DETAILED ACTION
In addressing the rejection ground, each claim may not have been separately discussed to the extent the claimed features are the same as or similar to the previously-discussed features; the previous discussion is construed to apply for the other claims in the same or similar way.
In the office action, “/” should be read as and/or as generally understood. For example, “A/B” means A and B, or A or B.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 9-13 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 10/10/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (WO 2022/031422, see US 2023/0617581) in view of Forster et al. (WO 2011/163455).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses a processing chamber [200 fig. 2] applicable for use in semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a chamber body [e.g. 202] comprising an inject section [ see 258] and an exhaust section [see 268]; a plate [e.g. 250/222 (para. 0032 discloses quartz can be opaque)], the plate comprising an opaque surface [see at least paras. 0034, 0032], and the chamber body and the plate at least partially defining a processing volume; one or more heat sources [e.g. 218A, 218B] operable to heat the processing volume; a substrate support [e.g. one of 248s] disposed in the processing volume; and a lid [e.g. the lid above 218B/222] of the processing chamber; except and one or more coils disposed between the substrate support and a lid of the processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate. However, Forster discloses one or more coils [e.g. 98 fig. 1] disposed between a plate [e.g. 88] and a lid [e.g. 86] of a processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate [see at least para. 0015, The inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73; in reference of para. 0021 of US 2016/0048111 by Wang et al., the ceiling or gas distribution plate 104 may be formed of a non-conductive material in order to permit inductive coupling of RF power from the coil antennas 110, 112 through the ceiling 104 and into the chamber 100. Therefore, the one or more coils are coupled to the plate (at least inductively coupled)].
In addition, when considered ‘coupled to’ the plate as “disposed on” or “in contact with” the plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coils coupled to the plate, since Forster have disclosed the inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 (e.g. “disposed on” or “in contact with” is one way of disposed about the dielectric lid 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah in accordance with the teaching of Forster regarding an inductive coil in order to utilize an inductive coil to help generate plasma [para. 0015]. Please also see the rejection of claim 14.
Regarding claim 2, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the one or more coils are disposed between the plate and the lid [see figures].
Regarding claim 3, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the one or more coils are radio frequency (RF) coils.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the one or more coils are supported by the plate.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the substrate support comprises a first electrode [e.g. 46 Forster], and the one or more coils and the first electrode are operable to flow a current across at least part of the processing volume to generate plasma [see at least para. 0015] in the processing volume.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, wherein the plate is formed of an opaque material.
Regarding claim 14, Shah discloses a processing chamber [200 fig. 2] applicable for use in semiconductor manufacturing, comprising: a chamber body [e.g. 202] comprising an inject section [ see 258] and an exhaust section [ see 268]; a plate [e.g. 250/222 (para. 0032 discloses quartz can be opaque)], and the chamber body and the plate at least partially defining a processing volume; one or more heat sources [e.g. 218A, 218B] operable to heat the processing volume; a substrate support [e.g. one of 248s] disposed in the processing volume; a lid [e.g. the lid above 218B/222] of the processing chamber; and a controller [e.g. 190] comprising a memory [e.g. 194], the memory comprising instruction that, when executed by a processor, cause a plurality of operations [see at least para. 0025] to be conducted, the plurality of operations comprising: heating the processing volume; and flowing one or more process gases into the processing volume. Shah doesn’t disclose one or more coils disposed between the plate and a lid, flowing an electrical current through the one or more coils, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate.
However, Forster discloses one or more coils [e.g. 98 fig. 1] disposed between a plate [e.g. 88] and a lid [e.g. 86] of a processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate [see at least para. 0015, The inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73; in reference of para. 0021 of US 2016/0048111 by Wang et al., the ceiling or gas distribution plate 104 may be formed of a non-conductive material in order to permit inductive coupling of RF power from the coil antennas 110, 112 through the ceiling 104 and into the chamber 100. Therefore, the one or more coils are coupled to the plate (at least inductively coupled)]. In addition, Forster discloses a controller [e.g. 110] comprising a memory [e.g. 114], the memory comprising instruction that, when executed by a processor, cause a plurality of operations [see at least para. 0029] to be conducted, the plurality of operations comprising: flowing an electrical current through the one or more coils; heating the processing volume; and flowing one or more process gases into the processing volume [see at least paras. 0029-0030, fig. 1, claims 1, 8].
In addition, when considered ‘coupled to’ the plate as “disposed on” or “in contact with” the plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coils coupled to the plate, since Forster have disclosed the inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 (e.g. “disposed on” or “in contact with” is one way of disposed about the dielectric lid 88).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah in accordance with the teaching of Forster regarding an inductive coil in order to utilize an inductive coil to help generate plasma [para. 0015]. Please also see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 6, 8 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (WO 2022/031422, see US 2023/0617581) in view of Forster et al. (WO 2011/163455) and Srinivasan et al. (WO 2024/064161; PCT/US2023/033175).
Regarding claim 6, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 1, except wherein the one or more coils comprise a plurality of coils aligned respectively with a plurality of zones of the substrate support. However, Srinivasan discloses one or more coils comprise a plurality of coils aligned respectively with a plurality of zones of the substrate support [see at least paras. 0571, 0572, 0597, 0605]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah and Forster in accordance with the teaching of Srinivasan regarding coils in order to provide particular RF power levels [para. 0605].
Regarding claim 8, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 6, wherein the one or more coils comprise: a first coil operable to flow a first current at a first frequency; and a second coil operable to flow a second current at a second frequency.
Regarding claim 15, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 14, wherein the electrical current is a radio frequency (RF) current [e.g. the coil is coupled to RF, see at least fig. 1 of Forster], and the electrical current comprises: a first current flowed to a first coil of the one or more of coils; except and a second current flowed to a second coil of the one or more of coils. However, Srinivasan discloses one or more coils comprise a plurality of coils aligned respectively, a first current flowed to a first coil of the one or more of coils; except and a second current flowed to a second coil of the one or more of coils. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed by Shah and Forster in accordance with the teaching of Srinivasan regarding coils in order to provide particular RF power levels [para. 0605].
Regarding claim 16, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 15, wherein a frequency of the first coil is about the same as a frequency of the second coil.
Regarding claim 17, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 15, except wherein a first frequency of first current to the first coil is lower than a second frequency of the second current to the second coil. However, this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed a first frequency of first current to the first coil is lower than a second frequency of the second current to the second coil provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem (also see the other pattern recited in claim 16).
Regarding claim 18, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 15, wherein the first current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal [having same structure], or this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the first current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem.
Regarding claim 19, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 14, wherein the electrical current includes direct current, or this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the electrical current includes direct current provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. See para. [0061] of the current application.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discussed above discloses the processing chamber of claim 14, wherein the electrical current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal [having same structure], or this is a matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art claim because Applicant has not disclosed that the first current is at least partially defined by a pulsed signal provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem.
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed 03/02/26 has been addressed in the above rejection sections. Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues: ‘However, Forster discloses that the inductive coil 98 is disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73.
Thus, the inductive coil of Forster is not one or more coils coupled to the plate.
Forster, like Shah, does not teach or suggest at least one or more coils disposed between a plate and a lid of the processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate as recited in claims 1 and 14.
Shah and Forster, alone or in combination, do not teach or suggest the subject- matter as recited in claims 1 and 14, and claims dependent thereon.
Further, the Applicant respectfully submits that one skilled in the art would not be motivated to modify multi-wafer batch processing system where multiple substrates are pre-cleaned to remove contaminants, such as oxides, prior to thin film growth thereon by epitaxial processes by baking the substrates in a hydrogen atmosphere of Shah with the inductive coils used to produce a plasma in a first chamber volume that is then filtered into a second chamber volume of Forster to teach or suggest the subject-matter as recited in claims 1 and 14, and even if did so, the combination of references would not teach the subject-matter as recited in claims 1, 15, and 20.
Therefore, Shah and Forster, alone or in combination, do not teach each and every feature of the rejected claims. Accordingly, the Applicant submits claims 1 and 14, and claims dependent thereon, are patentable over Shah and Forster, and respectfully requests the rejection be withdrawn.’
However, according to the para. 0017 of the specification. The term “coupled” is broad. In addition, Forster discloses one or more coils [e.g. 98 fig. 1] disposed between a plate [e.g. 88] and a lid [e.g. 86] of a processing chamber, wherein the one or more coils are coupled to the plate [see at least para. 0015, The inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 and coupled to an RF power source 74 to inductively couple RF power to the first volume 75 (means first volume 73) to form the plasma 77 in the first volume 73; in reference of para. 0021 of US 2016/0048111 by Wang et al., the ceiling or gas distribution plate 104 may be formed of a non-conductive material in order to permit inductive coupling of RF power from the coil antennas 110, 112 through the ceiling 104 and into the chamber 100. Therefore, the one or more coils are coupled to the plate (at least inductively coupled)].
In addition, when considered ‘coupled to’ the plate as “disposed on” or “in contact with” the plate. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the one or more coils coupled to the plate, since Forster have disclosed the inductive coil 98 may be disposed about the dielectric lid 88 (e.g. “disposed on” or “in contact with” is one way of disposed about the dielectric lid 88).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK C CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836