DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-4, 9-14, and 18-20 in the reply filed on 02/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-8 and 15-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-14, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et. al., U.S. Pat. Pub. 2021/0036087, hereafter Kwak.
Regarding claim 1, Kwak discloses (Figs 4, 5A, 5B, 6, 8, 10-11) a display device (title) comprising:
a substrate [100] having a non-rectangular display area [DA] (see Fig. 5A);
a plurality of pixels [PC-U] disposed in the display area [DA] and disposed in a plurality of pixel columns (vertical columns of pixels shown in Fig. 5A) extending along a first direction (vertically) and a plurality of pixel rows (horizontal rows of pixels [PC-U]) extending along a second direction (horizontally) crossing the first direction; and
a compensation pattern [CLM] disposed adjacent to a pixel disposed in an uppermost pixel row among the plurality of pixels extending in the first direction (along virtual line [VL1]).
Regarding claim 2, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 10) wherein the compensation pattern [CLM] includes: a first metal pattern [510] disposed on the substrate [100]; and a second metal pattern [520] disposed on the first metal pattern [510], wherein a first compensation capacitor is formed in an area where the first metal pattern [510] and the second metal pattern [520] overlap each other.
Regarding claim 3, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 4) wherein, the plurality of pixels [PC-U] includes a first transistor [TFT1] and a second transistor [TFT2], wherein the first transistor [TFT1] includes a first active pattern [AS], a first gate pattern [GE1], a first source electrode [S1], and a first drain electrode [D1] (par. [0103]), and wherein
the first metal pattern [510] includes a same material as the first gate pattern (par. [0163]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 4, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 4) further comprising: a capacitor electrode pattern [CE1], [CE2] overlapping the first gate pattern [GE1], wherein,
a storage capacitor [Cst] is formed in an area where the capacitor electrode pattern [CE2] and the first gate pattern [GE1] overlap each other, and wherein
the second metal pattern [520] includes a same material as the capacitor electrode pattern. (par. [0164]).
Regarding claim 9, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 6) wherein the compensation pattern [CLM1], [CLM2], [CLM3] is disposed to correspond to each of the plurality of pixel columns [PC1]-[PC3].
Regarding claim 10, Kwak further discloses (Figs 7A, B, 8) further comprising:
a plurality of data lines [DL] connected to the plurality of pixels located in a corresponding pixel column [PC1], [PC2], [PC3], extending in the first direction (vertically), and spaced apart from each other in the second direction (horizontal, see Fig. 8, which is a layout),
wherein each of the plurality of data lines [DL] has a different internal capacitance, and wherein the compensation pattern [CLM1-3] provides a compensation capacitance for compensating for a deviation in an internal capacitance between the plurality of data lines [DL] (par. [0139]).
Regarding claim 11, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 15, par. [0183]) wherein the compensation capacitance increases as a distance of a corresponding pixel column from a virtual line passing through a center of the display area and extending in the first direction increases.
Regarding claim 12, Kwak discloses (Figs 4, 5A, 5B, 6, 8, 10-11) a display device (title) comprising:
a substrate [100] having a non-rectangular display area [DA] (Fig. 5A);
a plurality of pixels [PC-U] disposed in the display area [DA] and disposed in a plurality of pixel columns (vertical columns of pixels shown in Fig. 5A) extending along a first direction (vertically) and a plurality of pixel rows (horizontal rows of pixels [PC-U]) extending along a second direction (horizontally) crossing the first direction; and
a compensation pattern [CLM] disposed adjacent to a pixel disposed in an uppermost pixel row among the plurality of pixels extending in the first direction (along virtual line [VL1]).
a compensation pattern [CLM] including a first sub compensation pattern [CLM1] disposed adjacent to a first sub pixel [PC1] included in a pixel disposed in an uppermost pixel row among the plurality of pixels in the first direction (along virtual line [VL1]) and a second sub compensation pattern [CLM2] disposed adjacent to a second sub pixel [PC2] included in the pixel and having an internal capacitance different from an internal capacitance of the first sub pixel (par. [0183]).
Regarding claim 13, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 15, par. [0183]) wherein each of the first sub compensation pattern and the second sub compensation pattern provides a different compensation capacitance.
Regarding claim 14, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 4) wherein, the plurality of pixels [PC-U] includes a first transistor [TFT1] and a second transistor [TFT2], wherein the first transistor [TFT1] includes a first active pattern [AS], a first gate pattern [GE1], a first source electrode [S1], and a first drain electrode [D1] (par. [0103]), and wherein
the compensation pattern includes:
a first metal pattern [510] disposed on the substrate [100]; and
a second metal pattern [520] disposed on the first metal pattern [510],
wherein a first compensation capacitor [CLM] is formed in an area where the first metal pattern [510] and the second metal pattern [520] overlap each other, and
wherein the first metal pattern [510] includes a same material as the first gate pattern (par. [0163]-[0165]).
Regarding claim 18, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 4) wherein the compensation pattern [CLM1]-[CLM2] is disposed to correspond to each pixel column [PC1]-[PC3].
Regarding claim 19, Kwak further discloses (Figs 7,8)
19. The display device of claim 18, further comprising:
a plurality of data lines [DL] connected the plurality of pixels [PCn] located in a corresponding pixel column, extending in the first direction(vertically) , and spaced apart from each other in the second
direction (horizontally),
wherein each of the plurality of data lines has a different internal capacitance (due to different size), and wherein the compensation pattern provides a compensation capacitance for compensating for a deviation of the internal capacitance between the plurality of data lines [DL] (see Figs 7A, 7B, par. [0139].
Regarding claim 20, Kwak further discloses (Fig. 15, par. [0183]) wherein the compensation capacitance increases as a distance of a corresponding pixel column from a virtual line passing through a center of the display area and extending in the first direction increases (the area of capacitor electrodes increases, so the capacitance increases, all other things being equal).
Conclusion
/VICTOR V BARZYKIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893