DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa (U.S.
PGPUB. 2009/0126634 Al) in view of Shamouilian et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,095,084).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 1:
Regarding claim 1, Yamazawa teaches a processing chamber applicable for
semiconductor manufacturing comprising one or more sidewalls; a plate at least partially
defining a processing volume; a substrate support disposed in the processing volume; a first
electrode disposed outwardly of the processing volume, wherein the first electrode is configured
to be electrically coupled to a radio frequency power source; a second electrode coupled to the
substrate support and a conductive rod electrically coupled to the second electrode, the first
electrode is disposed at a gap from the plate. (Fig. 3)
The difference between claim 1 and Yamazawa is that one or more heat sources operable
to heat the processing volume is not discussed (Claim 1), the substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a substrate is not discussed (Claim 1), and the second electrode is embedded in the substrate support is not discussed (Claim 1).
Regarding one or more heat sources operable to heat the processing volume (Claim 1 ),
Yamazawa teaches utilizing a thermally conductive gas to conduct heat. (Paragraph 0037)
Shamouilian et al. teach utilizing heaters 115 for providing consistent and stable plasma
conditions. (Column 8 lines 30-65)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Shamouilian et al. is that it allows providing
consistent and stable plasma conditions utilizing heaters for temperature control. (Column 8
lines 30-65)
Regarding the substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a substrate (Claim 1), Shamouilian et al teach an upper surface configured to support a substrate. (See Fig. 2)
Regarding the second electrode embedded in the substrate support (Claim 1 ), Shamouilian et al. teach a second electrode embedded in a substrate support. (See Fig. 2)
The motivation for utilizing the substrate support of Shamouilian et al. is that it allows for
controlling the direction of the plasma. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Yamazawa by utilizing the features of Shamouilian et al.
because it allows for producing stable controllable plasma conditions with direction control.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa in view
of Shamouilian et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yin et al. (U.S. Pat.
6,352,049).
The difference not yet discussed is a flow housing disposed at least partially outwardly of
the one or more sidewalls; and one or more (RF) coils disposed at least partially around the flow
housing.
Regarding claim 4, Yin et al. teach a flow housing disposed at least partially outwardly of
the one or more sidewalls; and one or more (RF) coils disposed at least partially around the flow
housing. (Figs. 1, 2B, 2C, 2D; See Abstract)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Yin et al. is that it allows for controlling
species density. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have utilized the features of Yin et al. because it allows for controlling
species density.
Claim(s) 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazawa
(U.S. PGPUB. 2009/0126634 Al) in view of Shamouilian et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,095,084).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 17:
Regarding claim 17, Yamazawa teaches a method of substrate processing comprising
disposing a substrate in a processing volume, a plate at least partially defining the processing
volume, wherein a first electrode is disposed outwardly of the processing volume, wherein the
first electrode is configured to be electrically coupled to a RF power source, a second electrode
coupled to a substrate support and a conductive rod electrically coupled to the second electrode,
wherein the first electrode is disposed at a gap from the plate; flowing one or more gases over the
substrate; flowing a gas to the processing volume and applying power to the processing volume
while flowing the gas to generate a plasma. (See Fig. 3 annotated above; Paragraphs 0057-0060)
The difference between Yamazawa and claim 17 is that heating a substrate to a target temperature is not discussed (Claim 17), a substrate positioned on an upper surface of the substrate support is not discussed (Claim 17), and the second electrode being embedded in the substrate support is not discussed (Claim 17).
Regarding heating a substrate to a target temperature (Claim 17), Yamazawa teaches temperature control for controlling wafer temperature. (Paragraph 0037) A target temperature can be achieved via wafer temperature control.
Regarding a substrate positioned on an upper surface of the substrate support (Claim 17), Shamouilian et al. teach substrate positioned on an upper surface of the substrate support. (See Fig. 2)
Regarding the second electrode embedded in the substrate support (Claim 17), Shamouilian et al. teach a second electrode embedded in a substrate support. (See Fig. 2)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 18:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the power is applied across the processing
volume between the first electrode and the second electrode coupled to the substrate support.
Regarding claim 18, Yamazawa teaches wherein the power is applied across the
processing volume between the first electrode and the second electrode coupled to the substrate
support. (Paragraphs 0057-0060)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 19:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein a magnetic field is generated across at least
part of the plasma.
Regarding claim 19, Shamouilian et al. teach wherein a magnetic field is generated across
at least part of the plasma. (Column 17 lines 29-33)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 20:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the magnetic field is angled relative to a gas
flow path of the gas.
Regarding claim 20, Shamouilian et al. teach wherein the magnetic field is angled
relative to a gas flow path of the gas. (Fig. 2)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Shamouilian et al. is that it allows for
providing consistent and stable plasma conditions (Column 8 lines 30-65) with controlled
direction of the plasma. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have modified Yamazawa by utilizing the features of Shamouilian et al.
because it allows for providing consistent and stable plasma conditions with controlled direction
of the plasma.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 10, 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Trow et al. (U.S. Pat. 5,824,607) in view of Yamazawa (U.S. PGPUB. 2009/0126634 Al) and
Shamouilian et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,095,084).
INDEPENDENT CLAIM 5:
Regarding claim 5, Trow et al. teach a processing chamber applicable for semiconductor
manufacturing, comprising: one or more sidewalls (Fig. l); a plate at least partially defining an
processing volume ; a substrate support disposed in the processing volume; one or more heat
sources operable to heat the processing volume (Column 4 lines 40-50 - heating the walls thus
heating the processing volume); and a plurality of magnets configured to generate a magnetic
field across at least a section of the processing volume (Figs. 1, 2 - 8 lA-C; Column 6 lines 7-24)
Trow et al. teach a first electrode 17T wherein the first electrode is configured to be
electrically coupled to a RF power source. (Figs. 1, 2 - 81A-C; Column 6 lines 7-24)
The difference between Trow et al. and claim 5 is that the first electrode being disposed
outwardly of the process volume is not discussed (Claim 5), the first electrode being disposed at
a gap from the plate is not discussed (Claim 5), the substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a substrate is not discussed (Claim 5) and a second electrode coupled to the substrate support and a conductive rod electrically coupled to the second electrode, and the second electrode embedded in the substrate support is not discussed (Claim 5).
Regarding the first electrode being disposed outwardly of the process volume and the
first electrode being disposed at a gap from the plate (Claim 5):
Trow et al. teach a first electrode 17T. (See Fig. 1)
Yamazawa teach a first electrode being disposed outwardly of the process volume and
the first electrode being disposed at a gap from the plate. (See Fig. 3)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the first electrode
arrangement of Trow et al. with the electrode arrangement of Yamazawa because it allows for
controlling capacitance (Paragraph 0052).
Regarding the substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a substrate (Claim 5), Shamouilian et al teach an upper surface configured to support a substrate. (See Fig. 2)
Regarding a second electrode coupled to the substrate support and a conductive rod
electrically coupled to the second electrode, and the second electrode embedded in the substrate
support (Claim 5):
Trow et al. teach a second electrode.
Shamouilian et al. teach a second electrode coupled to the substrate support and a
conductive rod electrically coupled to the second electrode, and the second electrode embedded
in the substrate support. (See Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention
was made to have replaced the substrate holder of Trow et al. with the substrate holder of
Shamouilian et al. because it allows for controlling the direction of plasma. (See Abstract)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 7:
Regarding claim 7, Trow et al. teach wherein at least one of the plurality of magnets
comprises a magnetic ring. (Figs. 1,2 - 81A-C; Column 6 lines 7-24)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 10:
Regarding claim 10, Trow et al. teach further comprising: a lid assembly, the lid
assembly comprising: an outer wall; an inner wall; and one or more magnets disposed at least
partially around the lid assembly. (Fig. 1, 2; Column 3 lines 60-68; Column 4 lines 1-3)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 12:
Regarding claim 12, Trow et al. teach wherein the lid assembly further comprises: a gas
inlet; and one or more RF coils disposed out least partially about the outer wall. (Fig. 1)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 13:
Regarding claim 13, Trow et al. teach wherein the magnetic field is about curved. (Fig. 2)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 14:
Regarding claim 14, Trow et al. teach wherein the plurality of magnets are configured to
generate a magnetic field that is angled relative to a gas flow path. (Fig. 2)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 15:
Regarding claim 15, Trow et al. teach wherein the plurality of magnets are disposed at
least partially about the plate and a window, and the plurality of magnets are operable to generate
the magnetic field across at least a section of the processing volume. (Fig. 2)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 16:
Regarding claim 16, Trow et al. teach wherein the plurality of magnets comprise one or
more first magnets and one or more second magnets disposed radially outwardly of the one or
more first magnets. (Fig. 2 - 81A-81C)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Yamazawa is that it allows for controlling
capacitance. (Paragraph 0052)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Shamouilian et al. is that it allows for
providing consistent and stable plasma conditions (Column 8 lines 30-65) with controlled
direction of the plasma. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to have
modified Trow et al. by utilizing the features of Yamazawa and Shamouilian et al. because it
Claim(s) 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trow et al. in
view of Yamazawa and Shamouilian et al. as applied to claims 5, 7, 10, 12-16 above, and further
in view of Brcka (U.S. Pat. 7,556,718).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 6:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the plurality of magnets comprises a first
magnet set and a second magnet set, the first and second magnet sets respectively comprising a
plurality of curved sections.
Regarding claim 6, Brcka teach wherein the plurality of magnets comprises a first magnet
set and a second magnet set, the first and second magnet sets respectively comprising a plurality
of curved sections. (See Figs. 3, 3A)
DEPENDENT CLAIM 8:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein at least one of the plurality of magnets is
coupled to one or more actuators operable to move the respective magnet.
Regarding claim 8, Trow et al. teach wherein at least one of the plurality of magnets is
coupled to one or more actuators operable to move the respective magnet. (See Fig. 2)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Brcka is that it allows for moving the plasma.
(Column 3 lines 1-7)
The motivation for utilizing the features of Brcka is that it allows for moving the plasma.
(Column 3 lines 1-7)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have utilized the features of Brcka because it allows for moving the
plasma.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trow et al. in view
of Yamazawa and Shamouilian et al. as applied to claims 5, 7, 10, 12-16 above, and further in
view of Yin et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,352,049).
The difference not yet discussed is a flow housing disposed at least partially outwardly of
the one or more sidewalls; and one or more (RF) coils disposed at least partially around the flow
housing wherein at least one of the plurality of magnets is disposed at least partially about the
flow housing.
Regarding claim 9, Yin et al. teach a flow housing disposed at least partially outwardly of
the one or more sidewalls; and one or more (RF) coils disposed at least partially around the flow
housing. (Figs. l ,2B,2C, 2D; See Abstract) Combined with Trow et al. one of the magnets would
be disposed at least partially about the flow housing.
The motivation for utilizing the features of Yin et al. is that it allows for controlling
species density. (See Abstract)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have utilized the features of Yin et al. because it allows for controlling
species density.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trow et al. in
view of Yamazawa and Shamouilian et al. as applied to claims 5, 7, 10, 12-16 above, and further
in view of Ghanbari (U.S. Pat. 4,778,561).
DEPENDENT CLAIM 11:
The difference not yet discussed is wherein the magnets comprise a plurality of second
magnets disposed inwardly of the inner wall.
Regarding claim 11, Ghanbari teach utilizing magnets exterior and interior to a chamber.
(See Figs. 1, 2)
The motivation for utilizing Ghanbari arrangements of magnets is that it allows for
producing uniform plasma. (Column 4 lines 61-62)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the
invention was made to have utilized the features of Ghanbari because it allows producing
uniform plasma.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to the argument that the prior art does not teach a substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a substrate, it is argued that Shamouilian et al. teach in Fig. 2 a substrate support having an upper surface configured to support a substrate.
In response to the argument that the prior art does not teach heating a substrate positioned on an upper surface of a substrate support to a target temperature, it is argued that Yamazawa teaches temperature control for controlling wafer temperature. (Paragraph 0037) A target temperature can be achieved via wafer temperature control.
In response to the argument that the prior art does not teach the second electrode embedded in the substrate support, it is argued that Shamouilian et al. teach in Fig. 2 a second electrode embedded in the substrate support.
In response to the argument that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine Shamouilian with Yamazawa because Shamouilian teach a fixed embedded electrode that would introduce fixed impedance, it is argued that Shamouilian teach the structure of an embedded electrode. While Shamouilian does not teach moving the electrode Yamazawa teaches moving the electrode for changing impedance. It should be noted that in both references the substrate holder is fixed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RODNEY G MCDONALD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794
RM
May 21, 2026