DETAILED ACTION
This OA is in response to the claims filled on 10/20/2023 that has been entered, wherein claims1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-12, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shang et al. (US 2024/0324405 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shang teaches a display panel(Fig. 4O) comprising:
a substrate(10) which comprises an upper surface and a lower surface and through which a through-hole(101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) passing through the lower surface from the upper surface is defined;
a light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) disposed on the upper surface of the substrate(10), the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) comprising:
a first electrode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, ¶0086);
a second electrode(90, ¶0088); and
an intermediate layer(80, ¶0088) between the first electrode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, ¶0086) and the second electrode(90, ¶0088); and
a separator(middle 102, ¶0080) disposed in an intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) between the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) and the through-hole(101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) of the substrate(10), and comprising:
a first layer(12, ¶0075);
a second layer(13, ¶0075) on the first layer(12, ¶0075); and
a third layer(11, ¶0075) disposed below the first layer(12, ¶0075), a width of a lower surface of the second layer(13, ¶0075) being greater(¶0081) than a width of an upper surface of the first layer(12, ¶0075); and
a protective layer(61, ¶0084) disposed on the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) and comprising a same material(anode material film layer, ¶0084-86) as a material of the first electrode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, ¶0086) of the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088).
Regarding claim 2, Shang teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein a functional layer(light emitting layer 80, ¶0088) included in the intermediate layer(80, ¶0088) extends to the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and comprises a plurality of portions separated(¶0088) from each other in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074),
the plurality of portions of the functional layer(light emitting layer 80, ¶0088) comprises:
a first portion(portion of 80 over 61, ¶0088) overlapping the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) and the protective layer(61, ¶0084); and
a second portion(portion of 80 over 62, ¶0088) separated from the first portion(portion of 80 over 61, ¶0088), and a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(10) to the first portion(portion of 80 over 61, ¶0088) of the functional layer(light emitting layer 80, ¶0088), is greater than a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(10) to the second portion(portion of 80 over 62, ¶0088) of the functional layer(light emitting layer 80, ¶0088).
Regarding claim 3, Shang teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the second electrode(90, ¶0088) of the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) extends to the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and separated(¶0088) from each other, the plurality of portions of the second electrode(90, ¶0088) comprises:
a first portion(portion of 90 over 61 ¶0088) overlapping the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) and the protective layer(61, ¶0084); and
a second portion(portion of 90 over 62, ¶0088) separated from the first portion(portion of 90 over 61, ¶0088), and
a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(10) to the first portion(portion of 90 over 61, ¶0088) of the second electrode(90, ¶0088), is greater than a vertical distance, from the upper surface of the substrate(10) to the second portion(portion of 90 over 62, ¶0088) of the second electrode(90, ¶0088).
Regarding claim 8, Shang teaches the display panel of claim 1, further comprising:
an encapsulation layer(encapsulation layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) disposed on the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088), the encapsulation layer(encapsulation layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(inorganic layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) and an organic encapsulation layer(organic layer, not illustrated, ¶0090); and
a partition wall(102 that is closest to 101 and between middle 102 and 101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074, ¶0080) disposed in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074).
Regarding claim 9, Shang teaches the display panel of claim 8, wherein the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) is disposed between the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) and the partition wall(102 that is closest to 101 and between middle 102 and 101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074, ¶0080), and the organic encapsulation layer(organic layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) overlaps the separator(102, ¶0080).
Regarding claim 11, Shang teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 40) comprising:
a display panel(Fig. 4A) comprising:
a transmissive area(101, ¶0074);
a display area(AA, ¶0074) surrounding the transmissive area(101, ¶0074);
a substrate(10) through which a through-hole(101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) corresponding to the transmissive area(101, ¶0074) is defined;
a light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) disposed on the substrate(10), the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) comprising:
a first electrode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, ¶0086); a second electrode(90, ¶0088); and
an intermediate layer(80, ¶0088) between the first electrode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, ¶0086) and the second electrode(90, ¶0088);
a separator(middle 102, ¶0080) disposed in an intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) between the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) and the through-hole(101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) of the substrate(10), and comprising:
a first layer(12, ¶0075);
a second layer(13, ¶0075) on the first layer(12, ¶0075); and
a third layer(11, ¶0075) disposed below the first layer(12, ¶0075), a width of a lower surface of the second layer(13, ¶0075) is greater than a width of an upper surface of the first layer(12, ¶0075); and
a protective layer(61, ¶0084) disposed on the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) and comprising a same material(anode material film layer, ¶0084-86) as a material of the first electrode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, ¶0086) of the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088); and
a component(camera or sensor, not illustrated, ¶0061-62) which overlaps the transmissive area(101, ¶0074) of the display panel(Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 12, Shang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein each of a functional layer(light emitting layer 80, ¶0088) and the second electrode(90, ¶0088) of the intermediate layer(80, ¶0088) extends to the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and comprises a plurality of portions disposed in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) and separated from each other, and
the plurality of portions of the functional layer(light emitting layer 80, ¶0088) comprise:
a first portion(portion of 80 over 61, ¶0088) overlapping the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) and the protective layer(61, ¶0084); and
a second portion(portion of 80 over 62, ¶0088) separated from the first portion(portion of 80 over 61, ¶0088).
Regarding claim 17, Shang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the display panel comprises:
an encapsulation layer(encapsulation layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) disposed on the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088), the encapsulation layer(encapsulation layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(inorganic layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) and an organic encapsulation layer(organic layer, not illustrated, ¶0090); and
a partition wall(102 that is closest to 101 and between middle 102 and 101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074, ¶0080) disposed in the intermediate area(DD, Fig. 4A, ¶0074).
Regarding claim 18, Shang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 17, wherein the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) is disposed between the light-emitting diode(anode layer in display region, not illustrated, 80, 90, ¶0086, ¶0088) and the partition wall(102 that is closest to 101 and between middle 102 and 101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074, ¶0080), and the organic encapsulation layer(organic layer, not illustrated, ¶0090) overlaps the separator(102, ¶0080).
Regarding claim 20, Shang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the component(camera or sensor, not illustrated, ¶0061-62) comprises a camera(camera, not illustrated, ¶0061-62) or a sensor(sensor, not illustrated, ¶0061-62).
Claims 1 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 109802052 A).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a display panel(Fig. 4) comprising:
a substrate(11) which comprises an upper surface and a lower surface and through which a through-hole(200, ¶0032) passing through the lower surface from the upper surface is defined;
a light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) disposed on the upper surface of the substrate(11), the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) comprising:
a first electrode(14 in area 100, ¶0032);
a second electrode(12 in area 100, ¶0032); and
an intermediate layer(13 in area 100, ¶0032) between the first electrode(14 in area 100, ¶0032) and the second electrode(12 in area 100, ¶0032); and
a separator(15, ¶0032) disposed in an intermediate area(300, ¶0032) between the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) and the through-hole(200, ¶0032) of the substrate(11), and comprising:
a first layer(152, ¶0032);
a second layer(153, ¶0032) on the first layer(152, ¶0032); and
a third layer(151, ¶0032) disposed below the first layer(152, ¶0032), a width of a lower surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) being greater than a width of an upper surface of the first layer(152, ¶0032); and
a protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) disposed on the separator(15, ¶0032) and comprising a same material(material of 14, ¶0032) as a material of the first electrode(14 in area 100, ¶0032) of the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) covers an upper surface and side surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the display panel of claim 4, wherein the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) extends to continuously cover a part of the lower surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032), a side surface of the first layer(152, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032), and a part of an upper surface of the third layer(151, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the display panel of claim 5, wherein a thickness (thickness of 13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300 above 153, ¶0032, ¶0039) of a first portion(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300 above 153, ¶0032, ¶0039) of the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) disposed on the upper surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032) is greater than a thickness(thickness of 16 in area 300 on lower surface of 153, ¶0032) of a second portion(16 in area 300 on lower surface of 153, ¶0032) of the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) disposed on the lower surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the display panel of claim 5, further comprising
an insulating layer(top layer of 11) below the separator(15, ¶0032),
wherein the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) is in direct contact with a part of an upper surface of the insulating layer(top layer of 11) and overlaps a side surface of the third layer(151, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the display panel of claim 1, further comprising:
an encapsulation layer(50, ¶0039) disposed on the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032), the encapsulation layer(50, ¶0039) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(inorganic layer of 50, ¶0039) and an organic encapsulation layer(organic layer of 50, ¶0039); and
a partition wall(40, ¶0045) disposed in the intermediate area(300, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches the display panel of claim 8, wherein the separator(15, ¶0032) is disposed between the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) and the partition wall(40, ¶0045), and the organic encapsulation layer(organic layer of 50, ¶0039) overlaps the separator(15, ¶0032).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang et al. (US 2024/0324405 A1) in view of Wang et al. (2021/0376288 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shang teaches the display panel of claim 1, wherein the protective layer(61, ¶0084) covers an upper surface of the second layer(13, ¶0075) of the separator(102, ¶0080).
Shang is not relied on to teach wherein the protective layer(61, ¶0084) covers side surface of the second layer(13, ¶0075) of the separator(102, ¶0080).
Wang teaches a display panel(Fig. 5) teaches the protective layer(312, ¶0085) covers side surface(Fig. 5) of the second layer(317, ¶0083) of the separator(36, ¶0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shang, so that the protective layer covers side surface of the second layer of the separator, as taught by Shang, in order to effectively blocks continued diffusion of water vapor, thereby effectively protecting the display area and the display panel(¶0086).
Regarding claim 13, Shang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the protective layer(61, ¶0084) covers an upper surface and side surface of the second layer(13, ¶0075).
Shang is not relied on to teach wherein the protective layer(61, ¶0084) covers side surface of the second layer(13, ¶0075) of the separator(102, ¶0080).
Wang teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 5) teaches the protective layer(312, ¶0085) covers side surface(Fig. 5) of the second layer(317, ¶0083) of the separator(36, ¶0086). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shang, so that the protective layer covers side surface of the second layer of the separator, as taught by Shang, in order to effectively blocks continued diffusion of water vapor, thereby effectively protecting the display area and the display panel(¶0086).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shang et al. (US 2024/0324405 A1) in view of Huang et al. (2022/0190285 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Shang teaches the display panel of claim 8, but is not relied on to teach the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) is disposed between the partition wall and the through-hole(101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) of the substrate(10), and
the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator(102, ¶0080).
Huang teaches a display panel(Fig. 6) wherein the separator(31, ¶0079) is disposed between the partition wall(29, ¶0079) and the through-hole(20b, Fig. 4, ¶0079) of the substrate(21), and the inorganic encapsulation layer(320, 322, ¶0079) comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer(320, ¶0079) and a second inorganic encapsulation layer(322, ¶0079) which contact each other on the separator(31, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shang, so that separator is disposed between the partition wall and the through-hole of the substrate, and the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Regarding claim 19, Shang teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 18, but is not relied on to teach the separator(middle 102, ¶0080) is disposed between the partition wall and the through-hole(101, Fig. 4A, ¶0074) of the substrate(10), and
the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator(102, ¶0080).
Huang teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 6) wherein the separator(31, ¶0079) is disposed between the partition wall(29, ¶0079) and the through-hole(20b, Fig. 4, ¶0079) of the substrate(21), and the inorganic encapsulation layer(320, 322, ¶0079) comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer(320, ¶0079) and a second inorganic encapsulation layer(322, ¶0079) which contact each other on the separator(31, ¶0079). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shang, so that separator is disposed between the partition wall and the through-hole of the substrate, and the inorganic encapsulation layer comprises a first inorganic encapsulation layer and a second inorganic encapsulation layer which contact each other on the separator, as taught by Huang, in order to avoid packaging failure caused by the materials of the organic packaging layer flowing into the through-hole(¶0120).
Claims 11, 13-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 109802052 A) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2022/0077423 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 4) comprising:
a display panel(Fig. 1) comprising:
a transmissive area(200, ¶0032);
a display area(100, ¶0032) surrounding the transmissive area(200, ¶0032);
a substrate(11) through which a through-hole(200, ¶0032) corresponding to the transmissive area(200, ¶0032) is defined;
a light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) disposed on the substrate(11), the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) comprising:
a first electrode(14 in area 100, ¶0032);
a second electrode(12 in area 100, ¶0032); and
an intermediate layer(13 in area 100, ¶0032) between the first electrode(14 in area 100, ¶0032) and the second electrode(12 in area 100, ¶0032);
a separator(15, ¶0032) disposed in an intermediate area(300, ¶0032) between the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) and the through-hole(200, ¶0032) of the substrate(11), and comprising:
a first layer(152, ¶0032);
a second layer(153, ¶0032) on the first layer(152, ¶0032); and
a third layer(151, ¶0032) disposed below the first layer(152, ¶0032), a width of a lower surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) is greater than a width of an upper surface of the first layer(152, ¶0032); and
a protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) disposed on the separator(15, ¶0032) and comprising a same material(material of 14, ¶0032) as a material of the first electrode(14 in area 100, ¶0032) of the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032).
Li is not relied on to teach a component which overlaps the transmissive area(200, ¶0032) of the display panel(Fig. 1).
Zhang teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 2B) comprising a component(210, ¶0057) which overlaps the transmissive area(221, ¶0057) of the display panel(200, ¶0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li, to include a component which overlaps the transmissive area of the display panel, as taught by Zhang, in order to realize the functions of image acquisition, face recognition, infrared sensing, etc. through the transmissive area(¶0057).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) covers an upper surface and side surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 13, wherein the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) continuously covers a part of the lower surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032), a side surface of the first layer(152, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032), and a part of an upper surface of the third layer(151, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein a thickness (thickness of 13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300 above 153, ¶0032, ¶0039) of a first portion(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300 above 153, ¶0032, ¶0039) of the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) disposed on the upper surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032) is greater than a thickness(thickness of 16 in area 300 on lower surface of 153, ¶0032) of a second portion(16 in area 300 on lower surface of 153, ¶0032) of the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) disposed on the lower surface of the second layer(153, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 14, wherein the display panel further comprises an insulating layer(top layer of 11) below the separator(15, ¶0032),
wherein the protective layer(13, 14, 16, 20 in area 300, ¶0032, ¶0039) is in direct contact with a part of an upper surface of the insulating layer(top layer of 11) and overlaps a side surface of the third layer(151, ¶0032) of the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, wherein the display panel comprises:
an encapsulation layer(50, ¶0039) disposed on the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032), the encapsulation layer(50, ¶0039) comprising an inorganic encapsulation layer(inorganic layer of 50, ¶0039) and an organic encapsulation layer(organic layer of 50, ¶0039); and
a partition wall(40, ¶0045) disposed in the intermediate area(300, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 17, wherein the separator(15, ¶0032) is disposed between the light-emitting diode(12, 13, 14 in area 100, ¶0032) and the partition wall(40, ¶0045), and the organic encapsulation layer(organic layer of 50, ¶0039) overlaps the separator(15, ¶0032).
Regarding claim 20, Li teaches the electronic apparatus of claim 11, but is not relied on to teach the component comprises a camera or a sensor.
Zhang teaches an electronic apparatus(Fig. 2B) wherein the component(210, ¶0057) comprises a camera or a sensor(210, ¶0057). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Li, so that the component comprises a camera or a sensor, as taught by Zhang, in order to realize the functions of image acquisition, face recognition, infrared sensing, etc. through the transmissive area(¶0057).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (US 2022/0344421 A1) Discloses a display panel.
Hu et al. (US 2022/0310724 A1) Discloses a display panel.
/LAURA M DYKES/Examiner, Art Unit 2892