaw (or yaw error) threshold, control may advance to block 510 to operate the clutch 64 of the slip-limiting differential 50 to laterally transfer torque between the first wheels 40 to reduce the wheel slip and the obtain force. It should be understood that, the clutch 64 can be actually or effectively operated under the condition of the first condition and the second condition, The magnitude of the torque when the slip occurs between the first friction plate 90 and the second friction plate 92 is thereby changed to the level of the middle of those torques generated when the clutch 64 operates in the first and second conditions. Control may be recycled back to decision block 502.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the control system of Piyabongkarn incorporating additional controller communications/calculation-unit modules as taught by WESTON to for mitigating torque steering in a vehicle with a steering axle.
Regarding claim 2, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the eLSD control system according to claim 1, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
wherein the preemptive planar coordinator module is configured to determine a longitudinal target, a yaw moment transient target, and a yaw moment steady-state target and generate the first clutch torque request based on the longitudinal target, the yaw moment transient target, and the yaw moment steady-state target (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the eLSD control system according to claim 2, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
wherein: the preemptive planar coordinator module is configured to determine a tractive limits target and based on the tractive limits target generates the first clutch torque request; and the plurality of targets comprise the tractive limits target (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053]).
Regarding claim 5, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the eLSD control system according to claim 2, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
wherein the preemptive planar coordinator module is configured to determine the longitudinal target as a baseline target that is a function of a torque request for the axle and velocity of the vehicle (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the eLSD control system according to claim 2, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
wherein the preemptive planar coordinator module is configured to determine the yaw moment transient target based on at least one of a yaw acceleration error or a target yaw acceleration of the vehicle (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 8, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the eLSD control system according to claim 2, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
the preemptive planar coordinator module is configured to determine the yaw moment steady-state target to correlate a transfer function between steering angle and a yaw moment of the vehicle (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 9, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the eLSD control system according to claim 2, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
wherein the preemptive planar coordinator module is configured to select a maximum of the longitudinal target, the yaw moment transient target, and the yaw moment steady-state target as the first clutch torque request (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 14, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the method according to claim 13, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
wherein determining the plurality of targets comprise: calculating an amount of wheel torque overflow of a second one of the wheels experiencing a lower amount of traction; calculating an amount of initial wheel torque at the first one of the wheels based on the amount of the wheel torque overflow; calculating a maximum coupling torque of a clutch of the eLSD; calculating a maximum torque of the first one of the wheels based on the maximum coupling torque; and calculating the first clutch torque request based on the amount of the initial wheel torque and the maximum torque of the first one of the wheels (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 15, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the method according to claim 14, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
determining whether the amount of the initial wheel torque is greater than the maximum torque of the first one of the wheels; calculating the first clutch torque request based on an overflow torque of the first one of the wheels when the amount of the initial wheel torque is greater than the maximum torque of the first one of the wheels, wherein the overflow torque of the first one of the wheels is greater than 0; and calculating the first clutch torque request based on a minimum of the amount of the initial wheel torque and the maximum torque of the first one of the wheels (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 16, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the method according to claim 13, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
tracking lateral motion error based on the yaw rate error and a lateral velocity of the vehicle; and calculating the second clutch torque request based on the lateral motion error (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 17, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the method according to claim 13, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
determining whether there is a difference in slip between the wheels; determining whether the first one of the wheels is experiencing excessive slip; activating eLSD slip control in response to there being a difference in slip between the wheels and in response to the first one of the wheels experiencing excessive slip, and determining the third clutch torque request based on at least one of a change in slip error and a slip error in the first one of the wheels; and setting the third clutch torque request equal to 0 when there is no difference in slip between the wheels and when the first one of the wheels is not experiencing excessive slip (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 18, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the method according to claim 13, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
determining a longitudinal target, a yaw moment transient target, and a yaw moment steady-state target; and generating the first clutch torque request based on the longitudinal target, the yaw moment transient target, and the yaw moment steady-state target (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Regarding claim 19, Piyabongkarn as combined above disclose the method according to claim 18, and further on Piyabongkarn as combined above also discloses:
determining a tractive limits target and based on the tractive limits target generates the first clutch torque request, where the plurality of targets comprise the tractive limits target (Piyabongkarn [0039-0048, 0051-0053] and WESTON [Abstract, 0025-0059]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2016/0214603 A1 – OWEN
CN 115973130 A - XIE
Conclusion
/RUBEN PICON-FELICIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/GRANT MOUBRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747