DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the amendment filled on 7/27/2026 that has been entered, wherein claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the second electrode of the intermediate layer” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Is the second electrode the intermediate layer the same or different than the second electrode of the light-emitting diode of claim 11, from which claim 12 depends. For the purpose of examination, the limitation of “a functional layer and the second electrode of the intermediate layer” will be interpreted as “a functional layer of the intermediate layer and the second electrode”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zou et al. (CN 111180496 A).
Regarding claim 1, Zou teaches a display panel(Fig. 2) comprising:
a substrate(41) which comprises an upper surface and a lower surface and through which a through-hole(20, ¶0042) passing through the lower surface from the upper surface is defined;
a light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) disposed on the upper surface of the substrate(41), the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) comprising:
a first electrode(11, ¶0043);
an intermediate layer(12, ¶0043) on the first electrode(11, ¶0043); and
a second electrode(13, ¶0043) on the intermediate layer(12, ¶0043);
a separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) disposed in an intermediate area between the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) and the through-hole(20, ¶0042) of the substrate(41), and comprising:
a first layer(311, ¶0040);
a second layer(312, ¶0040) disposed directly on the first layer(311, ¶0040) and including a conductive material(metal, ¶0040); and
a third layer(313, ¶0047) disposed below the first layer(311, ¶0040), a width of a lower surface of the second layer(312, ¶0040) being greater than a width of an upper surface of the first layer(311, ¶0040);
and
a protective layer(32, ¶0040) disposed directly on the second layer(312, ¶0040) of the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) and comprising a same material(¶0044) as a material of the first electrode(11, ¶0043) of the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043).
Regarding claim 2, Zou teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein a functional layer(12, ¶0043) included in the intermediate layer(12, ¶0043) extends to the intermediate area and comprises a plurality of portions separated from each other in the intermediate area, the plurality of portions of the functional layer(12, ¶0043) comprises:
a first portion overlapping the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) and the protective layer(32, ¶0040); and
a second portion separated from the first portion, and
a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(41) to the first portion of the functional layer(12, ¶0043), is greater than a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(41) to the second portion of the functional layer(12, ¶0043).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111180496 A) in view of Shang et al. (US 2024/0324405 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 3, Zou teaches the display panel of claim 1, but is not relied on to teach the second electrode(13, ¶0043) of the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) extends to the intermediate area and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area and separated from each other, the plurality of portions of the second electrode(13, ¶0043) comprises:
a first portion overlapping the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) and the protective layer(32, ¶0040); and
a second portion separated from the first portion, and
a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(41) to the first portion of the second electrode(13, ¶0043), is greater than a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(41) to the second portion of the second electrode(13, ¶0043).
Shang teaches a display panel(Fig. 4O), wherein the second electrode(90, ¶0088) of the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) extends to the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and separated(¶0088) from each other, the plurality of portions of the second electrode(90, ¶0088) comprises:
a first portion(portion of 90 over 61 ¶0088) overlapping the separator(middle 102, 20, ¶0077, ¶0080) and the protective layer(61, ¶0084); and
a second portion(portion of 90 over 62, ¶0088) separated from the first portion(portion of 90 over 61, ¶0088), and
a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(10) to the first portion(portion of 90 over 61, ¶0088) of the second electrode(90, ¶0088), is greater than a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(10) to the second portion(portion of 90 over 62, ¶0088) of the second electrode(90, ¶0088). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, to so that the second electrode of the light-emitting diode extends to the intermediate area and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area and separated from each other, the plurality of portions of the second electrode comprises: a first portion overlapping the separator and the protective layer; and a second portion separated from the first portion, and a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate to the first portion of the second electrode, is greater than a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate to the second portion of the second electrode, as taught by Shang, in order to improve the encapsulation effect and sever water oxygen intrusion into the channel(¶0088).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111180496 A) in view of Wang et al. (2021/0376288 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 4, Zou teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the protective layer(32, ¶0040) covers an upper surface of the second layer(312, ¶0040) of the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040).
Zou is not relied on to teach the protective layer(32, ¶0040) covers a side surface of the second layer(312, ¶0040) of the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040).
Wang teaches a display panel(Fig. 5) teaches the protective layer(312, ¶0085) covers a side surface(Fig. 5) of the second layer(317, ¶0083) of the separator(36, ¶0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the protective layer covers side surface of the second layer of the separator, as taught by Wang, in order to effectively blocks continued diffusion of water vapor, thereby effectively protecting the display area and the display panel(¶0086).
Claims 8-11 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111180496 A) in view of Huang et al. (2022/0190285 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 8, Zou teaches the display panel of claim 1, further comprising: an encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) disposed on the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043), and
a partition wall(31 closest to area 20, ¶0040) disposed in the intermediate area.
Zou is not relied on to teach the encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer and an organic encapsulation layer.
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(320, 322, ¶0079) and an organic encapsulation layer(321, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the encapsulation layer comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer and an organic encapsulation layer, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 9, Zou teaches the display panel of claim 8, wherein the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) is disposed between the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) and the partition wall(31 closest to area 20, ¶0040).
Zou is not relied on to teach the organic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) overlaps the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the organic encapsulation layer(321, ¶0079) overlaps the separator(23, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the organic encapsulation layer overlaps the separator, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 10, Zou teaches the display panel of claim 8, but is not relied on to teach the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) is disposed between the partition wall(31 closest to area 20, ¶0040) and the through-hole(20, ¶0042) of the substrate(41), and
the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the separator(31, ¶0079) is disposed between the partition wall(29, ¶0079) and the through-hole(20b, Fig. 4, ¶0079) of the substrate(21), and the inorganic encapsulation layer(320, 322, ¶0079) comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer(320, ¶0079) and a second inorganic encapsulation layer(322, ¶0079) which contact each other on the separator(31, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that separator is disposed between the partition wall and the through-hole of the substrate, and the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 11, Zou teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 2) comprising:
a display panel(100) comprising:
a transmissive area(20, ¶0042);
a display area(10, ¶0043) surrounding the transmissive area(20, ¶0042);
a substrate(41) through which a through-hole(20, ¶0042) corresponding to the transmissive area(20, ¶0042) is defined;
a light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) disposed on the substrate(41), the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) comprising:
a first electrode(11, ¶0043);
an intermediate layer(12, ¶0043) on the first electrode(11, ¶0043); and
a second electrode(13, ¶0043) on the intermediate layer(12, ¶0043);
a separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) disposed in an intermediate area between the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) and the through-hole(20, ¶0042) of the substrate(41), and comprising:
a first layer(311, ¶0040);
a second layer(312, ¶0040) disposed directly on the first layer(311, ¶0040) and including a conductive material(metal, ¶0040); and
a third layer(313, ¶0047) disposed below the first layer(311, ¶0040), a width of a lower surface of the second layer(312, ¶0040) is greater than a width of an upper surface of the first layer(311, ¶0040); and
a protective layer(32, ¶0040) disposed directly on the second layer(312, ¶0040) of the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) and comprising a same material(¶0044) as a material of the first electrode(11, ¶0043) of the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043).
Zou is not relied on to teach a component which overlaps the transmissive area(20, ¶0042) of the display panel(100).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 2) wherein a component(not illustrated camera, sensor, ¶0163) which overlaps the transmissive area(20b, ¶0163) of the display panel(2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that a component which overlaps the transmissive area of the display panel, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 17, Zou teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the display panel comprises:
an encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) disposed on the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043), and
a partition wall(31 closest to area 20, ¶0040) disposed in the intermediate area.
Zou is not relied on to teach the encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) and an organic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(320, 322, ¶0079) and an organic encapsulation layer(321, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the encapsulation layer comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer and an organic encapsulation layer, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 18, Zou teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 17, wherein the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) is disposed between the light-emitting diode(11, 12, 13, ¶0043) and the partition wall(31 closest to area 20, ¶0040).
Zou is not relied on to teach the organic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) overlaps the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the organic encapsulation layer(321, ¶0079) overlaps the separator(23, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the organic encapsulation layer overlaps the separator, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 19, Zou teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 18, but is not relied on to teach the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) is disposed between the partition wall(31 closest to area 20, ¶0040) and the through-hole(20, ¶0042) of the substrate(41), and
the inorganic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) and a second inorganic encapsulation layer(46, ¶0039) which contact each other on the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the separator(31, ¶0079) is disposed between the partition wall(29, ¶0079) and the through-hole(20b, Fig. 4, ¶0079) of the substrate(21), and the inorganic encapsulation layer(320, 322, ¶0079) comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer(320, ¶0079) and a second inorganic encapsulation layer(322, ¶0079) which contact each other on the separator(31, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that separator is disposed between the partition wall and the through-hole of the substrate, and the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 20, Zou teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, but is not relied on to teach the component comprises a camera or a sensor.
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 2) wherein the component(not illustrated camera, sensor, ¶0163) comprises a camera(not illustrated camera, ¶0163) or a sensor(not illustrated, sensor, ¶0163). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the component comprises a camera or a sensor, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111180496 A) and Huang et al. (2022/0190285 A1) of record, as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Shang et al. (US 2024/0324405 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 12, Zou, in view of Huang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein a functional layer(12, ¶0043) of the intermediate layer(12, ¶0043) extends to the intermediate area and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area and separated from each other, and
the plurality of portions of the functional layer(12, ¶0043) comprise:
a first portion(portion of 12 over 31) overlapping the separator(31 closest to area 10, ¶0040) and the protective layer(32, ¶0040); and
a second portion(portion of 12 contacting layer 43) separated from the first portion(portion of 12 over 31).
Zou and Huang are not relied on to teach the second electrode(13, ¶0043) extends to the intermediate area and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area and separated from each other.
Shang teaches a display panel(Fig. 4O), wherein the second electrode(90, ¶0088) extends to the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and separated(¶0088) from each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, to so that the second electrode extends to the intermediate area and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area and separated from each other, as taught by Shang, in order to improve the encapsulation effect and sever water oxygen intrusion into the channel(¶0088).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zou et al. (CN 111180496 A) and Huang et al. (2022/0190285 A1) of record, as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Wang et al. (2021/0376288 A1) of record.
Regarding claim 13, Zou in view of Huang, teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the protective layer(32, ¶0040) covers an upper surface and side surface of the second layer(312, ¶0040).
Zou and Huang are not relied on to teach the protective layer(32, ¶0040) covers a side surface of the second layer(312, ¶0040).
Wang teaches a display panel(Fig. 5) teaches the protective layer(312, ¶0085) covers a side surface(Fig. 5) of the second layer(317, ¶0083). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zou, so that the protective layer covers side surface of the second layer, as taught by Wang, in order to effectively blocks continued diffusion of water vapor, thereby effectively protecting the display area and the display panel(¶0086).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 14-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Please see the office action of 6/4/2026 for reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dong et al. (US 2025/0081811 A1) Discloses a display device.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892