DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on December 20, 2023 and March 19, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6 and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Rhodine et al. (USP 10,865,541).
Regarding claim 1: Rhodine discloses an intermediate section for a dipper handle (as seen in figures 2-7, generally 54), the intermediate section comprising:
an open first end (as seen in figure 6, area of 156);
an interior cavity (as seen in figure 6, area of 140) extending, along a longitudinal axis, into the intermediate section from the first end; and
a pair of crowd bores extending (as seen in figure 7, at 144), along a lateral axis that is orthogonal to the longitudinal axis, through respective ones of opposing sides of the intermediate section, into the interior cavity, wherein the pair of crowd bores are aligned with each other along the lateral axis (as seen in figure 9); wherein a first longitudinal distance from the first end to a center of each of the pair of crowd bores is at least 50% of an outer diameter of the intermediate section at the first end (as seen in annotated figure 7 below).
Regarding claims 5 and 6: Rhodine discloses the intermediate section of claim 1. Further Rhodine discloses wherein the intermediate section further comprises a pair of bosses on respective ones of the opposing sides of the intermediate section, wherein each of the pair of bosses encircles a respective one of the pair of crowd bores and the intermediate section further comprises a fillet around each of the pair of bosses (as seen in annotated figure 9 below).
.
Regarding claim 14: Rhodine discloses the intermediate section of claim 1. Further Rhodine discloses wherein the device comprises a second end, opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis, wherein a thickness of a wall of the intermediate section, defining the interior cavity, decreases from a portion of the first end towards the second end (as seen in annotated figure 7 below).
Regarding claim 15: Rhodine discloses the intermediate section of claim 1. Further Rhodine discloses wherein the device comprises a second end, opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis, wherein the first end has a circular cross-sectional profile, wherein the second end has a rectangular cross-sectional profile, and wherein the intermediate section transitions from the circular cross-sectional profile to the rectangular cross-sectional profile along the longitudinal axis (as seen in figure 6).
Regarding claim 16: Rhodine discloses the intermediate section of claim 14. Further Rhodine discloses wherein the second end comprises an opening that extends into the interior cavity along the longitudinal axis (as seen in figure 8).
Regarding claim 17: Rhodine discloses a dipper handle (as seen in figure 1) comprising:
a tube section (as seen in figures 2 and 3, at 58) that is joined to the first end of the intermediate section; the intermediate section of Claim 1, wherein the intermediate section further comprises a second end, opposite the first end along the longitudinal axis; and
an engagement section (as seen in figures 4 and 5, area of 78) that is joined to the second end of the intermediate section, wherein the engagement section is configured to be joined to a dipper (as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 18: Rhodine discloses an electric rope shovel (column 1, lines 17-19) comprising:
one or more ground-engaging members;
a turntable connected to the one or more ground-engaging members;
a main body comprising a chassis that is mounted on the turntable;
a boom extending from the main body (all inherent in the Caterpillar Model 7495, as disclosed on column 1, lines 20-21);
the dipper handle of Claim 17;
a crowd control, secured to the boom via a saddle block (as seen in figure 1, area of 24) and secured to the dipper handle via the intermediate section, wherein the crowd control is configured to extend and retract the dipper handle (column 1, lines 29-38), relative to the boom; and
a dipper (as seen in figure 1, at 2) secured to the engagement section of the dipper handle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rhodine et al. (USP 10,865,541).
Regarding claims 2-4 and 7-13: Rhodine discloses the intermediate section substantially as discussed above but fails to disclose the distance percentages as claimed by the applicant. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the distance percentage limitations disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Further, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). Refer to MPEP § 2144.05.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19 and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose or fairly suggest in combination with other claimed features/limitation a machine having a dipper handle comprising a hollow tube section having a first end and a second end along a longitudinal axis, wherein a wall of the tube section has a uniform first thickness from the first end to a first point that is a first distance from the second end, transitions to a second thickness from the first point to a second point that is a second distance from the second end, and has the second thickness from the second point to an edge of the second end, wherein the edge of the second end is beveled; an intermediate section that includes an open third end that is joined to the second end of the tube section, wherein the third end has a first cross-sectional profile, a fourth end that is opposite the third end along the longitudinal axis, wherein the fourth end has a second cross-sectional profile that is different from the first cross-sectional profile, wherein the intermediate section transitions from the first cross-sectional profile to the second cross-sectional profile along the longitudinal axis and a wall that extends from an edge of the third end to the fourth end.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Baron (USP 3,856,161) discloses an intermediate section for a dipper handle employing an interior cavity with crowd bores and allied fillets.
/ROBERT E PEZZUTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3671