DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the following communications: the Amendment filed 9/9/2026.
Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 1-6 are withdrawn. Claim 12 is cancelled. Claim 7 is currently amended. Claim 7 is independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments and amendments, filed 9/9/2026, with respect to Drawings Objections and 112 Rejections, as indicated in line numbers 2-4 of the office action mailed 5/15/2026, have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicants' arguments and amendments, filed 9/9/2026, with respect to independent claim 7, although substantive and pertinent to expediting the prosecution of the current application, are considered moot and not persuasive, respectfully, in light of new grounds of rejections made using the prior arts of Lin and Reboh as noted below in the rejections of independent claim 7.
A. Prior-art rejections based at least in part by Lin
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2024/0072136 A1, hereinafter “Lin”).
Regarding independent claim 7, Figure 1Q of Lin discloses a gate all around (GAA) complementary field effect transistor (CFET) device circuit, comprising:
a plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 108A (“semiconductor layers… epitaxial growth”- ¶¶0023, 0025), fabricated such that each of the plurality of epitaxy layers 108A are separated by a source/drain (S/D) canyon 502 (“source/drain trenches”- ¶0033; see Fig. 1F for notation), each canyon 502 defined by a sidewall of a first GAA CFET (i.e., the CFET corresponding to gate 1506-1), and a sidewall of a second GAA CFET (i.e., the CFET corresponding to gate 1506-2);
a spacer cover 1302 (“layers”- ¶0045) deposited on the sidewall of the first GAA CFET, and on the sidewall of the second GAA CFET; and
an isolator 1304 (“interlayer dielectric (ILD) layer”- ¶0046) deposited in a void (i.e., the space previously occupied by 1204, which is removed and then filled in by 1304- ¶0046) at a target depth height, wherein the void is created by etching away a dummy fill 124 (“polymer layers”- ¶0046) previously deposited in the S/D canyon 502 based on the target depth height.
Additionally, regarding the claim limitation “wherein the void is created by etching away a dummy fill previously deposited in the S/D canyon based on the target depth height” which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. In this regard, both claimed products and the prior art products would be the same or substantially the same.
Regarding claim 8, Figure 1Q of Lin discloses the circuit further comprising:
an NP dielectric 902 (“dielectric layers”- ¶0037) disposed between a first device 5000P (“PFET”- ¶0026) having a first polarity and a second device 5000N (“NFET”- ¶0026) having a second, opposite polarity (¶0026).
Regarding claim 9, Figure 1Q of Lin discloses wherein the first device 5000P comprises the plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 108A, and the second device 5000N comprises a second plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 108C (“semiconductor layers… epitaxial growth”- ¶¶0023, 0025) disposed over the NP dielectric 902.
Regarding claim 11, Figure 1Q of Lin discloses wherein the NP dielectric 902 occupies an NP void 802 (“gap”- ¶0036; see Fig. 1l for notation) formed by removal of an NP dummy filler 106B (“layer”- ¶0036).
Additionally, regarding the claim limitation “an NP void formed by removal of an NP dummy filler” which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. In this regard, both claimed products and the prior art products would be the same or substantially the same.
B. Prior-art rejections based at least in part by Reboh
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Reboh et al. (US 2025/0203935 A1, hereinafter “Reboh”).
Regarding independent claim 7, Figure 10A of Reboh discloses a gate all around (GAA) complementary field effect transistor (CFET) device circuit, comprising:
a plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 12A (“channels… epitaxy”- ¶0043), fabricated such that each of the plurality of epitaxy layers 12A are separated by a source/drain (S/D) canyon (i.e., the space occupied by source/drain 162A, 162B and 61, 71 and 92B), each canyon defined by a sidewall of a first GAA CFET (i.e., the CFET corresponding to left gates 176A, 176B as shown in Fig. 10A), and a sidewall of a second GAA CFET (i.e., the CFET corresponding to middle gates 176A, 176B as shown in Fig. 10A);
a spacer cover 71 (”ILD”- ¶0055) deposited on the sidewall of the first GAA CFET, and on the sidewall of the second GAA CFET; and
an isolator 61 (“dielectric isolation”- ¶0051) deposited in a void (i.e., the space occupied by 61) at a target depth height.
Additionally, regarding the claim limitation “wherein the void is created by etching away a dummy fill previously deposited in the S/D canyon based on the target depth height” which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. In this regard, both claimed products and the prior art products would be the same or substantially the same.
Regarding claim 8, Figure 10A of Reboh discloses the circuit further comprising:
an NP dielectric 41 (“dielectric isolation”- ¶0047) disposed between a first device 1200 (“GAA FET”- ¶0075) having a first polarity and a second device 1201 (“GAA FET”- ¶0075) having a second, opposite polarity (¶¶0043, 0050).
Regarding claim 9, Figure 10A of Reboh discloses wherein the first device 1200 comprises the plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 12A, and the second device 1201 comprises a second plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 12B (“channels… epitaxy”- ¶0043) disposed over the NP dielectric 41.
Regarding claim 10, Figure 10A of Reboh discloses wherein the second plurality of adjacent epitaxy layers 12B include a polarity which is opposite to a polarity of the adjacent epitaxy layers 12A (¶0043).
Regarding claim 11, Figure 10A of Reboh discloses wherein the NP dielectric 41 occupies an NP void (i.e., the space occupied by 41).
Additionally, regarding the claim limitation “an NP void formed by removal of an NP dummy filler” which is drawn to process steps of a product-by-process claim, such method step(s) are not considered to render an old apparatus patentable where the prior art teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. That is even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, the determination of patentability of the claims is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior art product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. In this regard, both claimed products and the prior art products would be the same or substantially the same.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY C CHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817