DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2018/0261601, hereinafter Kim) in view of Huang (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0398879, hereinafter Huang).
Re claim 1 Kim discloses a method for fabricating a semiconductor device, comprising: providing a substrate(100) and forming a drain(50) in the substrate(100); forming a top dielectric layer(240) on the substrate(100) and forming an opening(CH1 in Fig 9B) along the top dielectric layer(240) to expose the drain(50); conformally forming a sacrificial layer(303) in the opening(CH1 in Fig 9B); performing a first etching process[0072] to partially remove the sacrificial layer(303), resulting in a sacrificial segment(303a) on a sidewall of the opening(CH1 in Fig 9B) and exposing the drain(50); forming a cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252) on the drain(50) and surrounded by the sacrificial segment(303a); performing a removal process to remove the sacrificial segment(303a)[0085] and form a space surrounding the cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252); forming a cell contact top sealing layer(276a) on the cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252) to seal the space, resulting in a first air gap(AG)[0086] surrounding the cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252); and forming a cell contact top conductive layer(276b) on the cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252) and surrounded by the cell contact top sealing layer(276a); wherein the cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252), the cell contact top conductive layer(276b), and the cell contact top sealing layer(276a) configure a cell contact structure.
Kim does not disclose performing a first punch etching process[0072]
Huang disclose performing a first punch etching process[0089]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Huang to the teachings of Kim in order to have improved quality, yield, performance, and reliability and reduced complexity [0002, Huang].
A punch etching or a etch-back process for a etching process would have been obvious because a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. KSR, see MPEP 2143.
Re claim 2 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the removal process may comprise a vapor etchingprocess.
Re claim 3 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 2, wherein the top dielectric layer(240) comprises undoped oxide.
Re claim 4 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 3, wherein the sacrificial segment(303a) comprises doped oxide.
Re claim 5 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 4, wherein the vapor etching process[0072] comprises employing vapor hydrogen fluoride to remove the sacrificial segment(303a)[0085].
Re claim 6 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein the cell contact bottom conductive layer(254/252) comprises polycrystalline silicon, polycrystalline germanium, polycrystalline silicon germanium, doped polycrystalline silicon[0060], doped polycrystalline germanium, doped polycrystalline silicon germanium, or a combination thereof.
Re claim 7 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 6, wherein the cell contact top conductive layer(276b) comprises tungsten, cobalt[0030], zirconium, tantalum, titanium, aluminum, ruthenium, copper, metal carbides, metal nitrides, transition metal aluminides, or a combination thereof.
Re claim 8 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 7, wherein the cell contact top sealing layer(276a) comprises silicon oxide[0061] or silicon nitride.
Re claim 9 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device of claim 8, wherein the first air gap(AG) comprises a ring-shaped cross-sectional profile in a top-view perspective(see Fig 1).
Re claim 10 Kim and Huang disclose the method for fabricating the semiconductor device ofclaim 9, wherein the cell contact top sealing layer(276a) comprises a ring-shaped cross-sectional profile in a top-view perspective(see Fig 1).
Conclusion
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812