DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (U.S. Pub #2017/0200915).
With respect to claim 1, Lee teaches a display device comprising:
a display panel (Fig. 4B, DP) including a display area (Fig. 3A, DA), in which a plurality of pixels are arranged, and a peripheral area (Fig. 3A, NDA adjacent to the display area;
a polarizing member (Fig. 4B, POL and Paragraph 50) disposed on the display panel;
a cover window (Fig. 4B, WD) disposed on the polarizing member; and
an adhesive layer (Fig. 4B, AD2) attaching the polarizing member and the cover window to each other, wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation rate in a range of about 0.36 to about 0.45 (Paragraph 124 and 127).
With respect to claim 11, Lee teaches that the adhesive layer includes an optically clear adhesive (Fig. 4B, the adhesive is transparent to the light emission of the display DP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Eo (U.S. Pub #2019/0173050).
With respect to claim 12, Lee does not teach a light blocking layer disposed on a lower surface of the cover window and overlapping a part of the peripheral area.
Eo teaches a light blocking layer (Fig. 1, FR and Paragraph 101) disposed on a lower surface of the cover window and overlapping a part of the peripheral area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide a light blocking layer on the lower surface of the window of Lee as taught by Eo in order to block light leaking from the side surface of the assembly (Paragraph 101).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the best prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest
in claim 13:
wherein the adhesive layer has a stress relaxation rate in a range of about 0.36 to about 0.45, a creep value of about 6% to about 7%, and a modulus in a range of about 0.15 Mpa to about 0.3 Mpa at a room temperature.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN P SANDVIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812