DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JIA (Pub. No.: US 2022/0149024 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JIA discloses a tiled display device in Fig. 5-7 comprising: display devices comprising a first display device (left half of AMOLED display 200) and a second display device (right half of AMOLED display 200) adjacent to each other (see
Annotated Fig. 5 above), each comprising a display area comprising a first display area (plurality of display regions 102) and a second display area (bezel region 101), wherein the first display area comprises at least a portion of an inner area of the display area (display regions 102 being inner area), the second display area comprises at least a portion of an edge area of the display area (bezel region 101 being edge area of the display area), each of the display devices comprises: inner sub-pixels (a plurality of subpixel 240) disposed on a base layer (substrate 110) in the first display area (see Figs. 5-6 [0128], [0144], and [0161]); and edge sub-pixels (plurality of subpixel 511) disposed on the base layer in the second display area (see Fig. 5 and [0161-0162]), the edge sub-pixels comprise an inorganic light emitting element (micro LED 500) comprising an inorganic material (Figs. 5-6, 7 and [0162-0164]), and the inner sub-pixels comprise a light source different from the inorganic light emitting element (subpixel 240 being organic LED different from micro LED) (see Fig. 6 and [0144]).
Regarding claim 3, JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the second display area of the first display device is disposed directly adjacent to the second display area of the second display device (see Annotated Fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 5, JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the inner sub-pixels comprise an organic light emitting diode (OLED) (see Fig. 6 and [0144]).
Regarding claim 6, JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the edge sub-pixels further comprise a light transmission layer (layer 116) disposed on the inorganic light emitting element (see Fig. 6 and [0147]).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maindron et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0280048 A1), hereinafter as Maindron.
Regarding claim 1, Maindron discloses a tiled display device in Figs. 2-3 comprising: display devices comprising a first display device (annotated region in Fig. 2 above) and a second display device (annotated region in Fig. 2 above) adjacent to each other, each comprising a display area comprising a first display area (a region of B pixels) and a second display area (a regions of R and G pixels), wherein the first display area comprises at least a portion of an inner area of the display area (see annotated Fig. 2 above), the second display area comprises at least a portion of an edge area of the display area (see annotated Fig. 2 above, each of the display devices comprises: inner sub-pixels (a plurality of R and G pixels) disposed on a base layer (substrate 111) in the first display area (see Figs. 2-3 and [0035], [0054], [0059-0063]); and edge sub-pixels (a plurality of B pixels) disposed on the base layer in the second display area, the edge sub-pixels comprise an inorganic light emitting element (GaN LED stack) comprising an inorganic material (GaN) (see Figs. 2-3 and [0036-0038], [0060]), and the inner sub-pixels (pixels R and G) comprise a light source different from the inorganic light emitting element (see Fig. 3 and [0061]).
Regarding claim 3, Maindron discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the second display area of the first display device is disposed directly adjacent to the second display area of the second display device (see annotated Fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Maindron discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the inner sub-pixels (pixels R and G) comprise an organic light emitting diode (OLED) (see Fig. 3 and [0061]).
Regarding claim 6, Maindron discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the edge sub-pixels further comprise a light transmission layer (portion of upper electrode 141) disposed on the inorganic light emitting element (see Fig. 3 and [0062]).
Regarding claim 7, Maindron discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the inner sub-pixels are spaced apart from each other by a first distance (distance between pixels R and pixels G), one of the inner sub-pixels most adjacent to the second display area and one of the edge sub-pixels most adjacent to the first display area are spaced apart from each other by a second distance (distance between pixel B and pixels R), and the first distance and the second distance are equal (same distance) (see Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Maindron discloses the tiled display device of claim 7, wherein the edge sub-pixels are spaced apart from each other by a third distance (distance among pixels B), and the first distance and the third distance are equal (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANG et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0037420 A1), hereinafter as JANG in view of JIA (Pub. No.: US 2022/0149024 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JANG discloses a tiled display device in Figs. 4-5A, 6A, and 8A comprising: display devices comprising a first display device (DD1) and a second display device (DD2) adjacent to each other (see Fig. 4-5 and [0074-0076]), each comprising a display area comprising a first display area (display region DA) and a second area (non-display region NA), wherein the first display area comprises at least a portion of an inner area of the display area (see Fig. 5A), the second display area comprises at least a portion of an edge area of the display area (see Fig. 5A), each of the display devices comprises: inner sub-pixels (plurality of pixels PXL/OLED) disposed on a base layer (base layer BSL) in the first display area (see Figs. 6A, 8A and [0065-0066], [0080-0083], and [0140]).
JANG fails to disclose the second area is display area and each of the display devices comprising edge sub-pixels disposed on the base layer in the second display area, the edge sub-pixels comprise an inorganic light emitting element comprising an inorganic material, and the inner sub-pixels comprise a light source different from the inorganic light emitting element.
JIA discloses a display device in Fig. 5-7 comprising: display devices comprising a first display device (AMOLED display 200) , comprising a display area comprising a first display area (plurality of display regions 102) and a second display area (bezel region 101), wherein the first display area comprises at least a portion of an inner area of the display area (display regions 102 being inner area), the second display area comprises at least a portion of an edge area of the display area (bezel region 101 being edge area of the display area), the display device comprises: inner sub-pixels (a plurality of subpixel 240) disposed on a base layer (substrate 110) in the first display area (see Figs. 5-6 [0128], [0144], and [0161]); and edge sub-pixels (plurality of subpixel 511) disposed on the base layer in the second display area (see Fig. 5 and [0161-0162]), the edge sub-pixels comprise an inorganic light emitting element (micro LED 500) comprising an inorganic material (Figs. 5-6, 7 and [0162-0164]), and the inner sub-pixels comprise a light source different from the inorganic light emitting element (subpixel 240 being organic LED different from micro LED) (see Fig. 6 and [0144]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the second display area of JIA into each of the display device of JANG for forming edge sub-pixels comprising an inorganic light emitting element because modified structure would greatly be narrowing down a non-display package region and further improve the displaying by achieving full-screen display effect.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of JANG and JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the second display area is disposed between the first display area of the first display device and the first display area of the second display device (see Figs. 4, 5A of JANG and Fig. 5 of JIA).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of JANG and JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the second display area of the first display device is disposed directly adjacent to the second display area of the second display device (see Fig. 5 of JIA).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of JANG and JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the second display area entirely surrounds a periphery of the first display area in a plan view (see Fig. 5 of JIA).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of JANG and JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the inner sub-pixels comprise an organic light emitting diode (OLED) (see JIA, Fig. 6 and [0144]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of JANG and JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the edge sub-pixels further comprise a light transmission layer (layer 116) disposed on the inorganic light emitting element (see JIA, Fig. 6 and [0147]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIA (Pub. No.: US 2022/0149024 A1), applied to claim 1 in view of LEE et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0252576 A1), hereinafter as LEE and further in view of PARK et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0229153 A1), hereinafter as PARK.
Regarding claim 10, JIA discloses the tiled display device of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the display devices further comprises a color conversion layer disposed on the inorganic light emitting element and the light source different from the inorganic light emitting element and comprising a quantum-dot.
LEE discloses a display device in Fig. 2 comprising a color conversion layer (color conversion layer 600) disposed on an inorganic light emitting element (LED 300) comprising quantum-dot (see [0096-0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate color conversion layer of LEE into the tiled display device of JIA for the second display area because the modified structure would have superior color accuracy and higher brightness with higher efficiency.
The combination of JIA and LEE fails to disclose the tiled display device comprising the light source that different from the inorganic light emitting element comprising quantum-dot.
PARK discloses a display device in Fig. 6 comprising a light source of organic light emitting device (OLED of PX1 or PX2) comprising quantum-dot (nanoparticle in color conversion layer 132) (see [0076], [0101-0104]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate color conversion layer of PARK having quantum-dot into the tiled display device of JIA for the first display area because the modified structure would have superior color accuracy and higher brightness with higher efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of JIA, LEE and PARK discloses the tiled display device of claim 10, wherein each of the display devices further comprises an upper substrate (layer 118 of JIA/layer 701 of LEE/layer 131 of PARK) disposed on the color conversion layer (see JIA, Fig. 2 and [0147]; see LEE, Fig. 2 and [0048]; see PARK, Fig. 6 and [0098]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The cited art, whether taken singularly or in combination, especially when all limitations are considered within the claimed specific combination, fails to disclose or suggest the claimed invention having:
wherein one of the edge sub-pixels of the first display device most adjacent to the second display device and one of the edge sub-pixels of the second display device most adjacent to the first display device are spaced apart from each other by a fourth distance, and the first distance and the fourth distance are equal as recited in claim 9.
wherein the inorganic light emitting element comprises an N-type semiconductor layer, a P-type semiconductor layer, an active layer disposed between the N-type semiconductor layer and the P-type semiconductor layer, and an element color conversion layer comprising a quantum-dot, the N-type semiconductor layer comprises an accommodating area in which at least a portion of the N-type semiconductor layer is removed, and the element color conversion layer is disposed in the accommodating area as recited in claim 12.
Claims 13-15 are allowed over prior art of record.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reason for allowance: the prior art made of record does not teach or fairly suggest the following:
wherein the N-type semiconductor layer comprises an accommodating area in which at least a portion of the N-type semiconductor layer is removed, and the element color conversion layer is disposed in the accommodating area as recited in claim 13. Claims 14-15 depend on claim 13, and therefore also include said claimed limitation.
Conclusion
/CUONG B NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818