DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending before the Office for review.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on December 19, 2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on December 19, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Applicant believes that the Examiner’s search of Group I is likely to provide a proper search for Group 2 and therefore would not present an undue burden on the Examiner to examine Groups I and II. This is not found persuasive because Groups 1 and 2 are directed towards to distinct invention which are separately classified; would require difference search areas and terms directed towards an apparatus or a method. Art applicable to Group 1 may not necessarily be applicable to Group 2. A complete and proper search of both groups would place an serious search burn on the Examiner in order to provide a complete and through field of search for each group.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578).
With regards to claim 1, Tomura discloses a method for forming a feature on a substrate comprising: exposing a portion of a silicon containing layer (R1) formed over the substrate (SB) through an opening formed though a masking layer (MK) to a carbon- free fluorine containing gas (HF) to convert the exposed portion of the silicon containing layer to a reactive portion (Figure 5C); and etching the reactive portion by exposing the reactive portion of the silicon containing layer to a plasma formed from an inert gas (Figure 5D) (Paragraphs [0031]-[0035], [0040]-[0044], Figures 5A-5E).
With regards to claim 2, Tomura discloses wherein the inert gas is argon (Paragraph [0034], [0043], claim 6).
With regards to claim 3, Tomura discloses wherein the carbon free fluorine containing gas is hydrogen fluoride (HF) (Paragraphs [0033], [0042]).
With regards to claim 4, Tomura discloses wherein the exposing the portion of the silicon containing layer and the etching the reactive portion are cyclically repeated. (Paragraph [0044]).
With regards to claim 5, Tomura discloses maintaining a substrate support, upon which the substrate is supported, at a temperature below 0°C while the portion of the silicon containing layer is exposed to the carbon-free fluorine containing gas. (Paragraph [0042] discloses maintaining the substrate support at a temperature of -40C or lower).
With regards to claim 8, Tomura discloses wherein the silicon containing layer is fabricated from silicon oxide (SiO) (Paragraph [0040]).
With regards to claim 9, Tomura discloses a method for forming a feature on a substrate comprising: exposing a portion of a silicon containing layer (R1) formed over the substrate (SB) through a masking layer (MK) formed over the silicon containing layer (R1) to hydrogen fluoride (HF) vapor to convert the exposed portion of the silicon containing layer to a reactive portion (Figure 5C); and etching the reactive portion by exposing the reactive portion of the silicon containing layer to a plasma formed from argon (Ar) (Figure 5D) (Paragraphs [0031]-[0035], [0040]-[0044] Figures 5A-5E).
With regards to claim 10, Tomura discloses wherein the exposing the portion of the silicon containing layer and the etching the reactive portion are cyclically repeated. (Paragraph [0044]).
With regards to claim 11, Tomura discloses maintaining a substrate support, upon which the substrate is supported, at a temperature below 0°C while the portion of the silicon containing layer is exposed to HF vapor (Paragraph [0042] discloses maintaining the substrate support at a temperature of -40C or lower).
With regards to claim 13, Tomura discloses wherein the silicon containing layer is fabricated from silicon oxide (SiO) (Paragraph [0040]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578), as applied to claims 1-5, 8-11 and 13.
With regards to claims 6 and 12, Tomura discloses the limitations of claims 1 and 9 as previously discussed.
However Tomura does not explicitly disclose wherein a pressure of the carbon- free containing gas exposed to the silicon containing layer is between 5 mTorr and 300 mTorr.
However Tomura discloses wherein the pressure is about 350 mTorr (Paragraphs [0036], [0077]) which while it does not overlap Applicant’s claimed amount is sufficiently close such that it renders obvious Applicant’s claimed amount of between 5 mTorr and 300 mTorr. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tomura to include the pressure as rendered obvious by the general teachings of Tomura because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired substrate processing using the pressure as rendered obvious by Tomura. MPEP 2143D
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOMURA et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0165578), as applied to claims 1-6 and 8-13, in view of DE GORORDO et al (U.S. Patent 11,087,989).
With regards to claim 7, Tomura discloses the limitations of claim 1 as previously discussed.
However Tomura does not explicitly disclose wherein a flow rate of the carbon- free containing gas exposed to the silicon containing layer is between 50 sccm and 1000 sccm.
De Gorordo discloses a method for forming a feature on a substrate comprising exposing a position of a silicon containing layer formed on a substrate to a fluorine containing gas wherein the flow rate of fluorine containing gas exposed to the silicon layer is between about 50 sccm to about 500 sccm to form a modified layer which is removed by ion flux formed from an inert gas (Col. 9 lines 6-23, 48-64, Col. 11 lines 26-54) which renders obvious wherein a pressure of the carbon- free containing gas exposed to the silicon containing layer is between 5 mTorr and 300 mTorr. wherein a flow rate of the carbon- free containing gas exposed to the silicon containing layer is between 50 sccm and 1000 sccm.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the method of Tomura to include the flow rate as rendered obvious De Gorordo because one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention would have had a reasonable expectation of predictably achieving the desired fluorine gas modification for etching using the flow rate as rendered obvious by De Gorordo. MPEP 2143D
Conclusion
/STEPHANIE P DUCLAIR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713