CTNF 18/387,619 CTNF 88620 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. 07-34-01 Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-03 AIA The term “ about ” in claim 12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ about ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The thickness range of the barrier layer is rendered indefinite by the term “about” . 07-36 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. 07-36-01 AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 13 recites “The method of claim 12…the multilayer photoresist film stack ranges between 2 nm and 35 nm”. However, claim 12 recites “the EUV enhancement layer has a thickness ranging between 0.5 nm and 5 nm”, “the first photoresist layer…has a thickness ranging between 1 nm and 15 nm”, “the barrier layer…has a thickness ranging between about one monolayer to less than 2 nm”, and “the second photoresist layer…has a thickness ranging between 1 nm and 15 nm”. Thus, the minimum thickness for the multilayer photoresist film stack must be at least 4.5 nm . Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim (s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Han et al. (U.S. 2024/0319603) . Han et al. teaches referring now to FIGS. 3A-3E, a series of cross-sectional illustrations depicting a process and structure 300 for patterning a substrate is shown. In an embodiment, the process shown in FIGS. 3A-3E may utilize a dry develop process for the metal-oxo layer 310 [0037]; referring now to FIG. 3A, a cross-sectional illustration of a structure 300 with a substrate 301 and a metal-oxo resist 310 is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In an embodiment, the substrate 301 may be any suitable substrate that is to be patterned with a hybrid resist system. While shown as a single layer, it is to be appreciated that the substrate 301 may include multiple layers, one or more of which may be hardmask layers (underlayer) [0038]; in one embodiment, the metal-oxo resist 310 may comprise tin or any other suitable metal centers. The ligands may also be modulated through a thickness of the metal-oxo resist 310 [0039]; Referring now to FIG. 3B, a cross-sectional illustration of the structure 300 after a CAR 320 is applied is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In an embodiment, the CAR 320 may be applied with a spin coating process. However, due to the treatment of the metal-oxo resist 310, the solvent used for the spin coating does not negatively impact the metal-oxo resist 310. This allows for existing CARs 320 to be used without requiring reformulation. Referring now to FIG. 3C, a cross-sectional illustration of the structure 300 after the CAR 320 is exposed and developed is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In an embodiment, the CAR 320 may be exposed with EUV radiation. The EUV radiation results in a solubility switch in the CAR 320 that can subsequently be developed to form a patterned CAR 321. For example, openings 322 may be provided through a thickness of the patterned CAR 321. While not developed at this point, the underlying metal-oxo resist 310 may also be exposed with the exposure process used to pattern the patterned CAR 321. That is, a latent image of the pattern may be provided in the metal-oxo resist 310. The CAR 321 may be developed with a wet developing chemistry (e.g., a wet etch) or a dry etch. Referring now to FIG. 3D, a cross-sectional illustration of the structure 300 after the metal-oxo resist 310 is patterned is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In the particular embodiment shown in FIG. 3D, the metal-oxo resist 310 may be developed with a dry develop process. For example, etchants such as, but not limited to HCl, HBr, HI, and the like (i.e. halogen containing gas) may be used in a dry etching environment to form the patterned metal-oxo resist 311. The etchants used to develop the metal-oxo resist 310 may have little impact (if any) on the patterned CAR 321. Additionally, the existing pattern of the patterned CAR 321 may aid in the developing of the underlying metal-oxo resist 310 by serving as an etchant mask [0041-0043] which is equivalent to the method of processing a semiconductor substrate of instant claims 1, 2, and 4-6 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. 2024/0319603) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nardi et al. (WO2021067632) . With regard to claim 3 , Han et al. teaches the substrate 301 may be any suitable substrate that is to be patterned with a hybrid resist system. While shown as a single layer, it is to be appreciated that the substrate 301 may include multiple layers, one or more of which may be hardmask layers (underlayer) [0038] but does not teach forming an EUV enhancement layer on at least one underlayer provided on the surface of the semiconductor substrate. However, Nardi et al. teaches a method of making a patterning structure, the method including: providing a substrate to receive a pattern; incorporating a radiation-absorbing layer on a surface of the substrate; and providing an imaging layer (photoresist), wherein the radiation-absorbing layer underlies the imaging layer to increase radiation absorptivity and/or patterning performance of the imaging layer [0006] and by using a radiation-absorbing layer below the imaging layer, radiation absorption can be increased through the imaging layer. For instance, by providing an absorbing layer having an increased density of atoms with high EUV absorptivity at the bottom of the film, relative to the imaging layer, it becomes possible to more efficiently utilize available EUV photons while more uniformly distributing absorption (and the effects of secondary electr ons) towards the bottom of the patterning structure. Furthermore, in some instances, the absorbing layer can effectively generate more secondary electr ons that can better expose lower portions of the patterning structure [0061] in which the radiation-absorbing layer is equivalent to the EUV enhancement layer of instant claim 3 . It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Han et al. and Nardi et al. are directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which multiple layers are known to be suitable as substrate layers. Nardi et al. specifically teaches an absorbing layer (EUV enhancement layer) between the photoresist layer and the substrate to increase absorptivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include other known layers such as the absorbing layer of Nardi et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components in order to increase EUV absorptivity and subsequently improve patterning performance. With regard to claim 7 , Han et al. teaches the CAR 321 may be developed with a wet developing chemistry (e.g., a wet etch) or a dry etch [0043] but does not teach the develop solution comprises propylene glycol methyl ether acetate, tetramethylammonium hydroxide, normal butyl alcohol, 2-heptanone or an organic solvent with an acid additive. However, Nardi et al. teaches EUV exposed or unexposed areas can be removed by any useful deve lopment process [0201] wherein wet development methods can also be employed. In particular embodiments, such wet developments methods are used to remove EUV exposed regions to provide a positive tone photoresist or a negative tone resist. Exemplary, non-limiting wet development can include use of an alkaline developer (e.g., an aqueous alkaline developer), such as those including ammonium, e.g., ammonium hydroxide (NH4OH); ammonium-based ionic liquids, e.g., tetramethylammonium hydroxide (TMAH), tetraethylammonium hydroxide (TEAH), tetrapropylammonium hydroxide (TPAH), tetrabutylammonium hydroxide (TBAH), or other quaternary alkylammonium hydroxides; an organoamine, such as mono-, di-, and tri-organoamines (e.g., dimethylamine, diethylamine, ethylenediamine, triethylenetetramine); or an alkanolamine, such as monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine, or diethyleneglycolamine. In other embodiments, the alkaline developer can include nitrogen-containing bases, e.g., compounds having the formula RN1NH2, RN1RN2NH, RN1RN2RN3N, or RN1RN2RN3RN4N+XN1−, where each of RN1, RN2, RN3, and RN4 is, independently, an organo substituent (e.g., optionally substituted alkyl or any described herein), or two or more organo substituents that can be joined together, and XN1− may comprise OH−, F−, Cl−, Br−, I−, or other art-known quaternary ammonium cationic species. These bases may also comprise heterocyclyl nitrogen compounds known in the art, some of which are described herein. Other development methodologies can include use of an acidic developer (e.g., an aqueous acidic developer or an acid developer in an organic solvent) that includes a halide (e.g., HCl or HBr), an organic acid (e.g., formic acid, acetic acid, or citric acid), or an organofluorine compound (e.g., trifluoroacetic acid); or use of an organic developer, such as a ketone (e.g., 2-heptanone, cyclohexanone, or acetone), an ester (e.g., γ-butyrolactone or ethyl 3-ethoxypropionate (EEP)), an alcohol (e.g., isopropyl alcohol (IPA)), or an ether, such as a glycol ether (e.g., propylene glycol methyl ether (PGME) or propylene glycol methyl ether acetate (PGMEA)), as well as combinations thereof [0209-0210]. It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Han et al. and Nardi et al. are directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which wet development is suitable and Nardi et al. teaches specific commonly used wet developers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include the specific wet developers taught by Nardi et al. through routine experimentation and arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. 2024/0319603) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Wallace et al. (U.S. 2014/0017899) . With regard to claim 8 , Han et al. teaches the above method but does not teach a barrier layer comprising a hydrophilic material on the first photoresist layer. However, Wallace et al. teaches an integrated semiconductor device patterning process utilizing, for example, a thin film deposition as the barrier layer. In one or more example embodiments, one- or two-dimensional features (of varying complexity) may be formed by: (1) depositing a first photoresist pattern on a substrate or other suitable surface; (2) depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist pattern; (3) depositing a second photoresist pattern on the barrier layer; and (4) etching the resultant patterned structure to generate/print trenches, holes, and/or other etchable shapes/features in the substrate or other suitable surface [0024] wherein a thin film deposition or other barrier layer may be implemented in accordance with the disclosed techniques to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern from chemical and/or physical attack during a subsequent lithography process. For example, in some instances, the barrier layer may be implemented to protect a first photoresist pattern from, for example, solvent, developer, and/or a second exposure during subsequent patterning processes. The barrier layer also may be used to passivate the surface of a first photoresist pattern so that a second photoresist pattern may be disposed thereon without chemically reacting with and/or physically altering the first pattern. In some cases, passivation of the first photoresist pattern may be achieved by, for example, chemical application, plasma etching (e.g., ionized HBr gas), ion implantation, or formation of an impervious thin film [0025]. Wallace et al. also teaches first photoresist pattern 130 may be patterned on at least a portion of anti-reflective coating 120. First photoresist pattern 130 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features [0031], barrier layer 140 may be an inorganic material and/or dielectric material such as, but not limited to, a carbide, oxide, or nitride. In some specific such embodiments, for example, barrier layer 140 is an oxide such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide or silicon dioxide, germanium oxide, silicon-germanium (SiGe) oxide, III-V material oxide, or titanium oxide. In a more general sense, the barrier layer 140 material can be selected to provide the various desired qualities as described herein, as will be discuss in turn [0032] in which silicon dioxide is a hydrophilic material based on page 18 of the instant specification. Wallace et al. further teaches second photoresist pattern 150 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features. Second photoresist pattern 150 may be made of any of the same (or different) photoresist materials as first photoresist pattern 130 [0043]. Wallace et al. also teaches in some cases, it may be desirable to ensure that the barrier layer 140 disposed, grown, or otherwise formed on a given first photoresist pattern 130 is chemically inert and does not otherwise react or adversely interact with a given second photoresist pattern 150 subsequently disposed thereon (barrier layer 140 should be chemically compatible with the second photoresist material). In some embodiments, the barrier layer 140 on the first photoresist pattern 130 may serve to passivate the surface thereof and thus provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern 150 [0037]. It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Han et al. and Wallace et al. are directed to multilayer lithography processes while Wallace et al. additionally teaches other known additional layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include a barrier layer as taught by Wallace et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention and arrive at the instant claims in order to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern as well as provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. 2024/0319603) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nardi et al. (WO2021067632) and Wallace et al. (U.S. 2014/0017899) . With regard to claims 12 and 13 , Han et al. teaches the above method and additionally teaches the thick ness of the metal-oxo resist 210 may be greater than a thick ness of the CAR 220. Though, in other embodiments, the metal-oxo resist 210 and the CAR 220 may have similar thick nesses, or the CAR 220 may be thick er than the metal-oxo resist 210 [0033]. Han et al. also teaches deposition parameters of the metal-oxo film can be modified to improve resistance as well. This is because the metal-oxo film may be deposited with a dry deposition process (e.g., atomic layer deposition (ALD), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc.) which allows for tuning properties of the resist through a thick ness of the resist [0030]. Han et al. does not explicitly teach a thickness value in nanometers. However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, the thickness of the first and second resist films allows for tuning various properties of the resist. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include the claimed thicknesses through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success. Han et al. does not teach forming an EUV enhancement layer on at least one underlayer provided on the surface of the semiconductor substrate. However, Nardi et al. teaches a method of making a patterning structure, the method including: providing a substrate to receive a pattern; incorporating a radiation-absorbing layer on a surface of the substrate; and providing an imaging layer (photoresist), wherein the radiation-absorbing layer underlies the imaging layer to increase radiation absorptivity and/or patterning performance of the imaging layer [0006] and by using a radiation-absorbing layer below the imaging layer, radiation absorption can be increased through the imaging layer. For instance, by providing an absorbing layer having an increased density of atoms with high EUV absorptivity at the bottom of the film, relative to the imaging layer, it becomes possible to more efficiently utilize available EUV photons while more uniformly distributing absorption (and the effects of secondary electr ons) towards the bottom of the patterning structure. Furthermore, in some instances, the absorbing layer can effectively generate more secondary electr ons that can better expose lower portions of the patterning structure [0061] and a non-limiting thick ness of the absorbing layer is about 3 to 5 nm [0080] in which the radiation-absorbing layer is equivalent to the EUV enhancement layer of instant claim 12 . It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Han et al. and Nardi et al. are directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which multiple layers are known to be suitable as substrate layers. Nardi et al. specifically teaches an absorbing layer (EUV enhancement layer) between the photoresist layer and the substrate to increase absorptivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include other known layers such as the absorbing layer of Nardi et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components in order to increase EUV absorptivity and subsequently improve patterning performance. Han in view of Nardi do not teach depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist layer before depositing the second photoresist layer. However, Wallace et al. teaches an integrated semiconductor device patterning process utilizing, for example, a thin film deposition as the barrier layer. In one or more example embodiments, one- or two-dimensional features (of varying complexity) may be formed by: (1) depositing a first photoresist pattern on a substrate or other suitable surface; (2) depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist pattern; (3) depositing a second photoresist pattern on the barrier layer; and (4) etching the resultant patterned structure to generate/print trenches, holes, and/or other etchable shapes/features in the substrate or other suitable surface [0024] wherein a thin film deposition or other barrier layer may be implemented in accordance with the disclosed techniques to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern from chemical and/or physical attack during a subsequent lithography process. For example, in some instances, the barrier layer may be implemented to protect a first photoresist pattern from, for example, solvent, developer, and/or a second exposure during subsequent patterning processes. The barrier layer also may be used to passivate the surface of a first photoresist pattern so that a second photoresist pattern may be disposed thereon without chemically reacting with and/or physically altering the first pattern. In some cases, passivation of the first photoresist pattern may be achieved by, for example, chemical application, plasma etching (e.g., ionized HBr gas), ion implantation, or formation of an impervious thin film [0025]. Wallace et al. also teaches first photoresist pattern 130 may be patterned on at least a portion of anti-reflective coating 120. First photoresist pattern 130 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features [0031], barrier layer 140 may be an inorganic material and/or dielectric material such as, but not limited to, a carbide, oxide, or nitride. In some specific such embodiments, for example, barrier layer 140 is an oxide such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide or silicon dioxide, germanium oxide, silicon-germanium (SiGe) oxide, III-V material oxide, or titanium oxide. In a more general sense, the barrier layer 140 material can be selected to provide the various desired qualities as described herein, as will be discuss in turn [0032] in which silicon dioxide is a hydrophilic material based on page 18 of the instant specification. Wallace et al. further teaches second photoresist pattern 150 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features. Second photoresist pattern 150 may be made of any of the same (or different) photoresist materials as first photoresist pattern 130 [0043]. Wallace et al. also teaches in some cases, it may be desirable to ensure that the barrier layer 140 disposed, grown, or otherwise formed on a given first photoresist pattern 130 is chemically inert and does not otherwise react or adversely interact with a given second photoresist pattern 150 subsequently disposed thereon (barrier layer 140 should be chemically compatible with the second photoresist material). In some embodiments, the barrier layer 140 on the first photoresist pattern 130 may serve to passivate the surface thereof and thus provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern 150 [0037] and barrier layer 140 may be deposited as a layer ranging from the thickness of a single constituent atom (i.e., a monolayer) to as thick a layer as desired for a given application. In one specific example embodiment, a given low-temperature material (e.g., oxide) may be deposited as a thin film in the range of about 20-160 Ǻ (2-16 nm) [0039]. It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Han, Nardi, and Wallace are each directed to multilayer lithographic processes while Wallace et al. additionally teaches other known additional layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han modified by Nardi to include a barrier layer as taught by Wallace et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention and arrive at the instant claims in order to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern as well as provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 4-5, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. 2021/0305047) in view Lu et al. (U.S. 2014/0342564) . Wei et al. teaches FIG. 1 illustrates a process flow 100 of manufacturing a semiconductor device according to embodiments of the disclosure. Photoresist is coated on a surface of a layer to be patterned or a substrate 10 in operation S110, in some embodiments, to form a multilayer photoresist structure 15, as shown in FIG. 2. In some embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 includes two photoresist layers 15 a , 15 b , while in other embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 includes, three, four, five, or more photoresist layers. Then the multilayer photoresist structure 15 undergoes a first heating operation (or pre-exposure bake) S120 of the photoresist composition in some embodiments. The multilayer photoresist structure 15 is heated at a temperature and time sufficient to cure the multilayer photoresist structure 15 [0032]; the multilayer photoresist structure 15 is selectively exposed to actinic radiation 45/97 (see FIGS. 3A and 3B) in operation S130. In some embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 is selectively exposed to ultraviolet radiation. In some embodiments, the ultraviolet radiation is deep ultraviolet radiation (DUV). In some embodiments, the ultraviolet radiation is extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation. In some embodiments, the radiation is an electron beam. As shown in FIG. 3A, the exposure radiation 45 passes through a photomask 30 before irradiating the multilayer photoresist structure 15 in some embodiments [0033-0034]; the region of the photoresist structure exposed to radiation 50 undergoes a chemical reaction thereby changing its solubility in a subsequently applied developer relative to the region of the photoresist layer not exposed to radiation 52. In some embodiments, the portion of the photoresist structure exposed to radiation 50 undergoes a reaction making the exposed portion more soluble in a developer. In other embodiments, the portion of the photoresist structure exposed to radiation exposed to radiation 50 undergoes a crosslinking reaction making the exposed portion less soluble in a developer. Next, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 undergoes a second heating (or post-exposure bake) in operation S140 in some embodiments [0041-0042]; the selectively exposed photoresist structure is subsequently developed in operation S150. In some embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 is developed by applying a solvent-based developer 57 to the selectively exposed multilayer photoresist structure 15 [0043]; in some embodiments, the photoresist developer 57 includes a solvent, and an acid or a base [0044]; in some embodiments, the developer 57 is an organic solvent. The organic solvent can be any suitable solvent. In some embodiments, the solvent is one or more selected from propylene glycol methyl ether acetate (PGMEA), propylene glycol monomethyl ether (PGME), 1-ethoxy-2-propanol (PGEE), γ-butyrolactone (GBL), cyclohexanone (CHN), ethyl lactate (EL), methanol, ethanol, propanol, n-butanol, 4-methyl-2-pentanol, acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, dimethylformamide (DMF), isopropanol (IPA), tetrahydrofuran (THF), methyl isobutyl carbinol (MIBC), n-butyl acetate (nBA), 2-heptanone (MAK), tetrahydrofuran (THF), and dioxane [0046]; in some embodiments, a dry developer 105 is applied to the selectively exposed multilayer photoresist structure 15, as shown in FIG. 4B. In some embodiments, the dry developer 105 is a plasma or chemical vapor, and the dry development operation S150 is a plasma etching or chemical etching operation; and the dry development processes uses either a gentle plasma (high pressure, low power) or a thermal process in a heated vacuum chamber while flowing a dry development chemistry, such as BCl3, BF3, (halogen containing gas) or other Lewis Acid in the vapor state [0048] ( claims 5, 9, and 11 ); the photoresist layers are made of a photoresist composition, including a first compound or a first precursor and a second compound or a second precursor combined in a vapor state. In some embodiments, the first precursor or first compound is an organometallic having a formula: MaRbXc, as shown in FIG. 7A, where M is one or more metals selected from the group consisting of Sn, Bi, Sb, In, and Te [0056]; in some embodiments, the first organometallic compound or first organometallic precursor includes a metallic core W with ligands L attached to the metallic core M+, as shown in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the metallic core M+ is a metal oxide. The ligands L include C3-C12 aliphatic or aromatic groups in some embodiments [0059] (i.e. organometallic oxide claims 1, 2, 9, and 10 ). Wei et al. teaches wet development or dry development to remove the photoresist layers but does not teach a first development process to selectively develop the second photoresist layer followed by a second development process to selectively develop the first photoresist layer. However, Lu et al. teaches FIG. 21 is a flowchart of a method 200 of exposing two resist layers with respective latent patterns by single lithography exposure process, constructed according various aspects in one or more embodiments. The method 200 starts at 202 with a substrate, such as a semiconductor wafer. The substrate may further include one or more material layers, such as one or more patterned layers and one or more layers to be patterned. At operation 204, a first resist layer is formed on the substrate. Forming of the first resist layer includes coating the first resist layer on the substrate by a suitable technique, such as spin-on coating. Other manufacturing steps, such as baking, may further be applied to the first resist layer. At operation 206, a second resist layer is formed on the first resist layer. Forming of the second resist layer includes coating the second resist layer on the substrate by a suitable technique, such as spin-on coating. Other manufacturing steps, such as baking, may further be applied to the second resist layer. The first and second resist layers may be the same or different in composition [0082-0083]; The method 200 proceeds to operation 208 by performing a lithography exposure process using the mask 10 having three states to simultaneously expose both the first and second resist layers, thereby forming a first latent pattern in the first resist layer and a second latent pattern in the second resist layer [0086]; The method 200 proceeds to operation 210 by developing the second resist layer to form the patterned second resist layer. The second resist layer with the second latent pattern is converted to the patterned second resist layer with various openings thereby. In one embodiment, the second resist layer is positive tone, and the portions of the second resist layer associated with the second latent pattern are removed by the corresponding developer, resulting in the openings in the second resist layer (the second resist layer with the second pattern converted from the second latent pattern). The method 200 proceeds to operation 212 by developing the first resist layer to form the patterned first resist layer. The first resist layer with the first latent pattern is converted to the patterned first resist layer with various openings. In one embodiment, the first resist layer is positive tone, and the portions of the first resist layer associated with the first latent pattern are removed by the corresponding developer, resulting in the openings in the first resist layer. Thereafter, other steps may be implemented. In one embodiment, one or more baking processes may be applied to the first and second resist layers collectively or separately. The method 200 proceeds to operation 214 by transferring the first pattern and the second pattern to the substrate or underlying material layers on the substrate [0089-0091] ( claim 1 ). It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei et al. and Lu et al. are directed to multilayer resist processes and Lu et al. additionally teaches using two different developers consecutively. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei et al. to include a first wet development process followed by a second dry development process based on the combined teachings of Wei and Lu through routine experimentation in the resist art and arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, the method of patterning a substrate of Wei modified by Lu is equivalent to the method of processing a semiconductor substrate of instant claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 9-11 . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. 2021/0305047) in view Lu et al. (U.S. 2014/0342564) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nardi et al. (WO2021067632) . With regard to claim 3 , Wei in view of Lu teach the above method. Lu et al. also teaches other material layers, such as 106 and 110, may be formed between the resist layers and/or below the resist layers for one or more purpose, such as attenuation and/or isolation [0034] but do not teach forming an EUV enhancement layer on at least one underlayer provided on the surface of the semiconductor substrate. However, Nardi et al. teaches a method of making a patterning structure, the method including: providing a substrate to receive a pattern; incorporating a radiation-absorbing layer on a surface of the substrate; and providing an imaging layer (photoresist), wherein the radiation-absorbing layer underlies the imaging layer to increase radiation absorptivity and/or patterning performance of the imaging layer [0006] and by using a radiation-absorbing layer below the imaging layer, radiation absorption can be increased through the imaging layer. For instance, by providing an absorbing layer having an increased density of atoms with high EUV absorptivity at the bottom of the film, relative to the imaging layer, it becomes possible to more efficiently utilize available EUV photons while more uniformly distributing absorption (and the effects of secondary electr ons) towards the bottom of the patterning structure. Furthermore, in some instances, the absorbing layer can effectively generate more secondary electr ons that can better expose lower portions of the patterning structure [0061] in which the radiation-absorbing layer is equivalent to the EUV enhancement layer of instant claim 3 . It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei in view of Lu and Nardi et al. are directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which multiple layers are known to be suitable as substrate layers. Nardi et al. specifically teaches an absorbing layer (EUV enhancement layer) between the photoresist layer and the substrate to increase absorptivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei in view of Lu to include other known layers such as the absorbing layer of Nardi et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components in order to increase EUV absorptivity and subsequently improve patterning performance . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. 2021/0305047) in view Lu et al. (U.S. 2014/0342564) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Wallace et al. (U.S. 2014/0017899) . With regard to claim 8 , Wei in view of Lu teach the above method. Lu et al. also teaches other material layers, such as 106 and 110, may be formed between the resist layers and/or below the resist layers for one or more purpose, such as attenuation and/or isolation [0034] but do not teach a barrier layer comprising a hydrophilic material on the first photoresist layer. However, Wallace et al. teaches an integrated semiconductor device patterning process utilizing, for example, a thin film deposition as the barrier layer. In one or more example embodiments, one- or two-dimensional features (of varying complexity) may be formed by: (1) depositing a first photoresist pattern on a substrate or other suitable surface; (2) depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist pattern; (3) depositing a second photoresist pattern on the barrier layer; and (4) etching the resultant patterned structure to generate/print trenches, holes, and/or other etchable shapes/features in the substrate or other suitable surface [0024] wherein a thin film deposition or other barrier layer may be implemented in accordance with the disclosed techniques to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern from chemical and/or physical attack during a subsequent lithography process. For example, in some instances, the barrier layer may be implemented to protect a first photoresist pattern from, for example, solvent, developer, and/or a second exposure during subsequent patterning processes. The barrier layer also may be used to passivate the surface of a first photoresist pattern so that a second photoresist pattern may be disposed thereon without chemically reacting with and/or physically altering the first pattern. In some cases, passivation of the first photoresist pattern may be achieved by, for example, chemical application, plasma etching (e.g., ionized HBr gas), ion implantation, or formation of an impervious thin film [0025]. Wallace et al. also teaches first photoresist pattern 130 may be patterned on at least a portion of anti-reflective coating 120. First photoresist pattern 130 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features [0031], barrier layer 140 may be an inorganic material and/or dielectric material such as, but not limited to, a carbide, oxide, or nitride. In some specific such embodiments, for example, barrier layer 140 is an oxide such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide or silicon dioxide, germanium oxide, silicon-germanium (SiGe) oxide, III-V material oxide, or titanium oxide. In a more general sense, the barrier layer 140 material can be selected to provide the various desired qualities as described herein, as will be discuss in turn [0032] in which silicon dioxide is a hydrophilic material based on page 18 of the instant specification. Wallace et al. further teaches second photoresist pattern 150 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features. Second photoresist pattern 150 may be made of any of the same (or different) photoresist materials as first photoresist pattern 130 [0043]. Wallace et al. also teaches in some cases, it may be desirable to ensure that the barrier layer 140 disposed, grown, or otherwise formed on a given first photoresist pattern 130 is chemically inert and does not otherwise react or adversely interact with a given second photoresist pattern 150 subsequently disposed thereon (barrier layer 140 should be chemically compatible with the second photoresist material). In some embodiments, the barrier layer 140 on the first photoresist pattern 130 may serve to passivate the surface thereof and thus provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern 150 [0037]. It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei in view of Lu and Wallace et al. are directed to multilayer lithographic processes while Wallace et al. additionally teaches other known additional layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei in view of Lu to include a barrier layer as taught by Wallace et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention and arrive at the instant claims in order to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern as well as provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. 2021/0305047) in view Lu et al. (U.S. 2014/0342564) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nardi et al. (WO2021067632) and Wallace et al. (U.S. 2014/0017899) . With regard to claims 12 and 13 , Wei in view of Lu teach the above method. Wei et al. also teaches each photoresist layer is formed to a thickness of about 5 nm to about 50 nm, and to a thickness of about 10 nm to about 30 nm in other embodiments [0073] while Lu et al. also teaches other material layers, such as 106 and 110, may be formed between the resist layers and/or below the resist layers for one or more purpose, such as attenuation and/or isolation [0034]. Wei in view of Lu do not teach forming an EUV enhancement layer on at least one underlayer provided on the surface of the semiconductor substrate. However, Nardi et al. teaches a method of making a patterning structure, the method including: providing a substrate to receive a pattern; incorporating a radiation-absorbing layer on a surface of the substrate; and providing an imaging layer (photoresist), wherein the radiation-absorbing layer underlies the imaging layer to increase radiation absorptivity and/or patterning performance of the imaging layer [0006] and by using a radiation-absorbing layer below the imaging layer, radiation absorption can be increased through the imaging layer. For instance, by providing an absorbing layer having an increased density of atoms with high EUV absorptivity at the bottom of the film, relative to the imaging layer, it becomes possible to more efficiently utilize available EUV photons while more uniformly distributing absorption (and the effects of secondary electr ons) towards the bottom of the patterning structure. Furthermore, in some instances, the absorbing layer can effectively generate more secondary electr ons that can better expose lower portions of the patterning structure [0061] and a non-limiting thick ness of the absorbing layer is about 3 to 5 nm [0080] in which the radiation-absorbing layer is equivalent to the EUV enhancement layer of instant claim 12 . It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei in view of Lu and Nardi et al. are directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which multiple layers are known to be suitable as substrate layers. Nardi et al. specifically teaches an absorbing layer (EUV enhancement layer) between the photoresist layer and the substrate to increase absorptivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei in view of Lu to include other known layers such as the absorbing layer of Nardi et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components in order to increase EUV absorptivity and subsequently improve patterning performance. Wei in view of Lu and Nardi do not teach depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist layer before depositing the second photoresist layer. However, Wallace et al. teaches an integrated semiconductor device patterning process utilizing, for example, a thin film deposition as the barrier layer. In one or more example embodiments, one- or two-dimensional features (of varying complexity) may be formed by: (1) depositing a first photoresist pattern on a substrate or other suitable surface; (2) depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist pattern; (3) depositing a second photoresist pattern on the barrier layer; and (4) etching the resultant patterned structure to generate/print trenches, holes, and/or other etchable shapes/features in the substrate or other suitable surface [0024] wherein a thin film deposition or other barrier layer may be implemented in accordance with the disclosed techniques to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern from chemical and/or physical attack during a subsequent lithography process. For example, in some instances, the barrier layer may be implemented to protect a first photoresist pattern from, for example, solvent, developer, and/or a second exposure during subsequent patterning processes. The barrier layer also may be used to passivate the surface of a first photoresist pattern so that a second photoresist pattern may be disposed thereon without chemically reacting with and/or physically altering the first pattern. In some cases, passivation of the first photoresist pattern may be achieved by, for example, chemical application, plasma etching (e.g., ionized HBr gas), ion implantation, or formation of an impervious thin film [0025]. Wallace et al. also teaches first photoresist pattern 130 may be patterned on at least a portion of anti-reflective coating 120. First photoresist pattern 130 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features [0031], barrier layer 140 may be an inorganic material and/or dielectric material such as, but not limited to, a carbide, oxide, or nitride. In some specific such embodiments, for example, barrier layer 140 is an oxide such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide or silicon dioxide, germanium oxide, silicon-germanium (SiGe) oxide, III-V material oxide, or titanium oxide. In a more general sense, the barrier layer 140 material can be selected to provide the various desired qualities as described herein, as will be discuss in turn [0032] in which silicon dioxide is a hydrophilic material based on page 18 of the instant specification. Wallace et al. further teaches second photoresist pattern 150 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features. Second photoresist pattern 150 may be made of any of the same (or different) photoresist materials as first photoresist pattern 130 [0043]. Wallace et al. also teaches in some cases, it may be desirable to ensure that the barrier layer 140 disposed, grown, or otherwise formed on a given first photoresist pattern 130 is chemically inert and does not otherwise react or adversely interact with a given second photoresist pattern 150 subsequently disposed thereon (barrier layer 140 should be chemically compatible with the second photoresist material). In some embodiments, the barrier layer 140 on the first photoresist pattern 130 may serve to passivate the surface thereof and thus provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern 150 [0037] and barrier layer 140 may be deposited as a layer ranging from the thickness of a single constituent atom (i.e., a monolayer) to as thick a layer as desired for a given application. In one specific example embodiment, a given low-temperature material (e.g., oxide) may be deposited as a thin film in the range of about 20-160 Ǻ (2-16 nm) [0039]. It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei in view of Lu and Nardi, and Wallace are each directed to multilayer lithographic processes while Wallace et al. additionally teaches other known additional layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han modified by Nardi to include a barrier layer as taught by Wallace et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention and arrive at the instant claims in order to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern as well as provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14-19, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. 2024/0319603) in view of Nardi et al. (WO2021067632) and Wallace et al. (U.S. 2014/0017899) . Han et al. teaches referring now to FIGS. 3A-3E, a series of cross-sectional illustrations depicting a process and structure 300 for patterning a substrate is shown. In an embodiment, the process shown in FIGS. 3A-3E may utilize a dry develop process for the metal-oxo layer 310 [0037]; referring now to FIG. 3A, a cross-sectional illustration of a structure 300 with a substrate 301 and a metal-oxo resist 310 is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In an embodiment, the substrate 301 may be any suitable substrate that is to be patterned with a hybrid resist system. While shown as a single layer, it is to be appreciated that the substrate 301 may include multiple layers, one or more of which may be hardmask layers (underlayer) [0038]; in one embodiment, the metal-oxo resist 310 may comprise tin or any other suitable metal centers. The ligands may also be modulated through a thickness of the metal-oxo resist 310 [0039]; Referring now to FIG. 3B, a cross-sectional illustration of the structure 300 after a CAR 320 is applied is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In an embodiment, the CAR 320 may be applied with a spin coating process. However, due to the treatment of the metal-oxo resist 310, the solvent used for the spin coating does not negatively impact the metal-oxo resist 310. This allows for existing CARs 320 to be used without requiring reformulation. Referring now to FIG. 3C, a cross-sectional illustration of the structure 300 after the CAR 320 is exposed and developed is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In an embodiment, the CAR 320 may be exposed with EUV radiation. The EUV radiation results in a solubility switch in the CAR 320 that can subsequently be developed to form a patterned CAR 321. For example, openings 322 may be provided through a thickness of the patterned CAR 321. While not developed at this point, the underlying metal-oxo resist 310 may also be exposed with the exposure process used to pattern the patterned CAR 321. That is, a latent image of the pattern may be provided in the metal-oxo resist 310. The CAR 321 may be developed with a wet developing chemistry (e.g., a wet etch) or a dry etch. Referring now to FIG. 3D, a cross-sectional illustration of the structure 300 after the metal-oxo resist 310 is patterned is shown, in accordance with an embodiment. In the particular embodiment shown in FIG. 3D, the metal-oxo resist 310 may be developed with a dry develop process. For example, etchants such as, but not limited to HCl, HBr, HI, and the like (i.e. halogen containing gas) may be used in a dry etching environment to form the patterned metal-oxo resist 311. The etchants used to develop the metal-oxo resist 310 may have little impact (if any) on the patterned CAR 321. Additionally, the existing pattern of the patterned CAR 321 may aid in the developing of the underlying metal-oxo resist 310 by serving as an etchant mask [0041-0043] ( claims 14 and 17-19 ). Han et al. also teaches the thick ness of the metal-oxo resist 210 may be greater than a thick ness of the CAR 220. Though, in other embodiments, the metal-oxo resist 210 and the CAR 220 may have similar thick nesses, or the CAR 220 may be thick er than the metal-oxo resist 210 [0033]. Han et al. further teaches deposition parameters of the metal-oxo film can be modified to improve resistance as well. This is because the metal-oxo film may be deposited with a dry deposition process (e.g., atomic layer deposition (ALD), chemical vapor deposition (CVD), physical vapor deposition (PVD), etc.) which allows for tuning properties of the resist through a thick ness of the resist [0030]. Han et al. does not explicitly teach a thickness value in nanometers. However, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch , 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In the instant case, the thickness of the first and second resist films allows for tuning various properties of the resist. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include the claimed thicknesses through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success ( claims 15, 16, and 18 ). Han et al. does not teach forming an EUV enhancement layer on at least one underlayer provided on the surface of the semiconductor substrate. However, Nardi et al. teaches a method of making a patterning structure, the method including: providing a substrate to receive a pattern; incorporating a radiation-absorbing layer on a surface of the substrate; and providing an imaging layer (photoresist), wherein the radiation-absorbing layer underlies the imaging layer to increase radiation absorptivity and/or patterning performance of the imaging layer [0006] and by using a radiation-absorbing layer below the imaging layer, radiation absorption can be increased through the imaging layer. For instance, by providing an absorbing layer having an increased density of atoms with high EUV absorptivity at the bottom of the film, relative to the imaging layer, it becomes possible to more efficiently utilize available EUV photons while more uniformly distributing absorption (and the effects of secondary electr ons) towards the bottom of the patterning structure. Furthermore, in some instances, the absorbing layer can effectively generate more secondary electr ons that can better expose lower portions of the patterning structure [0061] and a non-limiting thick ness of the absorbing layer is about 3 to 5 nm [0080] in which the radiation-absorbing layer is equivalent to the EUV enhancement layer of instant claim 14 . It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, both Han et al. and Nardi et al. are directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which multiple layers are known to be suitable as substrate layers. Nardi et al. specifically teaches an absorbing layer (EUV enhancement layer) between the photoresist layer and the substrate to increase absorptivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han et al. to include other known layers such as the absorbing layer of Nardi et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components in order to increase EUV absorptivity and subsequently improve patterning performance. Han in view of Nardi do not teach depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist layer before depositing the second photoresist layer. However, Wallace et al. teaches an integrated semiconductor device patterning process utilizing, for example, a thin film deposition as the barrier layer. In one or more example embodiments, one- or two-dimensional features (of varying complexity) may be formed by: (1) depositing a first photoresist pattern on a substrate or other suitable surface; (2) depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist pattern; (3) depositing a second photoresist pattern on the barrier layer; and (4) etching the resultant patterned structure to generate/print trenches, holes, and/or other etchable shapes/features in the substrate or other suitable surface [0024] wherein a thin film deposition or other barrier layer may be implemented in accordance with the disclosed techniques to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern from chemical and/or physical attack during a subsequent lithography process. For example, in some instances, the barrier layer may be implemented to protect a first photoresist pattern from, for example, solvent, developer, and/or a second exposure during subsequent patterning processes. The barrier layer also may be used to passivate the surface of a first photoresist pattern so that a second photoresist pattern may be disposed thereon without chemically reacting with and/or physically altering the first pattern. In some cases, passivation of the first photoresist pattern may be achieved by, for example, chemical application, plasma etching (e.g., ionized HBr gas), ion implantation, or formation of an impervious thin film [0025]. Wallace et al. also teaches first photoresist pattern 130 may be patterned on at least a portion of anti-reflective coating 120. First photoresist pattern 130 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features [0031], barrier layer 140 may be an inorganic material and/or dielectric material such as, but not limited to, a carbide, oxide, or nitride. In some specific such embodiments, for example, barrier layer 140 is an oxide such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide or silicon dioxide, germanium oxide, silicon-germanium (SiGe) oxide, III-V material oxide, or titanium oxide. In a more general sense, the barrier layer 140 material can be selected to provide the various desired qualities as described herein, as will be discuss in turn [0032] in which silicon dioxide is a hydrophilic material based on page 18 of the instant specification ( claim 14 ). Wallace et al. further teaches second photoresist pattern 150 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features. Second photoresist pattern 150 may be made of any of the same (or different) photoresist materials as first photoresist pattern 130 [0043]. Wallace et al. also teaches in some cases, it may be desirable to ensure that the barrier layer 140 disposed, grown, or otherwise formed on a given first photoresist pattern 130 is chemically inert and does not otherwise react or adversely interact with a given second photoresist pattern 150 subsequently disposed thereon (barrier layer 140 should be chemically compatible with the second photoresist material). In some embodiments, the barrier layer 140 on the first photoresist pattern 130 may serve to passivate the surface thereof and thus provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern 150 [0037] and barrier layer 140 may be deposited as a layer ranging from the thickness of a single constituent atom (i.e., a monolayer) to as thick a layer as desired for a given application. In one specific example embodiment, a given low-temperature material (e.g., oxide) may be deposited as a thin film in the range of about 20-160 Ǻ (2-16 nm) [0039] ( claim 15 ). It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Han, Nardi, and Wallace are each directed to multilayer lithographic processes while Wallace et al. additionally teaches other known additional layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Han modified by Nardi to include a barrier layer as taught by Wallace et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention and arrive at the instant claims in order to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern as well as provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern. Han does not specify whether the first and second photoresist layers must be positive or negative. Therefore, the method of Han in view of Nardi and Wallace can produce either a negative tone or positive tone EUV photoresist pattern ( claims 23 and 24 ) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 14-17, 20, 21, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. 2021/0305047) in view of Lu et al. (U.S. 2014/0342564), Nardi et al. (WO2021067632), and Wallace et al. (U.S. 2014/0017899) . Wei et al. teaches FIG. 1 illustrates a process flow 100 of manufacturing a semiconductor device according to embodiments of the disclosure. Photoresist is coated on a surface of a layer to be patterned or a substrate 10 in operation S110, in some embodiments, to form a multilayer photoresist structure 15, as shown in FIG. 2. In some embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 includes two photoresist layers 15 a , 15 b , while in other embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 includes, three, four, five, or more photoresist layers. Then the multilayer photoresist structure 15 undergoes a first heating operation (or pre-exposure bake) S120 of the photoresist composition in some embodiments. The multilayer photoresist structure 15 is heated at a temperature and time sufficient to cure the multilayer photoresist structure 15 [0032]; the multilayer photoresist structure 15 is selectively exposed to actinic radiation 45/97 (see FIGS. 3A and 3B) in operation S130. In some embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 is selectively exposed to ultraviolet radiation. In some embodiments, the ultraviolet radiation is deep ultraviolet radiation (DUV). In some embodiments, the ultraviolet radiation is extreme ultraviolet (EUV) radiation. In some embodiments, the radiation is an electron beam. As shown in FIG. 3A, the exposure radiation 45 passes through a photomask 30 before irradiating the multilayer photoresist structure 15 in some embodiments [0033-0034]; the region of the photoresist structure exposed to radiation 50 undergoes a chemical reaction thereby changing its solubility in a subsequently applied developer relative to the region of the photoresist layer not exposed to radiation 52. In some embodiments, the portion of the photoresist structure exposed to radiation 50 undergoes a reaction making the exposed portion more soluble in a developer. In other embodiments, the portion of the photoresist structure exposed to radiation exposed to radiation 50 undergoes a crosslinking reaction making the exposed portion less soluble in a developer. Next, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 undergoes a second heating (or post-exposure bake) in operation S140 in some embodiments [0041-0042]; the selectively exposed photoresist structure is subsequently developed in operation S150. In some embodiments, the multilayer photoresist structure 15 is developed by applying a solvent-based developer 57 to the selectively exposed multilayer photoresist structure 15 [0043]; in some embodiments, the photoresist developer 57 includes a solvent, and an acid or a base [0044]; in some embodiments, the developer 57 is an organic solvent. The organic solvent can be any suitable solvent. In some embodiments, the solvent is one or more selected from propylene glycol methyl ether acetate (PGMEA), propylene glycol monomethyl ether (PGME), 1-ethoxy-2-propanol (PGEE), γ-butyrolactone (GBL), cyclohexanone (CHN), ethyl lactate (EL), methanol, ethanol, propanol, n-butanol, 4-methyl-2-pentanol, acetone, methyl ethyl ketone, dimethylformamide (DMF), isopropanol (IPA), tetrahydrofuran (THF), methyl isobutyl carbinol (MIBC), n-butyl acetate (nBA), 2-heptanone (MAK), tetrahydrofuran (THF), and dioxane [0046]; in some embodiments, a dry developer 105 is applied to the selectively exposed multilayer photoresist structure 15, as shown in FIG. 4B. In some embodiments, the dry developer 105 is a plasma or chemical vapor, and the dry development operation S150 is a plasma etching or chemical etching operation; and the dry development processes uses either a gentle plasma (high pressure, low power) or a thermal process in a heated vacuum chamber while flowing a dry development chemistry, such as BCl3, BF3, (halogen containing gas) or other Lewis Acid in the vapor state [0048] ( claim 21 ); the photoresist layers are made of a photoresist composition, including a first compound or a first precursor and a second compound or a second precursor combined in a vapor state. In some embodiments, the first precursor or first compound is an organometallic having a formula: MaRbXc, as shown in FIG. 7A, where M is one or more metals selected from the group consisting of Sn, Bi, Sb, In, and Te [0056]; in some embodiments, the first organometallic compound or first organometallic precursor includes a metallic core W with ligands L attached to the metallic core M+, as shown in FIG. 7B. In some embodiments, the metallic core M+ is a metal oxide. The ligands L include C3-C12 aliphatic or aromatic groups in some embodiments [0059] (i.e. organometallic oxide claims 14, 20, and 21 ). Wei et al. teaches wet development or dry development to remove the photoresist layers but does not teach a first development process to selectively develop the second photoresist layer followed by a second development process to selectively develop the first photoresist layer. However, Lu et al. teaches FIG. 21 is a flowchart of a method 200 of exposing two resist layers with respective latent patterns by single lithography exposure process, constructed according various aspects in one or more embodiments. The method 200 starts at 202 with a substrate, such as a semiconductor wafer. The substrate may further include one or more material layers, such as one or more patterned layers and one or more layers to be patterned. At operation 204, a first resist layer is formed on the substrate. Forming of the first resist layer includes coating the first resist layer on the substrate by a suitable technique, such as spin-on coating. Other manufacturing steps, such as baking, may further be applied to the first resist layer. At operation 206, a second resist layer is formed on the first resist layer. Forming of the second resist layer includes coating the second resist layer on the substrate by a suitable technique, such as spin-on coating. Other manufacturing steps, such as baking, may further be applied to the second resist layer. The first and second resist layers may be the same or different in composition [0082-0083]; The method 200 proceeds to operation 208 by performing a lithography exposure process using the mask 10 having three states to simultaneously expose both the first and second resist layers, thereby forming a first latent pattern in the first resist layer and a second latent pattern in the second resist layer [0086]; The method 200 proceeds to operation 210 by developing the second resist layer to form the patterned second resist layer. The second resist layer with the second latent pattern is converted to the patterned second resist layer with various openings thereby. In one embodiment, the second resist layer is positive tone, and the portions of the second resist layer associated with the second latent pattern are removed by the corresponding developer, resulting in the openings in the second resist layer (the second resist layer with the second pattern converted from the second latent pattern). The method 200 proceeds to operation 212 by developing the first resist layer to form the patterned first resist layer. The first resist layer with the first latent pattern is converted to the patterned first resist layer with various openings. In one embodiment, the first resist layer is positive tone, and the portions of the first resist layer associated with the first latent pattern are removed by the corresponding developer, resulting in the openings in the first resist layer. Thereafter, other steps may be implemented. In one embodiment, one or more baking processes may be applied to the first and second resist layers collectively or separately. The method 200 proceeds to operation 214 by transferring the first pattern and the second pattern to the substrate or underlying material layers on the substrate [0089-0091] ( claim 14 ). It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei et al. and Lu et al. are directed to multilayer resist processes and Lu et al. additionally teaches using two different developers consecutively. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei et al. to include a first wet development process followed by a second dry development process based on the combined teachings of Wei and Lu through routine experimentation in the resist art and arrive at the instant claims with a reasonable expectation of success. Wei in view of Lu do not teach forming an EUV enhancement layer on at least one underlayer provided on the surface of the semiconductor substrate. However, Nardi et al. teaches a method of making a patterning structure, the method including: providing a substrate to receive a pattern; incorporating a radiation-absorbing layer on a surface of the substrate; and providing an imaging layer (photoresist), wherein the radiation-absorbing layer underlies the imaging layer to increase radiation absorptivity and/or patterning performance of the imaging layer [0006] and by using a radiation-absorbing layer below the imaging layer, radiation absorption can be increased through the imaging layer. For instance, by providing an absorbing layer having an increased density of atoms with high EUV absorptivity at the bottom of the film, relative to the imaging layer, it becomes possible to more efficiently utilize available EUV photons while more uniformly distributing absorption (and the effects of secondary electr ons) towards the bottom of the patterning structure. Furthermore, in some instances, the absorbing layer can effectively generate more secondary electr ons that can better expose lower portions of the patterning structure [0061] and a non-limiting thick ness of the absorbing layer is about 3 to 5 nm [0080] in which the radiation-absorbing layer is equivalent to the EUV enhancement layer of instant claim 14 . It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei, Han, and Nardi are each directed to EUV resist manufacturing in which multiple layers are known to be suitable as substrate layers. Nardi et al. specifically teaches an absorbing layer (EUV enhancement layer) between the photoresist layer and the substrate to increase absorptivity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei modified by Han et al. to include other known layers such as the absorbing layer of Nardi et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components in order to increase EUV absorptivity and subsequently improve patterning performance. Wei in view of Han and Nardi do not teach depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist layer before depositing the second photoresist layer. However, Wallace et al. teaches an integrated semiconductor device patterning process utilizing, for example, a thin film deposition as the barrier layer. In one or more example embodiments, one- or two-dimensional features (of varying complexity) may be formed by: (1) depositing a first photoresist pattern on a substrate or other suitable surface; (2) depositing a barrier layer on the first photoresist pattern; (3) depositing a second photoresist pattern on the barrier layer; and (4) etching the resultant patterned structure to generate/print trenches, holes, and/or other etchable shapes/features in the substrate or other suitable surface [0024] wherein a thin film deposition or other barrier layer may be implemented in accordance with the disclosed techniques to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern from chemical and/or physical attack during a subsequent lithography process. For example, in some instances, the barrier layer may be implemented to protect a first photoresist pattern from, for example, solvent, developer, and/or a second exposure during subsequent patterning processes. The barrier layer also may be used to passivate the surface of a first photoresist pattern so that a second photoresist pattern may be disposed thereon without chemically reacting with and/or physically altering the first pattern. In some cases, passivation of the first photoresist pattern may be achieved by, for example, chemical application, plasma etching (e.g., ionized HBr gas), ion implantation, or formation of an impervious thin film [0025]. Wallace et al. also teaches first photoresist pattern 130 may be patterned on at least a portion of anti-reflective coating 120. First photoresist pattern 130 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features [0031], barrier layer 140 may be an inorganic material and/or dielectric material such as, but not limited to, a carbide, oxide, or nitride. In some specific such embodiments, for example, barrier layer 140 is an oxide such as, but not limited to, silicon oxide or silicon dioxide, germanium oxide, silicon-germanium (SiGe) oxide, III-V material oxide, or titanium oxide. In a more general sense, the barrier layer 140 material can be selected to provide the various desired qualities as described herein, as will be discuss in turn [0032] in which silicon dioxide is a hydrophilic material based on page 18 of the instant specification ( claim 14 ). Wallace et al. further teaches second photoresist pattern 150 may be any resist material (e.g., organic, inorganic, molecular, hybrid, etc.) suitable for patterning one or more lithographic features. Second photoresist pattern 150 may be made of any of the same (or different) photoresist materials as first photoresist pattern 130 [0043]. Wallace et al. also teaches in some cases, it may be desirable to ensure that the barrier layer 140 disposed, grown, or otherwise formed on a given first photoresist pattern 130 is chemically inert and does not otherwise react or adversely interact with a given second photoresist pattern 150 subsequently disposed thereon (barrier layer 140 should be chemically compatible with the second photoresist material). In some embodiments, the barrier layer 140 on the first photoresist pattern 130 may serve to passivate the surface thereof and thus provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern 150 [0037] and barrier layer 140 may be deposited as a layer ranging from the thickness of a single constituent atom (i.e., a monolayer) to as thick a layer as desired for a given application. In one specific example embodiment, a given low-temperature material (e.g., oxide) may be deposited as a thin film in the range of about 20-160 Ǻ (2-16 nm) [0039] ( claim 15 ). It should be noted that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. , 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, Wei, Han, Nardi, and Wallace are each directed to multilayer lithographic processes while Wallace et al. additionally teaches other known additional layers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Wei in view Lu and Nardi to include a barrier layer as taught by Wallace et al. through routine experimentation of combining equally suitable components for the sought invention and arrive at the instant claims in order to protect the dimensional integrity of a first photoresist pattern as well as provide an amenable surface on which to pattern the second photoresist pattern. Wei et al. also teaches photoresist layers are either positive tone resists or negative tone resists [0055] ( claims 23 and 24 ) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or provide motivation to obtain a method in which the EUV enhancement layer, the first photoresist layer and the barrier layer are deposited in situ within the same process chamber. Han, Wei, Lu, Nardi, and Wallace are all silent regarding any process chamber . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. 11,366,386 . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANNA E MALLOY whose telephone number is (571)270-5849. The examiner can normally be reached 6:30-3:00 EST M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Keith Walker can be reached at 571-272-3458. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /Anna Malloy/Examiner, Art Unit 1737 /KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 2 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 3 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 4 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 5 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 6 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 7 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 8 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 9 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 10 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 11 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 12 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 13 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 14 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 15 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 16 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 17 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 18 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 19 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 20 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 21 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 22 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 23 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 24 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 25 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 26 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 27 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 28 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 29 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 30 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 31 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 32 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 33 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 34 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 35 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 36 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 37 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 38 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 39 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 40 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 41 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 42 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 43 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 44 Art Unit: 1737 Application/Control Number: 18/387,619 Page 45 Art Unit: 1737