Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-18 in the reply filed on August 19, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “a burden does not exist”. This is not found persuasive because the Examiner’s restriction is across statutory classes of invention with disparate and non-overlapping classifications and searches.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “opaque” in claims 1-18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “opaque” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For what frequency of light does the opaque property apply? See Collins below as demonstrating “opaque” property for a frequency of light – infrared ([0020]).
The term “reflectivity of at least 80%” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “opaque” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For what frequency of light does the reflectivity property apply? See Champetier; Robert J. et al. below as demonstrating “reflectivity” property for a frequency of light – “wavelength of about 2.7 microns.” (column 17; lines 15-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iriuda; Hiroki et al. (US 20170114464 A1). Iriuda teaches a processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) applicable for semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a chamber body (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) comprising: a processing volume, one or more gas inject passages (passages for 41,42 in 11; Figure 6) formed in the chamber body (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]), and one or more gas exhaust passages (51; Figure 6) formed in the chamber body (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]); one or more heat sources (59; Figure 1; [0034]) configured to heat the processing volume; a first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) comprising a first opaque surface (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 311a; Figure 3); and a second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5) comprising a second opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311b; Figure 3), the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) and the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5) defining a first gas flow path (“conductance”; [0037]) between the first opaque surface (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 311a; Figure 3) and the second opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311b; Figure 3), and the first gas flow path (“conductance”; [0037]) in fluid communication with at least one of the one or more gas inject passages (passages for 41,42 in 11; Figure 6), as claimed by claim 1
Iriuda further teaches:
The processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) of claim 1, further comprising: a first arcuate support (first 74 of first 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112a; Figure 3) sized and shaped for positioning within the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5); and a second arcuate support (second 74 of second 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112b; Figure 3) spaced from the first arcuate support (first 74 of first 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112a; Figure 3), the second arcuate support (second 74 of second 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112b; Figure 3) sized and shaped for positioning within the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5), as claimed by claim 2
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5, 8-10, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iriuda; Hiroki et al. (US 20170114464 A1) in view of Collins; Richardo O. et al. (US 20130025538 A1). Iriuda is discussed above. Iriuda further teaches:
The processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) of claim 3, further comprising: a third pre-heat ring (third 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111c; Figure 3) comprising a third opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311c; Figure 3); a fourth pre-heat ring (fourth 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111d; Figure 3) comprising a fourth opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311d; Figure 3), the third pre-heat ring (third 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111c; Figure 3) and the fourth pre-heat ring (fourth 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111d; Figure 3) defining a second gas flow path (“conductance”; [0037]) between the third opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311c; Figure 3) and the fourth opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311d; Figure 3), and the second gas flow path (“conductance”; [0037]) in fluid communication with at least one of the one or more gas inject passages (passages for 41,42 in 11; Figure 6); and a third arcuate support (third 74 of third 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112c; Figure 3) spaced from the second arcuate support (second 74 of second 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112b; Figure 3), the third arcuate support (third 74 of third 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112c; Figure 3) sized and shaped for positioning within the third pre-heat ring (third 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111c; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 5
A chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) applicable for semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) comprising a first opaque surface (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 311a; Figure 3); a second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5) comprising a second opaque surface (quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 311b; Figure 3) – claim 8
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5), and the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5), are each formed of an opaque material – claim 9
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) and the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5) each includes a complete ring or one or more ring segments, as claimed by claim 18
Iriuda does not teach an equivalent plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12). As a result, Iriuda does not teach:
The processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) of claim 2, further comprising: a plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) supported by the second arcuate support (second 74 of second 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112b; Figure 3), the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) comprising at least one opaque outer surface, as claimed by claim 3
The processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) of claim 3, wherein the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5), the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5), and the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) are each formed of silicon carbide (SiC), as claimed by claim 4
a plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) comprising at least one opaque outer surface, the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) including an outer diameter that is lesser than inner diameters of the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) and the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5) – claim 8
the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) is formed of an opaque material, and the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) is discal in shape – claim 9
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, further comprising a second plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12), wherein the second plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) includes a second outer diameter that is larger than the outer diameter of the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12), as claimed by claim 10
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 9, wherein the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) has a thickness that is at least 1 mm, as claimed by claim 13
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, further comprising: an arcuate support (74 of 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112a; Figure 3) configured to support the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12); and one or more support rod structures (Applicant’s 1081; Figure 12) sized and shaped to extend through the arcuate support (74 of 24; Figure 11-Applicant’s 112a; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 14
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) further comprises a plurality of columns (Applicant’s 1270; Figure 12) extending relative to a side of the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12), as claimed by claim 15
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) further comprises a plurality of openings (Applicant’s 1170; Figure 11) extending therethrough, the plurality of openings (Applicant’s 1170; Figure 11) sized and shaped to receive a plurality of lift pins (Applicant’s 1089; Figure 11) therethrough, as claimed by claim 16
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) comprises a first recessed inner surface (Applicant’s 1061a; Figure 11) having a first inner diameter, and the second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5) comprises a second recessed inner surface (Applicant’s 1061b; Figure 11) having a second inner diameter that is lesser than the first inner diameter, as claimed by claim 17
Collins also teaches a wafer support kit (Figure 2) including:
a plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) supported by the second arcuate support (212; Figure 4-Applicant’s 112b; Figure 3), the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) comprising at least one opaque (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]) outer surface - claim 3
the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) is formed of silicon carbide (SiC), as claimed by claim 4
a plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) comprising at least one opaque (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]) outer surface, the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) including an outer diameter that is lesser than inner diameters of the first pre-heat ring (123; Figure 2,4-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) – claim 8
the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) is formed of an opaque (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]) material, and the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) is discal in shape – claim 9
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 9, wherein the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) has a thickness (3-7mm; [0026]) that is at least 1 mm, as claimed by claim 13
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, further comprising: an arcuate support (212; Figure 4-Applicant’s 112a; Figure 3) configured to support the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12); and one or more support rod structures (134; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1081; Figure 12) sized and shaped to extend through the arcuate support (212; Figure 4-Applicant’s 112a; Figure 3), as claimed by claim 14
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) further comprises a plurality of columns (166; Figure 4-Applicant’s 1270; Figure 12) extending relative to a side of the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12), as claimed by claim 15
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) further comprises a plurality of openings (214; Figure 3-Applicant’s 1170; Figure 11) extending therethrough, the plurality of openings (214; Figure 3-Applicant’s 1170; Figure 11) sized and shaped to receive a plurality of lift pins (128; Figure 2C-Applicant’s 1089; Figure 11) therethrough, as claimed by claim 16
The chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 8, wherein the first pre-heat ring (123; Figure 2,4-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) comprises a first recessed inner surface (125-123 interface; Figure 2B-Applicant’s 1061a; Figure 11) having a first inner diameter - claim 17
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Iriuda to add Collins’ plate and support components.
Motivation for Iriuda to add Collins’ plate is for “more uniform emissivity to reduce or eliminate the variation in of substrate backside emissivity” when temperature monitoring as taught by Collins ([0043]).
Motivation for Iriuda to add Collins’ support components is for accommodating Collins’ plate (“substantially planar member” 170) and for wafer stacking.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iriuda; Hiroki et al. (US 20170114464 A1) in view of Collins; Richardo O. et al. (US 20130025538 A1). Iriuda and Collins are discussed above. Iriuda and Collins do not teach plural plates. As a result, Iriuda and Collins do not teach:
The processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) of claim 5, further comprising a second plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) sized and shaped for positioning within Iriuda’s fourth pre-heat ring (fourth 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111d; Figure 3), wherein: the second plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) includes a second outer diameter that is larger than an outer diameter of the plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12); and Iriuda’s third pre-heat ring (third 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111c; Figure 3), Iriuda’s fourth pre-heat ring (fourth 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111d; Figure 3), and the second plate (Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) are each formed of SiC, as claimed by claim 6
Collins also teaches Collins’ plate (170; Figure 2; [0020]-SiC, “opaque to infrared light”; [0020]-Applicant’s 169; Figure 3,12) made from SiC.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Iriuda to add plural of Collins’ plate.
Motivation for Iriuda to add plural of Collins’ plate is for “more uniform emissivity to reduce or eliminate the variation in of substrate backside emissivity” when temperature monitoring as taught by Collins ([0043]). Further, it is well established that the duplication of parts is obvious (In re Harza , 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) MPEP 2144.04).
Claims 7 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iriuda; Hiroki et al. (US 20170114464 A1) and Collins; Richardo O. et al. (US 20130025538 A1) in view of Shimizu; Hironobu et al. (US 20090178762 A1). Iriuda and Collins are discussed above. Iriuda and Collins do not teach:
The processing chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) of claim 5, further comprising: a respective heating element disposed in each of Iriuda’s first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5), Iriuda’s second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5), Iriuda’s third pre-heat ring (third 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111c; Figure 3), and Iriuda’s fourth pre-heat ring (fourth 24; Figure 9,11-Applicant’s 111d; Figure 3); and a controller configured to independently control a supply of power of the respective heating elements relative to each other, as claimed by claim 7
Iriuda’s chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 9, further comprising a heating element embedded in one or more of Iriuda’s first pre-heat ring (71; Figure 9; quartz; [0026]-Applicant’s 111a; Figure 3-5) or Iriuda’s second pre-heat ring (24 part of 2; Figure 4,9,11; quartz-[0028],[0029]-Applicant’s 111b; Figure 3,5), as claimed by claim 12
Shimizu also teaches a vertically stacked wafer processing system (Figure 2) including a boat (Figures 3-6) with individual, “divisional”, controlled heaters (74; Figures 3-6; [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Iriuda to add Shimizu’s “divisional”, controlled heaters (74; Figures 3-6; [0078]).
Motivation for Iriuda to add Shimizu’s “divisional”, controlled heaters (74; Figures 3-6; [0078]) is for uniform film deposition as taught by Shimizu ([0013]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iriuda; Hiroki et al. (US 20170114464 A1) and Collins; Richardo O. et al. (US 20130025538 A1) in view of Champetier; Robert J. et al. (US 5997175 A). Iriuda and Collins are discussed above. Iriuda and Collins do not teach Iriuda’s chamber (11; Figure 2,6; [0027]) kit (Figure 4) of claim 9, further comprising a reflective plate (Applicant’s 810; Figure 8), wherein the reflective plate (Applicant’s 810; Figure 8) has a reflectivity of at least 80%, as claimed by claim 11
Champetier also teaches a wafer (100) processing apparatus (Figure 5) employing a reflective plate having a 97% reflectivity at a wavelength of 2.7 microns (column 17; lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Iriuda to add Champetier’s reflective plate.
Motivation for Iriuda to add Champetier’s reflective plate is for at least thermal monitoring as taught by Champetier (column 4; lines 1-4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reactor systems employing wafer boats include at least US 20120000425 A1; US 20240254624 A1; US 20150097486 A1; US 20220254634 A1; US 20010029892 A1; US 20110121503 A1; US 20180105936 A1; US 20200335312 A1; US 20200058526 A1; US 11282721 B2
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716