DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the adhesion layer" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, in the last line of claim 1, it is unclear whether “an adhesion layer” refers to the same adhesion layer in line 5.
Claims 2-21 are indefinite because the depend from indefinite independent claim 1.
For the purpose examination, claim 1 will be interpreted as follows:
(As interpreted) A method of forming a structure comprising a photoresist underlayer, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a substrate within a reaction chamber;
forming an underlayer on a surface of the substrate;
selecting a photoresist to deposit onto an adhesion layer;
manipulating process conditions for use during the step of forming the adhesion layer to tune properties of the adhesion layer based on the selected photoresist; and
using a cyclical deposition process, forming the adhesion layer on a surface of the underlayer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10, 17 and 19-21 (all as interpreted) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sun et al. (US 2021/0013037 A1; hereinafter, “Sun”).
Regarding claim 1 (as interpreted):
Sun discloses a method of forming a structure comprising a photoresist underlayer, the method comprising the steps of:
providing a substrate 102 (Fig. 1 and [0064]) within a reaction chamber [0037];
forming an underlayer 104 (Fig. 1 and [0065]) on a surface of the substrate;
selecting a photoresist 108 (Fig. 1 and [0063]) to deposit onto an adhesion layer 106 (Fig. 1, [0070] and note [0009], wherein underlayers are sometimes referred to as adhesion layers);
manipulating process conditions for use during the step of forming the adhesion layer to tune properties of the adhesion layer based on the selected photoresist [0070 and 0092]; and
using a cyclical deposition process [0084], forming the adhesion layer on a surface of the underlayer.
Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated by Sun.
Regarding claims 2-4, 10, 17 and 19-21 (all as interpreted):
Sun further discloses:
re claim 2, the method of claim 1, wherein the photoresist underlayer 104 comprises one or more of silicon oxide [0065] (e.g., native oxide on silicon substrate [0064]), silicon oxycarbide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, silicon carbon nitride, silicon oxygen carbon nitride, metal oxide, metal nitride, metal oxycarbide, metal oxynitride, metal oxygen carbon nitride, and metal carbon nitride;
re claim 3, the method of claim 1, further comprising a step of forming a photoresist layer 108 (Fig. 1 and [0074]) overlying and in contact with the adhesion layer, wherein the photoresist layer comprises extreme ultraviolet (EUV) lithography photoresist;
re claim 4, the method of claim 1, comprising a step of forming a photoresist layer 108 (Fig. 1) overlying and in contact with the adhesion layer 106, wherein the photoresist layer comprises a chemically amplified resist [0074];
re claim 10, the method of claim 1, wherein the process conditions [0092] are selected from one or more of reaction chamber temperature, reaction chamber pressure, gap between electrodes, precursor flowrate, reactant flowrate, precursor dilution, reactant dilution, precursor purge time, number of deposition cycles plasma power, and plasma power pulse time;
re claim 17, the method of claim 1, wherein the cyclical deposition process comprises a plasma-enhanced deposition process [0084];
re claim 19, the method of claim 1, wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer is greater than 0 nm and less than 2 nm [0025] (i.e., less than 5nm);
re claim 20, a structure 600 (Fig. 6, [0073]) formed according to the method of claim 1; and
re claim 21, A system for forming an adhesion layer 106 (Fig. 1), the system comprising:
a reaction chamber [0037];
a silicon precursor source fluidly coupled to the reaction chamber [0010];
an inert gas source ([0084], last line) fluidly coupled to the reaction chamber; and
a controller configured to perform the method according to claim 1 (i.e., a controller is inherent to the deposition system [0092]).
Therefore, Sun anticipates 1-4, 10, 17 and 19-21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-9, 11-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Ran et al. (US 2023/0340663 A1; hereinafter, “Ran”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6:
Sun anticipates claim 1 but does not disclose providing an oxygen-fee reactant into the reaction chamber; however, it is noted Sun discloses the adhesion layer 106 comprises SiOC [0069].
Ran teaches a method of forming a silicon oxycarbide layer by providing an oxygen free reactant [0010].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sun by incorporating an oxygen free reactant in order to acquire a low-k adhesion layer.
Regarding claims 7-9, 11-16 and 18:
re claim 7, Ran discloses wherein the oxygen-free reactant comprises one or more of argon [0010], helium, neon, krypton, xenon and hydrogen;
re claims 8-9, Ran discloses the oxygen-free reactant is provided continuously [0026, 0027] during one or more cycles of the cyclical deposition process;
re claim 11, Sun discloses the underlayer 104 can be silicon [0065], wherein such a layer would require a silicon precursor;
re claim 12, Ran discloses the silicon precursor comprises a molecule as recited [0039];
re claims 13-15 and 18, Although Ran does not explicitly disclose the formula in claim 3, Ran discloses two silicon-oxygen bonds, two silicon-carbon bonds, carbon-carbon bond (abstract), and the silicon precursor does not comprise nitrogen [0039] (second listed backbone); accordingly, these claims are deemed obvious because Ran discloses forming a silicon oxycarbide layer; and
re claim 11, Sun discloses at least tetramethylcyclotetrasiloxane [0010].
Therefore, claims 7-9, 11-16 and 18 are rendered obvious by Sun (in view of Ran).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 disclose methods of forming and treating photoresist underlayers, wherein the methods have some similarity to that of the current invention.
/LEX H MALSAWMA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892