DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-14 and 21-25 are pending. Claims 6 and 14 are withdrawn. Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 21-25 are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the temperature range from greater than 400 ºC to 650 ºC. However, the Examiner disagrees and notes that Bajaj specifically recites a range of 100-600 ºC which overlaps with the claimed range. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided evidence of unexpected results/criticality for the claimed range. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that the claimed range would have been obvious over Bajaj’s overlapping range given that overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5 and 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0308685).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-13, Bajaj teaches a process comprising: providing a substrate comprising an exposed dielectric material and an exposed silicon-based material (claim 9); pre-cleaning the substrate with hydrofluoric acid (claims 9 and claim 12); depositing a SAM (comparable to a blocking layer) on the exposed dielectric material using a solution including a molecule, such as methyltrichlorosilane (which has the formula I) (claims 9, 13 and 14); epitaxially and selectively depositing a silicon-containing material layer on the exposed silicon-based material (claim 9); and removing the SAM/blocking layer (claim 9). Bajaj additionally teaches that the SAM/blocking layer has one or more pinholes formed therein after depositing the silicon-containing material (claim 2) and exposing the substrate to a solution of the methyltrichlorosilane to repair the one or more pinholes (0041 and claim 3). Bajaj also teaches depositing the silicon-containing material layer at a temperature between 100-600 ºC (0037).
Bajaj fails to explicitly teach depositing at a temperature of greater than 400 ºC to 650 ºC or 410-650 ºC. However, Bajaj does teach a temperature range overlapping with the claimed range (see above). Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. Therefore, Bajaj makes obvious claims 1-5 and 7-13.
2. Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj in view of Wang et al. (“In vitro stability study of organosilane self-assemble monolayers and multilayers”).
Regarding claims 23 and 24, Bajaj makes obvious claim 4 (see above), including that the blocking layer may be formed from a SAM of octadecyltrichlorosilane (claim 5), but fails to teach the compound of Formula I wherein z is 1 and Y is alkoxy. However, Wang teaches that both octadecyltrichlorosilane and propyltrimethoxysilane (a compound where Y is alkoxy and z is 1) can be used as compounds for forming a SAM (abstract and Figure 9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajaj’s process by using propytrimethoxysilane in place of octadecyltrichlorosilane. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Wang teaches that both compounds can form SAMs and that the propyltrimethoxysilane formed monolayer is more stable than that of octadecyltrichlorosilane (see Figure 9).
3. Claim(s) 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj in view of Rouviere et al. (“Silane-Based SAMs Deposited by Spin Coating as a Versatile Alternative Process to Solution Immersion”).
Regarding claims 22-25, Bajaj makes obvious claim 4 (see above), including that the blocking layer may be formed from a SAM of a silane according to Formula 1 (see above), but fails to teach the compound of Formula I wherein X is an aralkyl, z is 1 and Y is alkoxy. However, Rouviere teaches a compound
(Scheme 2) which meets the limitations of Formula I, wherein z is 1, Y is alkoxy and X is an aralkyl. Additionally, Rouviere teaches the use of this compound for forming SAMs by spin coating (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajaj’s process by using Rouviere’s compound and depositing by spin coating for formation of the SAM. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Rouviere teaches that spin coating their silanes is a more versatile, fast and convenient alternative to the conventional process and provides robust SAMs (see abstract).
4. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj in view of Smith et al. (“Study of the Packing Density and Molecular Orientation of Bimolecular Self-Assembled Monolayers of Aromatic and Aliphatic Organosilanes on Silica”).
Regarding claims 21, Bajaj makes obvious claim 4 (see above), including that the blocking layer may be formed from a SAM of octadecyltrichlorosilane (claim 5), but fails to teach the inclusion of a compound of Formula I where X is aryl. However, Smith teaches that both octadecyltrichlorosilane and phenyltrichlorosilane (a compound where X is aryl) can be used together as compounds for forming a SAM (Figure 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bajaj’s process by including an aryl substituted silane, such as phenyltrichlorosilane in combination with octadecyltrichlorosilane. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Smith teaches that the combination allows for greater tunability of the deposited SAM (see Conclusions section).
Conclusion
Claims 1-14 and 21-25 are pending.
Claims 6 and 14 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-5, 7-13 and 21-25 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
August 27, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717