DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 6 and 14-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species 1 and Group II, Species 1 in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden as a search for one of the species will find art for the other species. This is not found persuasive because in terms of depositing a method that deposits using gas will generally not disclose depositing by solution as these often require vastly different processes, temperatures and other process conditions. Additionally, there are numerous processes of cleaning and relevant art is not likely to include all means of cleaning and particularly will not likely include completely different cleaning processes, such as solution based and plasma based. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that there is a search burden.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6 and 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 3/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 4, 5, 12 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4 and 12, the formula I has (1-z) units of Y present in the molecule, wherein z is 1-3. This formula therefore includes 0 to -2 units of Y in the molecule. This is indefinite as it is impossible for there to be negative Y units. Therefore, claims 4 and 12 are indefinite. Claims 5 and 13 depend from either claim 4 or 12 and are indefinite for the same reasons. For examination purposes, the formula has been interpreted as
as noted on page 4 of Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8 and 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bajaj et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0308685).
Regarding claims 1-5, 7, 8 and 10-13, Bajaj teaches a process comprising: providing a substrate comprising an exposed dielectric material and an exposed silicon-based material (claim 9); pre-cleaning the substrate with hydrofluoric acid (claims 9 and claim 12); depositing a SAM (comparable to a blocking layer) on the exposed dielectric material using a solution including a molecule, such as methyltrichlorosilane (which has the formula I) (claims 9, 13 and 14); epitaxially and selectively depositing a silicon-containing material layer on the exposed silicon-based material (claim 9); and removing the SAM/blocking layer (claim 9). Bajaj additionally teaches that the SAM/blocking layer has one or more pinholes formed therein after depositing the silicon-containing material (claim 2) and exposing the substrate to a solution of the methyltrichlorosilane to repair the one or more pinholes (0041 and claim 3). Bajaj teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1-5, 7, 8 and 10-13; therefore, Bajaj anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bajaj.
Regarding claim 9, Bajaj teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach the deposition performed at a temperature range from 400-650 ºC. However, Bajaj does teach the deposition performed at a temperature range of 400 ºC or lower (claim 1, and note that the range disclosed by Bajaj overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range). Therefore, Bajaj makes obvious claim 9. Note that overlapping ranges has been held as prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 6 and 14-20 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-5 and 7-13 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
April 2, 2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717