DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/10/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 3-8 and 15-22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “heat sources operable to heat” in line 6. It should be recited as --heat sources operable to heat-- because operative is not a positive citation.
Claims 3-8 and 21-22 are rejected based on the dependency from claim 1.
Similarly, claim 5 recites “operable” in line 3. It should be recited as --operable-- because operative is not a positive citation.
Similarly, claim 8 recites “operable” in lines 3-4. They should be recited as --operable-- because operative is not a positive citation.
Similarly, claim 14 recites “heat sources operable to heat” in line 6. It should be recited as --heat sources operable to heat-- because operative is not a positive citation.
Claims 15-20 are rejected based on the dependency from claim 14.
Similarly, claim 22 recites “operable” in line 3. It should be recited as --operable-- because operative is not a positive citation.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 14-16 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (WO 2022/031422, see US 2023/0617581) in view of Forster et al. (WO 2011/163455) and Long et al. (US 9,059,678).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses a processing chamber [200 fig. 2] applicable for use in semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a chamber body [e.g. 202] comprising an inject section [ see 258] and an exhaust section [see 268]; a plate [e.g. 250/222 (para. 0032 discloses quartz can be opaque)], the plate comprising an opaque surface [see at least paras. 0034, 0032], and the chamber body and the plate at least partially defining a processing volume; one or more heat sources [e.g. 218A, 218B] operable to heat the processing volume; a substrate support [e.g. one of 248s] disposed in the processing volume; and a lid [e.g. the lid above 218B/222] of the processing chamber; except and one or more coils disposed between the substrate support and a lid of the processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate. However, Forster discloses a plurality of coils [e.g. 98 fig. 1] disposed between a plate [e.g. 88] and a lid [e.g. 86] of a processing chamber, wherein the plurality of coils are coupled to the plate [see at least para. 0015, The inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73; in reference of para. 0021 of US 2016/0048111 by Wang et al., the ceiling or gas distribution plate 104 may be formed of a non-conductive material in order to permit inductive coupling of RF power from the coil antennas 110, 112 through the ceiling 104 and into the chamber 100. Therefore, the one or more coils are coupled to the plate (at least inductively coupled)].
In addition, when considered ‘coupled to’ the plate as “disposed on” or “in contact with” the plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coils coupled to the plate, since Forster have disclosed the inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 (e.g. “disposed on” or “in contact with” is one way of disposed about the dielectric lid 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah in accordance with the teaching of Forster regarding an inductive coil in order to utilize an inductive coil to help generate plasma [para. 0015]. Please also see the rejection of claim 14.
The combination does not explicitly wherein disclose the plurality of coils are positioned respectively with a plurality of zones aligned respectively with portions of the substrate support, and wherein the plurality of coils coupled to the plate are disposed radially outwardly. However, Long discloses a plurality of coils [e.g. 120, 122 figs. 1-4] are positioned respectively with a plurality of zones [e.g. inner, middle, outer zones] aligned respectively with portions of the substrate support, and wherein the plurality of coils coupled to the plate are disposed radially outwardly [see at least figs. 1-4].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah and Forster in accordance with the teaching of Long regarding coils in order to utilize an inductive coil to provide operational longevity of the system [Col.1 lines 63-67].
Regarding claim 3, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the plurality of coils are radio frequency coils coupled to a radio frequency generator [e.g. 74 fig. 1 Forster; 322/320 fig. 3 Long].
Regarding claim 4, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the plurality of coils are supported at least partially by the plate.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the substrate support comprises a first electrode [e.g. 46 Forster], and the plurality of coils and the first electrode are operable to flow a current across at least part of the processing volume to generate plasma [see at least para. 0015] in the processing volume.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the plate is formed of an opaque material [e.g. 250/222 (para. 0032 discloses quartz can be opaque) Shah].
Regarding claim 14, Shah discloses a processing chamber [200 fig. 2] applicable for use in semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a chamber body [e.g. 202] comprising an inject section [ see 258] and an exhaust section [ see 268]; a plate [e.g. 250/222 (para. 0032 discloses quartz can be opaque)], and the chamber body and the plate at least partially defining a processing volume; one or more heat sources [e.g. 218A, 218B] operable to heat the processing volume; a substrate support [e.g. one of 248s] disposed in the processing volume; a lid [e.g. the lid above 218B/222] of the processing chamber; and a controller [e.g. 190] comprising a memory [e.g. 194], the memory comprising instruction that, when executed by a processor, cause a plurality of operations [see at least para. 0025] to be conducted, the plurality of operations comprising: heating the processing volume; and flowing one or more process gases into the processing volume. Shah doesn’t disclose a plurality of coils disposed between the plate and a lid, flowing an electrical current through the plurality of coils, wherein the plurality of coils are coupled to the plate.
However, Forster discloses a plurality of coils [e.g. 98 fig. 1] disposed between a plate [e.g. 88] and a lid [e.g. 86] of a processing chamber, wherein the plurality of coils are coupled to the plate [see at least para. 0015, The inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73; in reference of para. 0021 of US 2016/0048111 by Wang et al., the ceiling or gas distribution plate 104 may be formed of a non-conductive material in order to permit inductive coupling of RF power from the coil antennas 110, 112 through the ceiling 104 and into the chamber 100. Therefore, the plurality of coils are coupled to the plate (at least inductively coupled)]. In addition, Forster discloses a controller [e.g. 110] comprising a memory [e.g. 114], the memory comprising instruction that, when executed by a processor, cause a plurality of operations [see at least para. 0029] to be conducted, the plurality of operations comprising: flowing an electrical current through the plurality of coils; heating the processing volume; and flowing one or more process gases into the processing volume [see at least paras. 0029-0030, fig. 1, claims 1, 8].
In addition, when considered ‘coupled to’ the plate as “disposed on” or “in contact with” the plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coils coupled to the plate, since Forster have disclosed the inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 (e.g. “disposed on” or “in contact with” is one way of disposed about the dielectric lid 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah in accordance with the teaching of Forster regarding an inductive coil in order to utilize an inductive coil to help generate plasma [para. 0015]. Please also see the rejection of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly wherein disclose the plurality of coils are positioned respectively with a plurality of zones aligned respectively with portions of the substrate support, and wherein the plurality of coils coupled to the plate are disposed radially outwardly; independently controlling at least one of an amount of current, a frequency, or a phase of current to each of the plurality of coils. However, Long discloses a plurality of coils [e.g. 120, 122 figs. 1-4] are positioned respectively with a plurality of zones [e.g. inner, middle, outer zones] aligned respectively with portions of the substrate support, and wherein the plurality of coils coupled to the plate are disposed radially outwardly [see at least figs. 1-4]; independently controlling at least one of an amount of current, a frequency, or a phase of current to each of the plurality of coils [see at least claim 1, Col. 5 lines 32-56].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah and Forster in accordance with the teaching of Long regarding coils in order to utilize an inductive coil to provide operational longevity of the system [Col.1 lines 63-67].
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 14, wherein the electrical current is a radio frequency (RF) current [e.g. the coil is coupled to RF, see at least fig. 1 of Forster], and the electrical current comprises at least: a first current flowed to a first coil [e.g. 122/120 fig. 3 Long] of the plurality of coils; and a second current flowed to a second coil [e.g. 120/122 fig. 3 Long] of the one or more of coils.
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 15, wherein a frequency of the first coil is about the same as a frequency of the second coil.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the first current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal [having same structure], or this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the first current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 14, wherein the electrical current includes direct current, or this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the electrical current includes direct current provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. See para. [0061] of the current application.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 14, wherein the electrical current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal [having same structure], or this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the first current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem.
Claim 8, 17 and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (WO 2022/031422, see US 2023/0617581) in view of Forster et al. (WO 2011/163455), Long et al. (US 9,059,678) and Wong et al. (US 2016/0048111).
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 6, wherein the plurality of coils comprise at least: a first coil [e.g. 122/120 fig. 3 Long ] operable to flow a first current at a first frequency; and a second coil [e.g. 120/122] operable to flow a second current. The combination does not disclose a second coil operated to flow a second current at a second frequency. However, it’s well-known to utilize different RF powers to coils. For example, Wong discloses to utilize different RF power [e.g. 114, 116; para. 0011] to coils [e.g. 110, 112]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah, Forster and Long in accordance with the teaching of Wong regarding RF powers in order to improve control of coils [para. 0011].
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 15, except wherein a first frequency of first current to the first coil is lower than a second frequency of the second current to the second coil. However, it’s well-known to utilize different RF powers to coils. For example, Wong discloses to utilize different RF power [e.g. 114, 116; para. 0011] to coils [e.g. 110, 112]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah, Forster and Long in accordance with the teaching of Wong regarding RF powers in order to improve control of coils [para. 0011].
Regarding claim 21, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 3, except wherein the radio frequency generator is configured to independently flow a current to each of the plurality of coils. However, it’s well-known to utilize different RF powers to coils. For example, Wong discloses to utilize different RF power [e.g. 114, 116; para. 0011] to coils [e.g. 110, 112]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah, Forster and Long in accordance with the teaching of Wong regarding RF powers in order to improve control of coils [para. 0011].
Regarding claim 22, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 21, wherein the radio frequency generator is configured to independently control an amount of current, a frequency, and/or a phase of the independently operable current for each of the plurality of coils.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 08/07/26 has been addressed in the above rejection sections. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
‘However, Forster discloses that the inductive coil 98 is disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73.
Referring to the definition of "coupled" in paragraph [0017] of the application, Forster's references of the "inductive coil 98...coupled to an RF power source 74" and "an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75" of paragraph [0015] are not the same as, or not able to be interpretable to be the same as, recited as "the plurality of coils are coupled to the plate" in the claims.
Thus, the inductive coil of Forster does not provide a prima facie showing of a plurality of coils disposed between the plate and a lid of the processing chamber, and the plurality of coils are coupled to the plate.’
However, “coupled” is not defined in paragraph [0017]. The paragraph [0017] describes various ways that are considered as coupled. The definition of coupled is open-ended in the application.
Applicant argues:
‘Further, the Applicant respectfully submits that one skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify multi-wafer batch processing system where multiple substrates are pre-cleaned to remove contaminants, such as oxides, prior to thin film growth thereon by epitaxial processes by baking the substrates in a hydrogen atmosphere of Shah with the inductive coils used to produce a plasma in a first chamber volume that is then filtered into a second chamber volume of Forsterto teach or suggest the subject-matter as recited in claims 1 and 14, and even if did so, the combination of references would not teach the subject-matter as recited in claims 1 and 14.’
However, according to the para. 0017 of the specification. The term “coupled” is broad. In addition, Forster discloses one or more coils [e.g. 98 fig. 1] disposed between a plate [e.g. 88] and a lid [e.g. 86] of a processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate [see at least para. 0015, The inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 (means first volume 73) to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73; in reference of para. 0021 of US 2016/0048111 by Wang et al., the ceiling or gas distribution plate 104 may be formed of a non-conductive material in order to permit inductive coupling of RF power from the coil antennas 110, 112 through the ceiling 104 and into the chamber 100. Therefore, the one or more coils are coupled to the plate (at least inductively coupled)].
In addition, when considered ‘coupled to’ the plate as “disposed on” or “in contact with” the plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coils coupled to the plate, since Forster have disclosed the inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 (e.g. “disposed on” or “in contact with” is one way of disposed about the dielectric lid 88).
In addition, Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new amendments recited in claim 1 and 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection rely on a new reference, Long et al. (US 9,059,678), which was not applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836