Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW112110003, filed on 03/17/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted has been considered by the examiner.
Note: Independent claims are rejected two or three times below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kimura (WO 2006123772).
6. Regarding claim 1, Kimura teaches An universal probe card [Figures 1-24, a probe card is shown, see Abstract], comprising: a plurality of probes, configured to contact and test a plurality of different patterns to be tested, wherein each of the plurality of different patterns to be tested includes a plurality of portions to be tested, and a pitch between the plurality of probes is a greatest common factor of pitches between the plurality of portions to be tested in the plurality of different patterns to be tested [Figures 1-24, plurality of probes 32 to contact and test different patterns 7, each pattern including portions to be tested and a pitch between probes having a greatest common factor is shown].
7. Regarding claim 2, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of probes are arranged in an array, and have a single pitch [Figures 1-24, probes 32 are arranged in an array having a single pitch].
8. Regarding claim 3, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of probes are arranged in a staggered manner [Figures 1-24, probes 32 are arranged in a staggered manner].
9. Regarding claim 4, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of probes comprise a plurality of first probes and a plurality of second probes, the plurality of first probes are arranged in an array, and wherein one of the plurality of second probes is located at a central point of four of the plurality of first probes closest to the one of the plurality of second probe [Figures 1-24, see probe arrangement].
10. Regarding claim 5, Kimura teaches wherein all of the plurality of first probes have a single pitch [Figures 1-24, see probes 32].
11. Regarding claim 6, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of patterns to be tested are respectively located on a plurality of separated elements to be tested, and the plurality of portions to be tested are bonding pads or bumps [Figures 1-24, see elements pattern 7].
12. Regarding claim 7, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of patterns to be tested are located on a same apparatus to be tested, and the plurality of portions to be tested are bonding pads or bumps [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
13. Regarding claim 8, Kimura teaches An universal probe card, configured to test a plurality of different elements to be tested [Figures 1-24, a probe card is taught], and comprising: a probe holder, defining a plurality of accommodating holes, wherein a pitch between the plurality of accommodating holes is a greatest common factor of pitches between a plurality of portions to be tested of the plurality of different elements to be tested [Figures 1-24, a probe card 10 is shown, a probe holder 30 defining holes 31H is shown, a pitch between the plurality of holes is a greatest common factor of pitches between portions to be tested of different elements/contact pads 7].
14. Regarding claim 9, Kimura teaches further comprising: a plurality of probes, configured to contact the plurality of elements to be tested, wherein at least one group of the plurality of probes are respectively located in at least one group of the plurality of accommodating holes [Figures 1-24, probes 32 to contact elements 7 to be tested, the probes 32 are located in accommodating holes 31H].
15. Regarding claim 10, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of probes are disposed in all of the plurality of accommodating holes [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
16. Regarding claim 11, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of probes are not disposed in all of the plurality of accommodating holes [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
17. Regarding claim 12, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of accommodating holes are arranged in an array, and have a single pitch [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
18. Regarding claim 13, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of accommodating holes are arranged in a staggered manner [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
19. Regarding claim 14, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of accommodating holes comprise a plurality of first accommodating holes and a plurality of second accommodating holes, the plurality of first accommodating holes are arranged in an array, and one of the plurality of second accommodating holes is located at a central point of four of the plurality of accommodating holes closest to the one of the plurality of second accommodating holes [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
20. Regarding claim 15, Kimura teaches wherein all of the plurality of first accommodating holes have a single pitch [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
21. Regarding claim 16, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of elements to be tested are a plurality of separated elements, and the plurality of portions to be tested are bonding pads or bumps [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
22. Regarding claim 17, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of elements to be tested are located on a same apparatus to be tested, and the plurality of portions to be tested are bonding pads or bumps [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
23. Regarding claim 18, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of accommodating holes extend through the probe holder [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
24. Regarding claim 19, Kimura teaches wherein each of the plurality of accommodating holes includes a first portion and a second portion, and a width of the first portion is different from a width of the second portion [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
25. Regarding claim 20, Kimura teaches wherein the width of the first portion is less than the width of the second portion, and a part of a probe is inserted in and fixed to the first portion.
26. Regarding claim 21, Kimura teaches wherein the width of the first portion is less than the width of the second portion, and a part of a probe is inserted in the first portion and is withdrawable [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
27. Regarding claim 22, Kimura teaches further comprising: a circuit board, configured to be connected to the plurality of probes for electrical test [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
28. Regarding claim 23, Kimura teaches A testing method [Figures 1-24, a testing method is taught], comprising: providing a plurality of elements to be tested, wherein the plurality of elements to be tested have a plurality of different patterns to be tested, and each of the plurality of patterns to be tested has a plurality of portions to be tested; providing an universal probe card, wherein the universal probe card comprises a probe holder and a plurality of probes, the probe holder defines a plurality of accommodating holes, a pitch between the plurality of accommodating holes is determined by the pitches between the plurality of portions to be tested in the plurality of different patterns to be tested, and at least one group of the plurality of probes are respectively located in at least one group of the plurality of accommodating holes; and contacting at least one of the plurality of elements to be tested by using the at least one group of the plurality of probes [Figures 1-24, elements to be tested 7 in a pattern shown, probe card shown comprising a probe holder 30, probes 32 shown, accommodation holes shown, a pitch between accommodation holes 31H shown and contact between elements and probes shown] .
29. Regarding claim 24, Kimura teaches wherein the pitch between the plurality of accommodating holes is a greatest common factor of the pitches between the plurality of portions to be tested of the plurality of different elements to be tested [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
30. Regarding claim 25, Kimura teaches wherein the plurality of accommodating holes are arranged in an array [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
31. Regarding claim 26, Kimura teaches wherein the at least one group of the probes are distributed corresponding to the plurality of portions to be tested of the plurality of patterns to be tested of at least one of the plurality of elements to be tested [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
32. Regarding claim 27, Kimura teaches wherein providing the universal probe card further comprises: plugging/unplugging the plurality of probes according to the plurality of portions to be tested in the plurality of patterns to be tested of at least one of the plurality of elements to be tested [Figures 1-24, the arrangement is shown].
33. Claims 1 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kimoto (US 2010/0026327).
34. Regarding claim 1, Kimoto teaches An universal probe card [Figures 1-15, a probe card is shown, see Abstract], comprising: a plurality of probes, configured to contact and test a plurality of different patterns to be tested, wherein each of the plurality of different patterns to be tested includes a plurality of portions to be tested, and a pitch between the plurality of probes is a greatest common factor of pitches between the plurality of portions to be tested in the plurality of different patterns to be tested [Figures 1-15, plurality of probes 715 to contact and test different patterns 712a, 712b, each pattern including portions to be tested and a pitch between probes having a greatest common factor is shown].
35. Regarding claim 23, Kimoto teaches A testing method [Figures 1-15, a testing method is taught], comprising: providing a plurality of elements to be tested, wherein the plurality of elements to be tested have a plurality of different patterns to be tested, and each of the plurality of patterns to be tested has a plurality of portions to be tested; providing an universal probe card, wherein the universal probe card comprises a probe holder and a plurality of probes, the probe holder defines a plurality of accommodating holes, a pitch between the plurality of accommodating holes is determined by the pitches between the plurality of portions to be tested in the plurality of different patterns to be tested, and at least one group of the plurality of probes are respectively located in at least one group of the plurality of accommodating holes; and contacting at least one of the plurality of elements to be tested by using the at least one group of the plurality of probes [Figures 1-15, elements to be tested 11a, 11b, 11c in a pattern shown, probe card shown comprising a probe holder 5, probes 3/30a, 30b, 30c shown, accommodation holes 54 shown, a pitch between accommodation holes 54 shown and contact between elements and probes shown] .
36. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Kimoto Isao (JP 2014182120). (“K Isao”).
37. Regarding claim 1, K Isao teaches An universal probe card [Figures 1-27, a probe card is shown, see Abstract], comprising: a plurality of probes, configured to contact and test a plurality of different patterns to be tested, wherein each of the plurality of different patterns to be tested includes a plurality of portions to be tested, and a pitch between the plurality of probes is a greatest common factor of pitches between the plurality of portions to be tested in the plurality of different patterns to be tested [Figures 1-27, plurality of probes 110, 150 to contact and test different patterns 101, 102, 103, 104, 105, each pattern including portions to be tested and a pitch between probes having a greatest common factor is shown].
38. Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Vinh (US 5,952,843).
39. Regarding claim 8, Vinh teaches An universal probe card, configured to test a plurality of different elements to be tested [Figures 1-7, a probe card is taught], and comprising: a probe holder, defining a plurality of accommodating holes, wherein a pitch between the plurality of accommodating holes is a greatest common factor of pitches between a plurality of portions to be tested of the plurality of different elements to be tested [Figures 1-7, a probe card 19 is shown, a probe holder 20/21 defining holes 22, 26 is shown, a pitch between the plurality of holes is a greatest common factor of pitches between portions to be tested of different elements/contact pads].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mardi et al. (US 7,285,973), Figures 1-6 teaches a probe card, a tester, die to be tested, probes, accommodation holes and pads for testing.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858