Claim Status
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-11, 13-15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Aldaz et al. (US 2002/0050832). (“Aldaz”).
5. Regarding claim 1, Aldaz teaches A coplanarity assist unit [Figures 1-7, a coplanarity assist unit is shown; see P(0047-0049)], comprising: a plurality of distance sensors mounted on at least one of a lower body or a upper body at a plurality of locations, respectively, wherein each of the plurality of distance sensors are configured to detect a distance between the lower body and the upper body at the plurality of locations [Figures 1-7, a plurality of sensors 290 mounted on a lower body 300 or a upper body 20/60 is shown, distance sensors 290 are configured to detect a distance between the two bodies at a plurality of locations; see P(0047-0048)]; and a coplanarity assistant configured to determine based on an output of the plurality of distance sensors whether coplanarity exists between the lower body and the upper body and assist with a position of the lower body and the upper body in order to set the coplanarity between the lower body and the upper body [Figures 1-7, a coplanarity assistant 280 is shown to determine based on an output of the distance sensors 290 whether coplanarity exists between the two bodies (distance is the direct indication of coplanarity); see P(0047-0048)].
6. Regarding claim 2, Aldaz teaches wherein the output of the plurality of distance sensors comprises a plurality of distance signals transmitted from the plurality of distance sensors, respectively [Figures 1-7, distance signals are outputted by distance sensors 290].
7. Regarding claim 3, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity assistant comprises a coplanarity determination module configured to determine whether coplanarity exists between the lower body and the upper body based on the plurality of distance signals [Figures 1-7, see coplanarity assistance 280].
8. Regarding claim 4, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity assistant further comprises a display unit configured to display adjustment data for adjusting a position of the upper body to set a coplanarity between the lower body and the upper body [Figures 1-7, see display unit “x” in Figure 6].
9. Regarding claim 5, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity determination module is configured to generate a planarity display signal based on the plurality of distance signals, and the display unit is configured to display the adjustment data for adjusting the position of the upper body based on the planarity display signal [Figures 1-7, see display unit “x” in Figure 6].
10. Regarding claim 6, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity determination module is configured to continuously update a display of the adjustment data on the display unit to reflect an adjustment to the position of the upper body by an operator [Figures 1-7, see display unit “x” in Figure 6].
11. Regarding claim 7, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity assistant further comprises an electromechanical planarity adjuster configured to adjust the position of the upper body [Figures 1-7, see shims 70 acting as an electromechanical planarity adjuster. See P(0048-0049)].
12. Regarding claim 8, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity determination module is configured to generate a planarity adjustment signal based on the plurality of distance signals, the electromechanical planarity adjuster is configured to adjust the planarity of the upper body based on the planarity adjustment signal [Figures 1-7, P(0047-0049) teaches the arrangement and functioning].
13. Regarding claim 9, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity determination module is configured to continuously update a display of the adjustment data on the display unit to reflect an adjustment to the planarity of the upper body by the electromechanical planarity adjuster [Figures 1-7, the coplanarity determination module 280 is taught].
14. Regarding claim 10, Aldaz teaches A semiconductor testing apparatus [Figures 1-7, a semiconductor testing apparatus is shown], comprising: a prober configured to support a probe card [Figures 1-7, a prober is shown configured to support a probe card 60]; a tester head configured to support a device under test (DUT) [Figures 1-7, a tester head is shown to support a DUT 300]; and a coplanarity assist unit comprising a plurality of distance sensors and configured to determine based on an output of the plurality of distance sensors whether coplanarity exists between the prober and the tester head and to assist with setting a position of a lower body and a upper body in order to set the coplanarity between the lower body and the upper body [Figures 1-7, a coplanarity assist unit 280 is shown comprising distance sensors 290 to determine based on an output of the distance sensors 290 whether coplanarity exists (distance is the direct indication of coplanarity) between the prober and the tester head and to assist with setting a position between a lower body and a upper body; see P(0047-0048)].
15. Regarding claim 11, Aldaz teaches wherein the plurality of distance sensors are mounted on at least one of the prober or the tester head and are configured to determine a distance between the tester head and the prober at a plurality of locations [Figures 1-7, P(0047-0048) teaches the distance sensors 290 arrangement].
16. Regarding claim 13, Aldaz teaches wherein the coplanarity assist unit further comprises a plurality of sensor support frames and the plurality of distance sensors are located on the plurality of sensor support frames, respectively [Figures 1-7, the coplanarity assist unit, distance sensors arrangement is shown].
17. Regarding claim 14, Aldaz teaches wherein the prober comprises a prober head plane on an upper surface of the prober, and the plurality of distance sensors are configured to determine a distance between the tester head and the prober head plane [Figures 1-7, the arrangement is shown].
18. Regarding claim 15, Aldaz teaches further comprising: a guide hole on a lower surface of the tester head; and a guide pin on the prober head plane and configured to be inserted in the guide hole [Figures 1-7, a guide hole and a guide pin is shown].
19. Regarding claim 20, Aldaz teaches A method of setting coplanarity [Figures 1-7, a method is taught], the method comprising: detecting a distance between a lower body and an upper body [Figures 1-7, P(0047-0048) teaches detecting a distance between a lower body 300 and an upper body 20/60]; determining whether coplanarity exists between the lower body and the upper body based on an output of the plurality of distance sensors [Figures 1-7, P(0047-0048) teaches determining whether coplanarity exists between the lower body and the upper body based on an output of the distance sensors 290]; and in response to determining that coplanarity does not exist: determining an adjustment to a position of the upper body for setting a coplanarity between the lower body and the upper body based on the output of the plurality of distance sensors [Figures 1-7, unit 280 determines whether coplanarity exists or not (distance is the direct indication of coplanarity) based on distance measurement and adjustment to a position is taught; see P(0047-0048)]; and adjusting the position of the upper body based on the determined adjustment to the adjustment to the position of the upper body [Figures 1-7, the position of the upper body is adjusted based on the determined adjustment to the position of the upper body 20/60].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
21. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aldaz in view of Grube et al. (US 2006/0170434). (“Grube”).
22. Regarding claim 12, Aldaz teaches the distance sensors.
Aldaz does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of distance sensors comprises at least one of a laser sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an infrared sensor, an inductive sensor, a light-emitting diode (LED) sensor, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device, or a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) sensor.
However, Grube teaches wherein the plurality of distance sensors comprises at least one of a laser sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an infrared sensor, an inductive sensor, a light-emitting diode (LED) sensor, a light detection and ranging (LIDAR) device, or a vertical cavity surface emitting laser (VCSEL) sensor [Figures 1-18. P(0085) teaches laser/light sensing for measuring distance; see claims 15-17].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Aldaz with Grube. Doing so would allow Aldaz to use light sensor for measuring distance/planarity at different locations.
Allowable Subject Matter
23. Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
16. The semiconductor testing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plurality of distance sensors are located on a lower surface of the tester head which is divided into four quadrants by a first dividing line and a second dividing line perpendicular to the first dividing line, and an arrangement of the plurality of distance sensors comprises one of: a first arrangement in which the plurality of distance sensors are located in at least three quadrants of the four quadrants; a second arrangement in which one distance sensor of the plurality of distance sensors is located on the first dividing line, and a remainder of the plurality of distance sensors is located opposite the one distance sensor in two quadrants that are symmetrical with respect to the first dividing line; or a third arrangement in which one distance sensor of the plurality of distance sensors is located on the second dividing line, and a remainder of the plurality of distance sensors is located opposite the one distance sensor in two quadrants that are symmetrical with respect to the second dividing line.
17. The semiconductor testing apparatus of claim 10, wherein the plurality of distance sensors comprises: a first distance sensor on a first sensor support frame at a first location, wherein the first distance sensor and first sensor support frame have a first combined length, and the first distance sensor is configured to detect a first separation distance between a prober head plane and the first distance sensor at the first location; a second distance sensor on a second sensor support frame at a second location, wherein the second distance sensor and second sensor support frame have a second combined length, and the second distance sensor is configured to detect a second separation distance between the prober head plane and the second distance sensor at the second location; and a third distance sensor on a third sensor support frame at a third location, wherein the third distance sensor and third sensor support frame have a third combined length, and the third distance sensor is configured to detect a third separation distance between the prober head plane and the third distance sensor at the third location.
18. The semiconductor testing apparatus of claim 17, wherein the coplanarity assist unit further comprises a coplanarity assistant comprising: a display unit configured to display adjustment data for adjusting a planarity of the tester head to set a coplanarity between the prober and the tester head; and a coplanarity determination module configured to: compare a first sum of the first combined length and first separation distance to a second sum of the second combined length and second separation distance and to a third sum of the third combined length and third separation distance; determine that coplanarity is achieved when the first sum is substantially equal to the second sum and substantially equal to the third sum; and generate a planarity display signal based on a plurality of distance signals, wherein the display unit is configured to display the adjustment data based on the planarity display signal.
19. The semiconductor testing apparatus of claim 18, wherein the coplanarity determination module is configured to generate a planarity adjustment signal based on the plurality of distance signals, and the coplanarity assistant further comprises an electromechanical planarity adjuster configured to adjust the planarity of the tester head based on the planarity adjustment signal.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang (US 2011/0267087), Figures 1-9 teaches a light detector, a probe card, a DUT arranged in a similar manner to that of the present application.
Conclusion
/NEEL D SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858