DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on June 3, 2026 is acknowledged. Applicant has not made arguments against the restriction and thus the traversal is on the ground(s) that applicant is silent is the arguments against. Recall the restriction was made between apparatus and method claims where the process as claimed can be practiced by any other and materially different apparatus one where the one or more components is not exposed to RF energy but is exposed to for example magnetic energy or is not exposed to a plasma generator. Furthermore, there is a difference in how apparatus and method claims are searched and considered. Namely, apparatus claims entail the structure of the apparatus while the method claims entail the process steps and are thus examined in separate classes and subclasses.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-9, 12, 13, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Desai et al (US 2022/0189747).
Regarding claim 1: A semiconductor fabrication apparatus for processing one or more workpieces, the semiconductor fabrication apparatus comprising: one or more components (pedestal/wafer support 112, separation grid 200, and sidewall 122 exposed to radio frequency energy (via RF generator 134); and one or more optical contact temperature sensors 167, 168 disposed on the one or more components. See Fig. 1 of Desai et al.
Regarding claim 5: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a sidewall of a plasma chamber. See [0026] of Desai et al where side wall 122 is recited.
Regarding claim 6: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a separation grid. See [0026] of Desai et al where separation grid 200 is recited.
Regarding claim 7: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a pedestal. See [0024] of Desai et al where pedestal 112 is recited.
Regarding claim 8: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a quartz material. See abstract where workpiece support (pedestal) is recited as being made of quartz. See [0026] where side wall 122 is made of quartz. See [0030] where separation grid made of first grid plate 210, second grid plate 220 where the grid is made of quartz.
Regarding claim 9: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a ceramic material. See abstract where workpiece support (pedestal) is recited as being made of quartz. Note quartz is a known example of ceramic material. See [0026] where side wall 122 is made of ceramic. See [0030] where separation grid made of first grid plate 210, second grid plate 220 where the grid is made of quartz/ceramic. Note quartz is a known example of ceramic material.
Regarding claim 12: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical temperature sensor is capable of sensing temperatures in a range from about 0°C up to about 1000°C. See the temperature range of the lamps is recited in [0004] of Desai et al.
Regarding claim 13: An apparatus for processing a workpiece, the apparatus comprising a plasma chamber having a sidewall; an inductively coupled plasma source (see [0002] , [0024]- [0026] of Desai et al with the recitation of inductively couple plasma source 135) configured to generate a plasma in the plasma chamber; a processing chamber separated from the plasma chamber via a separation grid; a pedestal disposed in the processing chamber, the pedestal configured to support a workpiece during processing; and an optical contact temperature sensor disposed on at least one of (i) the sidewall of the plasma chamber (ii) the separation grid or (iii) the pedestal. See the rejection of claim 1 above and the depiction of Fig. 1 of Desai above.
Regarding claim 18: The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the sidewall of the plasma chamber comprises a quartz material or a ceramic material. See [0026] where side wall 122 is made of quartz. Note quartz is a known ceramic material and ceramic is recited as a material of construction in [0026] of Dasai et al.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Banion et al (US 2019/0006157).
Regarding claim 1: O’Banion et al teaches a test wafer with an optical fiber with Bragg Grating Sensors see title. The prior art of O’Banion et al teaches a semiconductor fabrication apparatus for processing one or more workpieces, the semiconductor fabrication apparatus comprising: one or more components (pedestal/chuck 206/552/566 and sidewall 508 exposed to radio frequency energy (via RF power sources 584, 586 see [0053] and [0100]); and one or more optical contact temperature sensors (see [0032] of O’Banion et al which recites optical fibers with a plurality of FG sensors FBG are located in the chuck (pedestal) see also [0096] where temperature sensors 592 are recited. See Fig. 5-1 of O’Banion et al.
Regarding claim 2: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical contact temperature sensors comprises a Fiber Bragg gratings (FBG) sensor. See [0064] – [0071] of O’Banion et al where Fiber Bragg grating is recited.
Regarding claim 3:The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 2, wherein the FBG sensor comprises a plurality of Bragg gratings disposed at different positions along an optical fiber. See [0032] and 0064] – [0071] of O’Banion et al where Fiber Bragg grating is recited.
Regarding claim 4: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 3, wherein each Bragg grating has a first refractive index that is different from a second refractive index of the optical fiber. See [0134], [0136], [0196] of O’Banion et al.
Regarding claim 5: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a sidewall of a plasma chamber. See [0082] of O’Banion et al. where side wall 508 is recited.
Regarding claim 7: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a pedestal. See [0056] of O’Banion et al where chuck 206 is the pedestal is recited. Pedestal 552 is recited in [0092].
Regarding claim 9: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more components comprise a ceramic material. See outer liner 516 of the sidewall is made of ceramic according to [0083] of O’Banion et al or the sidewalls can be coated with ceramic according to [0085] of O’Banion et al.
Regarding claim 10: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical temperature sensor is coiled along a longitudinal axis of the one or more components. See [0051] ,[0098], and [0103] of O’Banion et al where the pedestal can have coiled sensors. See also Fig. 2-1 of O’Banion et al. where the optical fibers 205 have FGB sensor indicated with dots 212.
Regarding claim 11: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical temperature sensor is disposed in a linear pattern along a length of the one or more components. See [0198] of O’Banion et al. where it is recited that a grid (linear pattern) or array of rosettes (of sensors A111).
Regarding claim 12: The semiconductor fabrication apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical temperature sensor is capable of sensing temperatures in a range from about 0°C up to about 1000°C. The temperature sensors 592 of O’Banion et al are capable of sensing a range of temperatures. The actual temperature range is interpreted as a matter of an intended use. See [0095] and [0096] of O’Banion et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Banion et al (US 2019/0006157) in view of Vaniapura et al (US 2018/0053628).
The teachings of O’Banion et al were discussed above.
Regarding claim 6: The prior art of O’Banion et al fails to teach a separation grid.
The prior art of Vaniapura et al teaches a separation grid for plasma chamber see abstract. In the abstract, Vaniapura et al teaches the separation grid 50/200 separates the plasma chamber and the processing chamber. See Fig. 2 and see also [0005] of Vaniapura et al. See [0044] of Vaniapura et al teaches where one or more temperature sensors indicates the temperature of the separation grid. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the chamber of O’Banion et al by introducing a separation grid as and providing temperature sensors to the separation grid as suggested by Vaniapura et al.
Regarding claim 8: The teachings of O’Banion et al were discussed above. In [0052] of O’Banion et al the lift pins 208 are made of quartz.
The prior art of O’Banion et al fails to teach the one or more components (pedestal or sidewall) comprise a quartz material.
Recall in the prior art of Vaniapura et al teaches separation grid 200 as a chamber component.
In [0005] and [0066] of Vaniapura et al it is recited that the separation grid can be constructed of a non-conductive material where quartz is a suggested material. Quartz is a known material of construction in the semiconductor manufacturing as is possesses chemical and mechanical properties such as it is chemical inert and durable to withstand the harsh extreme chemical and physical conditions of semiconductor manufacturing. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a separation grid in the apparatus of O’Banion et al as suggested by Vaniapura et al and construct it of quartz.
Regarding claim 13: Recall the rejection of claim 1 where the apparatus for processing a workpiece, the apparatus comprising: a plasma chamber having a sidewall; an inductively coupled plasma source (see [0104] of O’Banion et al) configured to generate a plasma in the plasma chamber; a pedestal disposed in the processing chamber, the pedestal configured to support a workpiece during processing; and an optical contact temperature sensor disposed on at least one of (i) the sidewall of the plasma chamber or (iii) the pedestal. See the rejection of claim 1 above using the prior art of O’Banion et al.
The prior art of O’Banion et al fails to teach a processing chamber separated from the plasma chamber via a separation grid.
The prior art of Vaniapura et al teaches a separation grid for plasma chamber see abstract. In the abstract, Vaniapura et al teaches the separation grid separates the plasma chamber and the processing chamber. See also [0005] of Vaniapura et al. See [0044] of Vaniapura et al teaches where one or more temperature sensors indicates the temperature of the separation grid. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the chamber of O’Banion et al by introducing a separation grid as and providing temperature sensors to the separation grid as suggested by Vaniapura et al.
Regarding claim 14: The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the optical contact temperature sensor comprises a fiber Bragg gratings (FBG) sensor. See [0064] – [0071] of O’Banion et al where Fiber Bragg grating is recited. See [0032] of O’Banion et al where it is recited that FBG are temperature sensors.
Regarding claim 15:The apparatus of claim 14, wherein the FBG sensor comprises a plurality of Bragg gratings disposed at different positions along an optical fiber. See [0032] and [0064] – [0071] of O’Banion et al where Fiber Bragg grating is recited.
The prior art of O’Banion et al was discussed above. See especially [0079] – [0082] where the prior art of O’Banion et al teaches that the various components of the chamber should be monitored to ensure that extreme conditions such as high temperatures are not causing damage to these components.
Recall that O’Banion teaches that the temperature sensors namely FBG sensors are typically arrayed in a spiral or linear (grid) see [0098] of O’Banion et al.
The prior art of O’Banion et al fails to teach how the sensors are arrayed along the sidewall.
Namely, the prior art of O’Banion et al fails to teach:
Regarding claim 16: The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the optical contact temperature sensor is coiled along a longitudinal axis of the sidewall of the plasma chamber.
Regarding claim 17: The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the optical contact temperature sensor is disposed in a linear pattern along a longitudinal axis of the sidewall of the plasma chamber.
The design or configuration of the sensors upon or within the chamber components is a matter of design choice and since O’Banion et al has already recited how the sensors are arrayed in the pedestal it is with a reasonable expectation of success (without undue routine experimentation) that the sensors can be arrayed in linear and spiral pattern (or coiled about) the sidewall so as to optimize the location of temperature monitoring to ensure accurate temperature detection so that the temperature detected can determine the quality/status of the chamber component regarding wear and tear, erosion, or damage. Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to design the location or configure the sensors in a pattern that optimize the location of temperature monitoring to ensure accurate temperature detection so that the temperature detected can determine the quality/status of the chamber component.
Regarding claim 18: The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the sidewall 508 of the plasma chamber comprises a ceramic material. See [0083] of O’Banion et al wherein it is recited that the interior sidewalls and the outer liner can be coated with ceramic material. Note also that the prior art of Vaniapura et al teaches the sidewall 122 is made of dielectric material and suggested quartz specifically see [0060] and [0066].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nguyen et al (US 12,209923) teaches an optical fiber with FBG sensors in located in a trench formed in the platform (pedestal).
Choi et al (US 9,812,372) teaches an electrostatic chuck with temperature sensors 41 (FBG).
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716