Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang [US PGPUB 20100301491] in view of Hsueh et al [US PGPUB 20210335663] and further in view of Cheng et al. [US PGPUB 20240038666] (hereinafter Hsueh and Cheng).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
a first dielectric layer (103 or 103/105, Para 31/10);
a second dielectric layer (107, Para 31) disposed over the first dielectric layer (Fig. 7E);
a third dielectric layer (112, Para 10) disposed over the second dielectric layer (Fig. 7E);
a spacer structure (503, Fig. 7E) disposed in the second dielectric layer (Fig. 7E);
a conductive structure (709/715, Para 127/128) disposed in the third dielectric layer (Fig. 7E), penetrating through the second dielectric layer, and extending into the first dielectric layer (Fig. 7E), wherein the conductive structure is surrounded by the spacer structure (Fig. 7E);
a liner layer (701, Fig. 7E) separating the conductive structure from the first dielectric layer, the second dielectric layer, and the spacer structure (Fig. 7E), wherein the liner layer has a tapered sidewall in direct contact with the first dielectric layer (Fig. 7E; i.e., directly contacting 103).
Yang does not specifically disclose that the first dielectric layer is disposed over a semiconductor substrate;
an inner silicide portion disposed over the conductive structure;
an outer silicide portion surrounding the inner silicide portion and covering the liner layer;
and an upper plug disposed over the inner silicide portion and the outer silicide portion.
Referring to the invention of Hsueh, Hsueh teaches forming structure (Fig. 5; i.e., from layer 206a to top surface of layer 204c contacting layer 502), wherein the structure is formed on a semiconductor substrate 102 (Para 48, Fig. 5), wherein the structure further comprises forming:
an inner capping portion (portion of 214 overlapping the conductive structure 212) disposed over conductive structure (Fig. 5);
an outer capping portion (remaining portion of 214 not overlapping the conductive structure 212) surrounding the inner capping portion and covering layer 110/208/210 (Fig. 5);
and an upper plug (506-512, Fig. 5) disposed over the inner capping portion and the outer capping portion (Fig. 5).
In view of such teaching by Hsueh, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Yang comprise the teachings of Hsueh at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) to achieve predictable results (MPEP 2143), such as, providing adequate/reliable interconnection structure in a device.
Regarding capping layer 214, it is noted that Hsueh discloses that capping layer 214 may comprise and/or be cobalt, ruthenium, tungsten, or the like (Para 30).
Referring to the invention of Cheng teaches forming capping layer 60 to comprise a metal and wherein in certain instance, the capping layer can be a silicide of the metal capping layer (Para 23).
In view of such teaching by Cheng, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the capping layer of Hsueh applied to the invention of Yang be a silicide layer at least based on the rationale of simple substitution of one known element/structure with a suitable another to obtain predictable results (MPEP 2143.I.B) –wherein a metal silicide is known to have numerous advantages over corresponding metal, regarding electrical resistivity, thermal stability, electromigration etc.
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches a semiconductor device wherein the spacer structure is in direct contact with a top surface of the first dielectric layer (Fig. 7E; i.e., a top surface of 105).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches a semiconductor device wherein an angle between the tapered sidewall and a bottom surface of the liner layer is greater than 90 degrees (Fig. 7E).
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches a semiconductor device wherein the conductive structure further comprises:
a barrier layer (709, Fig. 7E); and
a metal filling portion disposed over and surrounded by the barrier layer, wherein the metal filling portion comprises copper (Cu) (Para 128).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches a semiconductor device wherein a top width of the metal filling portion is greater than a bottom width of the metal filling portion (Fig. 7E).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Yang specifically in view of Hsueh, teaches a semiconductor device structure wherein the upper plug comprises tungsten (W), aluminum (Al), copper (Cu), titanium (Ti), tantalum (Ta), or a combination thereof (Para 70).
In view of such teaching by Hsueh, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the invention of Yang comprise the material disclosed by Hsueh at least based on the rationale of using known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way using (MPEP 2143.I.C).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-13 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ISMAIL A MUSE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812